• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Govt seeking to develop local manufacturing capabilities for face masks: MND

shud not stop there ...

shud oso develop manufacturing capabilities 4 loong soap bars (dose dat can cut in2 smaller pieces 1), toilet papers, rice ...

blackmondy

This guy might help but most probably up lorry liao....

SG-xxxx4.jpg

• 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 120

Aha! So face masks are important to safeguard from infection. This "only wear your face mask if you are unwell" is baloney.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Aha! So face masks are important to safeguard from infection. This "only wear your face mask if you are unwell" is baloney.

My classmate said that all healthcare staff at SGH are wearing masks. They wear full N95 and PPE when seeing patients in isolation rooms.

The REAL reason why they don't want everyone wearing masks is because if everyone wore them everyday and changed masks (correct thing to do) daily, there would not be enough masks for everyone or even the healthcare workers anymore.

"only wear your face mask if you are unwell" is a spin. But if the govt said the truth - not enough masks for everyone you think sinkies will understand?

The problem is the sinkies themselves. They will kpkb. Refuse to accept the realities. Short term thinking.

what about local manufacturing capability for panties and bras since many get stolen at hdb balconeys? they are critical and strategic national resources too since sinkie boys, men and ft’s will go nuts and disturb national peace and order without sniffing half a dozen soiled pairs a day.

My classmate said that all healthcare staff at SGH are wearing masks. They wear full N95 and PPE when seeing patients in isolation rooms.

The REAL reason why they don't want everyone wearing masks is because if everyone wore them everyday and changed masks (correct thing to do) daily, there would not be enough masks for everyone or even the healthcare workers anymore.

"only wear your face mask if you are unwell" is a spin. But if the govt said the truth - not enough masks for everyone you think sinkies will understand?

The problem is the sinkies themselves. They will kpkb. Refuse to accept the realities. Short term thinking.
Kee chiu already said that if everyone wants masks, we will have a shortage. And then not enough for medical staff. And he gave the example of HK and their mask shortage situation. That's the truth revealed, unwittingly.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Kee chiu already said that if everyone wants masks, we will have a shortage. And then not enough for medical staff. And he gave the example of HK and their mask shortage situation. That's the truth revealed, unwittingly.

It is. And anyone who disagrees with that doesn't understand the realities and is pure selfish only thinking of themselves versus the greater good for the cause.

Indeed. Plus the fact that now they see the "production of face masks and other protective medical gears as a strategic facility". Damning evidence they goofed despite claiming we are "well prepared" and have learned from the SARS episode. Being reactive is pap's forte.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Indeed. Plus the fact that now they see the "production of face masks and other protective medical gears as a strategic facility". Damning evidence they goofed despite claiming we are "well prepared" and have learned from the SARS episode. Being reactive is pap's forte.

they did learn from SARS. Which is why so far there are no cases involving healthcare workers. Which is good.

Hypocrite-The

Perhaps kee chui should 1st address the export of masks which is actually a strategic good in a war situation. Why are foreigners allowed to buy masks n send it overseas whereby ah tiong land has banned the export of masks?

Some netizens admire the man's philanthropy but others are outraged that so many masks have been taken out of Singapore
TISG_Hu-Haiquan_020320.jpg
Photos: Hu Haiquan, boxes of masks and the volunteers at Changi Airport/Haiquan Fund via Phoenix Weibo
Author
- Advertisement -
SINGAPORE — On Sunday (Feb 2), Chinese singer Hu Haiquan drew attention for reportedly sending 160,000 face masks in two batches from Singapore to China.
While the demand for face masks has gone up all over the world, China has said that it urgently needed them to tackle the spread of the Wuhan virus.
Most netizens were curious as to how or where the singer acquired all the masks. Some admired him for his philanthropy but others were outraged that he had taken so many masks away from Singaporeans.
The singer, who forms half of soft-rock duo Yu Quan, was spotted at Changi Airport on Sunday (Feb 2) delivering the second batch of about 40 boxes containing 80,000 masks bound for China. He posted about it on Weibo using the Haiquan Fund account, a venture capital fund he formed in 2003.
- Advertisement -
Haiquan Fund’s post on Weibo thanked about 10 families bound for China who volunteered to check in some of the masks. The flight was believed to be the last one to China by the unidentified airline.
0076EdAQly1gbhvvoa8p3j30u014079k-225x300.jpg
Photo: Chinese singer Hu Haiquan and the boxes of masks/Haiquan Fund via Phoenix Weibo
71482140ly1gbhuh9jnx4j20q60i9wiz-300x209.jpg
Photo: Hu Haiquan and the volunteers at Changi Airport/Haiquan Fund via Phoenix Weibo
0076EdAQly1gbhvvolp2mj31400u0n28-300x225.jpg
Photo: Hu Haiquan and the bags of masks bound for China/Haiquan Fund via Phoenix Weibo
Netizens, particularly on Reddit, reacted in different ways to what Hu did. There was a lot of love, a lot of confusion and there were bad feelings.
“Frankly, I think this is a good move. Singapore managed to control the virus, assuming all the potential virus carriers are blocked and good measures implemented. More help should be rendered to the China people, who are in high risk and mask remains high in demand,” wrote one netizen.
“Can’t tell…are we supposed to be outraged by this or what?” wrote another.
“Can’t blame him for wanting to help his people (in a place that needs the masks much more desperately)…but he is buying up our stock in bulk. Confused pitchfork,” confessed yet another.
Maybe have our own opinion about it?” suggested someone. “He couldn’t have gotten them cheap and probably spent a small fortune for his countrymen, but then he’s supporting those unethical mask resellers/markup-ers.”
“160k is not a lot for China but it’s a lot for a small country like Singapore. Did he care about the needs of his host country? Doubt so. He is taking the supplies that we need … Is there really a need to send 160k mask back other than publicity? And how the heck did he even get 160k surgical mask?” asked one netizen.
“… If we are aiming to minimise total number of infected worldwide then China having the masks would most probably be more effective. People opposing this are probably more interested in self-preservation, which is an understandable natural instinct,” said yet another.

The thread on Reddit goes on, with people taking turns expressing their opinions on the matter.
This netizen summed up the sentiment quite well:
“I’m torn as well.
“On one hand they definitely need it more than us. There isn’t even a human to human transmission case in SG yet so using masks imo is quite an overkill especially if you’re not super young/old/pregnant.
“On the other hand SG spent the resources to plan, stockpile and prepare for such situations. Idk if the masks are being sold at a price where we are actually getting much profit if you take into account the effort behind the scenes. So in a way we are subsidising their lack of preparedness?
“All in all it’s just a sucky situation and the CCP should have planned better. I don’t blame the Chinese people.”
/TISG

Post Views:
- Advertisement -

Surgical masks do nothing to protect against the coronavirus. If anything they make matters even worse.

Isn't putting a plastic bag over the head a better protection than mask? We will never have shortage of plastic bags.

KNN as my uncle said earlier CCS cannot solve mask issue in a small cuntry and dare to joke about mask using his ji byproduct as a tool KNN
download.gif