Home team sibeh tekong. Body also identify salah

What a joke to play on dead boy's parents?!

Posted on 04 Jan 2011
First police tell parents dead body not their son's... then later they say it is

dead_body_in_woodlands_lake_mixup_police_could_have_handled-thumbnail.jpg

First hope, then heartbreak. That was what the parents of Matthew Chye Qi Yang, 19, had to endure when police first told them the body found drowned in the lake was not their son, but later confirmed that it was.

According to the report in The New Paper, the couple had rushed to Woodlands Town Garden on Saturday when they heard someone had drowned in the lake there.

However, police had told them the body was that of an old man.

Two days later, the Chyes found themselves face-to-face with the police again. This time, it was bad news -- their son had indeed drowned in the lake.

Since Friday, they had been searching for their son. Matthew, who had been diagnosed with autism when he was three years old, had slipped out of the Woodlands flat at 10.30am.

STOMPer OhNo was shocked when he read the news in the papers today. There could have been a better way to deal with the situation at that time, he says.

Wrote the STOMPer in his email contribution (Jan 4):

"This is the first time I have read in the papers about police making such a mistake.

"Not to say it is a grave mistake, because we are all human anyway, but police failed to effectively manage the expectations of those involved.

"As a result, the officer could have caused the couple even more grief than they were already experiencing.

"I don't know what the police standard operating procedures are, but if he could not allow the parents to view the body, the least he could have done was to tell the couple that investigations were still ongoing.

"As quoted in the newspapers, the police spokesperson said the slip-up happened for a few reasons.

"The body did not fit the description or the photograph provided. Plus, it seems the couple was unable to conclusively identify the clothing found on the body as belonging to their son.

"Their son was finally identified through his fingerprints.

"Not only does it give our home team bad flak, but it's really a roller-coaster ride of emotion that no one would ever want to go through.

"I hope such a thing will never happen again."

Sadly, such incidents will happen again. The police is not perfect and with the turnover they have, lapses of this nature bound to happen. I hope not too.

But if it ever takes place, I hope it happens to a MIW or one of their cronies!

Btw, years ago, the late Prof Chao was bloody pissed off with the police. Why? The police, IO, mortuary attendant and undertaker did not verify a dead body. They merely took it to the mortuary. When Prof Chao was about to conduct an autopsy, holy smoke, it turned out to be a dead dog!!! I am not joking. That IO is still serving and now a senior officer who should pension in the near future.

Sadly, such incidents will happen again. The police is not perfect and with the turnover they have, lapses of this nature bound to happen. I hope not too.

But if it ever takes place, I hope it happens to a MIW or one of their cronies!

Btw, years ago, the late Prof Chao was bloody pissed off with the police. Why? The police, IO, mortuary attendant and undertaker did not verify a dead body. They merely took it to the mortuary. When Prof Chao was about to conduct an autopsy, holy smoke, it turned out to be a dead dog!!! I am not joking. That IO is still serving and now a senior officer who should pension in the near future.

bro...do not talk bad about the men in blue ...later ram not happy again ..;):D

bro , the monkey laugh until like that ..later ram buay tahan ...sure comes in to defence his brothers again ....;)

haha... actually Ram got no face to defence their poodles ... malu liao... :D

he just now kena left and right from me in other thread ...this ram sometimes dont know and want to act smart ....:D;)

Misidentifying a dead body is inexcusable. There're certain reasons I've given in the other thread, but reasons, not excuses, still inexcusable. The officers involved should be investigated, diciplined and retrained.

wah which thread is it? I want to join in the fun.

come come ....:D

"China foods - Fake wine, tofu... and now fake eggs " AND " is it the beginning of the end time " . :D;) standby your popcorns .

bro...do not talk bad about the men in blue ...later ram not happy again ..;):D

Hahahahahaaaa, when it is the truth, Ram LL must PG for his ex-colleagues. Many funny things happened in the Force previously. If complied to a book, sure bestseller.

...The officers involved should be investigated, diciplined and retrained.

Sounds very very familiar....

isn't that PAP dogs always use that sentence when things went wrong ?

Hahahahahaaaa, when it is the truth, Ram LL must PG for his ex-colleagues. Many funny things happened in the Force previously. If complied to a book, sure bestseller.

Check out with TKL & Associates if you're looking for a publisher. :cool:

sometimes even its the truth our Mr Ram will not PG . ;):rolleyes:

i was in the force for 2 half years during my NS days ...book pages not enough to write ... must Classified under encyclopedia . :D;)

Since when I represent SPF, CID or ISD etc. here? I speak from past experience and comment on current cases of interest in my personal capacity strictly without breaching OSA. Nobody has to agree with me or take my opinion as authoritative or conclusive. When in doubt, please call the police to check up or consult your lawyer.

sometimes even its the truth our Mr Ram will not PG . ;):rolleyes:

i was in the force for 2 half years during my NS days ...book pages not enough to write ... must Classified under encyclopedia . :D;)

Must write and publish only when adopted by another country. Classified not good enough. Upgrade to Secert and Top Secret. If higher, better still!!!