• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gentings Sentosa set to fail

ahleebabasingaporethief

Dear Mr. Tan,

You letter is good and straight to the point.

You raised 2 issues.

1. Good planning in Singapore

2. Better reporting in our news medias.

I answer for you.

1. How to have good planning in S'pore when the best brains and talents have either left or do not want to get involved with the CIVIL SERVICE? Only the BEST PORLUMPARS are there and they work with their mouths and tounges.

2. Better and more accurate reporting in S'pore? Not when the SCUMs are still around.

As it is, the 1st Day of casino opening was an EMBARRASSMENT to say the least for ALL involved in the project.

For DAY 2, they announced that 75,000 people visited Sentosa. I understand all UNION members were 'encouraged' to visit Sentosa and Casino to give the impression that it is successful.

Just 1 thing. I want to know how many S'poreans actually went in the last 2 days to the casino. Very easy to find out as they are the stupid ones that paid $100.

Will RWS release this information? I doubt that as most are foreign workers. A stupid friend who visited the casino told me this casino has NO CLASS compared to others around the world.

I do not know if he was referring to the structure, composite, the quality of people in there; or simply ALL 3.

JinGanKor

I don't understand how the $100 entry ticket is good for 30 days. What is the point of collecting it. The PAP said the $100 was to discourage gambling addicts. But if you don't charge $100 per entry, than any addicted gambling just pays the $100 per month and go in as many times as they want. makes no sense.

They should definitely state the dress code at the entrance so there is no confusion. No good to be wait in line and denied entry due to dress code.

it is not good for 30 days of entry. Once you buy the $100 entry ticket, you dont have to use it on the day itself, you can use it within the 30 days. But once used, it is valid for 24 hour.

prince123456

prince dont like to play when all foreign worker behind look look and eyes big big..

not worth the 100 bucks.. sorry genting .. i'm really dissapointed.. this time.

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>makapa <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:35 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 1) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>28667.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>
icon1.gif
Is this Singapore Casino or Haiti Relief Camp?
<HR style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #989898; COLOR: #989898" SIZE=1><!-- / icon and title --><!-- message -->
2ueiw6h.jpg

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply Delete Edit </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>makapa <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:34 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>Heart Break Kid (HBK75) <NOBR></NOBR>unread</TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(7 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>28642.7 in reply to 28642.4 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>See who made up the crowd...
http://www.zaobao.com/photoweb/pages1/sentosa100216.shtml
sentosa100216a.jpg

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Merl Haggard

I just check with someone inside, seems like the story is different.

It was fully packed. Long queue to pay "ERP" to go in, Long queue to apply membership, and long queue to get inside.

membership is for those people who bet, there will be a record on your account/card. Once you hit certain figures, there will be some freebies like meals.
But to me that is crap because they need to key in the amount you bet every time which is totally inefficient.

there are 30+ entry path but there is nothing to block people from entering before they scan, so people just rush in without scanning.

only half the table is in operation not because of no people gambling, but because of inefficiency of CRA which is slow in issuing the licence to the croupier. So only half the number of tables are operating and people have to form at least 2 rounds around the table.

there are people who wear shorts, bermudas, scandals or slippers and was blocked. When they pay $100 ERP, the blood sucker just collect happily. But when they want to get in they were stop for not in proper attire. The casino staff explain that the ERP ticket is valid for 30 days, they can always come back another day when they are properly dressed. Some of the people are not happy and start scolding the staff. Imagine you queue for hours, and pay $100, then queue again, when it is your turn to enter they say you cant go in. Why didnt they tell them right at the beginning so that their time wont be wasted? $100 collect 1st then say?

2am and it is even more crowded then daytime. Citizen and PRs have to pay ERP but those with work permit does not need to pay to get in. So even my maid can go in free, bangla can go in free, PRC students, FL all can go in free.

about 10+ girls from foreign country are asked to leave because they were being too "friendly" with some of the men. No prize for guessing where they are from.

I reiterate - let's see if the gambling crowd is still there once TK Lim withdraws the 10ks to 20ks
complementary chip scheme dished out to all premium players of Gentings and Star Cruise.

shOUTloud

You guys hor. Full of shite leh. How many of us with the postings here have gone in?

