• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gentings Sentosa set to fail

Don't believe me go and ask Mabel Lee, SVP of gaming.

It's more convenient for some PAP supporters to ignore the evils, boondoggle, corruption, cronyism,.honest mistakes ..

This selective ignorance has allowed the PAP go down the toilet. I'm sure the old guard are turning in their graves :rolleyes:

lifeafter41

They say they are targeting 13millions visitor in 1 year.
Which mean 35,000 per day
when marina, it will be 70,000 per day
How to attract 70,000 per day?

Just to err on the lower end, at 35k per day, you will need at least 1458 person and hour or 24 person to go into RWS every minute.

I happen to be passing by Vivo earlier on, don't see much cars or taxi going in. Also the monorail at vivo is closed during the night, it's not at 24/7. How to have more visitors?.

lifeafter41

Sinkies are in the unique position of having to pay $100 to go in, but their maids go in for free!! LOL.Uniquely singapore.

Ha Ha....Agree with your observation. Even the FTs, aka Foreign Talent, as your regular Bangla, PRCs, Pinoys , etc, gets to go in for free while Singaporean has to pay S$100.

Uniquely Singapore indeed......

JinGanKor

I just check with someone inside, seems like the story is different.

It was fully packed. Long queue to pay "ERP" to go in, Long queue to apply membership, and long queue to get inside.

membership is for those people who bet, there will be a record on your account/card. Once you hit certain figures, there will be some freebies like meals.
But to me that is crap because they need to key in the amount you bet every time which is totally inefficient.

there are 30+ entry path but there is nothing to block people from entering before they scan, so people just rush in without scanning.

only half the table is in operation not because of no people gambling, but because of inefficiency of CRA which is slow in issuing the licence to the croupier. So only half the number of tables are operating and people have to form at least 2 rounds around the table.

there are people who wear shorts, bermudas, scandals or slippers and was blocked. When they pay $100 ERP, the blood sucker just collect happily. But when they want to get in they were stop for not in proper attire. The casino staff explain that the ERP ticket is valid for 30 days, they can always come back another day when they are properly dressed. Some of the people are not happy and start scolding the staff. Imagine you queue for hours, and pay $100, then queue again, when it is your turn to enter they say you cant go in. Why didnt they tell them right at the beginning so that their time wont be wasted? $100 collect 1st then say?

2am and it is even more crowded then daytime. Citizen and PRs have to pay ERP but those with work permit does not need to pay to get in. So even my maid can go in free, bangla can go in free, PRC students, FL all can go in free.

about 10+ girls from foreign country are asked to leave because they were being too "friendly" with some of the men. No prize for guessing where they are from.

Screwball

Citizen and PRs have to pay ERP but those with work permit does not need to pay to get in. So even my maid can go in free, bangla can go in free, PRC students, FL all can go in free.

There is going to be some changes. The past two days saw more than 3000 foreigners inside the casino loitering for hours without gambling but were helping themselves to the free food and drinks. These foreigners were not tourists but foreign workers taking advantage of the system.

cheowyonglee

My guess is this.Why the garbanmen set the rule $100 entrance for Singaporeans?

1)They can't set for non-Singaporeans as that might suggest that tourist had to pay to get in and that will only deter the tourist from travelling to Singapore to bet.They can choose other countries with no such rule and regualation.

2)They had in mind to recoup back if not all but some of their initial investment in it.Example, they might already have this thought that Singaporeans will spend $100 just to look look once in their lifetime.100 x 400 million locals here will fetch alot to them.

3)If the garbenmen really dont want us to gamble, no need the 100 dollars.just ban us for life.But did they do it???no reason is becos ... $$$$ is in their mind. if they really dun want us to gamble, 4D horse racing toto soccer s-leage wont be appearing.

think abt it.If the one in charge really that white, their salary wont be so high up.they will think of how to make best of us.

downgrader

There is going to be some changes. The past two days saw more than 3000 foreigners inside the casino loitering for hours without gambling but were helping themselves to the free food and drinks. These foreigners were not tourists but foreign workers taking advantage of the system.

