• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dual Citizenship / NS Obligations / HDB Flats and Migration

Bro, don't reply to him. He is not looking for reason or logic. He gets a high when someone replies whether it makes sense or not. He will go away when no one does.

Well, the media reported I raped a woman down the street and I'm going to be next Mr Australian of the year.. Do you believe them ?

The name and shame games are for both parties in equal rights environment particularly in Australia.. Surely, you dont wana experience what it is like in Sin ~ CCTV on your wrong filing of documents (Gomaz case).. yet but no CCTV on Mas Salamat escape :( Fear baby...

Tsk Tsk Tsk

Re: Cellars in Residential Real Properties

Wow, you seem to have done well with the basement. I know an ex-singaporean who actually decided on Canada because of the basement, I am sure with all things remaining equal.

The basement thing actually came up when I had a chat with friends when I was putting together couple of these posts. One chap who has property in Canada kept insisting that I mention basements for Canada and the US.

I am unable to speak about the USA, but I believe that almost all residential real properties in Toronto (and possibly Canada) have a basement (although you refer to it as cellar). In the old days, before 1960's if not earlier, most of the basements were not higher than 6 feet, and were not fully utilized. There was the furnace, electrical panel, storage space and laundry facilities.

Nowadays, most people have a family room and/or TV room, fire place or woodstove, wash room, laundry sink / tub, washer and dryer.

A basement could be very advantageous. For example, it was one of the considerations when I bought my principal residence about two decades ago. Our basement has a storage room, gas furnace, 50-gallon gas hot water tank, laundry facilities, then a hallway leads to a one bedroom apartment with several windows to allow natural light (which is one bedroom, a fireplace in the small living room [but big enough for a baby grand piano, kitchen, stove, refrigerator, a small dining area, four piece bathroom). The hallway after the entrance to the apartment, leads to a separate entrance and exit for the basement apartment. The vendor's daughter rented the basement apartment from me for many years until after I got married and had our first child. We reduced her monthly rent every year (to less than half of the market rent) as I have paid off my mortgage during the year we were married. We had to ask her to leave because I turned it into my home office.

This is something that cropped up during my conversations with friends. In the old days, vacancies were limited but not anymore. But these guys are collecting money and making a bundle.

When it comes to your childeran, I suupose all parents become kiasu. However kiasuism is not confined to Singaporeans. I heard of case of a white Australian girl married to a US Navy Pilot who registered her newly born child with her old school.

The kiasu mummies in my son's school advised us to register for Year 7 (secondary school) when he was only Prep !! KNS, we paid $230 regstration fees for 2 schools within the area. Better to place it in Casino for a better result. hehe..

Charlie9

A Medal for [scroobal]

I so agree with you. I think he deserves a medal for this :smile:

Agree.
I hereby nominate [scroobal] for the Spirit of Greener Pasture Medal 2009, for his tireless and selfless effort in providing broadly based information and perspective(s) for potential Singaporean emigrants.

axe168

This is something that cropped up during my conversations with friends. In the old days, vacancies were limited but not anymore. But these guys are collecting money and making a bundle.

When it comes to your childeran, I suupose all parents become kiasu. However kiasuism is not confined to Singaporeans. I heard of case of a white Australian girl married to a US Navy Pilot who registered her newly born child with her old school.

Yes.. If you are with the kiasu Australians, ya know they actually registered their children for top school (private) once they received the children's 1st birth cert. My suburb hv lots of kiasu mummies, my wifey also join in.. haha Talk about kiasuism.. they beat us all... hahaha.

Re: A Medal for [scroobal]

Thanks Charlie/Ashjaw.

Since we are all using nicks/monikers, we should be brave enough to share our own little experiences or shares those that have impacted friends and acquaintences. Also includes challenges faced by those putting thru their migration papers.

Like everything in life there will be exception and speciall cases.

I wonder if there are anyone in non-tradtional but advanced destinations such as Scandanavia, Benelux etc that can throw some of their journeys as they migrated.

Also very quiet from the UK.

Agree.
I hereby nominate [scroobal] for the Spirit of Greener Pasture Medal 2009, for his tireless and selfless effort in providing broadly based information and perspective(s) for potential Singaporean emigrants.

