First dengue death: He waited 5 hours at TTSH's emergency department, says mum

Are you sure you did not go to the mortuary..it is on the same floor...A&E is always PACKED...& the sitting area too. I am sure you went to the mortuary..it is quieter than.. it is a GHOST TOWN not was..

True. TTSH A&E always packed! My doctor friends taught me... tell them you have fever AND chest pain.... cannot breathe.... sure kena attended to quite quickly as it goes up the classification category of urgency. But again, a whole lot of liars may have been fcuking around the system, especially FT ah nehs and tiongs who are congenital liars

In sinkapore, no money, no talk. Or you have to be somebody. If you are somebody, anything can go.

If you are somebody, no need A&E , an emergency team of doctors will attend to your emergency, even you are in Timbuktu, Mali!!

ya, man! ...

ze national carrier wil send a chartered flite 2 fetch u back! ...

ya, man! ...

ze national carrier wil send a chartered flite 2 fetch u back! ...

Heard from my kopi kakis of this case ...one member of kwa family was caught by a neighbouring country for spying and the government went to great lengths to save him whereas another case of sinkee spies caught in another country received no assistance from sinkapore. In the latter case, sinkapore just looked the other way. Moral of the stories ....don't stick your neck out for sinkapore when it is governed by the PAP.

Small little snot country why bother to gather intelligence from other countries?

This is our World Class medical care.

we should welcome a double whammy of dengue and SARS....densars or sargue

In Auckland, he'd have to wait 10 hours. Sinkies should count their blessings.

Song la....how many more peasants must die before the 60.1% zombies wake up from their matrix slumber?

and the govt wants to target 6.9M population? with this kind of hospital standard (5 hour waiting time)? :rolleyes:

The hospital's fucked up attitude should be blamed and so should the hoards of idiots who loves to turn up at ICU with minor sickness like small gash on the finger, headache, mild diahrrea. They are the people who increased the waiting time. The worst thing is, the whole fucking village of family tags along!
Don't blame the hospitals. There is simply insufficient hospital beds and medical staff to cater to current population size. The fucktard LHL pumped up the immigrants numbers so quickly that hospitals can't catch up. You can't build hospitals that quickly because it takes a long time to train up senior doctors and nurses.

Don't compare with rural Australia. Singapore is a city state that ought to have the best medical care in the world. You should compare with tokyo, Switzerland, Sweden, New York etc.

1. sammy, i guess the deceased should be grateful.
2. as he only waited for 5 hrs hoh.
3. what is "compassion" to you.
4. oops! you don't have any:D

Don't compare with rural Australia. Singapore is a city state that ought to have the best medical care in the world. You should compare with tokyo, Switzerland, Sweden, New York etc.

I have done a comparison and waiting times in Singapore are similar to those in NY. Emergency services are always stretched in any country. I waited 10 hours in Auckland when I broke my ankle.

New York Patients Wait Nearly Five Hours In Emergency Room

First Posted: 02/15/11 09:37 AM ET Updated: 05/25/11 07:30 PM ET

s-NEW-YORK-HOSPITAL-large.jpg

Patients in New York's emergency rooms have to wait longer than almost anyone else in the country.It takes an average of 296 minutes, or nearly five hours, before patients are cared for in the state's hospitals. That ranks 46th in the nation, tied with Mississippi.That number increased by 18 minutes between 2008 and 2009, according to a Press Ganey hospital survey.From the New York Post:

New Yorkers have wait times that are about an hour longer than in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts and Connecticut as well as Illinois, 30 minutes longer than in Florida and 22 minutes longer than in California, the study found.Industry sources said recent hospital closures have contributed to longer wait times. For example, St. Vincent's Medical Center and North General hospital in Manhattan shut down last year, and about a half-dozen city hospitals have shut down over the last several years.

"The patient volumes in the other hospitals are up, said Press Ganey Senior Vice President Christy Dempsey. "The patients have to go somewhere."The state's health department brushed aside the report."Our concern is that patients receive accurate diagnoses and quality care," a spokesperson said. "Our system is not designed to be like the 12-items-or-less line at the supermarket."Daniel Lowenstein, a spokesperson for the Primary Care Development Corps, said the report points to a larger systemic issue."This is another symptom of not having enough primary care and preventive care," Lowenstein said. "People go to the e.r. for things they should go to the doctor for or because they let it go for so long that they had to go to the e.r. Either way, it's another symptom of the broken system."

A certain old man probably goes around without a wallet:D

No need to to carry an IC or cash. Many people seem willing to give him an extra egg or two for free.