The most efficient change would be to convert RWS into foriegn worker dorm and free the mainland space for residential development

I just check with someone inside, seems like the story is different.

It was fully packed. Long queue to pay "ERP" to go in, Long queue to apply membership, and long queue to get inside.

membership is for those people who bet, there will be a record on your account/card. Once you hit certain figures, there will be some freebies like meals.
But to me that is crap because they need to key in the amount you bet every time which is totally inefficient.

there are 30+ entry path but there is nothing to block people from entering before they scan, so people just rush in without scanning.

only half the table is in operation not because of no people gambling, but because of inefficiency of CRA which is slow in issuing the licence to the croupier. So only half the number of tables are operating and people have to form at least 2 rounds around the table.

there are people who wear shorts, bermudas, scandals or slippers and was blocked. When they pay $100 ERP, the blood sucker just collect happily. But when they want to get in they were stop for not in proper attire. The casino staff explain that the ERP ticket is valid for 30 days, they can always come back another day when they are properly dressed. Some of the people are not happy and start scolding the staff. Imagine you queue for hours, and pay $100, then queue again, when it is your turn to enter they say you cant go in. Why didnt they tell them right at the beginning so that their time wont be wasted? $100 collect 1st then say?

2am and it is even more crowded then daytime. Citizen and PRs have to pay ERP but those with work permit does not need to pay to get in. So even my maid can go in free, bangla can go in free, PRC students, FL all can go in free.

about 10+ girls from foreign country are asked to leave because they were being too "friendly" with some of the men. No prize for guessing where they are from.

I don't understand how the $100 entry ticket is good for 30 days. What is the point of collecting it. The PAP said the $100 was to discourage gambling addicts. But if you don't charge $100 per entry, than any addicted gambling just pays the $100 per month and go in as many times as they want. makes no sense.

They should definitely state the dress code at the entrance so there is no confusion. No good to be wait in line and denied entry due to dress code.

downgrader

But ST reported casino so packed it had to close doors

Are you guys talking about another casino?

Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Feb 15, 2010
Crowd roars in on RWS
By Lim Wei Chean & Tessa Wong

More than 35,000 punters took advantage of the long holiday to try their luck pn Monday and Sunday at Singapore's first casino, which has been more than five years in the making. -- ST PHOTO: MUGILAN RAJASEGERAN

AS HE cut the ribbon to open Singapore's first licensed gambling hall on Sunday, Genting Group chairman Lim Kok Thay said: 'We have waited a long time for this.'

So, it seemed, had many others. The new Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) casino was so packed on the first two days of its long-awaited opening that it had to shut its doors for two and a half hours at 12.30am on Monday.

Those already inside were having trouble placing a bet or just finding a seat at the gaming tables and slot machines. Outside, people were asked to wait.

More than 35,000 punters took advantage of the long holiday to try their luck pn Monday and Sunday at Singapore's first casino, which has been more than five years in the making.

Despite Sunday being the first day of the Chinese New Year and one traditionally devoted to visiting relatives, thousands poured in from 12.18pm when the doors were thrown open to the public.

RWS declined to say how many Singaporeans or permanent residents were among them. But on both days, there were far more foreigners queuing up than Singaporeans and PRs, who are subject to a number of restrictions, including having to pay a one-day entry levy of $100, or $2,000 for an annual pass.

Read the full report in Tuesday's edition of The Straits Times.

longbow

I too agree totally. Merl H is credible and he has excellent inside info on both Singapore and Malaysian businesses. Always look forward to his posts.

Perhaps we have divergent info because Merl is giving input on actual gambling takings for the day vs news media's propaganda on the long queues. What is the point of people lining up, pay the $100 just to go in to look see and not gamble much.

Merl Haggard is the most credible forummer in this forum when its comes to business intelligence and the politics behind it. Everyone of his comments is spot on. He has an excellent track record with this and and his previous nick. Its not hearsay either.

Conan the Barbarian

For those that paid $100 to get in
They get
1) $30 in chips
2) $70 in f and b vouchers.

