• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Drew & Nipple Lawyer jin humsum

In April 2017, the victim was staying back late to finish her work when the accused decided to take compromising photos of her to "ease his stress", knowing that she was alone.
KNN my uncle think the best way to leelease stress of a female colleague is to take group photos with them then go home to cut out their head and photoshop with porn KNN if no opportunity to take photo also can add them in fb then download their photos from there KNN

Balls2U

If we are alert and observant, almost everyday can see chabors exposing their colour tv without them realising it. Just look and enjoy the view. Why so stupid to take photo and run the risk of getting caught? No matter how hard you stare, those bitches can't do anything to you even if they find out that you are looking at their undies. At most they will give you a disgusting look.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Sex Offender can have gag order to protect the offender's identity? So good?

@Nice-Gook can you explain how that works? How do you get a gag order to protect your identity despite being found guilty?

blackmondy

Sex Offender can have gag order to protect the offender's identity? So good?

@Nice-Gook can you explain how that works? How do you get a gag order to protect your identity despite being found guilty?
Only if you are a foreign trash PMET, or an undergrad with good grades in NUS.

Nice-Gook

I think I have never seen a doctor be able to have such a gag order for hum sup offending leh.

but @Nice-Gook said that doctors are protected by medical association and PAP.
not only doctors ,lawyers and accountants too ..all have their associations to guard their asses..and medical is the worse among them ...I reckon ,where there are litigation ,the court usually recognises this ...are they any precedences? meaning have such a case been trialed and what is the verdict ? ...and what does the peer in the field says ?..meaning, is it customary or will another doctor, accountant or lawyer in his professional capacity do the same ?

why ?

simply because though law is written and the judge cannot be an expert at all field ,so his judgement is based on what a man in the road or what another professional will do under similar circumstances

this is where such as medical association plays a cartel ,it seldom fucks its members because one day it can very well get fucked by what it took a stand previously ..Comprende ?

nayr69sg

Staff member
not only doctors ,lawyers and accountants too ..all have their associations to guard their asses..and medical is the worse among them ...I reckon ,where there are litigation ,the court usually recognises this ...are they any precedences? meaning have such a case been trialed and what is the verdict ? ...and what does the peer in the field says ?..meaning, is it customary or will another doctor, accountant or lawyer in his professional capacity do the same ?

why ?

simply because though law is written and the judge cannot be an expert at all field ,so his judgement is based on what a man in the road or what another professional will do under similar circumstances

this is where such as medical association plays a cartel ,it seldom fucks its members because one day it can very well get fucked by what it took a stand previously ..Comprende ?

Rubbish.

SMC is not made up of doctors so much now. More lawyers.

Anyway whatever lah. You still thinking in the 70s and 80s. Times have changed.

https://www.smacmep.org.sg/resource/WHAT-YOU-NEED-TO-KNOW-ABOUT-SMC-DISCIPLINARY-PROCEEDINGS

Disciplinary inquiry

A DT made up of three members is appointed (with one member being a Judge or Judicial Commissioner of the Supreme Court, or an advocate and solicitor, or officer in the Singapore Legal service for not less than 15 years).

The inquiry is quasi-criminal in nature and the hearing is akin to a trial.

At the hearing, the doctor can choose to plead guilty to the charge(s), leaving the DT to determine the nature and severity of the punishment. Alternatively, a doctor may choose to contest the charge(s), in which event, oral and documentary evidence will be adduced and factual and expert witnesses will be called. At the conclusion of the hearing, the DT will deliver the verdict (whether guilty or not guilty) and sentence (if guilty).

Handling SMC proceedings

In this day and age, the preparation for handling of complaints should commence before a complaint is even made, with proper risk management being put in place.

Risk management

Ensure that you have adequate professional indemnity coverage. The coverage should, at the very least, cover the legal costs incurred by the doctor in preparing a written response to the complaint and in preparing and attending the disciplinary inquiry hearing. The coverage may also indemnify the doctor against the costs of the SMC’s prosecutors should the doctor be found guilty by the DT and ordered to pay the legal costs of the SMC.

In providing treatment to patients, ensure that there are proper steps taken in arriving at a diagnosis. Thereafter, provide adequate advice on the proposed treatment, benefits, risks and complications, and alternatives of that treatment, and obtain informed consent.

Most importantly, always maintain proper records by documenting your findings, discussions and treatment plans. The likelihood of successfully defending SMC disciplinary proceedings are often determined by the thorough ness and clarity of the medical records. It is pointless to studiously carry out the steps set out in the paragraph above if they are not reflected in the records.

Keep yourself updated on the SMC Ethical Code and Ethical Guidelines and any Practice Guidelines and MOH Circulars.

If you receive a Notice of Complaint

Notify the professional indemnity provider immediately and through them, engage a suitably experienced lawyer to assist in responding to the complaint. This will provide objectivity and, through the lawyer’s experience and familiarity with such proceedings, an insight and approach to dealing with the complaint.

The lawyer will also provide guidance as to how the explanation should be drafted, which would involve a careful review of the medical records, the input of any other individuals involved in the care, the inclusion of any supportive medical literature and if necessary, the procurement of a supportive expert opinion (if the complaint relates to the standard of care).

If you receive a Notice of Inquiry

Inform the lawyers who had previously assisted in the preparation of the explanation to the CC.

If it was not done previously, obtain the best evidence available, whether from the documents, potential factual witnesses or experts.

Working with the lawyers, make a realistic assessment of the merits of the case, based on the evidence obtained and the medical literature. A decision can then be made about whether to plead guilty to the charges or to contest the charges.

In the event that a decision is made to contest the charges, the doctor should work with the lawyers on preparing for the hearing.

Conclusion

This article provides some guidance on what should be done if a doctor faces a complaint to the SMC.

We have not discussed the latest developments in the law relating to disciplinary proceedings, following a series of recent High Court decisions on the standards to be applied in determining whether there has been professional misconduct, the recalibration of sentences and the increased use of fines in place of short suspensions in suitable instances. These should certainly be addressed in subsequent articles. Watch this space.