• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chicken Rice: Pay if You Want More Chilli!

Posted on 10 Jul 2010
Chicken rice hawker forbids customers from taking extra chilli

chicken_rice_hawker_forbids_customers_from_taking_extra_chilli-thumbnail.jpg

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US"></SCRIPT><IFRAME class=FB_SERVER_IFRAME src="http://www.facebook.com/extern/login_status.php?api_key=94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6&extern=2&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fxd_receiver.htm&locale=en_US" frameBorder=0 name=loginStatus scrolling=no></IFRAME>
<OBJECT id=flashXdComm name=flashXdComm classid=clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000 width=1 height=1 type=application/x-shockwave-flash>

</OBJECT>

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
34%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Shiok!
7%

LOL!
37%

So sad
4%

Sure or not?
8%

Bochup
10%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->
This hawker of a chicken rice stall stopped STOMPer lyn from helping herself to extra chilli, citing the fact that chilli was expensive these days.

Said the STOMPer:

"I had chicken rice at this stall recently, but was told off when I wanted to take a third serving of chilli.

"The hawker stopped me from taking the chilli, saying that it is expensive.

"This totally killed my mood for eating.

"Being a chilli lover, I like to have extra chilli with my chicken rice but I couldn't."

erwefae-data.jpg
Contributed via STOMP iPhone app.

Posted on 11 Jul 2010
Chicken rice seller explains why asking for more chilli is unreasonable

another_chicken_rice_seller_on_why_asking_for-thumbnail.jpg

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US"></SCRIPT><IFRAME class=FB_SERVER_IFRAME src="http://www.facebook.com/extern/login_status.php?api_key=94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6&extern=2&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fxd_receiver.htm&locale=en_US" frameBorder=0 name=loginStatus scrolling=no></IFRAME>
<OBJECT id=flashXdComm name=flashXdComm classid=clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000 width=1 height=1 type=application/x-shockwave-flash>

</OBJECT>

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
66%

Shiok!
5%

LOL!
11%

So sad
3%

Sure or not?
5%

Bochup
10%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->
STOMPer Randy, a chicken rice seller, thinks it is unreasonable for customers to ask for more chilli, because chilli is becoming a very expensive ingredient for preparing the popular dish.

His feedback came in response to the posting by STOMPer lyn, in which she expressed her unhappiness when a chicken rice hawker refused to give her a third serving of chilli, saying that it is expensive.

STOMPer Randy said in his response:

"To Stomper Lyn and other STOMPers out there:

"I am a chicken rice seller myself, and I would like to tell you that STOMPer lyn had gone overboard.

"You already had two servings of chilli and still wanted more but the hawker refused, and I agree with him.

"Don't you know that the price of chilli has recently gone up by 50% of our total cost?

=> Even more than rental? Trying to insult Sporns' intelligence again.

"We hawkers provide fresh chilli and we need many ingredients like ginger, garlic, chilli, vinegar and sugar.

"These ingredients already cost a bomb, we really don't earn much money yet you blame the hawker for telling you that chilli is expensive?

"I really wonder if you even go to the market to shop for groceries?

"Currently in the market, the most you can take for a packet of chicken rice is two packets of chilli.

"If you want more, please kindly have the manners, like some STOMPers mentioned, and pay for the chilli."

Traditionally, the costs of dips like chilies and other sauces are averaged out. Some customers would like to have more, some less and some none. Those who don't want it don't pay less but those who want more of it don't pay more. Usually, a double serving is reasonable, but it'd be unreasonable to expect even more without paying.

wahlaneh...
just go to next stall lah.
big deal meh? wat so great abt his chicken rice?
yishun central $1.80 only u want to drink the whole bottle of chilli also can free one.:D

"Don't you know that the price of chilli has recently gone up by 50% of our total cost?

"We hawkers provide fresh chilli and we need many ingredients like ginger, garlic, chilli, vinegar and sugar.

"These ingredients already cost a bomb, we really don't earn much money yet you blame the hawker for telling you that chilli is expensive?

"I really wonder if you even go to the market to shop for groceries?

