• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Historical EPF vs CPF since 1955

Malaysia EPF vs Singapore CPF

1) Note what happened when PAP formed Govt in 1959 and a year later.
2) Note what happened when they merged with Malaysia in 1963
3) Note that not once in any year that we got higher interest rates than the Malaysians

Year EPF CPF Var
1952 2.50% NA NA
1953 2.50% NA NA
1954 2.50% NA NA
1955 2.50% 2.50% 0.00%
1956 2.50% 2.50% 0.00%
1957 2.50% 2.50% 0.00%
1958 2.50% 2.50% 0.00%
1959 2.50% 2.50% 0.00%
1960 4.00% 2.50% 1.50%
1961 4.00% 2.50% 1.50%
1962 4.00% 2.50% 1.50%
1963 5.00% 5.00% 0.00%
1964 5.25% 5.25% 0.00%
1965 5.50% 5.25% 0.25%
1966 5.50% 5.25% 0.25%
1967 5.50% 5.25% 0.25%
1968 5.75% 5.25% 0.50%
1969 5.75% 5.25% 0.50%
1970 5.75% 5.75% 0.00%
1971 5.80% 5.75% 0.05%
1972 5.85% 5.75% 0.10%
1973 5.85% 5.75% 0.10%
1974 6.60% 6.50% 0.10%
1975 6.60% 6.50% 0.10%
1976 7.00% 6.50% 0.50%
1977 7.00% 6.50% 0.50%
1978 7.00% 6.50% 0.50%
1979 7.25% 6.50% 0.75%
1980 8.00% 6.50% 1.50%
1981 8.00% 6.50% 1.50%
1982 8.00% 6.50% 1.50%
1983 8.50% 6.50% 2.00%
1984 8.50% 6.50% 2.00%
1985 8.50% 6.50% 2.00%
1986 8.50% 6.50% 2.00%
1987 8.00% 3.31% 4.69%
1988 8.00% 2.96% 5.04%
1989 8.00% 3.39% 4.61%
1990 8.00% 3.88% 4.12%
1991 8.00% 4.51% 3.49%
1992 8.00% 3.31% 4.69%
1993 8.00% 2.62% 5.38%
1994 8.00% 2.50% 5.50%
1995 7.50% 3.82% 3.68%
1996 7.70% 3.48% 4.22%
1997 6.70% 3.48% 3.22%
1998 6.70% 4.41% 2.29%
1999 6.84% 2.50% 4.34%
2000 6.00% 2.50% 3.50%
2001 5.00% 2.50% 2.50%
2002 4.25% 2.50% 1.75%
2003 4.50% 2.50% 2.00%
2004 4.75% 2.50% 2.25%
2005 5.00% 2.50% 2.50%
2006 5.15% 2.50% 2.65%
2007 5.80% 2.50% 3.30%
2008 4.50% 2.50% 2.00%
2009 5.65% 2.50% 3.15%
2010 5.80% 2.50% 3.30%
2011 6.00% 2.50% 3.50%
2012 6.15% 2.50% 3.65%
2013 6.35% 2.50% 3.85%

different economies but 2.5% is really a joke....at least between 1987 1998 u could tell the interest rates were real and adjusted to performance....something went terribly wrong in 1999.

i presume thats also when the immigration woes started.

See difference between Malaysia and Singapore.
Not once did we beat them in terms of interest.

