• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fawning - An Asian trait

This is something a doctor friend in Gleneagles noticed over the last decade as more foreigners take up job in Singapore. He could not help but notice that Asian staff from India, PRC, Philippines, Myanmar would fawn over Caucasian patients but do not seem to display the same when it came to Asian patients. He also noticed this when the Caucasian patient did not bother or were rude. He said that it applied to both male and female asian staff.

If Asian are kind and good natured, then they would apply the same treatment to Asian patients. He could not help it. He said that he did not notice the same from Senior staff. He however that Sr Female staff tend to talk to Caucasian with an accent that they do not use when talking to locals.

Haha, many Singaporeans suffer from Pinkerton syndrome, cannot shake off that loser mentality

Anglophile, francophile but better than being a paedophile! The trait doesn't stick with me, really dun give a damn! Hahaha..

I don't like angmo and find them hairy and ugly.. yucks!!

So are you saying the FTs also think ang moh tua kee?

This is something a doctor friend in Gleneagles noticed over the last decade as more foreigners take up job in Singapore. He could not help but notice that Asian staff from India, PRC, Philippines, Myanmar would fawn over Caucasian patients but do not seem to display the same when it came to Asian patients. He also noticed this when the Caucasian patient did not bother or were rude. He said that it applied to both male and female asian staff.

My personal experience is that PRC and Pinoy nurses treated me very well when I was hospitalised. No complaint. :)

If Asian are kind and good natured, then they would apply the same treatment to Asian patients. He could not help it. He said that he did not notice the same from Senior staff. He however that Sr Female staff tend to talk to Caucasian with an accent that they do not use when talking to locals.

If they speak to Caucasian patients in Singlish, then I worry that some misunderstanding may cause accidental fatality. :eek:

The nurses and doctors try as much as possible to make themselves understood according to how the patients speak, not whether they're Caucasians or Asians. They spoke to me in perfect English and Chinese but next minute at the next bed spoke in mock Singlish to the uncle patient. It's not a matter of discrimination. It's a a matter of necessity.

You still see this type of behaviour in all service industries after all these years. These people are simply ignorant. Will they get more pay by serving the Ang Mo better? Will the Ang Mo pay more because the nurses have been licking their assess? Will a dying Ang Mo leave an estate to the nurses that have been trying to get his cock up?

The truth is that the Ang Mos are really envious the Asians (esp the PRCs) now. A PRC whom had returned to China after living in US for more than 10 years told me that Ang Mo are now really envious of the money and the opportunities that PRCs are having now. Their lifes and economy are in deep shit. Unlike the Chinese, these Ang Mo have no savings. They longed to come to China but do not have the guts, qualifications or money to do so. Most of these Ang Mo have not even been out of their own country.

90% of the Ang Mo in China now are poor English teachers who have dubious qualifications and yet they still try to talk big and pretend to live like an expat (although their pay is lower than a local executive).

Private bankers are now targeting Asians esp the Chinese and giving Ang Mo the boot.

So what's the big deal about Ang Mo? Their era is long over liao but there are still ignorant people who treat them like their colonial masters.

Initially it was put down to the notion of pinkerton syndrome which tends to afflict English speaking females which we call SPGs.

I think you are right about it in all service industries. You see this in the hotel industry. In the past, it was put down to tipping but where tipping does not take place, you see this trait.

Ignorance might be the answer but I sense that the fact that they have achieved 1st world status and they have developed better manners as a race could also be a factor.

You still see this type of behaviour in all service industries after all these years. These people are simply ignorant. Will they get more pay by serving the Ang Mo better? Will the Ang Mo pay more because the nurses have been licking their assess? Will a dying Ang Mo leave an estate to the nurses that have been trying to get his cock up?

Your reply reminds me of the time that you claimed that PAP invited you to join them. You need to read properly.

Speaking with an accent is a far cry from speaking standard or good english. You don't need an accent to speak good English. Speaking without an accent does not mean the person speaks Singlish.

You also need to differentiate between fawning and treating one well. One can be treated very well without fawning. I hope you know what fawning means.

There is no claim in the post that Singaporeans or other Asian patients are ill treated or given sub-standard treatment.

I thought your vocation involved good grasp of languages. Or does it apply to transliteration only

My personal experience is that PRC and Pinoy nurses treated me very well when I was hospitalised. No complaint. :)

If they speak to Caucasian patients in Singlish, then I worry that some misunderstanding may cause accidental fatality. :eek:

The nurses and doctors try as much as possible to make themselves understood according to how the patients speak, not whether they're Caucasians or Asians. They spoke to me in perfect English and Chinese but next minute at the next bed spoke in mock Singlish to the uncle patient. It's not a matter of discrimination. It's a a matter of necessity.

It all started with the SIA Girl!

i dunno why we need to treat ang mor like some class above. i have ang mor frens to, they are just like everyone.

I have french fren, uk fren, usa fren, mexican fren.. etc They are normal human beings who do normal things. When i meet my frens, i just greeted them with " What the fuck are you doing, man?" they just reply," hey tony, how the fuck are you" and then we enjoy our time we some drinks and beer.

Big deal, those ang mor who try to act class with me will get it from me , like these sinkie losers here.

Your reply reminds me of the time that you claimed that PAP invited you to join them. You need to read properly.

Speaking with an accent is a far cry from speaking standard or good english. You don't need an accent to speak good English. Speaking without an accent does not mean the person speaks Singlish.

You also need to differentiate between fawning and treating one well. One can be treated very well without fawning. I hope you know what fawning means.

There is no claim in the post that Singaporeans or other Asian patients are ill treated or given sub-standard treatment.

I thought your vocation involved good grasp of languages. Or does it apply to transliteration only

Your point is still Asian service providers are in awe of Caucasian customers and make extra effort to speak better and more impressively, isn't it? I'm Asian. I don't feel such thing. If you feel it, all I can say is I feel sorry for you. Even Caucasians call me "Sir" and treat me properly when I'm in Europe or America.

It's not only towards ang mos. Anyone allegedly in some position of power would be fawned upon as well. Just look at how the majority of Sinkies treat their MPs and Ministers as though they are demi-gods. These political people are just doing their job; being paid very good money to do their job; without Sinkies they would be nothing.

It's right to treat everyone politely and with respect but fawning over ang mos or MPs or Ministers is just PATHETIC.

It's not only towards ang mos. Anyone allegedly in some position of power would be fawned upon as well. Just look at how the majority of Sinkies treat their MPs and Ministers as though they are demi-gods. These political people are just doing their job; being paid very good money to do their job; without Sinkies they would be nothing.

It's right to treat everyone politely and with respect but fawning over ang mos or MPs or Ministers is just PATHETIC.

It happens everywhere in the world. The word is aura. If you have the aura, whatever race you are, whomsoever other race or same race will respect and treat you respectfully. Even armed robbers will pass you by and look for some other victims.

It happens everywhere in the world. The word is aura. You have the aura, whatever race you are, whomsoever other race or same race will respect and treat you respectfully.

I have witness the sinkie aura before. it is very turned off and totally disgusted.

Just like u... sucking up to Thai people. U are the most disgusting fella :D:oIo:

that chee byee kia tonychat kowtows to thai people and suck thai dicks. he is very perverted one lah.:D