• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Get Ready for Cheaper Housing...

cheekenpie

..... and perhaps some JB ECs :smile:

May 20, 2011
IN THE ST NEWSPAPER TODAY
Analysts expect shift in housing policy
By Esther Teo, Property Reporter

SOME property analysts are anticipating policy shifts on HDB flats and mass market private homes, with the appointment of Mr Khaw Boon Wan as the new National Development Minister.

They say Mr Khaw, 58, the outgoing Health Minister, is known to be an effective game changer.

Since housing affordability was a hot-button topic during the elections, the analysts foresee Mr Khaw as being forceful on this issue, at least early on.

Analysts note that Mr Khaw had volunteered for the portfolio, replacing Mr Mah Bow Tan, who is retiring from the Cabinet and the post he has held since 1999.

They recall Mr Khaw was parachuted into the Health Ministry after the 2003 Sars crisis. The well-liked politician was instrumental in restoring confidence in charities after the National Kidney Foundation scandal.

DMG & Partners Securities research co-head Terence Wong said he would not be surprised if Mr Khaw shows determination to make housing more affordable for the young.

bullfrog

Why not make it once in 50 years?

That is, make a downpayment of $8, then pay off in 50 years. Lagi affordable.

annexa

You bunch of sinkies are fucking conned together with the stupid oppos. I don't understand why the fuck is the oppos comparing 4 room or 5 room price year after year when HDB has been changing the goalpost by changing the SIZE of the fucking flat.

Why the knn oppos and especailly GMS so thick in the head? Why never do a PER SQ FEET price comparison. Then you will see the knn difference and real inflation! So how, you guys going to do that? What is the per sq feet or per sqm price changes for the last 2-10 years in percentage?

cheekenpie

You bunch of sinkies are fucking conned together with the stupid oppos. I don't understand why the fuck is the oppos comparing 4 room or 5 room price year after year when HDB has been changing the goalpost by changing the SIZE of the fucking flat.

Why the knn oppos and especailly GMS so thick in the head? Why never do a PER SQ FEET price comparison. Then you will see the knn difference and real inflation! So how, you guys going to do that? What is the per sq feet or per sqm price changes for the last 2-10 years in percentage?

How to compare per square ft when you know that smaller flats always lose on this comparison?

Like studio flat in condo can be $1000 psf, but big bungalow can be $300 psf.

lianbeng

I foresee means-testing being implemented for HDB grants!

lianbeng says ah khaw did very well implementing his mean testing on healthcare so not surprising he may carry on his success into our homes n properties. :biggrin: "u live in bt timah area? pay more lor."

Seee3

The insurance companies are busy working out a new insurance coverage for citizens to hedge against any increase in housing price. The earlier you buy, the cheaper. Best to buy before the baby is conceived. Heard it is called Cover-Overhead Insurance Scheme.

IR123

How to compare per square ft when you know that smaller flats always lose on this comparison?

Like studio flat in condo can be $1000 psf, but big bungalow can be $300 psf.

Cost of 4-room flat in 1960, 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, 2010 on a psf basis.

If in 1960, it costs $20,000 for 100 sq m and today costs $800,000 for 80 sq m, then the actual cost increase is from $200 sqm to $1000 sqm over a span of 50 years. This works out to an annual inflation rate of ???.

If you feel that is too far-fetched, then compare 1990 with 2010. Better still, compare on the basis of Ministers. When Minister so and so was in office, the price of flat is ??sqm and tabulate it on the basis of the Ministers. You can then see their key indicators.

Interesting point to tabulate it by Ministers. This can be done for housing, medical care, transport. You can also do a comparison table on Prime Ministers on any key indicators you like though it depends on the public to determine if you are talking sense or nonsense.

I think tabulating on the basis of Ministers makes some sense when you compare their relative effectiveness across similar talents.

aurvandil

I think tabulating on the basis of Ministers makes some sense when you compare their relative effectiveness across similar talents.

The Cabinet line up has been drawn up based on political considerations.

So far, the responses from the new Ministers in the sensitive portfolios of housing, health care, transport and FT policy have been less than reassuring.

Khaw Boon Wan said that he “volunteered”. The way he said it sounded as if he was going on a suicide mission.

Gan Kim Yong was candid about his lack of experience. His promise was that he would keep an open mind.

Lui Teck Yew seemed oblivious that he was taking over a portfolio with significant problems. He seemed to think Raymond Lim was on the right track and appeared to indicate he would be continuing with Raymond Lim’s policies.

Tharman has so far kept a steely silence. Perhaps he is evaluating his career options given that the top job at the IMF is his for the taking if he wants it.

None have articulated a clear vision or shown any passion for the portfolios they will be taking over.

... Khaw Boon Wan said that he “volunteered”. The way he said it sounded as if he was going on a suicide mission.
tis burger very how lian 1 la ...

he's damn cunning ... previously, he noes how 2 make use of his blog 2 sel koyok of himself (compare wif ah georgie, ah georgie no fite wif him) ... c whether he stil got any blog not now ...

... Tharman has so far kept a steely silence ...
tis 1 scared say sumting wrong later kena question ... n den have 2 sheepishly issue statement @ nite 2 say otherwise ... :o