Year Var
1952 NA
1953 NA
1954 NA
1955 0.00%
1956 0.00%
1957 0.00%
1958 0.00%
1959 0.00%
1960 1.50%
1961 1.50%
1962 1.50%
1963 0.00%
1964 0.00%
1965 0.25%
1966 0.25%
1967 0.25%
1968 0.50%
1969 0.50%
1970 0.00%
1971 0.05%
1972 0.10%
1973 0.10%
1974 0.10%
1975 0.10%
1976 0.50%
1977 0.50%
1978 0.50%
1979 0.75%
1980 1.50%
1981 1.50%
1982 1.50%
1983 2.00%
1984 2.00%
1985 2.00%
1986 2.00%
1987 4.69%
1988 5.04%
1989 4.61%
1990 4.12%
1991 3.49%
1992 4.69%
1993 5.38%
1994 5.50%
1995 3.68%
1996 4.22%
1997 3.22%
1998 2.29%
1999 4.34%
2000 3.50%
2001 2.50%
2002 1.75%
2003 2.00%
2004 2.25%
2005 2.50%
2006 2.65%
2007 3.30%
2008 2.00%
2009 3.15%
2010 3.30%
2011 3.50%
2012 3.65%
2013 3.85%

For some reason I was told by this Government, Other countries, State leaders that our economy was a powerhouse, a miracle, tiger economy, etc. And we told that Malaysians were crap, lazy, no hope. WTF!

different economies but 2.5% is really a joke....at least between 1987 1998 u could tell the interest rates were real and adjusted to performance....something went terribly wrong in 1999.

i presume thats also when the immigration woes started.

Good info.........anyway, we want our CPF money back at age 55, as originally promised. That's non-negotiable, as it is our money.

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/...contribution-rate-unchanged-till-age-60.aspx/

Published: Monday August 5, 2013 MYT 4:31:00 PM
Updated: Monday August 5, 2013 MYT 4:39:20 PM
EPF contribution rates unchanged till age 60

Email

Facebook

KUALA LUMPUR: From this August onwards, people still in employment up to 60 years of age will see the same rates of contributions to the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) of 12% from employers (13% if earning RM5,000 or below) and 11% from themselves, the EPF announced today.

The rates of contribution for those aged between 60 and 75 are, however, set at half the regular rate, at 6% (or 6.5%) and 5.5% respectively.

The EPF said the move was in line with the implementation of the minimum retirement age of 60 on July 1, 2013.

“This will accumulate more savings for members’ retirement and also shorten the duration of dependency on their retirement savings,” it said.

The pension fund also confirmed that the existing options for withdrawal at age 50 and 55 remained unchanged. As such members can take all the savings from Account 2 at age 50, and make the full withdrawal at 55.

“However, members are encouraged not to withdraw all their retirement savings in one lump sum at age 55 but to stretch their savings for a longer period via flexible options under Age 55 Withdrawal as members can choose to withdraw their savings monthly or partially," it advised.

For some reason I was told by this Government, Other countries, State leaders that our economy was a powerhouse, a miracle, tiger economy, etc. And we told that Malaysians were crap, lazy, no hope. WTF!

how u think we became a powerhouse,tiger?by screwing sinkies ass deep deep like a ass penetration porn film!!

anyway lets not be jelly of msia's high interest rates.....that is nothing but a sham.no amount of interest rate can make up for their currency depreciation.

If interest rates are a reflection of how well a country is doing, then Argentina, currently averaging 18% interest, is doing far better than Switzerland which pays 0% interest. :rolleyes:

Ukraine is looking good too at 22%.

In the early 80s during the infamous reign of Robert Muldoon, the NZD interest rate was a whopping 24%. NZD term deposit accounts were advertised daily in the shitty times. A know more than a handful of people who succumbed to greed and took the plunge with their precious savings believing they'd get windfall returns. Not a single one made a cent. They all lost big time from exchange rate depreciation.

The naivete of you guys is simply amazing. Small wonder the PAP has to hold your hands through the passage of life.

rodent2005

If interest rates are a reflection of how well a country is doing, then Argentina, currently averaging 18% interest, is doing far better than Switzerland which pays 0% interest. :rolleyes:

Strawman, who is making that assertion? All things being equal, isn't a higher interest rate more desirable for the depositor than a lower one? Is Malaysia suffering from a hyper-inflation now?

The point is that not all things are equal and the Ringgit has been depreciating steadily over the years. It is now at a 15 year low.

