• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[COVID-19 Virus] The Sinkies are fucked Thread.

nayr69sg

Staff member
i doubt if more billions are poured into the platform for all kinds of treatments and therapies in big pharma. every pharma will jump onto the bandwagon and there’s no turning back, legal threats, lawsuits or otherwise. too much money involved. mrna is part of the human body whether conspiracist theories like it or not. it was discovered in 1961. way forward is how mrna can be innovatively tweaked. mrna including tweaked ones don’t change dna plus they decay and are disposed of by the body within 69 hours, thus the well heeled scientific, medical, investment and legal communities know they will only battle “noise” and nonsense from the lunatic fringe and all kinds of conspiracy theorists. have no fear. traditional methods of creating drugs and “cures” will be disrupted for good just like how current internet-based behemoths disrupted entire grandpa and grandma industries.

I dunno man. Remember that politicians make laws. And politicians are voted in by man on street.

I hope you are right.

nayr69sg

Staff member
money in the markets will overwhelm money in lawsuits. apple, amazon, google, facebook are bombarded by frivolous lawsuits everyday. they hire an army of lawyers themselves to fight lawsuits. ironically, most of them are patent and ipr related.
Money is the most powerful of all.

We used to same similar things about Big oil companies. And also cigarette companies.

Not always true lah. Things can change and you can have political pressure etc.

porcaputtana

Most of uswill get covid in their lifetines. As long as we are vaccinated it should be ok. Hopefully the intensity wears off over time. I am worried about kids under 12 without a vaccine- no choice.
Once MOH settles the 3rd dose for the vulnerable elderly group they will focus on children . I project by December in time for holiday travels .

More and more VTL will be announced. V means vaccinated . Anti vaxxers stay home and play with themselves .

porcaputtana

@dredd I thank you for being patient and civil. We can debate and discuss. There is no need to go personal and gaslight each other.

it is the same with my patients. There are those where I can have a discussion about things. We can always agree to disagree. I am not saying anyone is wrong in particular.

However once people start gas lighting and hurling personal insults, calling the other basically an idiot or foolish or incompetent or that they earn too much money, or need to go back to school or need more education other personal belittling stuff.....this is not helpful at all.
Aaawwwwwww … did I hurt your feelings ?

if you want to be touchy feely and warm and fuzzy you are in the wrong forum dude

wtf is gaslighting?

kaninabuchaojibye

7TH OCT 2021​

Summary of local situation

• 1,534 cases are currently warded in hospital. 297 cases require oxygen supplementation and 40 are in the intensive care unit (ICU).
  • Over the last 28 days, of the 46,637 infected individuals, 98.4% had no or mild symptoms, 1.3% required oxygen supplementation, 0.1% required ICU care, and 0.2% has died.
  • As of 6 October 2021, 83% of our population has completed their full regimen/ received two doses of COVID-19 vaccines, and 85% has received at least one dose.
  • As of 7 October 2021, 12pm, the Ministry of Health has detected a total of 3,483 new cases of COVID-19 infection in Singapore, with 2,783 in the community, 692 in the migrant worker dormitories and 8 imported cases.
Condition of hospitalised cases

As of 7 October 2021, 12pm, 1,534 COVID-19 cases are currently warded in hospital. Most are well and under observation. There are currently 297 cases requiring oxygen supplementation, and 40 in the ICU. Of those who have fallen very ill, 281 are seniors above 60 years.

2. 3 more cases have passed away from complications due to COVID-19 infection.1 Of these, 2 were male Singaporeans and 1 was a female Singaporean, aged between 57 and 90 years. Amongst them, 1 had been unvaccinated against COVID-19, and 2 had been vaccinated. All of them had various underlying medical conditions. In total, 136 have passed away from complications due to COVID-19 infection.

Figure 1: Number of Active Cases in ICU or Requiring Oxygen Supplementation2

Figure1_7oct2021

3. Over the last 28 days, the percentage of local cases who were asymptomatic or had mild symptoms is 98.4%. 628 cases required oxygen supplementation and 61 had been in the ICU. Of these, 49.5% were fully vaccinated and 50.5% were unvaccinated/ partially vaccinated. 72 have died, of whom 31.9% were fully vaccinated and 68.1% were unvaccinated/ partially vaccinated.

Figure 2: Local Cases in the Last 28 Days by Severity of Condition3

Figure2_7oct2021

Figure 3: Deaths and Active Cases in ICU, Requiring Oxygen Supplementation or Hospitalised1, by Age Groups

Figure3_7oct2021

Update on vaccination progress

4. As of 6 October 2021, 83% of our population has completed their full regimen/ received two doses of COVID-19 vaccines, and 85% has received at least one dose.

