• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hope For Singapore?

TracyTan866

There have been wide-ranging discussions in the "Crumbling of Singapore?" thread on the future of Singapore. Many forumners have expressed their views. As a Singaporean who loves SG, I wish to see that there is hope for Singapore's future. So my question is: "Is there Hope for Singapore"? I think there is because of the following and if the following factors occur:

1. Impending demise of LKY
2. Collapse of poor leadership under LHL
3. Continue dismissal of poor political leaders eg LKY, GCT, WKS, MBT, RL, LBH, VB, LSS,
4. Emergence of moderate political leaders such as Tharman, HSK, CCS, TCJ
5. Opposition parties rising up to provide an alternative to the pap
6. Continued infusion and recruitment of leaders such as CSM, NS, PS, etc into the political arena
7. Conduct fair General Elections
8. True meritocracy rather than cronyism and despotism disguised as meritocracy
9. Revamp of education to truly inculcate values and character building rather than pap propaganda spreading
10. Help the poor to break out from the poverty trap
11. Reorganise govt hospitals into public hospitals to care for the sick rather than be profit making organisations.
12. Truly independent Judiciary which upholds the law
13. PA and grassroot organisations which serve Singaporeans and not PAP
14. HDB reverts to providing affordable public housing for Singaporeans
15. Govt helps Singaporeans who are left behind due to one reason or another
16. Govt regains the trust and loyalty of Singaporeans
17. CPF Board returns Singaporeans their monies at age 55yrs
18. PAP rescinds the huge influx of cheap foreign labour
19. PAP implements a Singaporean-first policy
20. Govt bridges the great social divide between Singaporeans and foreigners
21. PAP tightens immigration criteria and grants PRs and citizenship to foreigners who can truly contribute to SG
22. PAP recognises and rectifies the social problems it has created
23. etc

The list is not exhaustive...any more to add or any you disagree with??

... "Is there Hope for Singapore"? ...
ur tis thread got no biz? ...

wel ... dese r hopes ...

FatGirl_FatFriday_Swimsuit_10Nov06.jpg

So my question is: "Is there Hope for Singapore"? I think there is because of the following and if the following factors occur:

Singapore is pretty much doomed for the following reasons.

1) The neighborhood sucks. It's surrounded by almost 300 million muslims.

2) I see no economic model that can sustain it at the current level of prosperity over the long term. It's not suited for manufacturing because of the lack of land and it has little else to offer the rest of the world that cannot be easily replicated somewhere else.

3) Unless a solution is found to stem the fertility rate of the muslim population, there will be a point in time when the number of muslims outnumber the non muslims and Singapore society as we now know it will cease to exist. The political power base will shift from the Chinese to the Malays who will change the way society is organised and governed. The end result will be an exodus of talent.

TracyTan866

2) I see no economic model that can sustain it at the current level of prosperity over the long term. It's not suited for manufacturing because of the lack of land and it has little else to offer the rest of the world that cannot be easily replicated somewhere else.

3) Unless a solution is found to stem the fertility rate of the muslim population, there will be a point in time when the number of muslims outnumber the non muslims and Singapore society as we now know it will cease to exist. The political power base will shift from the Chinese to the Malays who will change the way society is organised and governed. The end result will be an exodus of talent.

Good points!!

But SG may just turn adversity to its advantage. What happens in the regional neighbourhood, SG has no control What we have control is make sure we have a good govt after the death of LKY. So, I do see hope as long as the govt is not afraid of LKY.

So, yes, you are right..the region can hinder SG.

TracyTan866

The poor regional environment may throw up truly good leaders in SG. That wld be a blessing to SG

brocoli

Knn ....start so many related threads for fug ??????

can some1 infract her or notch???

same with scoobal.... start 3 sht related threads...?

can some1 also infract her or notch???

TracyTan866

Knn ....start so many related threads for fug ??????

can some1 infract her or notch???

same with scoobal.... start 3 sht related threads...?

can some1 also infract her or notch???

The thread is for discussions, to learn from each other and to identify those who are young and immature and know who are empty vessels that make the most noise.

There are many good forumners here. Also there are many other types of forumners

rusty

1. Self indulged fear. If you are nice to the 300 million there will be no problem. It is the suspicious mind of our leaders that leads to problems. For example, LKY feared Malaysia will cut our water supply and started to spite them with our Shitt Water. And if our leaders don't like the surrounding...ship Singapore out to US or Antarctic.

2. Agree

3.If the people are intelligent, hard working and respected they will hold power regardless of race or size of population. Fujimori, a Japanese ruled Peru for 10 years. Another example is Penang. The Malaysian government could have stopped the water supply or even poisoned the chinese majority there.

Fook Seng

Leongsam said:

2) I see no economic model that can sustain it at the current level of prosperity over the long term.

3) Unless a solution is found to stem the fertility rate of the muslim population

1) Change the Foreign Minister

2) Develop the casino business and the tourism associated with. That is why I have never said anything negative about the casinos.

3) Both Chinese and Malay percentages are reducing. Indians are increasing. Wrong target group.

Windsor

Your 3rd point is a no-brainer. The best option for our continued existence like an oasis in the desert is not to take the neutral position, but strongly ally with the Americans. This I think is the direction we have taken and will continue as long as it possible. It is a symbiotic relationship and will ensure the safety of the country against any aggressor whether Muslim or another nuclear power.

TracyTan866

1. Self indulged fear. If you are nice to the 300 million there will be no problem. It is the suspicious mind of our leaders that leads to problems. For example, LKY feared Malaysia will cut our water supply and started to spite them with our Shitt Water. And if our leaders don't like the surrounding...ship Singapore out to US or Antarctic.

SG can use deterence and diplomacy to balance our relationship with our neighbours. No need to be too agressive all the time. Give and take may be best and less expensive too.

If we all live harmoniously in the region, the whole place will prosper. Trust and goodwill go a long way to build sound relationships.

Of course sometimes there will be hiccups but built up goodwill will help repair the relationship

TracyTan866

3.If the people are intelligent, hard working and respected they will hold power regardless of race or size of population. Fujimori, a Japanese ruled Peru for 10 years. Another example is Penang. The Malaysian government could have stopped the water supply or even poisoned the chinese majority there.

Good point. SG govt must learn to manage Singaporeans well...provide true information and not try to manipulate Singaporeans. A well-informed and discerning populace is a guarantee of the country's future.

On the contrary, trying to manipulate the people through brainwashing and national propaganda in schools results in an ill-informed people which cant make wise decisions. So, pap's and SPH media's propaganda will do a disservice to SG in the long term.

PAP, help grow an intelligent and discerning people please!!

TracyTan866

1) Change the Foreign Minister

I agree..Shanmugam is a bad GY replacement. SG seems to be losing its shining and influence in regional geo-politics

Seems that the pap prefers Indians to be foreign minister...S Rajaratnam, S Dhanablan, Jaya..now Shanmugam. Is there a reason for theis preference?

TracyTan866

2) Develop the casino business and the tourism associated with. That is why I have never said anything negative about the casinos.

Casinos bring with them severe social problems..These will be felt in the future..but that's water under the bridge.. My hope is that the pap will be able to contain and minimise whatever vices that will result from such gambling. Many young gals have fallen into the clutches of professional and big-time gamblers

TracyTan866

3) Both Chinese and Malay percentages are reducing. Indians are increasing. Wrong target group.

Fully agree...PAP must not try to social engineer SG. Look at how some India Indians behave. even local Indians dont like the overseas indians because they are loud, crude, inconsiderate, obnoxious, etc