• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CNA reporter writes about PAP clamp down on political websites

COMMENTARY: What do the warning letters to websites mean?

Satish Cheney
inSing.com - 2 hrs 48 mins ago

pc_600x450.jpg
<cite style="display: block; font-style: normal; font-size: 10px; margin-top: 4px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 4px; margin-left: 0px; ">(Pic / Internet)</cite>
COMMENTARY:

While growing up in Singapore in the 1980s, political discussion was something that was relegated to the confines of coffee shops and cabs driven by disgruntled drivers.

Parents would shush you if you said something critical about the government.

Aunties and uncles would warn you that men will come and take you away in the middle of the night if you harboured thoughts of joining opposition parties.

But then, a major paradigm shift occurred after last year’s General Election which was widely acknowledged as being a watershed one.

Political talk became rather ubiquitous and the perceived political apathy, which many would agree had a stranglehold on the masses, started dissipating.

Much of the credit has to go to social media websites which especially helped to engage the younger segment of Singapore.

But will this apathy and perceived fear make a return to Singapore?

There might be cause for concern here due to the recent three separate incidents where warning letters were sent to websites seeking apologies and removal of offensive content.

The letters were recently sent out by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, his brother Lee Hsien Yang and Law and Foreign Affairs Minister K Shanmugam. (Read previous reports :here and here.)

Many, including those in the international community, have been critical of the Singapore government's alleged approach of using defamation suits to deal with political opponents in the past.

Defamation suits were unleashed on former opposition figures such as JB Jeyaretnam and Tan Liang Hong and these cases received much interest from international human rights groups such as Amnesty International.

Publications such as The Economist and Far Eastern Review Economic Review have also been sued by government leaders for libel.

In its defence, the ruling party, the People's Action Party, has always said that it is vital for the government to stand up against lies and distortion.

In recent years though, the government has been projecting a slightly more liberal image and has been wielding a lighter touch, to a certain extent.

But, the latest salvo of warning letters sent to websites here might just be a warning and a powerful reminder from the government that despite the country becoming liberal in certain aspects over the years – it will not sit back and idly watch when commentators choose libellous words.

But what are the effects of this on political observers and commentators online?

The fear of falling into an expensive and painful libel suit may prove to be a hindrance for citizen journalists and individuals when it comes to penning their thoughts on political issues and critiquing government policies while engaging the community online as well.

Even if they are careful when publishing articles, they have another dilemma – who monitors the comments section which is a vital part of engagement on blogs and social media?

If you have a site that garners more than 500 comments for a post, for instance, will it become necessary for bloggers to hire 'comment - monitors' perhaps?

Of course, it would also help if commentators were careful and avoided posting offensive words.

Or would it be just easier to avoid writing anything about politics?

While there is certainly nothing wrong legally with sending warning letters to website publishers when they cross the legal line, let's hope that these latest warnings don't hamper the growth of political consciousness and robust debate in Singapore.

Zatoichi

I still can't detect any opinions stated on his "commentary".
That's because it's the job/"duty" of such "journalists" to be impartial, otherwise he/she will be accused of being biased or unfair, etc.

It's just the same-old hypocrisy of journalists pretending to report the truth, or just deliberately being impartial so as to protect themselves.

Ultimately, the media is just a means for devious propaganda, as it has always been.

So each person simply needs to discern for himself/herself what the truth really is...

old uncle just read and sigh most of the time.this place better buckup lah. going to die soon....lau liao....dying dying dying.....what;s there to to say or write also no use. just read and watch and sigh everyday.135 not bad liao....hope one day 35.

hope for some changes.some soft heart to forgive to let it be.looks like things not going too smooth and kind.same things.so say careful.write careful.post careful.websites don't anyhow tok cock and say coke. you kenna jialat jialat until bankrupt.so seal your mouth and watch your mouse!