• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Furious mother blasts MoD chiefs after being forced to send warm clothes to soldier

Watchman

Furious mother blasts MoD chiefs after
being forced to send warm clothes to
soldier son fighting in Afghanistan

By Daily Mail Reporter
Last updated at 1:28 PM on 7th January 2011

A mother had to send warm clothes to her freezing soldier son when the Army refused to issue more clothing.

The issue was taken up in the House Of Commons by Sharon Martin's local MP for Blaydon, Tyne and Wear, Dave Anderson.

Her son, Royal Engineer Alex Martin, 24, was serving in Kabul, one of the coldest parts of Afghanistan and suffered during freezing nights. This week temperatures are set to plunge as low as -6 degrees Celcius at night.
Kabul, one of the coldest parts of Afghanistan, sees temperatures plummet to -6 degrees Celcius at night

article-1345010-0A0C460E000005DC-237_468x286.jpg

Kabul, one of the coldest parts of Afghanistan, sees temperatures plummet to -6 degrees Celcius at night (file photo)

When the Ministry Of Defence (MoD) refused his request for warm clothing, he told friends and family he needed a winter fleece and waterproof jacket.

But Mrs Martin's son's request angered her when he revealed the Army issue wasn't due until February.

Mrs Martin contacted her local MP, but Ministry of Defence officials insist soldiers have adequate gear for winter service.

Mrs Martin, 51, of Ryton, Gateshead, said: 'When you are a mother of a soldier you learn to not get upset at certain things but this angered me and caused me concern. He was in a freezing cold part of the country and I had to send him a fleece and a warm waterproof jacket in November because it was too cold.
Appeal: Dave Anderson MP has raised the issue of inadequate clothing for British troops in Afghanistan in The Commons

article-1345010-06B8AB8B000005DC-273_233x400.jpg

Appeal: Dave Anderson MP has raised the issue of inadequate clothing for British troops in Afghanistan in The Commons

'His army clothing was not enough and his winter wear had not been sent out.
'I got in touch with Dave Anderson and he mentioned our case in the House of Commons. It is only right that those out in Afghanistan should be warm in winter.'

Mr Anderson told the House of Commons about Mrs Martin having to send warm clothing out to her soldier son because of MoD failings.

He also said he had asked the MoD for information, but that its response was 'not acceptable' - and that he hoped it would be embarrassed into doing the 'right thing.'

Speaking in the Commons, the Labour MP for Blaydon said: 'I was approached by my constituent, Sharon Martin, who informed me that she had that day sent out a fleece and winter clothing to her son, who is serving in Kabul.

'He had been advised by the Ministry of Defence that winter clothing would not be available in Afghanistan until February 2011.

'For the past week, I have tried to get the MoD to respond to this and I was told, 'Will you put it in writing? We will respond within 15 working days.' That is clearly not acceptable.'

Speaking later, Mr Anderson said: 'I've tried to resolve this as speedily as possible but the bureaucracy of the MoD moves slowly, hence my intervention.

'Parents and loved ones should be sending out Christmas parcels not winter clothing to our lads and lasses.

'My Government was, quite rightly, criticised for not taking proper care of the people at the sharp end. I don't want to do that but it seems the only way to get action - I hope - is to embarrass the MoD to do the right thing. I await their letter with interest.'

Alex, 24, a soldier in the Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers (REME) has been in the Army for seven years after leaving St Thomas Moore School in Blaydon, Gateshead.

He was sent out to Afghanistan in September and got in touch with his girlfriend to tell his family that he was suffering from the cold and needed extra layers.

Mrs Martin added: 'I got Mr Anderson involved not just for my son but for all the other soldiers who didn't have warm clothing. Mr Anderson rattled a few cages and the situation has now been resolved as Alex and the others have got their winter Army gear sent out to them now.

'This is the result we wanted. It was probably because Dave got in touch with the MoD.'

A MoD spokeswoman said: 'There is no shortage of winter clothing for troops in Afghanistan.

'All troops deployed during the colder months are issued with the appropriate warm clothing, and in addition extra stocks are kept in theatre. There is no need for any individual to supplement their winter clothing by other means.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...r-son-fighting-Afghanistan.html#ixzz1ANh0RCK8

Re: Furious mother blasts MoD chiefs after being forced to send warm clothes to soldi

I remember before going into NS had to buy my own fork/Spoon, mug, sponges for helmet, elastic for holding up the legs of pants, permanent marker to mark my stuff, lock & chain for my rifle, .... :)

Re: Furious mother blasts MoD chiefs after being forced to send warm clothes to soldi

wahlaneh...
this type of gu-niang recruits how to fight a real war?