Agree bro, cannot beat mothers' instinct to protect her offsprings future. I was told by caucasian fathers wroking in Singapore that they can detect kiasuism in their caucasian wives when it comes to their kids participation in school sports. Always demanding that their kids are in the line-up.

Interestingly its us men that will lead the celebration after what the wives have done or endured. First one to the bottle shop will be us.

Yes.. If you are with the kiasu Australians, ya know they actually registered their children for top school (private) once they received the children's 1st birth cert. My suburb hv lots of kiasu mummies, my wifey also join in.. haha Talk about kiasuism.. they beat us all... hahaha.

More on Education

One good way of determining the Secondary or High School academic prowess is to see if they offer the IB Diploma Program, how long have they had it, the size of the cohort and the average score for the IB cohort. Anywhere between 39 to 45 is good and money well spent.

IB stand for International Baccalaureate. Note it must be the diploma program for year 11 and 12 (PreU1 and 2 or for the "A" levels exams.) Many private schools do the bullshit IB curriculumn but not the actual diploma program

Most State/Provinces in each advanced countries have their Education Program and their own version of A level grading system and universal acceptance to top Uni require an aditional entrance exam. An IB score or 40 will normally grant you acceptance to Oxbridge and Ivy League and in many cases scholarships.

Charlie9

Recent Immigrants to Canada compared to the old days

Since [scroobal] suggested that we share our experiences, please allow me to post my experiences and my observations.

In 1981, prior to completing my final exams at SU, one of my classmates and I were selected by AIESEC (Association International du Etudiants en Science Economique et Commerce). He was supposed to come to Toronto, and I was supposed to go to Melbourne. He complained that Toronto would be too cold for him, and I volunteered to switch with him. His results were better than mine. One of my objectives at university was to learn as much as possible, pass all my exams at the first try in Feb and early March (to avoid the supplementary exams in May, so that I can earn some money during reservist and from relief teaching), not just getting A's (which I had very few) but learning about how to conduct and participate at meetings and EOGM, rules of parliamentary procedures, as well as participate at Inter-Varsity Games. Thank God and my sponsor who gave me a scholarship, notwithstanding there were numerous students who had better A level results than me, I enjoyed my experience at the hostel (a Singaporean term during my university days, whereas in Canada it is referred to as Residence). I managed a few medals at Inter Varsity Track and Field, my team mates and I from SU won the Inter Varsity Sepak Takraw Competition (whereas Nantah had Khoo Yak Seng, a tekong with the SG National team), and improved my tennis on clay court.

I did work several months in SG, starting work with a major firm, prior to the release of the results for the final exams. I even went on an assignment in Brunei. While working, I also completed the course for Reservist Officers at SAFTI School of Advanced Training for Armour and Infantry Officers. That year, I signed a waiver because I served more than 40 days as a reservist in less than 8 months (I was on the ball).

Prior to my arrival in Toronto, the AIESEC Committee at the University of Toronto had arranged for one of their members to meet me at the airport, and also rented a room for me at C$200 per month. I was supposed to work in Toronto from Sep 1981 to Apr 1982. However, I expressed my desire to continue working and studying in Toronto, and requested my manager and the firm to consider sponsoring me for a "work visa" which requires a renewal every year.

In the old days, even prior to my early years as an immigrant, I believe that a significant majority of the immigrants worked very hard, saved and try to ensure that their children will do better in terms of education, become a professional, acquiring a trade, starting a business or continuing with the family's business, etc. Those immigrants were patient to try to attain a desired standard or quality of life accomplished by their predecessors.

However, as reported in one or more major Canadian newspapers several months ago, recent immigrants (say the past 10 to 15 years) do not appear as patient, and try to attain the standard or quality of life which took older (or prior) immigrants about ten or more years to accomplish, in a few years. Many of the recent immigrants made use of credit, loans and other sources of financing to live a lifestyle which is beyond their means, which usually resulted in bankruptcy. Perhaps, it is easy to "fall into the trap resulting from the expectations gap", where credit card companies and financial institutions "marketed" pre-approved credit cards, pre-approved lines of credit, low interest rates for the first several months, 5% down payment to purchase residential real property, or no money down, etc. One other individual in my profession indicated that if money is the root of all problems, credit cards would be the fertilizer.