5. We have administered a total of 9,355,632 doses of COVID-19 vaccines under the national vaccination programme (Pfizer-BioNTech Comirnaty and Moderna). In total, 4,595,270 individuals have received at least one dose of vaccine under the national vaccination programme, and 4,532,399 individuals having completed the full vaccination regimen. To date, we have invited about 600,000 eligible individuals to receive their booster doses. 357,247 individuals have received their booster shots and another 95,000 have booked their appointments. In addition, 207,145 doses of other vaccines recognised in the World Health Organization’s Emergency Use Listing (WHO EUL) have been administered, covering 109,015 individuals.

Locally transmitted COVID-19 cases

6. As of 7 October 2021, 12pm, the Ministry of Health has detected a total of 3,483 new cases of COVID-19 infection in Singapore, comprising 2,783 community cases, 692 dormitory residents cases and 8 imported cases.

a) Active clusters under close monitoring

7. We are closely monitoring the clusters listed below, which have already been ringfenced through tracing, testing and isolation.

Figure 4: Large Clusters with New Cases

Cluster
New Cases
Total4
Remarks
United Medicare Care (Toa Payoh)
15​
50​
Transmission amongst residents and staff. Of the 50 cases, 39 are residents, 10 are staff, and 1 is a household member of case.
Tampines Dormitory
35​
216​
Intra-dormitory transmission amongst residents with no evidence of spread beyond dormitory. New cases have already been quarantined.
Jurong Penjuru Dormitory 2
6​
107​
Intra-dormitory transmission amongst residents with no evidence of spread beyond dormitory. New cases have already been quarantined.
Pasir Panjang Wholesale Centre
1​
326​
Transmission amongst workers and trade visitors. Of the 326 cases, 303 are workers at the market, 4 are trade visitors and 19 are household members of cases. New case has already been quarantined.
Woodlands Dormitory
11​
406​

b) Summary of trends for local cases

8. There are 3,475 new cases of locally transmitted COVID-19 infection in Singapore, with 2,783 in the community and 692 in the migrant worker dormitories. Amongst the local cases today are 607 seniors who are above 60 years.
Figure 5: Number of Community Cases by Age

Figure5_7oct2021

Figure 6: Number of Dormitory Cases by Age

Figure6_7oct2021

Summary of trends for imported cases

9. There are a total of 8 imported cases, who have already been placed on Stay-Home Notice (SHN) or isolated upon arrival in Singapore. Of these, 1 was detected upon arrival in Singapore, while 7 developed the illness during SHN or isolation.

Figure 7: Number of Imported Cases by Detected Upon Arrival/ Detected during SHN or Isolation
Figure7_7oct2021

10. Please refer to MOH’s daily Situation Report (www.moh.gov.sg/covid-19/situation-report) for details.
[1] Cases 78362, 84535 and 100512.

[2] Includes all cases who are currently hospitalised.

[3] Includes only new cases reported in the past 28 days. Based on cases’ worst-ever condition; deceased cases previously in ICU are counted under ‘Deceased’ and not under ‘Ever in Intensive Care Unit’.
[4] Includes new cases added today.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Aaawwwwwww … did I hurt your feelings ?

if you want to be touchy feely and warm and fuzzy you are in the wrong forum dude

wtf is gaslighting?

Go sleep bro. You must be very stressed. I have no interest in quarreling with you.

I have no problem with most of the other members in the forum. It is not warm and fuzzy but neither does it have to be how you want it to be. Maybe you can try becoming a moderator here and then see if you can make the forum more to your liking.

I have never insulted you personally before. And have no intention to.

I wish you well.

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/gaslighting

What is gaslighting?​

Gaslighting is a form of psychological abuse where a person or group makes someone question their sanity, perception of reality, or memories. People experiencing gaslighting often feel confused, anxious, and unable to trust themselves.
The term gaslighting derives from the 1938 play and 1944 film Gaslight, in which a husband manipulates his wife into thinking she has a mental illness by dimming their gas-fueled lights and telling her she is hallucinating.
In this article, we look at common examples, signs, and causes of gaslighting. We also discuss how a person can respond to gaslighting and when to seek help.

