• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to donate blood har?

Stupid article say blood shortage but never say where to donate or operating time.

The Singapore Red Cross and the Health Sciences Authority are calling on blood donors, especially those in the O blood group, to donate blood this weekend.

As of yesterday, the national blood stock is about 1,200 units, enough for the next three to four days. It is hoped that the blood stock could be raised to at least six days' supply, or 1,800 units.

Donating blood is good. Especially for men.
Even if you don't care about saving lives, offloading excess iron from your body and allowing your body to make fresh new blood is a good thing.

Cross the road next to Outram Park MRT station, then go up the hill to Bloodbank @ HSA.

Note: Gays cannot donate blood. But how can they tell? ;)

Cross the road next to Outram Park MRT station, then go up the hill to Bloodbank @ HSA.

Note: Gays cannot donate blood. But how can they tell? ;)

I used to be a regular blood donor and even platelet donor when I was with SPF and NTUC. When I suffered from low blood pressure a few years ago, I was saved and revived by three packs of blood from the bank blood. I've donated blood that saved others. What goes around comes around. I was saved by blood donated by others. Buddhists and Hindus may say that's good karma, but to me, it's just human social and mutual help. We give it when when can and take it when we need. Nowadays, I can't donate blood anymore. The doctor advised against it after my bout of LBP. To those who can, hope you'll take a little trouble to do it.

When donating blood, there'd be a questionnaire, please answer it truthfully. In any case, your blood will still be screened before passed for transfusion use.

I used to be a regular blood donor and even platelet donor when I was with SPF and NTUC. When I suffered from low blood pressure a few years ago, I was saved and revived by three packs of blood from the bank blood. I've donated blood that saved others. What goes around comes around. I was saved by blood donated by others. Buddhists and Hindus may say that's good karma, but to me, it's just human social and mutual help. We give it when when can and take it when we need. Nowadays, I can't donate blood anymore. The doctor advised against it after my bout of LBP. To those who can, hope you'll take a little trouble to do it.

When donating blood, there'd be a questionnaire, please answer it truthfully. In any case, your blood will still be screened before passed for transfusion use.

Clap clap clap.................well said !

High blood cholesterol can donate blood?

you may check with the GP at the HSA.

standard procedures as follow:
1. registration.
2. questionnaire
3. check up
4. simple blood test
5. blood donation
6. rest.

good luck.

think you are correct bro ....my dad used to donate blood very regularly but he had high cholesterol levels. They still accepted.

should be able to la, as the recipient's system will regularize it to his body condition mah, tio boh?

but not HIV hor

Cholesterol level is irrelevant.

Everyone has some amount of cholesterol in their body.

What's most important is:

1) The blood has enough iron.

2) The blood is disease-free: no STDs, AIDS, hepatitis, Lyme's disease.

The doctors at HSA are mostly Burmese or Pinoys. The blood technicians are mainly PRCs, Pinoys, some Malays (tudung Aunties and Minahs) and Chinese old aunties.

For those who are sexually active better be careful because you will be held liable if they find out you lied. I remember a case of someone who was punished when they found out. Can't remember if he faced imprisonment or fined:confused:

For those who are sexually active better be careful because you will be held liable if they find out you lied.

bro,
need to quantify, can be sexually active but must be faithful to one partner :D:D:D

those with multiple partners are considered "high risk" group :p:p:p

truth to be told, if guys not sexually active, me worry :eek::eek::eek:

If you have time,donate your platelets.Whole blood donation takes a shorter time about 20mins while platelets usually takes about 2hrs.The difference is that platelet donation seperates your blood into four components;platelets,red blood cells,white blood cells and plasma.This serves not only in the interest of patients who need red blood cells which are obtained through whole blood donation,leukemia patients are also being served with donation of your platelets.

The reason why there is blood shortage cos the type of blood needed,O,B,A or AB is much in demand and the bank may not have stock of the respective supply.Donation drives are usually done in community centres or mobile blood banks.Keep a lookout for such campaigns around your neighbourhood.

You can always check out hsa website:

http://www.hsa.gov.sg/publish/hsaportal/en/home.html#page=tab1

It is a crime to knowingly donate contaminated blood.

Ask for your meal coupon after the exercise and remember to consume your iron tablets to replenish your supply:)

Stupid article say blood shortage but never say where to donate or operating time.

bro,
need to quantify, can be sexually active but must be faithful to one partner :D:D:D

those with multiple partners are considered "high risk" group :p:p:p

truth to be told, if guys not sexually active, me worry :eek::eek::eek:

Don't want to say lah. In case there are very consevative people here :D

Other things that will disqualify you as a blood donor (according to questionnaire form):

1. Have sex with someone whom you have known for less than 6 months

2. Having paid sex with prostitute.

3. Dental surgery in the last 12 months.