• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Do we want foreign-born winners?

YES NO?

<strong>Do we want foreign-born winners? The heroics of our table-tennis girls have again raised the question of foreign talent here. We speak to 64 S'poreans</strong>

<strong>By Maureen Koh</strong>

<p><p><p> EMBRACE all who can help us compete in world-class leagues - never mind if they are born in Singapore or abroad, I say.</p><p><p><p> However, a few Singaporeans we interviewed yesterday disagreed.</p><p><p><p> Having 'Singapore blood' is important, said Mr Alex Tan. He believes that even if Singapore had won the gold medal last night, there is no reason to feel any pride.</p><p><p><p> 'The true Singapore blood does not flow in any of the three players,' declared Mr Tan, 26, who helps run his family's fruit shop in Ang Mo Kio.</p><p><p><p> But what is 'Singapore blood'? Is it the blood of parents who are both Singaporeans that is passed to their children?</p><p><p><p> Or is it the passion one feels for the country, flowing through our veins?</p><p><p><p> If the latter, then surely foreigners too can acquire attachment and loyalty to Singapore over time. They too might learn to love Singapore dearly.</p><p><p><p> For this reason, we should embrace foreigners as they help us to join world-class leagues. They put us in the finals of Olympic competitions.</p><p><p><p> Mr Tan argued: 'I'd accept it if the coach is from China and he trained a winner who is a true-blue Singaporean.'</p><p><p><p> Mr Nick Do, 30, a senior assistant engineer, begs to differ, like 9 in 10 of those interviewed.</p><p><p><p> 'As long as the players know in their hearts that they represent Singapore, the origin of their nationality should not matter,' he said.</p><p><p><p> Mr Alan Chong, 29, an export officer said: 'Where they are from is not important, it's who they are now, and who they're playing for. They have given up their former nationality and have become Singaporeans.</p><p><p><p> 'If they can take us to world class standards, why do we belittle their worth?'</p><p><p><p> Their drive to succeed for their adopted country is what counts for the majority.</p><p><p><p> Get past the mental barrier, said Ms Helen Yeo. She argues that we should be proud that 'this little red dot has made a mark on the world competition map.'</p><p><p><p> If we keep clinging to old ideas, we'll forever be playing in a kampung league, she said.<p><p><hr width='50%' size='1'></p><p><p>'They have accepted it, so why can't we? Must we keep harping on the fact they were not born here?'</p><p><p> - <b>Ms Phoebe Lee, 40, quality assurance officer</b></p><p><p> 'The most important thing is, Singapore has won a medal after 48 years.'</p><p><p> -<b> Mr Poh Ghim Seng, 54</b></p><p><p> 'It's been so long, does it matter? The girls are going all out to win a medal for Singapore.'</p><p><p> - <b>Miss Cathefrina Chee, 28, administrative assistant</b> </p><p><p> 'We have to start somewhere and since we don't have the talent now, it's okay to depend on others. But we should not think that money can buy medals.'</p><p><p> - <b>Mr Harry Chang, 32, swimming instructor</b></p><p><p> 'China has so many talented players. The players know that if they want to make it, they have to leave the country. </p><p><p> - <b>Miss Jael Teo, 30, teacher</b></p><p><p> 'They deserve respect for bringing back an Olympic medal.'</p><p><p> -<b> Mr Tan Jia Hui, 18</b></p><p><p> 'It's definitely fine if having 'imported players' means we can improve our national standard for now. It'll only become unacceptable if we continue to use 'imported players' as a tool to winning.'</p><p><p> - <b>Mr Ming Hui, 20, full-time national serviceman</b></p><p><p> 'If anything should bother us, it's how they play the game - whether they did it with their full commitment or not.'</p><p><p> - <b>Mr Andy Ding, 26, an airforce officer</b></p><p><p> 'If Yao Ming can play for the US in the NBA, why can't these girls play for us?'</p><p><p> - <b>Mr Oh Boon Lee, 30, construction supervisor </b>

jbsmith

Wonder whether we can keep winning in future without 'imported players' ? :confused:

'It's definitely fine if having 'imported players' means we can improve our national standard for now. It'll only become unacceptable if we continue to use 'imported players' as a tool to winning.'

If Yao Ming can play for the US in the NBA, why can't these girls play for us?'

sinkie, sinkie, sinkie.

Yao ming play the NBA because he is valued as a player and that is his career. By the way , Yao Ming play for the China Basketball team in the Olympic. Not USA basketball team.

NBA and Olympic is 2 different thing. NBA is a job, Olympic is for the glory of his country that HE IS BORN IN

Carrera

I dont mind foreign-born as long as they grew up in Sinkapore. Say they live in here for the last 10 or more years. Preferably, had serve NS.
~~~

silverspoon

a medal is a medial la.....on record we have a medial...that's it...i guess this is what the government is look at

splintuh

sinkie, sinkie, sinkie.

Yao ming play the NBA because he is valued as a player and that is his career. By the way , Yao Ming play for the China Basketball team in the Olympic. Not USA basketball team.

NBA and Olympic is 2 different thing. NBA is a job, Olympic is for the glory of his country that HE IS BORN IN

That feller can't even distinguish between club and country...

pia

Foreign-born? No qualms with that. Our granddads and some fathers were too.

Import to win.. OK, as long as not at expense of promising local talents.

omega

'If Yao Ming can play for the US in the NBA, why can't these girls play for us?'

- Mr Oh Boon Lee, 30, construction supervisor
<!-- / message --><!-- sig -->

NBA is pro - all about money. Like Fandi Ahmad playing for the Dutch club :p

Maverick01

sinkie, sinkie, sinkie.

and that dickhead is from airforce..wtf....

Temujin

sinkie, sinkie, sinkie.

Errrr, you know where Liukin was born in and that the father is Russian olympic winner ....

The US has tghe most migrants who are not born there ... if without these migrants, I shiver to think what they would have become

Temujin

Please think, the world is getting smaller, boundaries are getting less defined, in future, we will all be called earthlings instead of Chinese, Sporeans, Americans etc, cultures are getting mixed up ... people go where they think it is better for them, they become the citizens, they represent the country .... thats is a fact of life ....

hockbeng

Liukin emigrated to the USA to seek the american dream as a child with her parents.

Her obtaining her US citizenship and her performance in gymnastics are 2 separate issues.

In fact, she competed in gymnastics against her parents wishes and won.

She went to the US not becos she failed as a gymnast in Russia but becos her family wanted a different life, nothing to do with olympic gold medal.

Spore? We import pple to win gold medal; and those who come are usually those who cant make it in their own country. We will thus forever be 2nd best.
Believe in your own pple. (those born here or who chose to come here cos they want a spore way of life and not becos of FT scheme!)

hockbeng

1. Immigrants(usually whole family) go to another country to seek a different life -> grow up under the system -> nutured by the system -> become citizen -> excel in sports -> win gold medal.

VS

2. Cannot make to to national team in own country -> spore willing to throw $$ to represent spore in sports -> come to spore to train (age: mid teens to early twenties)and paid with tax payers $ -> represent spore -> win medal -> make more $$ -> return to country of birth.
Proud meh?

Hope

A good one,a strong rebuttal to those stupid jokers who proclaim-psycho by 154th

Our ancesters came fr China,India,etc wow.