Examples of gaslighting​

hands holding puppet strings used to represent gaslighting
Share on PinterestGaslighting may cause people to distrust themselves and feel scared and vulnerable.
Gaslighting often develops gradually, making it difficult for a person to detect. According to the National Domestic Violence Hotline, techniques a person may use to gaslight someone include:
  • Countering: This describes a person questioning someone’s memories. They may say things such as, “you never remember things accurately,” or “are you sure? You have a bad memory.”
  • Withholding: When someone withholds, they refuse to engage in a conversation. A person using this technique may pretend not to understand someone so that they do not have to respond to them. For example, they might say, “I do not know what you are talking about,” or “you are just trying to confuse me.”
  • Trivializing: This occurs when a person belittles or disregards the other person’s feelings. They may accuse them of being too sensitive or of overreacting when they have valid concerns and feelings.
  • Denial: Denial involves a person pretending to forget events or how they occurred. They may deny having said or done something or accuse someone of making things up.
  • Diverting: With this technique, a person changes the focus of a discussion and questions the other person’s credibility instead. For example, they might say, “that is just another crazy idea you got from your friends.”
  • Stereotyping: An article in the American Sociological Review states that a person using gaslighting techniques may intentionally use negative stereotypes of a person’s gender, race, ethnicity, sexuality, nationality, or age to manipulate them. For example, they may tell a female that people will think she is irrational or crazy if she seeks help for abuse.
While anyone can experience gaslighting, it is especially common in intimate relationships and in social interactions where there is an imbalance of power.

A person who is on the receiving end of this behavior is experiencing abuse.

Medical gaslighting​

According to the CPTSD Foundation, medical gaslighting occurs when a doctor or medical professional dismisses or trivializes a person’s health concerns based on the assumption they are mentally ill. They may tell the person their symptoms are “in their head,” for example.
A 2009 study found that doctors were twice as likely to attribute coronary heart disease symptoms in middle-aged women to mental health conditions than middle-aged men.

Racial gaslighting​

According to an article in Politics, Group, and Identities, racial gaslighting occurs when people apply gaslighting techniques to a group of people based on race or ethnicity.
For example, a person may deny that a specific group experiences discrimination despite evidence that says otherwise, or they might criticize civil rights activists for being too emotional to undermine their message.

Political gaslighting​

An article in a forthcoming issue of Buffalo Law Review states that political gaslighting occurs when a political figure or group uses lies, denials, or manipulates information to control people.
Examples include downplaying or hiding things their administration has done wrong, discrediting political opponents based on mental instability, or using controversy to divert attention from important events.

Institutional gaslighting​

According to an article in the Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing, institutional gaslighting can occur at a company or organization. The organization may deny or hide information, lie to employees about their rights, or portray whistle-blowers who uncover problems in an organization as incompetent or mentally ill.

Signs of gaslighting​

People on the receiving end of gaslighting often find it difficult to realize they are experiencing abuse. They may not question the abusive person’s behavior because they are in a position of authority, or because they feel reliant on them.
The National Domestic Violence Hotline indicate that a person experiencing gaslighting may:
  • feel confused and constantly second-guess themselves
  • find it difficult to make simple decisions
  • frequently question if they are too sensitive
  • become withdrawn or unsociable
  • constantly apologize to the abusive person
  • defend the abusive person’s behavior
  • lie to family and friends to avoid having to make excuses for them
  • feel hopeless, joyless, worthless, or incompetent
Gaslighting can also cause anxiety, depression, and psychological trauma, especially if it is part of a wider abuse pattern.

porcaputtana

Go sleep bro. You must be very stressed. I have no interest in quarreling with you.

I have no problem with most of the other members in the forum. It is not warm and fuzzy but neither does it have to be how you want it to be. Maybe you can try becoming a moderator here and then see if you can make the forum more to your liking.

I have never insulted you personally before. And have no intention to.

I wish you well.

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/gaslighting

What is gaslighting?​

Gaslighting is a form of psychological abuse where a person or group makes someone question their sanity, perception of reality, or memories. People experiencing gaslighting often feel confused, anxious, and unable to trust themselves.
The term gaslighting derives from the 1938 play and 1944 film Gaslight, in which a husband manipulates his wife into thinking she has a mental illness by dimming their gas-fueled lights and telling her she is hallucinating.
In this article, we look at common examples, signs, and causes of gaslighting. We also discuss how a person can respond to gaslighting and when to seek help.

Examples of gaslighting​

hands holding puppet strings used to represent gaslighting
Share on PinterestGaslighting may cause people to distrust themselves and feel scared and vulnerable.
Gaslighting often develops gradually, making it difficult for a person to detect. According to the National Domestic Violence Hotline, techniques a person may use to gaslight someone include:
  • Countering: This describes a person questioning someone’s memories. They may say things such as, “you never remember things accurately,” or “are you sure? You have a bad memory.”
  • Withholding: When someone withholds, they refuse to engage in a conversation. A person using this technique may pretend not to understand someone so that they do not have to respond to them. For example, they might say, “I do not know what you are talking about,” or “you are just trying to confuse me.”
  • Trivializing: This occurs when a person belittles or disregards the other person’s feelings. They may accuse them of being too sensitive or of overreacting when they have valid concerns and feelings.
  • Denial: Denial involves a person pretending to forget events or how they occurred. They may deny having said or done something or accuse someone of making things up.
  • Diverting: With this technique, a person changes the focus of a discussion and questions the other person’s credibility instead. For example, they might say, “that is just another crazy idea you got from your friends.”
  • Stereotyping: An article in the American Sociological Review states that a person using gaslighting techniques may intentionally use negative stereotypes of a person’s gender, race, ethnicity, sexuality, nationality, or age to manipulate them. For example, they may tell a female that people will think she is irrational or crazy if she seeks help for abuse.
While anyone can experience gaslighting, it is especially common in intimate relationships and in social interactions where there is an imbalance of power.