Although I started at the bottom twice, when I was articling as a CA student, and after qualifying as a CA, I articled again to be an insolvency practitioner. Prior to articling as a CA student, the Institute made me write the GMAT, pass an English test (which I believe was an insult, because my English is above average), and take three courses (Cdn income tax, Advanced Accounting [which I do not believe I need to do, as I have passed all my exams], and Business Law [which the prof said I do not have to attend class, but take the mid term and final exams, because I have completed several law courses, by that time). After I obtained my CA, I continued to work hard, and had to study and work on my assignments for bankruptcy and insolvency one weekend, and assignments for valuation the next weekend from autumn to spring for several years. I rented a room at $200 per month for several years, and then $500 per month for room and board at another family, to save time and money for a sizeable downpayment for my residential real property. Perhaps, I took a longer route, but I had a good foundation.

ashjaw

Re: Recent Immigrants to Canada compared to the old days

hi charlie9, thanks for sharing.
Can I ask, thinking back, is there anything you wish you would have done differently?

Charlie9

Can I ask, thinking back, is there anything you wish you would have done differently?
If I could roll back the clock, I would have considered the following:
1. make more friends at school and university (but I have to start from scratch when I came to Canada; in addition, I believe that it is easier to make friends at school than outside because students are less pretentious);
2. not spent the time and effort to do valuation, as well as bankruptcy and insolvency simultaneously, but do a joint MBA / Ll.B;
3. be more like my Canadian friends: that is be less serious, have more fun;
4. may be quit the profession; and
5. travel more before getting married [not that I have any complaints being happily married to a good caring and loving lovely wife, entertains me several times a week, and who is a good mother of our four children].
Read the book "Get Smarter: Life and Business Lessons by Seymour Schulich.

Trout

If I could roll back the clock, I would have considered the following:
1. make more friends at school and university (but I have to start from scratch when I came to Canada; in addition, I believe that it is easier to make friends at school than outside because students are less pretentious);
2. not spent the time and effort to do valuation, as well as bankruptcy and insolvency simultaneously, but do a joint MBA / Ll.B;
3. be more like my Canadian friends: that is be less serious, have more fun;
4. maybe quit the profession; and
5. travel more before getting married [not that I have any complaints being happily married to a good caring and loving lovely wife, entertains me several times a week, and who is a good mother of our four children].
Read the book "Get Smarter: Life and Business Lessons by Seymour Schulich.

Agree with all you said. :smile:

plus this book.
http://www.harpercollins.com/books/9780061735196/What_I_Wish_I_Knew_When_I_Was_20/index.aspx

Been to her talk at Stanford last month, very informative.

Cheers,
Trout

Asychee

Education in OZ

Decided to include this as well. Got a very reliable friend residing there with kids having completed to give his views.

There 3 main types of schools in OZ.
A) The public school where the cost is minimal and they range from the very best to the worst. Melbourne High and Rossmoyne/ Applecross in Perth are examples of the best having performed consistently over many years. Way better than 99.99% of private schools in term of academic achievements. Places in public schools will given to residents residing in the suburbs so many parents either buy into the suburb or rent. It best best to shortlist the suburb before moving.

I agree, same here in Canada

B)The private school range also from the very best to basically hopeless. They are usually christian denominated or have roots in christianity with the larger ones run by Anglicans and Unitarian churches. The best are truly elite there is the old boy network that will help your kid long after he leaves. The fees for the elite school are somewhere around $15,000 a year. There are only about 2 or 3 in each state. Hale in Perth, Cranbrook in Sydney, Geelong Grammar in Melbourne and St Peters in Adelaide.

Note: The fees are good indicator. Anything below elite school fees is just a waste of money. The only reason locals send their kids there is usually because the public schools in the suburbs are really bad.

I agree with this too

C) The Catholic Schools are major category and have schools stretched all over the country. They however are different from SJI or CHIJ or other cathlic schools in Malaysia where they are part of the elite lot. The standards are not really there with very minor exceptions (really minor). They are also popular with ethnic minorities such as Italians, Africans, Asians who have catholic background. The Italians tend to dominate the school coucils and naturally the slant is non mainstream australian.

