• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ex-GIC chief economist Yeoh Lam Keong issues badass reply to DPM Tharman’s now-viral

sirus

Screen-Shot-2015-08-07-at-10.30.53-pm-e1438958074371.png

September 8, 2015
He's probably the only person who can answer to DPM Tharman.

Jeanette Tan

The other day, we wrote about a pretty epic 27-minute speech that Deputy Prime and Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam gave at an unsuspectingly poorly-attended PAP rally in Bukit Panjang.

It was viewed by quite a few people, we think:
Screen-Shot-2015-09-08-at-13.30.59.png

It also happened to be seen by his old classmate from the London School of Economics, Yeoh Lam Keong. Who also happens to be an adjunct prof at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy.

Oh, and did we forget to mention that he’s the former chief economist at the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation?

So yes, Yeoh saw the clip, and being the awesome person that he is (see number 18), decided to issue an equally intelligent, and pretty badass response:

Lam Keong Yeoh
Earthling at BBC Earth · Yesterday at 11:24am · Edited ·
Comments on DPM Tharman's speech " No way to give something to everyone without raising taxes for middle class "
With all due respect (and believe me I have LOTS ) for DPM Tharman, there are a few facts and arguments that need to be pointed out to put the important issue of social spending, equity and fiscal sustainability in better balance:
1. The ADEQUACY of Govt spending on social protection and social security, especially for the poor and underprivileged is surely as, if not more important than how progressive it is for the middle class.
Concretely, for eg, WIS is a great scheme ; it helps low income workers without disincentivising work, is very progressive but at an average payout of $150-200 per month ( largely in CPF) it is sadly inadequate. How much is adequate? Given current living costs $500 to 600 per month and largely in cash. How much more would it cost us? Roughly $1 Bn pa or 0.3% of GDP pa. Similarly the Silver Support scheme is another great new scheme that needs to be trebled to really make a difference. Additional cost? $700-800mn pa or 0.2% of GDP.
Between these 2 reforms we would largely eliminate much of the absolute poverty and hardship we currently still see in spite of a decade of insufficient policy action to ameliorate it in a way we can well afford. Is the government taking poverty " very seriously" or seriously enough? Then what are we waiting for? I leave you to make that judgement yourself.
2. How about needed broader social protection in key areas that also benefits the middle class? We are talking here about Govt spending on unemployment protection and insurance, affordable healthcare, a high quality, egalitarian education system, public housing and transport etc. Healthcare and education reforms are likely to be the most expensive in the long run, going by OECD experience and given our ageing population. Here again, adequacy counts. Such key public goods and services for the middle class are difficult to measure in terms of subsidies received per tax dollar eg $1.20 in Finland vs $2.00 in Singapore. Much of the benefits are indirect and only received when unemployed or sick but no less important for social security and social mobility for eg the number of teachers per student, adequate unemployment protection, affordable hospital or long term care both at home and in nursing centres, excellent public transport etc. What is fair here is more a matter of adequacy combined with social equity norms than benefits received per tax dollar. Many Middle class members in developed countries don't mind paying higher taxes to have the security of a higher level of social protection and mobility as well as to look after the less privileged. Here again, Singapore has one of the lowest public spending rates on healthcare, education and unemployment protection in the OECD and I would argue still pretty inadequate for a rapidly ageing economy highly exposed to the volatility and wage stagnation that globalisation and technological change tends to generate in developed economies today.
3. Finally can we afford to upgrade social spending to better levels of adequacy without raising middle class taxes substantially? Here I am more optimistic that Singapore is in an exceptionally strong position to be able to have the fiscal headroom do so. First, because of our extremely conservative budget accounting, the IMF no less estimates that we have a structural budget surplus of 7% of GDP or well over $20 Bn.
Second, taxes on the rich are extremely low and can be raised to globally still competitive levels. Third environmental and sin taxes can be raised substantially further looking at the experience of other very competitive countries . Finally, the spending rule on reserve investment income is also very conservative requiring that half of investment income be kept for future generations. This is a very conservative time preference given that future generations ar likely to be much richer and less in need of basic social spending which we so far have yet to provide adequately for current generations.
4. Finally I fully agree with DPM Tharman that fiscal sustainability must be part of rational and responsible policy debate on BOTH sides of the house. For this to happen sufficiently, full public knowledge of fiscal resources and projections is first necessary. In the US for example, the Congressional Budget Office ( CBO) reports to Congress long from budget and fiscal projections regularly which is subject to scrutiny and debate by think tanks, academia and the public. Financial market analysts have come to trust CBO projections more than Treasury projections. In Singapore by contrast, there is a sad lack of basic budget knowledge, even in parliament or government about our true fiscal position as much of the data is secret or confidential and not rigorously discussed.
Finally I commend DPM Tharman for keeping public finances in Singapore progressive in an exemplary way and for the significant gains in social protection - MediShield Life, the Silver Support Scheme, more affordable BTO flats that the government in its leftward shift has implemented and fought for both within cabinet and in public policy. I am heartened he recognises there is still much work to do.
Fiscal sustainability is also of paramount importance, no question.
Let's retain these as much as possible without losing sight that we are still way behind on basic adequacy measures in several key areas - poverty alleviation, unemployment protection, long term healthcare, egalitarian education geared towards a creative, knowledge based economy.
Can we find a uniquely Singaporean way that combines adequate social protection, fairness to the Middle class and future generations as well as fiscal sustainability? I believe we can. But we need to have much clearer public debate before we can do so.