A person who is on the receiving end of this behavior is experiencing abuse.

Medical gaslighting​

According to the CPTSD Foundation, medical gaslighting occurs when a doctor or medical professional dismisses or trivializes a person’s health concerns based on the assumption they are mentally ill. They may tell the person their symptoms are “in their head,” for example.
A 2009 study found that doctors were twice as likely to attribute coronary heart disease symptoms in middle-aged women to mental health conditions than middle-aged men.

Racial gaslighting​

According to an article in Politics, Group, and Identities, racial gaslighting occurs when people apply gaslighting techniques to a group of people based on race or ethnicity.
For example, a person may deny that a specific group experiences discrimination despite evidence that says otherwise, or they might criticize civil rights activists for being too emotional to undermine their message.

Political gaslighting​

An article in a forthcoming issue of Buffalo Law Review states that political gaslighting occurs when a political figure or group uses lies, denials, or manipulates information to control people.
Examples include downplaying or hiding things their administration has done wrong, discrediting political opponents based on mental instability, or using controversy to divert attention from important events.

Institutional gaslighting​

According to an article in the Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing, institutional gaslighting can occur at a company or organization. The organization may deny or hide information, lie to employees about their rights, or portray whistle-blowers who uncover problems in an organization as incompetent or mentally ill.

Signs of gaslighting​

People on the receiving end of gaslighting often find it difficult to realize they are experiencing abuse. They may not question the abusive person’s behavior because they are in a position of authority, or because they feel reliant on them.
The National Domestic Violence Hotline indicate that a person experiencing gaslighting may:
  • feel confused and constantly second-guess themselves
  • find it difficult to make simple decisions
  • frequently question if they are too sensitive
  • become withdrawn or unsociable
  • constantly apologize to the abusive person
  • defend the abusive person’s behavior
  • lie to family and friends to avoid having to make excuses for them
  • feel hopeless, joyless, worthless, or incompetent
Gaslighting can also cause anxiety, depression, and psychological trauma, especially if it is part of a wider abuse pattern.

Feel free to insult me personally. I roll with the punches .

you hail from one of the most rigorous medical schools in the world . don’t disgrace us by making irresponsible and unprofessional statements .

even as a moderator your knee jerk response was to censor . How low can you go ?

you should examine your own professional conduct and grow a pair of balls . Personal insults are soup du jour here in this forum .

nayr69sg

Staff member
Feel free to insult me personally. I roll with the punches .

you hail from one of the most rigorous medical schools in the world . don’t disgrace us by making irresponsible and unprofessional statements .

even as a moderator your knee jerk response was to censor . How low can you go ?

you should examine your own professional conduct and grow a pair of balls . Personal insults are soup du jour here in this forum .

It's not me to insult others personally. I was also taught to respect others. Also as a doctor I was taught in medical school to be compassionate and empathize with patients and practically every person. going around insulting people was not considered to be responsible and professional.

I have no issues with my professional conduct. And I don't think anyone here has any issue with it except you.

Take care bro, I know life must be stressful for you that's why you come here for your release and whatever you are doing here helps you de-stress. Hope you feel better soon.

kaninabuchaojibye

classic example of tamjiakternao singkies...​

Commentary: Even COVID-19 won’t stop Singapore’s penchant for queueing up for food​

If Singapore’s foodie culture is so ingrained that we will endure long queues for our favourite dishes, we can channel it to keep our F&B industry afloat, says Karen Tee.

SINGAPORE: After social media got wind of a former Crystal Jade chef who struck out on his own to start a Hong Kong-style wanton noodle store in a Yishun kopitiam, the not-so-surprising happened – people flocked to the stall, stoically braving hour-long queues and even rainy weather.

In the little red dot, this is a tale as old as time - from Shake Shack burgers to one-Michelin starred bak chor mee, bubble tea to Ikea meatballs. If food is our national passion, queueing for food is undoubtedly our national sport.

But with F&B establishments aplenty across the island, there will most certainly be other - and less crowded - places that offer an equally delectable dish. So why go to all this hassle?

QUEUES OF FOMO FOODIES

Call it old-school kiasu or millennial-style FOMO (fear of missing out). Perhaps it taps on our desire to score bragging rights by being among the first to post about a new hyped-up F&B place before it invariably loses its novelty.

When colourfully-named American chain Eggslut opened its first Southeast Asian outlet at Scotts Square a few weeks ago, many rushed to be among the first to try its famous wobbly eggs on opening day.