This is my solution - buy the worst house in the best neighbourhood, your kids will be mixing with the right type of people. Go thru the ciriculum and check out what they are studying and cover the short fall (nothing is perfect in this world). In my case, it is the financial education and the lifeskill bit that i work on, i have transfer my vending machine biz to my kids - they are learning basic accounting, where to find the most cost effective stocks at what time of the seasons & etc by doing. For lifeskills, in summer - my kids will go to the neighbour to ask if they want to cut the grass or winter shovel the driveway. In the process they learn about how to respond when you get a "no" from a stranger. It brings them down to earth too.

Overall

Don't waste your money sending kids to private school during the primary years. For secondary, first aim is to send to top public school some of which require entrance exams. If you can afford it send to the top elite for the network and good academic achievements. Would avoid private and catholic schools where the lower fees are good indicator of poorer quality.

So do choose the surburb properly.

reply posted above

Asychee

Home - Buying a house in your New Country

As the views came from US, Canada, OZ etc thought I will put up something generic

1) Always rent first. Get a feel of the area, housing and planning laws and what type of houses hold the value well etc. It will take 6 to 1 year before one gets a reasonable idea of the surrounding. Depends

2) Pick the school first, then the suburb to rent in.

3) Diligently attend open house inspections which are common in advanced countries which is something not done in Singapore. Gives you ideas, tells you what to look out for etc. Learn about things that are important and costly such as salt damp, termites in foundation, insulation, orientation of the sun (considered important for value) etc
Yes, very important

4) Never accept the recommendations of relatives and friends who are residing there. They will invariably recommend their suburb. Its human nature. Do your homework. Talk to non-asians and professionals (whites).

5) The rule of thumb is to "buy the worst house in the best street". Its the location that over time will carry up to 80% to 95% of the value.

6) Never overcapitalise - never build or buy a luxury home in run down neighbourhood. Such houses are usually owned by ethnic minorities who have extended families or "rich man" who prefers to live near their ethnic community.Agreed

7) Never buy near marginal areas or suburbs close to known ethnic minority areas.depends - here if it is chinese and upper income not problem but chinese and lower income DONT

8) Avoid suburbs that are known for periodic events such as floods (including 100 year floods), high winds, former dump, etc.

9) Check the website for allowable plot ratios which gives a fair indication where the suburb is heading as well as planning guidles for the future. Very Important - look at the master development plan

10) Don't get stricken by analysis paralysis - unable to make a decision. The good part is that good schools attract good homeowners and the value rises. Agreed - but also have to look at your needs, if a couple with out kids, it is a whole different ball game

Good Luck.

Hi brother,

i just have a few points i would like to make - Life is dynamic. if i did the above, i believe my fortune would have been very different compared to now.

I see the migration landing to be "Just like fighting a war, you will want to land in the softest beachhead and make your way inland"

i learn from a alberta based website, i sure some of you could use the same some of the advice that i based my decision.

a. Mortgage Interest Rates

This will determine if you are going to get a fixed or variable mortgage. If the trend is going to go up = fixed the rate, if the trend is going down = variable. Now when i arrived, my rates was 8% after i sold my 1st house, i set my interest to variable now my current interest that i am paying is 1.75%

b. Net Wealth Effect

Is the city that i am living is going to become richer after the cost of living,etc.

c. Job Growth and Demand

Wifey found a job, within 4 days of landing in fact her last day of work in sg was 1 week before flying and started work in new country 10 days after landing (seem crazy now)
d. Real Estate Dopple Effect

I brought my property in a sub division that is next to the main ring. on the outter side of the ring road rather than the inner side fo the ring road

e. Local, Regional and Provincial Political Climate

I choose alberta as it is the only province with "ZERO" debts, the oilsand up north , i know that is another 20-30 years of work in process. Edmonton was really welcoming newcomers - it is the 1st city that i come across that the people actually give way to each other as part of the social grace

f. Critical Transportation Expansion

My current house will have a main road linking to the major ring road in 2 months time (value is going to increase). They just built a Transit centre and a 77 million Recreation Centre