-6 degrees leh. you go there and try? cold means cold. They are not on exercise, they are there to fight. They should get all the comfort they need to fight a war properly.

dun confuse singaporean ns exercises with a real war.

-6 degrees leh. you go there and try? cold means cold. They are not on exercise, they are there to fight. They should get all the comfort they need to fight a war properly.

dun confuse singaporean ns exercises with a real war.

wahlaneh...
u r right! precisely they are in Afghanistan to fight a real war not like our NSmen go ROC for military exercise-cum-sian taiwan meimei.
in real war where got so comfortable still got winter clothes meh?:confused:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...n-fighting-Afghanistan.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

READ THE COMMENTS:

When these soldiers eventually return..they will be policing our streets.

- Pauline Maria, Manchester, UK, 08/1/2011 03:15
Click to rate Rating (0)

Report abuse

My husband is in northern Afghanistan and has spent nearly two years deployed there altogether. I had to send him a heater, a boat-load of Cold Gear clothing, and a -15 sleeping bag just so he could sleep in the winter. It's pathetic.

- Sian, Derry, NI, 08/1/2011 00:17
Click to rate Rating 16

Report abuse

The temperatures in Afghanistan range between +53c and -52c. The troops based in Kabul live either in a converted factory, or in converted stacked shipping containers, or tents. It IS cold there right now, and anyone who has been there knows that the troops are not able to simply pop out to get extra clothing and equipment. they are also heavily restricted with their postal allowance - they can only receive parcels of limited size (shoe box) and weigth (2kg). Any idiot can be cold, and any idiot will do nothing about it, so anyone asking for assistance is not being stupid, or selfish. A member of the armed forces is an expensive comodity - why aren't they being looked after more carefully..??? PS - I speak from experience (read my current location..! \/ \/ \/ \/

- Ex military, British tax paying, ex-pat, Bavaria, Germany & Kabul, Afghanistan, 07/1/2011 23:52
Click to rate Rating 23

Report abuse

I would like to know why it takes so long to show the earlier posts????

- dee, loughborough uk, 07/1/2011 22:37
Click to rate Rating 14

Report abuse

When is out so called government going to give us a reason for our troops being there? - Bubble, Queningborough UK, 07/1/2011 20:31 They're fighting/dying for the NWO-worldwide public enemy No1.

- Greg, W.Yorkshire, 07/1/2011 20:51
Click to rate Rating 9

Report abuse

Could you please inform your journalist that the Royal Engineers and the Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers are NOT the same thing.

uncle-sam-i-want-you.jpg

Like the ex-Soviet the US is obviously too poor now to afford their wars.

The Republicans are back in congress to cut Obama's budget for wars.

I think it is time Singaporean bear more debts and donate your remaining CPF to USA. Temasek will deliver it.

Shit! Lucky I never pulled any visit the front line stunt in Afghanistan at this cold winter. If frozen soldiers asked me for my jacket in front of CNN camera I balls drop. How to answer?

Talibans must be laughing their turbans off!

:o:o

I remember before going into NS had to buy my own fork/Spoon, mug, sponges for helmet, elastic for holding up the legs of pants, permanent marker to mark my stuff, lock & chain for my rifle, .... :)
Lock and chain for your rifle?
Bro, your unit no armskote isit? :p

eh guys, The news seem to be talking about British Troops not American

First and foremost, the British Army has no conscripts; all are regulars.

Second, he's surely not all alone out there; there must be at least a coy or regiment.

Third, I'm sure all of them are issued with the same clothings.

Last but not least, why is he the only one complaining?

It is British Troops being discussed. He didn't have a clue the article was being written until the day it was printed.

Lock and chain for your rifle?
Bro, your unit no armskote isit? :p

Lock is for the cupboard when you sometimes need to leave your rifle inside which is a joke as everyone knows how easy it is to break those flimsy little locks.

Last but not least, why is he the only one complaining?

He didn't complain, his mother did. Besides, only peasants will keep quiet when they are getting shafted.