The earliest diners were reportedly in the queue by 8am - three hours before the outlet even opened for business.

long-queues-form-at-ghim-moh-market-and-hawker-centre-as-singapore-s-covid-19-phase-2--heightened-alert--kick-in-on-may-16--2021.jpg
Queues form at Ghim Moh hawker centre as Singapore's COVID-19 Phase 2 (Heightened Alert) restrictions kick in on May 16, 2021. (Photo: Corey Sta Maria)

Fast forward to a few weeks later when I perked up at an acquaintance’s social media post on how the lines had dissipated and that it took her a mere 10 minutes to order a takeaway meal.
It appears that the FOMO foodies have moved on to something else - maybe those wanton noodles. Perhaps it is time for me to swing by to try those gooey egg sandwiches.

One thing is for sure: Those queues, however short-lived, appear to have a trickle-down effect that can last even after the lines are gone.
Would I be that curious about Eggslut if not for the initial queues? Probably not.

Yet, would I stop by the wanton noodle stall if I happened to be in the neighbourhood, now that I know it is run by a chef with a culinary pedigree? Probably.

UNDER THE RADAR CULINARY GEMS

Still, the beauty of Singapore is that we do not need to be queue-chasers to be in-the-know about food.

We all have favourite haunts we would be loath to see appear on must-try foodie lists or at least one friend who clues us in on “secret” food destinations with reliably delicious chow sans the long lines.

Commentary: Plenty of fish in the sea? Seafood-loving Singapore may not have its fill in the future

The Big Read: Floundering in digital wave, older hawkers could call it quits - taking a piece of Singapore with them

There is also a certain cachet in being that person who “discovered” lesser-known places before they hit the big time.

At this point, I would like to not-so-humblebrag that for more than a year, I have been
recommending the underrated modern Indian restaurant Thevar at Keong Saik Road to friends seeking a gastronomic treat.

While it had consistently garnered favourable reviews, it was not difficult to score a reservation, unlike other places with months-long waiting lists.

But now that Thevar has deservingly earned one Michelin star, a quick check on its reservations page shows seats are far harder to come by.
So if you discovered the place before everyone else did like me, now is the chance to score some foodie points, to post and remind everybody you were there first – before it got famous.

FILLED BELLIES AND FULL HEARTS

It is endearing to know people are passionate enough to not mind the wait to get exactly what they are craving for.

The one-starred Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodle stall at Crawford Lane has drawn long queues through all its years of operation - before the “Michelin Man” even glanced Singapore’s way - and continues today despite numerous stalls popping up with similar offerings.

hill-street-tai-hwa-pork-noodle--2----2976136_0.png
Hill Street Tai Hwa's Pork Noodle eponymous dish. (Photo: Nisha Karyn)

Having patronised these competitor stalls before, they definitely help to satiate that craving when we cannot spare the time queuing. But nothing beats the original and it is most certainly among the best versions of bak chor mee in the country.
No doubt, there are probably few other nations who take food as seriously as Singapore.

This fierce devotion to food might be what keeps Singapore’s vibrant F&B industry going, through the prolonged uncertainty of pandemic-induced stop-and-go dining regulations and disinfection closures.

CHANNELING SINGAPORE’S FOODIE SPIRIT TO LESSER-KNOWN EATERIES

I was touched when I read a recent heart-warming report about Dignity Kitchen, a social enterprise food court that works with the disadvantaged and differently-abled. The establishment had been hard hit by recent changes to dine-in limits and had put up pictures of its empty venue on Facebook.

The next day, (socially distanced) queues had begun to form as kind-hearted patrons showed up to fill their bellies and support the business.
It made me think about the F&B places in the once bustling Central Business District, reeling from the double whammy of default work-from-home arrangements and the two person dine-in rule.

Last Friday (Oct 1), as I strolled through the Marina Bay area around “happy hour”, most eateries were startlingly empty, with more staff than diners.

More disconcertingly, a recent Instagram video by local restaurateur-chef Willin Low showed a number of F&B outlets, in the same building as his CBD restaurant, that had shuttered as they were unable to outlast COVID-19 restrictions.
Concerned netizens have also shared the challenges faced by hawkers on social media, including on the Instagram account @wheretodapao which helps provide some online exposure. Hawkers in the CBD like Maxwell Food Centre have been particularly hard hit by the absence of working crowds.
How many more casualties will there be before this is over?

empty_cbd_eatery.jpg
Empty seats at an eatery in the Central Business District, 1 Oct 2021 (Photo: Karen Tee)

Perhaps now, more than ever, is the time to rally that enthusiastic foodie spirit - with a difference.
Instead of queuing at already Internet-famous places or ordering the same old thing from established international chains yet again, why not show some love to lesser-known places unique to Singapore that could use a boost if you can?