g. Cost of labour and Materials

It is a recession going on, the prices have gone down lots since i arrived. You can evaluate if you want to buy a "resale" house vs a brand new house. Some time speculators are even willing to sell it off below the replacement value. My rental property has positive cashflow so the prices go up or down. Has not much effect on me. If you think out of the box, you can also built a basement suit with it's own entrance, so the tenant can help you to pay down the mortgage. In short, be creative and ask around for options available to you and do the maths then make the decision

h. Areas of Gentrification and Renewals

I. Zoning Opportunities
j. Wholesale Buying
k. Quality Marketing
L. Renovations and Sweat Equity.

I am always adding equity to my house. May it be via the development from the city or doing renovations to increase the value. For the basement, i added a Movie threater with a bar counter, Game room, sauna and a guest bedroom. For the backyard, i added a pation with a outdoor kitchen with water feature and you can play music thru out door speaker for your parties or entertainment. A lot of people might not see the logic but i am building equity. I know that all that the next buyer of my house will pay top price for the new additions

m. Risks of speculation.

When my 1st property sort up by C$150,000 within 6 months. I know that what goes up must come down, Lots of people thinks that i am stupid to be selling telling me to hold on for better $$. I sold it and brought a basic house and started building my equity. When the prices was near the peak, i refinance it and pull out the equity. Then i have a warchest of $220K - i reinvested it on rental houses for cashflow. i know that - when my passive income is greater than my expense, i can actually not work and i did just that

When i landed, the Real Estate market was going up like crazy, as the supply was very very short. It started galloping in 2005.
I roughly know when i will be received my PR - i was checking out where i wanted to land. Vancouver or Toronto, in the end, i stumbled across a little know real estate rule in Alberta, u can assume a property ie - agreed sale price is 300K - mortgage 270K. Presto the property is yours when you pay the different, you just have to carry on paying the mortgage every month.

I started to focus on which either Calgary or Edmonton. I realize this trend, Calgary is a bigger city (white collar) than Edmonton (blue collar). The price movement will cascade to edmonton in more or less 3 to 6 months time frame.
I wrote a list of objective i wanna achieve in my 1st landing

a. assume a property,
b. Go for as many job interview as possible for wifey. We started our job search before we landed, we told them we will be landing on certain date and should be available for interview for the next 2 weeks. Get a job.
b. the property should be in the southwest of the city - the lowest crime rate (check out the crime stats),
c. what are the schools in the area and do the registering.
d. What are the bus route.

We managed to achieve all the item as i was planning prior to landing and i only know 1 person in edmonton before i landed.

We went back to Sg -we resigned from our jobs, sold our HDB, 2 business and ship our furniture that we could reused and by some suitable and necessary furniture. Brought all the little stuff, like the toilet toiletries so that we can kick start, before we actually started to replace it eventually with local produce. 3.5 months later, we landed again this time with our container.

Asychee

Since [scroobal] suggested that we share our experiences, please allow me to post my experiences and my observations.

Wow, you guys can really study and are really smart, i am only a "O" level - i piggyback on my wife's application to OZ and Canada. We choose Canada over Oz from our SWOT analysis. We felt that we have a way better chance of doing well in Canada rather than OZ.
My life plan is actually very simple, I divided out my life as 20-30 play & enjoy life as you only leave once, 30-40 years old career and procreation, 40-50 mould my offsprings into good men and women with the following values. God, Country, Family, business and work. 50-60 travel around the world 60-70-80 enjoy the grandkids and mould them to follow God, Country, Family, business, Work. 80 and beyond find a great place to leave out. Life is a sandbox - different sandboxes for different phases. When you are not married compared married, your needs and requirement are very different.

I did really bad in school as i was always asking questions driving them nuts as sometimes they could not answer my question - a habit that i am still trying to teach my kids. I ended up in one of the most notorious school in Sg.

Like you guys, i love reading too but i always ask if what i am reading is relevant to my life or how the info improve my life and what is the morale of the story.

After my NS in Navy, i did 2.5 years of appreticeship with MOBIL (oil company) - Took advantage of their sponsor course to do Scuba Diving, ended up with a Diving Instructor Cert with PADI.