Here's my field report. I reach ard 11pm last night with a friend. There was NO queue at the levy payment counters. NO queue at the entrance where I had to tap my IC to go in.

Once inside, about half the casino is closed. The other half is packed with people. There are NO seats available. If there are foreign workers running around not gambling, at least they are no seated and taking up the precious seats.

There are two smoking zones and 1 central non smoking zones. One Maxim casino for members I think and one upstairs for members. ANyway, I cannot go in so no comments on those.

There are free coke and coffee machines but if there are free rotis or chicken pies, I must have missed those! Half the food courts are not opening yet. There are not enough toilets so have to queue to pee.

After walking ard to enjoy the scene, finally settled down with a fren to play Blackjack. He took the available seat while I look see. Every single table is crowded with no empty seats. Pple like me have to resort to just following other players.

Ard 1am, my PRC frens came and dived straight into the jackpot machines. He was cursing as there are NO machines available. I think only half the machines were activated. Anyway, managed to get him a machine abt one hour later and he promptly threw in S$5k immediately (for those who are interested, he lost 6k by the time we left at 6am)) and started playing.

By 3am, my two feet were hurting as I was standing and walking ard. Ard 3.30am, they started closing the smoking zones (except for the slot machines) and the crowd moved out to the central zone. People were leaving but the place seem very crowded as the remaining players are all grouped together.

I saw quite a few PRCs, Malaysians, Indonesian boys, angmohs (they are the loudest) and Hongkies. The Pontoon and Blackjack tables were the loudest with the "picture!" calls.

I am not sure how the casino will work out but RWS is seriously overwhelmed. The carpets were badly worn with the fur coming off and no one vacuuming the floor. The coupiers were very inexperienced and kanna scolding from impatient players.

I am a small time player and I am not really in favour of casino in ruining people's lives. But we are all in charge of our lives. I have a fixed amount to lose last night and I see the $100 as an entrance fee to a night of entertainment. I am quite pissed about the lack of free food (as alluded by the bros here) but I am happy Singapore has a casino. We are defintiely one of the glam places in the world leow. With one casino coming up and the F1 coming again in Sep, I think we will do well.

However, I am saving my next $100 for MBS. Anyway, I still have 7 hours left on my levy. Might be going in later to take another look.

It's good for Singapore if RWS succeeds. But there are people who simply don't want Singapore to succeed. I think these people have green eyes.

Depends on what you mean by success :confused:

Encouraging vice, wage dumping to the detriment of working citizens is not what I would call a success.

Even PAP supporters are concerned. What kind of future can these lesser mortals expect in Spore? If the PAP was doing such a good job why haven't they held an elections:confused:

aurvandil

I am not sure how the casino will work out but RWS is seriously overwhelmed. The carpets were badly worn with the fur coming off and no one vacuuming the floor. The coupiers were very inexperienced and kanna scolding from impatient players.

You are quoting your experience during a super long weekend of 4 days. What is the casino going to look like once CNY is over and everyone goes back to work?

I am a small time player and I am not really in favour of casino in ruining people's lives. But we are all in charge of our lives. I have a fixed amount to lose last night and I see the $100 as an entrance fee to a night of entertainment. I am quite pissed about the lack of free food (as alluded by the bros here) but I am happy Singapore has a casino. We are defintiely one of the glam places in the world leow. With one casino coming up and the F1 coming again in Sep, I think we will do well.

However, I am saving my next $100 for MBS. Anyway, I still have 7 hours left on my levy. Might be going in later to take another look.

I don't think 2 casinos and Singapore will become transformed into a glam holiday destination. Cambodia has a casino. The Philippines have casinos galore. Unless there is a secret plan to issue casino licenses to every major hotel in Singapore, it is very doubtful Singapore will become a gambling tourist destination like Las Vegas or Atlantic City.