Who knows, you might just discover the next big thing, before the rest of the country catches on. How’s that for bragging rights?

And more importantly, you could play a role in helping a part of Singapore’s proud food heritage stay afloat during these tough times.

Karen Tee is a freelance lifestyle, travel journalist based in Singapore.

kaninabuchaojibye

Studies confirm COVID-19 immunity from Pfizer vaccine wanes after 2 months​

(CNN) Two real-world studies published Wednesday confirm that the immune protection offered by two doses of Pfizer's Covid-19 vaccine drops off after two months or so, although protection against severe disease, hospitalization and death remains strong.

The studies, from Israel and from Qatar and published in the New England Journal of Medicine, support arguments that even fully vaccinated people need to maintain precautions against infection.

One study from Israel covered 4,800 health care workers and showed antibody levels wane rapidly after two doses of vaccine "especially among men, among persons 65 years of age or older, and among persons with immunosuppression."

"We conducted this prospective longitudinal cohort study involving health care workers at Sheba Medical Center, a large tertiary medical center in Israel," Sheba's Dr. Gili Regev-Yochay and colleagues wrote.

The researchers noted that levels of so-called neutralizing antibodies -- the immune system's first line of defense against infection -- correlate with protection against infection, but for this study they studied only antibody levels.
"Published work about many vaccines, such as those against measles, mumps, and rubella, has shown a small decrease each year of 5 to 10% in the neutralizing antibody levels," they wrote. "We found that a significant and rapid decrease in humoral response to the BNT162b2 vaccine was observed within months after vaccination."

The study also indicated that immunity for people who get vaccinated after natural Covid-19 infection lasts longer. It's especially strong for people who recovered from infection and then got vaccinated, also. "Overall, the accumulating evidence from our study and others shows that long-term humoral response and vaccine effectiveness in previously infected persons were superior to that in recipients of two doses of vaccine," they wrote.

A second study from Qatar looked at actual infections among the highly vaccinated population of that small Gulf nation. People there mostly got Pfizer/BioNTech's vaccine, also known as BNT162b2.

"BNT162b2-induced protection against infection builds rapidly after the first dose, peaks in the first month after the second dose, and then gradually wanes in subsequent months," Laith Abu-Raddad of Weill Cornell Medicine-Qatar and colleagues wrote. "The waning appears to accelerate after the fourth month, to reach a low level of approximately 20% in subsequent months," they added.

Nonetheless, protection against hospitalization and death stayed at above 90%, they said.
The waning protection may involve behavior, they noted. "Vaccinated persons presumably have a higher rate of social contact than unvaccinated persons and may also have lower adherence to safety measures," they wrote. "This behavior could reduce real-world effectiveness of the vaccine as compared with its biologic effectiveness, possibly explaining the waning of protection."

But it's a signal that countries should prepare for fresh surges of Covid-19. "These findings suggest that a large proportion of the vaccinated population could lose its protection against infection in the coming months, perhaps increasing the potential for new epidemic waves," they wrote.

Pfizer has been arguing that immunity from the first two doses of its vaccine begins to wear off after a few months. Last month, Pfizer won authorization from the US Food and Drug Administration for booster doses of its vaccine for some six months after people finish their first two doses.

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommended that people older than 65, people with conditions making them more susceptible to getting seriously ill with breakthrough infections, and people at high risk of infection such as health care workers and prison inmates get boosters.

Israel has been boosting its entire population and now says it will require people to have had a third shot to be considered fully vaccinated.

In the United States, more than 6 million people have received a third dose of vaccine and average the pace of booster shots is higher than the rate of people getting vaccinated for the first time, according to CDC data.

nayr69sg

Staff member
And for fucks sakes go attend CME
I do. As with anywhere in the developed world all physicians needs to have CME in order to continue practicing and renewing their licenses and memberships.

It is just the CMEs are in my specialty and field of work. Stuff you obviously have no idea or understanding about especially when you said I am an "opioid dealer". LOL!

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/6-october-3577covid-case.311064/post-3485884

So far you have only been droning and whining on and on about patient autonomy and how powerless you are . You don't even have the moral courage to stand up to your patients and do what is expected of you . Just roll over and play dead . That makes you a licensed (Canadian license) opioid peddler .

Come back and practice in Singapore and I will see how fast SMC will suspend you

Cannabis is not legal in Singapore and one needs special permission to use cannabis (even CBD) to treat patients in Singapore. But cannabis is not an opioid.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/second-young-epilepsy-patient-in-spore-gets-nod-to-use-medical-cannabis#:~:text=The "young patient" who has,queries from The Straits Times.

https://mothership.sg/2019/12/singapore-cannabis-drug-epilepsy-treatment/

Do you know Prof Derrick Chan?