I went overseas to work in Thailand as a scuba diving instructor for 1 year. travel around 6 months. Came back to Sg to work in another Oil Company as a Loading Master for Oil Terminal. Work a couple of years, before the itch starts again - bump into a Sgean who had a 5 star resort in Philippines, he needed some body to start up the Seasport Center (diving, sailing, air rifle shooting, horse ridding, etc). Did 1.5 years. Travel around Northern tip to the Southern tip in the off days. Came back to Sg work for a Petro chemcial plant for couple of years.

In my late twenties, i offered a job to work for the sultan of brunei - in charge of the refuelling operation for His Majesty the Sultan Flight (HSMF) aircraft. Work for 3 years, seen lots of stuff, interacted with the people that ran the Sg copter facility that supported the troop across the runway in BSB. Married a wonderful Filipina that was the sultan's optometrist, had our 1st kid in brunei. Parents were desperate to see 1st grand son - so no choice have to go back, was offered a job in ST to take over the airport refueling facilities from SHELL. Did the job, as usual get jack around about having no paper qualification, boss was a pen pushing grad who can cant perform alway taking credit for my achievement (refuelling for aerospace shows, indonesia evacuation, cambodia evacuation for sgean). Piss enough to walk out of the job one day. Spend 1 month redoing SWOT.

Realize that working for someone is not the solution, so when i was working for a Pharmacetical Plant - did a bunch of startup of the processes, re-do the method of production to have the same results with greater effectiveness than the original. I ran my own maid agency at the side and wifey was making glasses for the maids. After startup, was promoted and transfer to another subsidary company to clean up the act of the soft predecessor and following year, boss was sack by new boss. I took up the appt, but decided against calling myself some 'big' title. Other dept boss was not happy. Work until plant closes and move out to malaysia and was retrench but timing was just nice - receive nice payout and used the money to do landing in CA.

Did my landing, bought a house, come back - wifey resigned from job, gave my Sg Citizenship and collect CPF, sold my businesses. Ship container load of all our precious memories and left for Edmonton.

Asychee

Can i ask too, thinking back, is there any forms of racism that you experienced, for instance, passover for promotion and etc.?

In my second job, i was working in a logistic warehouse that distribute steel products for the Oilsands up north. I noticed that the inventory was taken by hand and it takes 4 teams to 3 days per warehouse. I suggested to my supervisor that we can use a Radio Freq ID (RFID) inventory system. All incoming pallets - description taken and deduct when products are removed. Cheap to impletment and takes only 1 team 30 mins max per warehouse.

He was giving me crap about the workers will have no overtime, that not how things are done in Canada & etc. Guess what, buddy was promoted and idea was used. I was sideline but i did not take it to heart as my gameplan was to get my passive income running to exceed my expenses. I can quit my job -on the day i quit, he offered to sign off was a lay off so that i can get EI (guilty siah). But i turn him down, I told him he owes me one - so that 1 day i can supply workers to the company rather than to take the EI benefits.

Charlie9

Can i ask too, thinking back, is there any forms of racism that you experienced, for instance, passover for promotion and etc.?

FOR DISCUSSIONS ONLY, and NOT BRAGGING

I would be lying if I tell you that there was no prejudice, discrimination or racism (it depends on how you define it, and the extent).

When I started work in Toronto in 1981, the firm hired about 50 individuals, including one black man from the Bahamas, one female Chinese MBA (originally from HKG), and I being the only foreign graduate.

The HR Manager asked me to choose and use a Christian name because it will be easier for others in the firm to refer to me. However, be that as it may, I prefer the name and its meaning my parents gave me at birth. I recall that my response to the HR Manager was that I could pronounce the names of all the 50 individuals, regardless whether their family names was English, Danish, Italian, German, Polish, Serbian, etc., and therefore it should not be difficult for others to pronounce my name. Since that first week, the HR Manager labelled me "stubborn."

During the first six to nine months, I perceive that several managers chose not to take me on their team(s) on various assignments (probably because I speak with a Singaporean accent, and they did not know that I had worked about half a year in SG), but one manager of German descent (and whose wife is a Canadian of Japanese descent) was pleased with my work, and I worked on almost all his assignments and numerous special projects. There was another manager (Canadian of Irish descent) whom I did not worked with, but was one of my greatest supporters, and "fought and pushed" for me in requesting that the firm should continue to renew my work visa until I pass my CA exams. I appreciate all that those 2 managers did for me, especially when the firm had to lay off many individuals during the 1982 recession, and there was resentment amongst the Canadians that I have taken a job which should have gone to one of those who were retrenched. Being an "on the ball" and dedicated employee, I seldom leave prior to 5 pm, even on a Friday, whereas others would leave after lunch if they were not busy. Remaining in the office or in the library, partners and managers usually asked me to deliver envelopes and documents to various clients in the downtown area.