Looks like genting is the one "subsidising" the entrance
fee for locals.

For those that paid $100 to get in
They get
1) $30 in chips
2) $70 in f and b vouchers.

Looks like genting is the one "subsidising" the entrance
fee for locals.

Is it true that the gov take the 100 dollars and keep it for themselves, but call it charity money for poor?

and the casino have to give 30 in chips and 70 in food/drink vouchers to sinkies??

And it is only for 24 hours, have to pay again next day. right?

PAP is so GREEDY. Their GREED surpass anything comprehensible in this world. It is amazing that they will be vote in year in year out for eternity.

so let assume FT working in singapore lost all their money in casino, do you think singapore will not be affected by increase crime? Just like a local lost all their money, crime rate go up.

It is impossible the casino will survive, it is DOOM.

myo539

They say they are targeting 13millions visitor in 1 year.
Which mean 35,000 per day
when marina, it will be 70,000 per day
How to attract 70,000 per day?

Like Genting Highlands, there will be peak period, low period and shoulder period. Every day more than 100,000 people cross the big Causeway in cars, motorcycles, buses or taxis to get to Singapore. What is a small causeway connecting to Sentosa?

Not to forget of course another million FTs working and residing in Singapore.

It's good for Singapore if RWS succeeds. But there are people who simply don't want Singapore to succeed. I think these people have green eyes.

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20091026-175931.html

cass888

And we are not even in the 70s and 80s . The Good Ol' Times .

116445_casinoNightsWanddeko_big.jpg

CasinoNight70s-flyer.jpg

Genting is operating its casinos like a pair of pincers. RWS from the south and Genting Highlands up north, so it won't matter to them as long as the Genting Highlands gamblers they lose in the south go to RWS rather than Sands.

SneeringTree

Like Genting Highlands, there will be peak period, low period and shoulder period. Every day more than 100,000 people cross the big Causeway in cars, motorcycles, buses or taxis to get to Singapore. What is a small causeway connecting to Sentosa?

Not to forget of course another million FTs working and residing in Singapore.

It's good for Singapore if RWS succeeds. But there are people who simply don't want Singapore to succeed. I think these people have green eyes.

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20091026-175931.html

I agree with you. I dislike PAP intensely and I was on the fence when they were deciding whether to build the casinos. However, now that they are built, I would want them to succeed. Failure would be catastrophic. This is beyond PAP, it is about Singapore.

cass888

2)They had in mind to recoup back if not all but some of their initial investment in it.Example, they might already have this thought that Singaporeans will spend $100 just to look look once in their lifetime.100 x 400 million locals here will fetch alot to them.

Where did you find 400 million Singaporeans / PRs??????????????

cass888

I agree with you. I dislike PAP intensely and I was on the fence when they were deciding whether to build the casinos. However, now that they are built, I would want them to succeed. Failure would be catastrophic. This is beyond PAP, it is about Singapore.

Success or failure is irrelevant. It is not Singapore's money. The $2 billion was already used to pump prime the economy in its time of need!

ahleebabasingaporethief

Very good letter with 2 issues raised in red and underlined.

Monday, February 15, 2010
Slow start for Integrated Resort in Sentosa

The newspapers reported that there was a long queue in the foreigner entrance and a short queue in the local entrance for the integrated resort. I thought that it meant a successful start for the resort.

A friend told me that the people in the foreigner queue were not tourists but the foreign workers in Singapore. They went to the resort to enjoy the free drinks, cheap meals, showers and new facilities. Few Singaporeans went to the resort as they were deterred by the $100 entrance fee.

Something is wrong. The expensive facilities are now enjoyed by the foreign workers, and not for Singaporeans. This is an unintended consequence.

Of course, this is early days, and the discrepancies will be sorted out. But, it is a bad sign. Surely, we are capable of better planning in Singapore?

It is quite sad that I could be misled into the wrong impression. I hope that the newspapers would be more upfront in giving the correct impression

Tan Kin Lian