Take care bro.

Eg of my CMEs

Mental Health and Medical Cannabis: Anxiety & PTSD
October 21st
7:30pm EST
Dr. Elyse Dubo, MD, RCPSC Specialist
Learning Objectives:
· Have an understanding of the endocannabinoid system and how CBD oil works in psychiatric and other medical conditions
· Become familiar with the clinical treatment of patients with psychiatric disorders using medical cannabis
· Understand the possible risks of using THC in patients with psychiatric disorders
· Understand the current research evidence for using CBD oil in patients with psychiatric disorders

Celebrating 20 Years of Legal Medical Cannabis:
An Evening with Experts
October 26th
Hosted by
Dr. Mark A. Ware, MBBS, MRCP(UK), MSc

With Very Special Guests

Dr. Alan Bell, MD
Dr. David Flusk, MD
Aaron Sihota, BSc Pharm, RPh
and more!
Spectrum Therapeutics would like to invite you to celebrate 20 years of legal medical cannabis in Canada by participating in an online Q&A session with Dr. Mark Ware and his guests.

The panel will address the most pertinent questions to the use of cannabis as a therapeutic option after 20 years of Canadian experience.

Effectively and Efficiently Integrating Medical Cannabis into Practice
November 2nd
Dr. Danial Schecter, MD
Learning Objectives:
· Identify patients that could potentially most benefit from medical cannabis
· Discuss the important considerations when authorizing medical cannabis
· Discuss dosing and titration regimens and how to select an appropriate regimen on a patient-by-patient basis
· Practical tools for seamless integration of medical cannabis into everyday practice

I sit on the medical advisory boards for 2 Medical Cannabis companies. And I have been invited to give CMEs myself for other Drs. So far I have declined.

porcaputtana

Oh please don’t make my distal phalanges laugh . if I need to release stress by hammering weaker people I have live breathing residents and junior cons to whack . Why do I need to take it out on forummers?

you are held to higher standards. you start talking rubbish again and I will continue to call you out.

is that gaslighting ?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Oh please don’t make my distal phalanges laugh . if I need to release stress by hammering weaker people I have live breathing residents and junior cons to whack . Why do I need to take it out on forummers?

you are held to higher standards. you start talking rubbish again and I will continue to call you out.

is that gaslighting ?

Like I said bro. I have no interest in quarreling with you. If you had an issue with what I said then call it out and counter why what I said is wrong and discuss and debate the issue. Not gaslight me. I also asked you to give me a refresher ie as an invitation for you to discuss the issue at hand but instead you went for personal attacks.

Looks like you dont understand the term gaslighting.

• Countering: This describes a person questioning someone’s memories. They may say things such as, “you never remember things accurately,” or “are you sure? You have a bad memory.” - You suggested that 5 years of medical school in NUS is wasted on me. I think it is something like countering. You also keep telling me go attend CME insinuating I am lacking.
  • Withholding: When someone withholds, they refuse to engage in a conversation. A person using this technique may pretend not to understand someone so that they do not have to respond to them. For example, they might say, “I do not know what you are talking about,” or “you are just trying to confuse me.” - you went for personal attack instead of discussing the issue you disagreed with.
  • Trivializing: This occurs when a person belittles or disregards the other person’s feelings. They may accuse them of being too sensitive or of overreacting when they have valid concerns and feelings. - oh this one you did lots, you know lah , and evidence is all there. I dont want to repeat lah.
  • Diverting: With this technique, a person changes the focus of a discussion and questions the other person’s credibility instead. For example, they might say, “that is just another crazy idea you got from your friends.” - I think you did this too insinuating that what I wrote was crazy stuff I got from the anti vaxxers. LOL! I am not an anti vaxxer lah. I do support vaccines.
  • Stereotyping: An article in the American Sociological Review states that a person using gaslighting techniques may intentionally use negative stereotypes of a person’s gender, race, ethnicity, sexuality, nationality, or age to manipulate them. For example, they may tell a female that people will think she is irrational or crazy if she seeks help for abuse. - oh lots of insults about Canadians, and white male sexual organs.
So yes bro, You are a master at it. Probably you gaslight your residents and junior cons every single day. You are lucky you are in Singapore where nobody knows this gaslighting stuff. If you are in Canada, you kena reported you jia lat liao.

Aiyah take it easy lah.

Like I said I have no desire or interest in quareling with you. And I hope we can maintain cordial conversation going forward. I am sure in real life you are not the way you are here in the forum.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Very low numbers and absolutely nothing to worry about. It will all be over in no time at all.

LOL! I somehow remember you saying this phrase a few times liao.

So I did a search.

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/mo...f-covid-19-has-reached-sg.298989/post-3312817

There is nothing to worry about. The new strain is no different from the others. If it does spread more easily it's actually a positive. It means we can be over this nonsense in no time at all.