I also perceive that I was promoted later than I believe I should be. I did not mind working unpaid overtime, as long as it is challenging work, and more so if it adds another line to my resume. Although during the first two years, I was paid more than my contemporaries, I believe that from my third year, I was paid less than I deserved. I knew that I will not be made a partner, because there was only one partner of Chinese descent.

After more than 8 years, I went to another firm. It is more challenging to go to another firm compared to working at the firm where I articled. This second firm provided me with more varied experience on bank files, and made me a more rounded professional. This firm chose to support two of their senior individuals rather me, and the partners' allegation was that they do not believe I have the experience to qualify as a Trustee (to pass the oral exams to get my Trustee's licence from Ottawa). Perhaps, they thought that they could destroy me, by asking me to leave after the results for the written exams were released, but prior to the oral exams. Mr. C, the partner who hired me was supportive of me, but he may be one voice amongst many. [To this day, I continue to keep in touch with him, and over the years, he has referred several files to me, and persuaded bankers to refer several files to me, as well as put in a good word for me, whenever requested. He owed me nothing, but has a very good heart and soul. He is from the old boys club. His wife was a senior executive with a major bank. His grandfather was the Mayor of Toronto in the old days.] Without full time employment and a sponsor, the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (which regulates bankruptcy and insolvency, conducts the oral exams, issues Trustee licences, etc.) usually would not invite me to the oral exams. I decided to phone JMC, the Asst Superintendent of Bankruptcy (Licensing) in Ottawa, and told him that things did not worked out, I am unemployed and without a sponsor, but would appreciate if the Superintendent would consider inviting me to the oral exams. JMC (who became a good friend, and always meet me for dinner whenever he was in Toronto) and WOC (Asst Superintendent, Toronto Region) were very sympathetic and helpful. Fortunately, I passed the oral exams and obtained my Trustee's licence, whereas the other two individuals did not pass.

If the partners were more patient, I believe that the firm could have benefitted from having me around, because I am reasonably bright, hard working, technically and legally strong, practical, identified and managed risk well, and able to hustle clients. Looking back, during the 1990's, when I was doing more than my fair share of bank files from several major chartered banks, and to this day, I have to thank the two or three partners whom I perceived were trying to eliminate me when they chose to terminate my employment, because my determination and perseverance (and the kindness and trust of bankers, lawyers, govt officials, and Mr. C. who referred files to me) ensured that I do not fail.

I am 51, neither rich nor poor, without any pension plan, medical and dental benefits which most civil servants and members of big firms or companies enjoy, but through the files referred by numerous individuals in the past (and fellow professionals who have a conflict), hard work and a frugal lifestyle, I could retire. However, given that our children are comparatively young (vis-a-vis children of my schoolmates and contemporaries), I believe that it would be prudent to continue to work 2 to 3 days a week helping other professionals resolve problems ("fire fighting" and attendances at Court, which I relish) as long as I can to keep my brain active, as well as strengthen my written language skills, oral and court skills. If I get a good file like the one in the summer of 2007 (which was referred by the firm which I am still helping, and generated gross fees of about $110,000, which is a very good file for a sole practitioner), I am able and ready to work hard for a few weeks. I have lots of flexibility.

In Sinkiepoor, hardworking Chinese sinkies are being fired on a daily basis and their jobs are taken over by Foreign Indians. Beat that for racism!:p

Asychee

Thank you for sharing your experience, it has been a great encouragement to me. I believe in painting the true picture rather than to sugar coat anything. As migration is not for the weak willed and unprepared. I believe the best way for success would be to gather as much info as possible and act on it. Our experiences has more of the sweet than sour moments but when i look back the last 3 years.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you and samsters that immigrate ahead of me. It is your sharing of experiences i managed to avoid some mine field and navigate smoothly for the last 3 years.