The most likely outcome is that economics will eventually force the removal of the $100 levy. After that, the IRs will degenerate to another place where the Toto/4D/Horse racing crowd can go to lose money.

dysentry

smiles for mat sallehs, threats for locals ... as usual

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/cXAbvUUdhXM&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/cXAbvUUdhXM&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<table class="msgtable" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="96%"><tbody><tr><td class="msg" valign="top"><table style="width: 500px; height: 424px;" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td rowspan="2" style="vertical-align: top;">
</td><td height="8"></td></tr><tr><td class="msgtxt">
sentosa100216a.jpg

</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table>

This has to be the most embarrassing sinkie scene ever!:eek: It looks more like a queue for daily wages rather than the entrance to what is supposedly the most prestigious casino in town!:rolleyes:

The country is a freakin' joke.

Beshitted

Like Genting Highlands, there will be peak period, low period and shoulder period. Every day more than 100,000 people cross the big Causeway in cars, motorcycles, buses or taxis to get to Singapore. What is a small causeway connecting to Sentosa?

Not to forget of course another million FTs working and residing in Singapore.

It's good for Singapore if RWS succeeds. But there are people who simply don't want Singapore to succeed. I think these people have green eyes.

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20091026-175931.html

I think you've forgotten the 'loudhailer'? What happened to your normal pattern?:biggrin:

cass888

Encouraging vice, wage dumping to the detriment of working citizens is not what I would call a success.

You miss the point. The vice etc is not directed at working citizens or PRs. That is why we have the $100 levy. The target is not the money of the Singaporean/PRs. In fact, if the vice becomes a problem, do not be surprised if this levy gets increased or the debarrment of Singaporeans/PRs get even stricter.

Why do you think Genting was so alarmed that it had to make a bid for Sentosa? Easy. Because it knows it is going to lose up to half its Malaysian market to Singapore. Now it's got a pincerhold on the Malaysian dollars.

Screwball

There are free coke and coffee machines but if there are free rotis or chicken pies, I must have missed those!

You should have come earlier. There was free food available from 12.00pm to 9.00pm. Not rotis or pies but buffet style cuisine. I should know because I am in-charge of replenishing the chafing dishes :p We also gave out 300 trays of finger foods.

Next time come earlier :p

shOUTloud

You should have come earlier. There was free food available from 12.00pm to 9.00pm. Not rotis or pies but buffet style cuisine. I should know because I am in-charge of replenishing the chafing dishes :p We also gave out 300 trays of finger foods.

Not going leow. Main reason is I cannot stand paying $100 to stand behind pple to place my bets. My next trip will be to MBS. Then I will make my comparison.

Anyway, I am not a big player. I will just follow my PRC friends when they are in town. The casinos are not getting my $$.

i_am_belle

wow ... buffet style cuisine ... :cool:

no wonder all the FWs made a beeline for the casino ... was wondering how come the bangla never come & clear the rubbish chute for 3 days ... :p

this free food available everyday or only during the grand opening ?

shOUTloud

btw, since the bloody food court is so long queue. I would suggest that after 3am, your staff should be walking around and give free mineral water to everyone.

yesterday at 4am, I spotted a staff giving out mineral water and asked for a bottle more for my PRC fren and he said only 1 bottle each.

oh come on! 4am in the morning, surely the free loaders would be at home leow. no doubt these are teething problems but good to get it fixed asap.

What makes you think that anybody in the PAP is interested in controlling vice$$ :confused: They are the ones pushing all the button in Spore Inc & they don't care if the $$$ comes from locals or foreigners.

That $100 levy is just lip service to appease those who are against gambling e.g. churches, social groups,... Even with the $100 levy in place how is it going to disuade a compulsive gamber :confused:

Only have to look at the prostituition problem. Its no longer isolated to places like Geylang, its migrated to the heartlands, Joo Chiat,..,even to Tanjong Pagar, So who in the PAP is watching :confused:

You miss the point. The vice etc is not directed at working citizens or PRs. That is why we have the $100 levy. The target is not the money of the Singaporean/PRs. In fact, if the vice becomes a problem, do not be surprised if this levy gets increased or the debarrment of Singaporeans/PRs get even stricter.

Why do you think Genting was so alarmed that it had to make a bid for Sentosa? Easy. Because it knows it is going to lose up to half its Malaysian market to Singapore. Now it's got a pincerhold on the Malaysian dollars.