• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

First time go modelling agency need pay 1K upfront

Muthukali

Modelling is actually more or less a self-employed job like insurance or property agent. When you want to become an insurance or property agent, they'll ask you to pay for exam fees etc. too. Modelling agencies, like insurance and property agencies, don't hire you to collect regular monthly salaries. You're paid on job-done basis. It's standard practice for models to pay their own portfolio fees. The agencies wouldn't risk such upfront expenses unless the model has a sponsor already.

So Ramseth, have you done modelling before? Cos I look at your avatar, your gesture looks very much like a model. If yes pls share your encounter, But why must put your leg up huh? Is that pic of yours taken in your office, sure good fengshui ya... :biggrin:

Yes, I've done a few amateur "guest appearance" in San Francisco and Tokyo in my younger and more muscular years. No need to pay portfolio fees to make full portfolio since I wasn't going to go full-time. Just for fun and helped a friend on little cameos. Frankly, I didn't think I could make it. It's not as easy as you think.

The avatar photo was taken in a Genting casino hotel room. My photographer Jixiaolan lost until left RM14 and two bus tickets. I was thinking whether to jump down or to beat him up. That's why the leg raised. :biggrin:

(I know, I know, some forummers would be thinking...why didn't I just jump!)

Muthukali

Yes, I've done a few amateur "guest appearance" in San Francisco and Tokyo in my younger and more muscular years. No need to pay portfolio fees to make full portfolio since I wasn't going to go full-time. Just for fun and helped a friend on little cameos. Frankly, I didn't think I could make it. It's not as easy as you think.

The avatar photo was taken in a Genting casino hotel room. My photographer Jixiaolan lost until left RM14 and two bus tickets. I was thinking whether to jump down or to beat him up. That's why the leg raised. :biggrin:

(I know, I know, some forummers would be thinking...why didn't I just jump!)

hey your story sounds beli familiar to me. Currently do you have a futures broker?

NoNewsGood

I think I read this some time ago.

There was this gal who was headhunted by some modelling agent. Same thing, she was promised all kinds of lucrative modelling jobs and she had to pay $XXX for the agency to make her profile.

This gal actually paid the $XXX, got her photoshoot and her profile made (nothing more than a nicely bound photo album like what you get for your wedding photo shoot). Months went by and you guess it, the gal got no call and no job.

Realising it was a con, the gal went public. If you look at her profile photos, your first thing in your mind is probably "wa lan eh, this kind of face can be model?"

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/pCL06NhGASI?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/pCL06NhGASI?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/6nDkOIb0j50?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/6nDkOIb0j50?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/gbK-5ED_c50?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/gbK-5ED_c50?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

ah_phah

model agency r just scams. they expect applicants to bear the costs of the operations. if thats they case, everybody can start their own model agency using the same biz platform liao.

might as well start a porn production company, applicants must pay $ for costumes, equipments & undergo trial (fxxk) test on & off the camera, to determine photogenic or not.

cass888

This is the SOP of modelling agencies. Get "gian" people to pay for the clothes, photoshoot etc. Then they will leave the portfolios for customers. Most aspirants will not be asked for obvious reasons. For those who are selected by customers, the modelling agency takes the lion's share of the fees. A case of "Heads, I win, Tails, you lose".

One of my friend very handsome, kena headhunt by a modelling agency.
The rep ask him to go for an interview.
First time go for interview, was asked to pay 1K upfront.
The reason cos' they need to buy clothes for models and hire photographers and rent equipment.
My friend heard liao say "huh WTF"?
Got such thing?
Go for job interview and instead ask by the company to pay money?
WTF??

denzuko1

This seems to be a con job which has been around for many years. They will prey on gullible models and star wannabes to give them money, once paid up, the agent will suddenly disappear.

coolguy

They even tried to con those as young as 5yrs old to those as old as 82yrs old.:eek:
This is really "Da Xiao Tong Chi" (young or old all makan).

modelling agency very smart now ...they never promise you will get modelling jobs .....it all depends on their customers...they know how to play " tai chi " thanks to the goverment systems loop holes . tehnically speaking ..its legal ...thats why theres many con company in singapore .they can survived so long without getting trouble with the law ...churches and temples is a good example of con company in singapore ....

LonewolfAlfa

i models holding
http://www.imodelsholdings.com/
Friend kena headhunt at City Hall MRT.
Give namecard ask to go to
The Central office building at Clark Quay for interview.
Need to press intercom code for them to identify you,
then the door will be unlocked for you to go in.
Saw many people down there.
Got a stack of magazines for you to browse and a LCD TV to watch.
They claim their assigment are featured in those magazines.
Dunno true or not.
Give you a slip to write your particulars like name, address, profession etc.
Then call each person one by one in and psycho you.
Can pay by Nets also. Very convenient.:rolleyes:

u seem to be describing it from a first hand experience.