Stompid Randy is either lying or a lousy businessman. Most hawker stall condiments are outsourced nowadays. Unless it is a famous chicken rice stall/restaurant, no operator makes their own chili because they save the labour for preparing the chicken and rice instead.

More and more people are getting their taste buds burnt out and therefore needs more to get the kick.

Nowadays I think twice before ordering noodle dishes with chilli, because more and more hawker are using chilli padi instead of normal chilli.

I feel hawker should have the choice to cater for different needs. For those that demand very hot, then make these from chilli padi and seeds included.

Once I was at Seah Im Food Centre, the one opposite Habour Front, queuing for hokkien mee when the gal in front asked for another slice of lime (the limes were really small sized la.)

The hawker says "can take. pay me $0.30"

Wah biang the gal quickly turned around and walked off, so did I..

More and more people are getting their taste buds burnt out and therefore needs more to get the kick.

Nowadays I think twice before ordering noodle dishes with chilli, because more and more hawker are using chilli padi instead of normal chilli.

I feel hawker should have the choice to cater for different needs. For those that demand very hot, then make these from chilli padi and seeds included.

That sure HOT will burn their mouth. But the chili padi is more expensive per kilo.
It quite Ok to take more serving of chili but do not waste. Some people take a too much cannot finish it.
They are too selfish because thinking is free and included in the price and can anyhow take without really need so much.

These hawkers are being squeezed by rental increases. Poor them but they can stop being hawkers, they can stop paying high rental or we can stop buying. We all have choices but bitching on stomp is the worst choice ever!

Wow, learnt something new today.....chilli is more than 50% of total cost ????

Next time if I don't use their chilli, for a $3 plate of chicken rice, it should be $1.50 without chilli yet they make a profit out of it, assumming profit margin is same for all ingredients ?

Did I read it wrongly ????

Wow, learnt something new today.....chilli is more than 50% of total cost ????

Next time if I don't use their chilli, for a $3 plate of chicken rice, it should be $1.50 without chilli yet they make a profit out of it, assumming profit margin is same for all ingredients ?

Did I read it wrongly ????

Chili do not cost that much. Please read one more time!
The chili cost have gone up 50% not 50% of the chicken rice cost.

The chicken rice stall in the photo is at the coffeshop of Blk 19 Toa Payoh Lor 7.

the hawker shd try this

package each chicken rice with a lot of chilli,charge maybe $4.5

u only want normal amt of chilli, $3....

everyone will think wow i save so much....subsidized leh

Traditionally, the costs of dips like chilies and other sauces are averaged out. Some customers would like to have more, some less and some none. Those who don't want it don't pay less but those who want more of it don't pay more. Usually, a double serving is reasonable, but it'd be unreasonable to expect even more without paying.

The hawker was taught by the best of the land (MIW), the argument is that those who pay more, averages out to those who pay less & not counting those who pay but never consume. The key word is AFFORDABLE, so pay more for the condiments...it is still AFFORDABLE.

Learn from the best!!....why doesn't these people complain to the Consumer ASSociation of SINgapore?....the mirror has two faces!!:p

The hawker was taught by the best of the land (MIW), the argument is that those who pay more, averages out to those who pay less & not counting those who pay but never consume. The key word is AFFORDABLE, so pay more for the condiments...it is still AFFORDABLE.

Learn from the best!!....why doesn't these people complain to the Consumer ASSociation of SINgapore?....the mirror has two faces!!:p

Most people are not members of CASE. You need to be a member first, i.e. pay membership fees. Remember, learn from the best. ;)

Smart ones learn from the best of the land & these are also MEMBERS!, bet with you chicken 'lice' stall owner MEMBER!:D

We all know, pay $50 first, then give you $200...the $50 they keep until 'cow comes home' in your CPF Acct... ha ha ,learn from the bestest ( pardon the bad enrish, I also got learn from the bestest!);)

wahlaneh...
chicken rice chilli so easy to make can make urself mah.
get a blender put in red chilli, garlic, ginger, vinegar, soya sauce, littlebit sugar, water.
then let it blend until all mixed in a watery consistency.
taste 1st if not satisfied add more ingredients n blend lor.