• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CPF – An Asset Or A Liability To YOU?

xingguy

Source: TR EMERITUS

CPF – An asset or a liability to YOU?
August 10th, 2014 | Author: Contributions

2014.05.26-ST-Proportion-of-active-CPF-members-meeting-the-Minimum-Sum-at-553-565x480.png

Every year less than half could meet the Minimum Sum since 2003

CPF is our life savings, how can it be a liability? By 55 we should all be happily getting it out from our CPF accounts for our retirement. Ok, the rules have changed. By 65 we should be happy, late than never.

The rude shock to CPF members, by 55 they are told that they ‘owe’ the CPF or the govt $155,000 in the Retirement Account and $43,500 in the Medisave Account. Yes, you need to let the CPF or govt have these sums of money like you owe them. If you don’t have enough in your CPF savings, or lesser than these sums in your CPF, you cannot take out your savings. But the CPF would be so kind to let you have $5,000. Or you can pledge your property to the CPF for half of the total sum of the total sum of $198,500, or is it half of the $155,000, with the CPF.

Put it whatever you like, isn’t this a liability, a huge sum of money that you now ‘owe’ to the CPF? Yes or No? By 55, many would find the CPF a liability instead of an asset in away.

This must be another Uniquely Singapore thing. You can owe the govt or a savings scheme money when you are supposed to be taking out your savings to live your golden years. And many Singaporeans are finding this damn stressful.

Oh, not to forget, if you sell your property bought using your CPF savings, you have to return the sum borrowed plus the equivalent of interests that the money should have earned over the same period to your CPF account even if you are retired, in your 80s or 90s or 120s. It is not that after the withdrawal age kicks in, whatever money you took out for the purchase of properties is none of the CPF business. All these open ended contributions to the CPF regardless of age must be driving many people crazy, except the people making these rules and collecting the money.

Chua Chin Leng aka redbean

* The writer blogs at http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com

End of article​

Ask those Self Employed, Hawkers, Small Businessman and Taxi Drivers, they will
say, KNN! to CPF.

CPF is definitely an asset. With my CPF money, I feel so rich!

I also know that it will always be there for me GUARANTEED!

img034.gif

CPF is definitely an asset. With my CPF money, I feel so rich!

I also know that it will always be there for me GUARANTEED!

** Graphic deleted **

Sure, how can it be not guaranteed some more.

Your own money being locked up not with your own lock and key :eek::oIo::kma:

It isn't locked up. I have sinced withdrawn a large chunk to buy beautiful rural property. Withdrawals have always been efficient and timely. I have absolutely no complaints whatsoever with the CPF board. They do a fantastic job.

It is definitely an asset to the hoards of Malaysian PRs and other foreigners. The government is raiding the reserves to help them retire comfortably when they decide to cash out for good. They are definitely way ahead of sinkies in the queue before everything goes kaput.

That's rubbish I'm not Malaysian I'm a Singapore citizen and I've had no problems withdrawing money for housing, shares and managed funds.

CPF staff have always been cordial and forthcoming in all my dealings with them.

That's rubbish I'm not Malaysian I'm a Singapore citizen and I've had no problems withdrawing money for housing, shares and managed funds.

CPF staff have always been cordial and forthcoming in all my dealings with them.

Only if you buy from the company store, Leongsam. A lesson learnt from rubber plantations during the colonial era. Everything in store is overpriced.

It isn't locked up. I have sinced withdrawn a large chunk to buy beautiful rural property. Withdrawals have always been efficient and timely. I have absolutely no complaints whatsoever with the CPF board. They do a fantastic job.

Have you relinquished citizenship?

Only if you buy from the company store, Leongsam. A lesson learnt from rubber plantations during the colonial era. Everything in store is overpriced.

My rural property is on freehold land purchased on the open market. That can hardly be classified as the "company store".

It was sold by auction and I managed to outbid everyone else thanks to liquidity provided by CPF. Without CPF, I would not have been in the running.

My rural property is on freehold land purchased on the open market. That can hardly be classified as the "company store".

It was sold by auction and I managed to outbid everyone else thanks to liquidity provided by CPF. Without CPF, I would not have been in the running.

You mean the rural freehold you bought in NZ after withdrawing the balance over and above the Minimum Sum? Oh, i forgot you used to draw a 5 figure monthly salary. CPF or none, it would have made little difference.

Not so for the young chaps who didn't qualify for the Pioneer Package!

Retiring in SG is a joke.

Even old people living in third world paradise islands are happier!

They get paid millions to mess around our CPF like monkeys!

why you think boss sam is so happy :D

Not so for the young chaps who didn't qualify for the Pioneer Package!

I don't qualify for the pioneer package either but that doesn't mean I don't give 110% support to LHL and his team. They are the best.