• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Days of Montagut, Fred Perry & Munsingwear T-shirts..

I actually have a montagut which I'm still wearing. Don't think it's THAT old......
Never realised that it meant we were up there,......... Really?

Not up there, but with them, never knew you were the Montagut crowd...heh heh heh, Fred Perry, I use for playing tennis in & for some informal occasion the polo T's.;)

Except for a Lacoste T-shirt which my gf gave me, I never had any other collared T-shirt which consider (still do) cissy. My favorite T-shirt was a black Jack Daniel's which went well with faded blue jeans.

Don't forget:

8) the pager

9) mega handphone

10) extra long nail on pinkie finger

....bell bottomed pants from Farah...white leather shoes from Camel Boots or Bata or Bally?
10.) is damned funny.Was there any practicaL reason for it ?..;)

Anyone remember that a select sikit atas few will raise their collar of their polo t-shirt. Then when starbucks and other baristas started doing it, it stopped. It was in the 90s I think.

Digging ear wax.

Oh, i thought its' to teLL others that these guys are Ah sia kias; there's no need for them to do any manuaL work,
hence the keeping of the pinky naiLs.:)

they believe that keeping the fingernail for the pinky as long as possible brings more wealth. of course, it's easier to dig nose and ear with :D

Oh, i thought its' to teLL others that these guys are Ah sia kias; there's no need for them to do any manuaL work,
hence the keeping of the pinky naiLs.:)

they believe that keeping the fingernail for the pinky as long as possible brings more wealth. of course, it's easier to dig nose and ear with :D

Guessed it's a fashion statement in those days..;)

Anyone remember that a select sikit atas few will raise their collar of their polo t-shirt. Then when starbucks and other baristas started doing it, it stopped. It was in the 90s I think.

It was almost akin to a gangster peacock spreading its feathers - if you did that, you were throwing the gauntlet down and asking for one-to-one almost to anyone who dared step up....I am sure a few of us kena scolding by our mums/dads/aunties/unclesfor trying to do the same - saying you were trying to impersonate Eric Cantona did not help....

P.S. It was sacriligeous to ever tuck in Montagut polos - if you tucked it in you would be scorned at because every self-respecting 70s/80s bookie pai kia knew that it was a major fashion faux pas - not wearing socks and rolling up your trousers was ok though.....Fifth Avenue boat shoes also ok and if you have a matching white pager with your white loafers/boat shoes meant you had literally arrived...

Boss - cannot afford Lacoste back then - only wear Crocodile - these were also the days that schoolkids from privileged background would buy Bata shoes - poorer HDB kids would buy Double Happiness from the chinese schoolbag/school shoes/school uniform shop in the wet market.

Also the Mats would carry Grandsport "tote" bags - on weekends they would not fret in wearing tiger print/leopard spot tights (very Glam Rock) and Hendrix hairdos - and they were not ashamed to carry their minah's handbags - they were metrosexual way before it became a cliche.....

Chinese pai kias would pull their shorts up - sec 1 to Sec 2 (preferably tighter the better) and mostly play some kind of number (Macpherson and Toa Payoh gee nah were the best known)

School canteens were also largely racially segmented - malays on the left - chinese in the middle- and tamils on the right - but all the races congregated behind the school canteen for a smoke....in tobacco, all were one especially when school prefects tried to "raid" - of course you had the occasional bad boy prefect who would tip everyone off....

I remember Siva Choy captured the racial interaction of those days with his Kitchi Boy gang book...happy days:

You remember Siva Choy? kitchi boy, you would remember FANFARE magazine, with the sarabat stall gang..JJ etc..Paik Choo...

Honda Prelude was also a desired car.

My friend has a Honda Accord, way back then, it souped up with the most expensive mobile Hifi, even with a custom made bass speaker...and remember those with the lights when you turn on the stereo...the Accord was the car back then, have fond memories of it...and I believe many young ladies in those days, would have fond memories in the back seat of that car too... ha ha ha

You remember Siva Choy? kitchi boy, you would remember FANFARE magazine, with the sarabat stall gang..JJ etc..Paik Choo...

Oh that Fanfare mag..i recaLLed my 1st cut out from the centre spread was David Cassidy.He was the pin up boy
then..and many of us wouLd take the troubLe to pLaster them onto our cLip board fiLes proudLy..

Oh that Fanfare mag..i recaLLed my 1st cut out from the centre spread was David Cassidy.He was the pin up boy
then..and many of us wouLd take the troubLe to pLaster them onto our cLip board fiLes proudLy..

I owned first issue to the last...sigh!, while moving house that box of memorabilia, was thrown to the dustbin...I still have the free copy of, The New Seekers " I would like to buy the world a coke" EP & Paul McCartney " Give Ireland Back to the Irish" EP with the green shamrock, well wrapped. These was one of the freebies that came with the magazine.

Wasn't crazy about David Cassidy, the girls were, togther with David Essex, Rex Smith & Leif Garret...they were pinups & that's why the girls bought the magazine too, I bought it for Paik Choo, Siva Choy & gang ( actually Siva Choyi), I thought he was Chinese... ha ha ha

I remember buying Smash Hits, Roy of the Rovers and Beano mags - there was a monthly movie mag (was that Fanfare?) about movies being released - Daryl Hannah in Clan of the Cave Bear....mmmmm

The Mats had Gila Gila which was a Mat version of Mad magazine....and of course there was Lat.....

I still remember a dumb joke from Kitchi boy: What do you get when a New Zealander marries a girl from Poland? Ans: Kiwi Polish.....

Influenced by Eric Cantona?

I wonder how many of these desired fashion traits were influenced by the HK TVB serials of those years - anybody remember CYF when he was in 網中人 (网中人) / Mong Jung Yen (Wang Zhong Ren) /"Man in the Net"?

Bro, Montagut material smooth smooth shining type?

Boh leh, mine is a checked (or is it chequered) polo shirt, material same as any other brand of polo shirt, not smooth or shining.
Don't tell me I got a fake!!!!! hahaha.................