Once again, we know your limitations on time and crunch the super intelligent things he said into these hopefully more understandable points:

1. He praised Workfare, but says at the same time it is “sadly inadequate”, and we can afford to up it. By about three times.

Concretely, for example, the Workfare Income Supplement or WIS is a great scheme; it helps low income workers without disincentivising work, is very progressive, yet at an average payout of $150-200 per month ( largely in CPF) it is still sadly inadequate.

How much is adequate? Most social workers will tell you that given current living costs $500 to 600 per month, and largely in cash, is needed in monthly WIS payouts to help adequately cover even basic needs like food, housing, medical and transport expenses. How much more would it cost us? Roughly $1 billion or 0.3% of GDP per annum.

2. He said the Silver Support Scheme also needs to be tripled to be effective. And he says it’s easy for us to as well.

Similarly, the Silver Support Scheme (SSS) is another great new scheme directed at the poor struggling with retirement adequacy that needs to be trebled from a measly current $200 average payout per month to really make a difference. The additional cost? About $700-800 million per annum, or 0.2% of GDP.

Between these 2 reforms in the WIS and SSS, we would largely and quickly eliminate much of the absolute poverty and hardship experienced by both the working and elderly poor that we currently still see in spite of a decade of insufficient policy action to ameliorate it in a way that we can well afford. Is the government taking poverty “very seriously” or seriously enough? Then what are we waiting for? I leave you to make that judgement yourself.

3. He argues that the middle class in Singapore might well be willing to pay a little bit more in taxes to help look after the less privileged, as well as to enjoy higher social protection and mobility.

What is perceived as fair here by the middle classes is more a matter of adequacy and effectiveness, combined with social equity norms rather than just subsidy benefits received per tax dollar paid. Many middle class members in developed countries don’t mind paying higher taxes to have the security of a higher level of social protection and mobility as well as to look after the less privileged.

In the better systems, they regard it as part of their social responsibility and their contribution towards national cohesion and well being. Here again, Singapore has one of the lowest public spending rates on healthcare, education and social security in the OECD, and I would argue (this amount of spending is) still pretty inadequate for a rapidly-ageing economy highly exposed to the volatility and wage stagnation that globalisation and technological change tends to generate in developed economies today.

4. EVEN THEN, Yeoh strongly feels we can avoid raising taxes for the middle-income, given the following:

– We’ve had, he argues, extremely conservative budget accounting — even the IMF (no less!) thinks we have 7 per cent of our GDP in structural budget surplus (that translates to some $20 billion) over many years.

– Taxes on the rich are currently extremely low and can be raised moderately further to globally still competitive levels.

– Environmental and sin taxes can be raised substantially further yielding significant revenue, looking at the experience of other competitive countries.

5. He also responds to DPM Tharman, who pointed out in his speech that our returns of investment on our reserves has been maxed out in increased social spending measures. We’re plenty impressed.

Our current spending rule on reserve investment income is also very conservative requiring that half of expected real investment income be kept for future generations. This is a very conservative time preference given that future generations are likely to be much richer and less in need of basic social spending infrastructure (eg long term healthcare, education or public transport), which we so far have yet to provide adequately for current generations.

6. Yeoh also calls for greater public transparency in terms of details about Singapore’s fiscal resources so that financial market analysts, think tanks and economists can analyse and play a more informed role in debating the best use of our money.