It is always better to be in a strong currency environment. The lives of Singaporeans have improved tremendously as a result. When I was young, I was lucky I was taken for a holiday once every 2 years and it was never further than Cameron Highlands. The exchange rate of 3.5 SGD to 1 USD and 8 SGD to the £ made going further afield impossible.

Nowadays kids go to Disneyland and other exotic locations on a regular basis because the strong SGD makes such trips so cheap.

Agree with Sam. The problem with Singapore is we are too successful! Currency appreciating year after year. Tough to earn good return on sgd denominated investments

The point is that not all things are equal and the Ringgit has been depreciating steadily over the years. It is now at a 15 year low.

It is always better to be in a strong currency environment. The lives of Singaporeans have improved tremendously as a result. When I was young, I was lucky I was taken for a holiday once every 2 years and it was never further than Cameron Highlands. The exchange rate of 3.5 SGD to 1 USD and 8 SGD to the £ made going further afield impossible.

Nowadays kids go to Disneyland and other exotic locations on a regular basis because the strong SGD makes such trips so cheap.

mainly i think its thanks to jetstar and virgin.in early 2000s flight was still relatively impossible...but now u can fly thousands of miles for as little as 250 bucks.

Agree with Sam. The problem with Singapore is we are too successful! Currency appreciating year after year. Tough to earn good return on sgd denominated investments

i gave up fighting against the grain of sgd appreciation years ago. the sgd is too good as an investment vehicle for me to miss and ignore. as part of my spare investment portfolio (for loose change), i actually committed to open an account in a sg bank just to stash cash in sgd. the currency appreciation alone is better than the performance of some of my mutual funds at home. since i need cash anyway when i visit sg, which i often do, having tens of thousands in sgd just sitting in an sg bank relieves me of regularly visiting the shithole foreign currency exchange counters at mustafa. by the way, i do swing by nearby mustafa sometimes just to have a bite at boneless duck at sam leong road. even if my account in sg only earns a meager 2% interest, the appreciation against the usd alone far exceeds my wildest expectations. sam knows exactly what he's talking about. :biggrin:

Like I said the PAP is going a fantastic job and the MAS is the best central bank in the whole wide world.

The problem with Singaporeans is that they can't see the bigger picture. That it is why it is my duty to emphasise daily just how fortunate they are compared to the rest of the world.

so u invest in sgd simply because ur country is a crap hole and full of lazy stupid people and ur currency is worth toilet paper?

Like I said the PAP is going a fantastic job and the MAS is the best central bank in the whole wide world.

The problem with Singaporeans is that they can't see the bigger picture. That it is why it is my duty to emphasise daily just how fortunate they are compared to the rest of the world.

i agree singapore is the most wonderful place in the world but its better to live elsewhere then here.

If that was indeed the case, there wouldn't be 2 million foreigners living there and millions more waiting to get in.

i think the waiting list/queue is longer in us/uk/auz/nz/swiss/nor but i digress.

remember it takes a man with means to migrate to nz or aus,but it takes only $5000 agent fees,a bag of underwear and the brains to steer a bus to migrate to singapore.

Tuayapeh

Malaysians still get to Access their epf upon retirement, in stinkapore, 150k still on a return only when you die term.....wtf

it's a frogs in a well syndrome. until they live abroad long enough to feel their collective rears getting screwed time and time again, they would not appreciate the good things about sg. the reason why so many foreign investors are parking their money there these few years is due to the composite stellar performance of roi metrics with all factors considered, including but not limited to strong governance, stability, security, consistency, reliability, and surprisingly, privacy. the best folks to provide advice here on an apple for apple comparison on roi, fund and investment performance (including the so called or alleged "underperforming" cpf) are those who have been there, done that, seen it all overseas, especially in 1st world countries, and have decided to walk the talk by plunging their capital in sg, after exhaustive analysis. i'm regretful that i've not done it sooner in re-investing in sg.