• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GIC have a 80% probability of losing in Li Ning investment

WikiTemasek

http://wikitemasek.org/gic-have-a-80-probability-of-losing-in-li-ning-investment/

GIC have a 80% probability of losing in Li Ning investment

OPINION PIECE
By Anonymous

The Government of Singapore Investment Corporation, GIC, was reported in 19 January 2012 that they have purchased some SGD$36.5 million of 5 year convertible bonds from Li Ning, a listed sports brand company on the Hongkong stock exchange.

Did GIC lose money?
The big question lying on Singaporeans’ interest is whether if the sovereign wealth fund company made a loss from the recent dive in Li Ning’s shares. The real answer? Nobody except the GIC knows. Because if it all depends on whether, or when and how much did GIC convert the convertible bonds. Assuming if they have converted the bonds at Li Ning’s peak share price of $10, GIC’s estimated losses would be around $20 million. But if they have somehow converted them in the “profit window” of about 2 months period of Jul-Aug and Sep-Oct, they should be sitting on a paper profit of about $4 million. In statistical terms, GIC have a 80%(spreading 8 invested months from January to October today) probability of making a loss and a remaining 20% probability of breaking even or earning an unproportionate profit that of the risk undertaken.

But depending on your personal values, the real issue here is transparency and accountability, and that is if it matters to you if at all. Lets just leave that topic for another day, because this writer here is more interested in a sustainable system than a blind religious faith in a system that self-proclaims it won’t go corrupt over time.

The GIC is a private company owned by the Government of Singapore and its role is to manage the Government’s assets. Given that the national compulsory saving statutory board CPF is a government asset, its funds or your CPF money is directly managed by GIC. Hence, if GIC goes belly up, CPF can’t pay you, but you will still be legislated by law under the CPF that you deposit a third of your employed salary every month. What about profits? We all know the CPF pays only what it promises at the adjustable interest rate with adjustable withdrawal limit and adjustable minimum sum to the fancy of the PAP government, and since the GIC boasted a 3.9% annualized returns since some 20 years ago, the question is why isn’t the profits distributed back to Singaporeans?

To keep it simple, Singaporeans bear all the risk if GIC/CPF/Government loses money while the profits derived from risk(there is no profit without undertaken risk) goes into the pockets of the GIC/Government. Such a system reflects the PAP Government’s elitist stance that whatever good work have been achieved over the years in Singapore by Singapore are done in good faith of themselves and not the people. The disconnect between the people and the government is similar that of a monarchy, where the ruling elite and dynasty government claims all good work done by their name and the people are meant to be lower castes unfit of governance.

salah liao lah this article.......................

should be Temasek has 100% probability of losing 80% of their entire investment................

Those buying Li Ning stuff is really stupid! Price is comparable to Nike/Adidas or more expensive.
Li Ning brand for badminton is even more expensive than YONEX.

Walked into a certain Li Ning 'boutique' store once. The prices of the merchandise was crazy. For that amount of money I could have got top end Yonex products with spare money left over.

Temasek (a.k.a Ho Ching and Loong) bend over backwards to invest in China, develop property in China (Capitaland, you know what I'm talking about), and let China stocks be listed in SGX etc.

Looks like the gambles are backfiring.

[video=youtube;NAZfPprXKw4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAZfPprXKw4[/video]

Fishypie

Those buying Li Ning stuff is really stupid! Price is comparable to Nike/Adidas or more expensive.
Li Ning brand for badminton is even more expensive than YONEX.
No reaLLy bro, recentLy i ended up buying some Li Ning badminton rackets @$40+ per pcs; aLL because Yonex ones are cLose to $200 bucks each, even for entry LeveLs..no choice.
But of course you can feeL the difference, but for beginners' group; no one knows & cares.:cool:

No reaLLy bro, recentLy i ended up buying some Li Ning badminton rackets @$40+ per pcs; aLL because Yonex ones are cLose to $200 bucks each, even for entry LeveLs..no choice.
But of course you can feeL the difference, but for beginners' group; no one knows & cares.:cool:

Maybe fake Li Ning racket.
There new brand racket Called APACS not bad some model can string up to 35lbs.

Bro Tony, no good. They give less than lowdown peanut interest returns for similar super long term deposit.

Hey, have you forgotten the official peanut exchange rate in SINgapore? ( courtesy of Erm! rattus Go!'s wife) 1 peanut = S$600,000 what peanut interest return , more like a micro grain of sand. The loose more money, minimum sum will be 1 peanut!, Medisave Min sum 1/2 a peanut & the withdrawal age 65, you begin to get 'rice grain' amount at 85. :p

Fishypie

Maybe fake Li Ning racket.
There new brand racket Called APACS not bad some model can string up to 35lbs.
Yup, i was recommended that too..but just CMI, after stringing; the face shape became egged rather that ovaL.