In the US for example, the Congressional Budget Office (CBO) regularly reports to Congress on long-term budget and fiscal projections in a variety of major scenarios, which is subject to scrutiny and debate by think tanks, academia, financial markets and the public. Financial market analysts have, in fact, come to trust CBO projections more than US Treasury projections.

In Singapore, by contrast, there is a sad lack of basic budget knowledge, even within parliament or government about our true fiscal position, as much of the data is secret or confidential and hence not sufficiently rigorously discussed.

And we thought the rest of what he said is worth reproducing in full:

Finally I commend DPM Tharman for keeping public finances in Singapore progressive in an exemplary way and for the significant gains in social protection — MediShield Life, the Silver Support Scheme, more affordable BTO flats that the government in its leftward shift has implemented and fought for both within cabinet and in public policy by Ministers who care like him and Gan Kim Yong. I am heartened he recognises there is still much work to do. Fiscal sustainability is also of paramount importance, no question.

Let’s retain these orientations and directions as much as possible without losing sight that we are still way behind on basic adequacy measures in several key areas — poverty alleviation, unemployment protection, long term and chronic healthcare, egalitarian education geared towards a creative, knowledge-based economy, and truly efficient public transport.

Can we find a uniquely Singaporean way forward that combines adequate social protection, fairness to our middle class and future generations as well as ensure fiscal sustainability? I believe we can. But we first need to have much clearer, better-informed public debate before we can do so. The key strategic shape of social spending will have a tremendous impact on the well being of Singapore and on the character of Singapore society in the long term. As with the debate on population, this is too important a matter to be left just to the economists!

Now we know — DPM Tharman is still probably one of the best finance ministers Singapore will ever have, but we’re really glad we have his ex-classmates like Yeoh Lam Keong to show us it is possible to provide an equally epic answer to him.

http://mothership.sg/2015/09/ex-gic-chief-economist-yeoh-lam-keong-issues-badass-reply-to-dpm-tharmans-now-viral-speech/

escher

Re: Ex-GIC chief economist Yeoh Lam Keong issues badass reply to DPM Tharman’s now-vi

"If I lose one or more of my Heavyweight Ministars in a freak election, we will be Finished!"

Nobody dare to talk this kind of garang talk anymore? :rolleyes:

Is there even one PAP ministar who is not a clown or a flea weight Minister?
The combined efforts of all the PAP ministars cannot match the productivity of a 85 year old collecting cardboard , and thats done only as exercise

BUM_2599.jpg

Can any of the PAP bastards point out just one heavy weight PAP minister, and what the fuck he had done to claim that title of heavy weight?

Not even one can be named?

Then that fucking statement about Heavyweight ministers just another of the fucking lies PAP have been giving all of us together with their usual lies

KICK OUT ALL THE CORRUPT ROTTEN PAP BASTARDS

The tsunami to cleanse Stinkapore into Singapore is building up
But do not take it easy
Continue your efforts all the way and make it happen

Please be statesmen
Keep your eye on the ball.
The worse enemy of Singaporeans is the corrupt rotten PAPs trying to create their Stinkapore
We are in the battle of our life and your family lifes and for Singapore.
Regardless which party affiliation, WP, SDP, RP, NSP ,SPP or any other party or Independent
Do not run down any oppositions
Keep your eye on the ball
Support ALL OPPOSITIONS
Attack the PAP and only the PAP as they are the rotten bastards
Fight for Singaporeans Singapore

Singaporeans man your battle stations!
Singapore needs you now!

Put your support for Singapore on Facebook
Twitter to your friends
WhatsApp to your friends
Get a tsunami of support for Singapore Singaporeans

OPPOSITIONS ARE THE DIFFERENT FACES OF THE TRUE SINGAPORE
PAP IS THE FACE OF SEPTIC OVERFLOWING TOILET BOWLS AND CORRUPTIONS AND OF STINKAPORE

Cleanse PAP Stinkapore into Singaporeans Singapore.
Vote only opposition
Vote out all the fucking corrupt PAPs

This fight is not just your voting for opposition, any opposition against the PAP
Singaporeans must do much more than just relying on their single vote.
Give them the money to support them in the fight.
Give them your time and energy to support them in the fight
They fight for you Singaporeans
They fight our common enemy
They fight the PAP and cronies, corrupt and rotten to the core, who stole over 180 billions from Singaporeans, and intent on stealing even more from us.