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/in...oing-to-shoot-up-the-roof.282453/post-3077796

It's actually a good thing if cases shoot through the roof because that means it will be over in no time at all and we can get on with life.

This "flattening the curve" strategy is like death by a thousand cuts. Let's just get it over and done with.

The Spanish flu started in winter and was over by June. It was followed by a period of fun and prosperity which lasted almost a whole decade.

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/wh...s-before-even-starts-work.290178/post-3192844

red amoeba said:
Writing is on the wall. How you convince other countries to open green travel channel w you when you have daily few hundred covid cases ? And all the time importing scum bags of virus from India and Philippines ?
Covid-19 will be over soon and be nothing more than a distant memory so don't worry about it things will be back to normal in no time.

It is now 7 Oct 2021. LOL! Your over in no time is taking quite a bit long to me........

kaninabuchaojibye

https://www.lipstickalley.com/

Sweden suspends Moderna vaccine for those 30 and under due to “signals of an increased risk of side effects..."​

COPENHAGEN, Denmark -- Swedish health authorities on Wednesday suspended the use of Moderna’s COVID-19 vaccine for those ages 30 and under, saying the move was done out of precaution.

The reason for the pausing is “signals of an increased risk of side effects such as inflammation of the heart muscle or the pericardium” — the double-walled sac containing the heart and the roots of the main vessels, Sweden’s Public Health Agency said in a statement. “The risk of being affected is very small.

Anders Tegnell, Sweden’s chief epidemiologist, said they “follow the situation closely and act quickly to ensure that vaccinations against COVID-19 are always as safe as possible and at the same time provide effective protection" against the disease...

www.google.com

Sweden suspends Moderna vaccine for those 30 and under

Swedish health authorities have suspended the use of Moderna’s COVID-19 vaccine for those ages 30 and under
www.google.com

nirvarq

My team and I take care of their PR stuff. Whenever a new drug comes up, they will pour money into its publicity, under strict guidelines of course. So doing PR work for pharmas is not easy, but it pays well because their pockets are deep. :biggrin:

@nayr69sg kudos to you for getting this info outta dredd. I also got my Ahhaa.. no wonder moment ! lol..........

That aside if you still can't see dredd & porcaputtana are either the same team or same person.. it's easy one use wifi one use phone line to register account here it would show it's not the 'same' person. But their agendas is the same. It's all about vaccinations and medicines and one pretend to be or act good guy the other bad guy lol......... One argues the other will appear, always ! lol..........

So nowadays when you express negative views on big pharmacies and vaccines and medicine he/they will have to discredit you and hammer you hard it's their job. But you have a life and family and conscience, they only protecting their deep pockets pharmacies lol.............

But they're the same retard/s they talk to @tobelightlight all the time when they didn't even realized they're blocked by him long ago hence he never sees or ever reply to them no matter how they insult or ridicule him and their ego grows /rofl........

Like he said b4 if there's a vote for the best behaved forummer you are and i 100% agreed too when you can waste so much time on ginfreely trying to get her or now them to agree to be civilized lol........... You're throwing pearls b4 swine bro...... Also how can the mofo not understand what's gaslighting lol........

dredd

@nayr69sg kudos to you for getting this info outta dredd. I also got my Ahhaa.. no wonder moment ! lol..........

That aside if you still can't see dredd & porcaputtana are either the same team or same person.. it's easy one use wifi one use phone line to register account here it would show it's not the 'same' person. But their agendas is the same. It's all about vaccinations and medicines and one pretend to be or act good guy the other bad guy lol......... One argues the other will appear, always ! lol..........

So nowadays when you express negative views on big pharmacies and vaccines and medicine he/they will have to discredit you and hammer you hard it's their job. But you have a life and family and conscience, they only protecting their deep pockets pharmacies lol.............

But they're the same retard/s they talk to @tobelightlight all the time when they didn't even realized they're blocked by him long ago hence he never sees or ever reply to them no matter how they insult or ridicule him and their ego grows /rofl........

Like he said b4 if there's a vote for the best behaved forummer you are and i 100% agreed too when you can waste so much time on ginfreely trying to get her or now them to agree to be civilized lol........... You're throwing pearls b4 swine bro...... Also how can the mofo not understand what's gaslighting lol........
@porcaputtana are we one person? Lol! Best conspiracy theory I've heard in this forum. :roflmao: :roflmao:

nayr69sg

Staff member

I don't think they are the same. I also checked with Sam to use the clone finder. Nothing.

They are separate people. I also believe that porcaputtana is a real dr. Actually regarding gaslighting I frankly did not know what this was until recently when many drs complained that Tyler Shandro the Health Minister was gaslighting drs. So it is not something that is well known in SG.

I try my best to be well behaved. Thank you.