Support Opposition, any Opposition, all Opposition
Regardless if they have primary school, or O levels or A levels or PhD
Regardless if they wear singlets, or tuxedos
Regardless if they wear slippers, or wear sneakers or shoes
Even if a rat crawl out of a sewer and stand as Opposition
Even if a cockroach with 6 legs and 2 long feelers at the head become Opposition
They will be much better for Singaporeans than the fucking corrupt perverted PAPs who only think of laughing all the way to their banks and back from the banks
Under the fucking PAP, Singaporeans are the 4th class citizens in their own land stolen from them by PAP
PAPs are the 2nd class citizens with the Lee family as the first class aristocrazies
Fts are taken in as the 3rd class citizens kicking singaporeans into the 4th class and sinkies good only to go head down down and arseholes up high high to be fucked and tiewed by PAPs laughing all the way to their banks.

enterprise2

Re: Ex-GIC chief economist Yeoh Lam Keong issues badass reply to DPM Tharman’s now-vi

Bottomline we have been too stingy and should give more and with our fin reserves there's no need to raise taxes.

If you give more to the people, it means the pigs at the feeding trough get less. :wink:

iluvgst

If you give more to the people, it means the pigs at the feeding trough get less. :wink:

Why do u think they pay themselves millions a year and yet won't reveal the true size of our reserves. That's cos they won't share the fruits of the labor of previous generations with the rest of us. Vote them out for two terms and let us have a fair share of our reserves.

they.. the FAP have been indeed stingy to understate the 3 meals at hawker center.

they have however un-stingy themselve by dishing out $400mil to foreign students. $400mil not $40.

this is an issue of wrong people who make wrong decision and grave injustice by self gratifying and self enriching themselves

hang them by the piano strings!

escher

they.. the FAP have been indeed stingy to understate the 3 meals at hawker center.

they have however un-stingy themselve by dishing out $400mil to foreign students. $400mil not $40.

this is an issue of wrong people who make wrong decision and grave injustice by self gratifying and self enriching themselves

hang them by the piano strings!

piano wires lah.

Piano wires!

Read the rest of my posting below and you understand piano wires better

Cleanse PAP Stinkapore into Singaporeans Singapore.
Vote only opposition
Vote out all the fucking corrupt PAPs

This fight is not just your voting for opposition, any opposition against the PAP
Singaporeans must do much more than just relying on their single vote.
Give them the money to support them in the fight.
Give them your time and energy to support them in the fight
They fight for you Singaporeans
They fight our common enemy
They fight the PAP and cronies, corrupt and rotten to the core, who stole over 180 billions from Singaporeans, and intent on stealing even more from us.

Regardless if they have primary school, or O levels or A levels or PhD
Regardless if they wear singlets, or tuxedos
Regardless if they wear slippers, or wear sneakers or shoes
Even if a rat crawl out of a sewer and stand as Opposition
Even if a cockroach with 6 legs and 2 long feelers at the head become Opposition
They will be much better for Singaporeans than the fucking corrupt perverted PAPs who only think of laughing all the way to their banks and back from the banks

Under the fucking PAP, Singaporeans are the 4th class citizens in their own land stolen from them by PAP
PAPs are the 2nd class citizens with the Lee family as the first class aristocrazies
Fts are taken in as the 3rd class citizens kicking singaporeans into the 4th class and sinkies good only to go head down down and arseholes up high high to be fucked and tiewed by PAPs laughing all the way to their banks.
[/SIZE][/B]

THERE IS ONLY ONE SOLUTION

Historically, piano wires will be what traitors of countries deserved
and we all can see PAPs as traitors to Singaporeans and Singapore and PAPs only serve their own needs and laugh all the way to their banks.
Dangle all those PAP bastards and cronies to see them dance under the lamp posts.
And turn Stinkapore back into Singapore where Singaporeans are treated first instead of the fucking Fts from fucked up schools where they cheat and cheat.

HANG THE PAPs TO SEE THEM DANCE UNDER THE LAMP POSTS

The cronies do not get peanuts or they will not be cronies

http://sonofadud.com/2015/06/25/sin...new-how-much-singtels-ceo-was-really-getting/

Running Bitch Chua Sock Koong is not even an exceptional running bitch cum crony and she getting over 10 million a year.
What do the fucking PAPs pay their even more favourite cronies? Even morest than to bitch chua

How much do the fucking ministers pay themselves? More than they want to tell you.

All that from our fucking money that they cream and cum themselves on while they go laughing all the fucking way to their fucking banks.
While we all stand stupidly in front of a fucking flag to make our pledges not knowing we all head down down and arseholes up high high to be fucked and tiewed and kanned by them all and their cronies

Dangle a PAP with piano wire from Orchard Road lamp post.
Hang all those PAP bastards from piano wires, upside down or right way up.

Singapore for Singaporeans
Singapore not for foreign trash brought in deliberately by PAPs to displace Singaporeans.
FTs brought in by PAPs to reduce the money Singaporeans can take home for their families.
FTs brought in to devalue Singaporeans
PAP then using fucking words like racists and xenophobes to further kick Singaporeans in the teeth
Remember it is the fucking PAPs that deliberately brought in the FTs so that less money for Singaporeans and less money available to fight the fucking PAPs.
To have less jobs available for Singaporeans as FTs will be given that job preference over Singaporeans.
PAP tiewing and fucking Singaporeans for smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY and PAPs

A lucrative job for which PAPs are paid until all those fuckers can laugh all the way to their banks and back from their banks

They continue to laugh all the way to their banks
And all the way back from their banks

HA HA HA HA
HEE HEE HEE HE HEEEE
HOO HO HOOO HO HO

Hang all those PAP bastards from piano wires, upside down or right way up.

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP. Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.
None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.
Maggots and cockroaches are appointed as ministers in parliament
Kangaroos are frolicking in High Court instead of being allowed to wander and roam about in the Zoo
They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.

Get rid of the poison in Singapore
And Singapore can be as good if not better than Switzerland.
Or remain head down down and arseholes up high high to be fucked to be tiewed to be kanned by the PAP maggots cockroaches
Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax
And lowest scums of society known for their vicious self interest driven greed are preaching to sinkies on morality and elitism.
Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.
Despite the leeching and fucking of singaporeans by the cheebye PAP and LKY, Singapore still managed to survive to date.
If PAP Stinkapore continues on, Singaporeans will not survive any more

my current experience in sg tells me it will require sg$900 for "decent" monthly expenses and subsistence ($30 x 30 days) if one already has a shelter over the head and mattress to sleep on. of course, inflation, currency devaluation, and cost of living will change that.

Wrong.....more, much more. Transport already takes up a huge portion. It shows you are unemployed and drink from public tap.

i seldom ride on public transport these days as i get older and poorer. i walk around and push a trolley to collect cardboard boxes as a healthy form of exercise. that also defrays some medical expenses as a result of sitting on a couch and surfing sbf.

JHolmesJr

Lucky someone forgot to put this guy on the payroll or we'd never hear from him.

$900 sure. Fap will b setting up organ forex soon and you can trade an arm a leg or a kidney to sustain your lifestyle n even get a jaguar at discounted interest rate if you hv aristocrap blood. If you feel shy to lose a limb virginity can also be offered. Premium n vintage ones like Chua sista will fetch more then syt from Mary mouth primary school.
There you go. Affordable kidney made affordable.

What a moron! No wonder he's now ex-GIC chief economist! Ah Gong sent him packing?

hofmann

Finally I commend DPM Tharman for keeping public finances in Singapore progressive in an exemplary way and for the significant gains in social protection — MediShield Life, the Silver Support Scheme, more affordable BTO flats that the government in its leftward shift has implemented and fought for both within cabinet and in public policy by Ministers who care like him and Gan Kim Yong.

its not a shift, its not a pivot, its a return to origins.
LHL allowed the pendulum to swing too far right.
Tharman and Gan have been openly identified on the left.
who's next?
lines in the sand are being drawn.

yellowarse

(SDP) GIC economist: SDP housing plan "excellent"

2f930d3d1e824db93100a2b17f84c940_330.jpg

Former GIC chief economist Mr Yeoh Lam Keong praised the SDP's alternative housing plan for Singapore as of "remarkably high quality and in-depth piece of research." Mr Yeoh made the remarks at the launch of Housing A Nation: Holistic Policies For Affordable Homes at the Quality Hotel yesterday. (Download the entire paper here .) Mr Yeoh, who is also a senior research fellow at the Institute of Policy Studies and an adviser at the National University of Singapore and Singapore Management University, described the paper as "excellent". "Not only is the theory and methodology sound and rigorous, the empirical work seems well researched and remarkably detailed as well," he said. On the policy itself, Mr Yeoh said that the Non-Open Market (NOM) proposal is "coherently laid out and makes much sense in terms of the objective of potentially giving low-income and middle-class Sing...

Full article: http://yoursdp.org/news/2012-11-05-5432