• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chiam's GRC Plan Riles WP Member

sgnewsalte

Despite the diplomatic tone, Yaw's bitterness clearly shows. Seems like WP has already marked their territories, and Chiam's intention is not going to go down well with them. Previously when SDP decide to contest in Sembawang, WP members were up in arms as they see it as an invasion on their turf. It degenerated into some serious mudslinging in cyberspace, and even till today, many WP members are still sore over that incident. Will the same thing happen with SPP now?

http://yawshinleong.blogspot.com/2009/02/cards-are-revealed.html
Saturday, February 28, 2009

The Cards Are Revealed

I refer to the article ‘Chiam’s Still Standing’ (TODAY, 28th Feb 2009)

Uncle Chiam’s decision to reveal his cards at this stage is not a surprise to me. After all he was the master tactician who engineered the 1991 By-Election effect, which was effective enough, to see 4 members of the opposition camp entered Parliament, the largest ever, since the historical walkout by 13 Barisan Socialists’ MPs.

As the Chairman of WP’s Central Area Committee, tasked by WP’s leadership at the end of GE2006 to oversee cultivation of alternative grassroots mechanisms in Ang Mo Kio GRC, Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC & Yio Chu Kang SMC, (Especially in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, which has never been contested since the inception of GRC politics) naturally I read Uncle Chiam’s revelation with mixed-feelings.

Personally, Uncle Chiam is unquestionably my hero. He is someone whom I respect deeply. From May 1999 to April 2000, when I was an active member of Potong Pasir grassroots, Uncle Chiam was a fatherly figure to me, who mentored and imparted in me political values, ideals and principles. Few months back, both Uncle Chiam & his wife even took time off to grace my traditional wedding banquet celebrations.

Organizationally, I’m slightly disappointed. This is because quiet grassroots cultivation efforts have been put in by dedicated members of WP Central Area Committee over the past 20 months. Refer to some photos of our activism here. Recently, we even convened a WP Central Area Committee GE Task Force to plan for the possibility of snap elections.

Strategically, this is certainly a deliberately calculated move by SPP/ SDA. There are obvious strategic advantages in signaling their intentions early. Political watchers could easily point out the increased level of political activities over the last 20 months by several opposition parties within Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC. As such this revelation by SPP/ SDA will certainly result in opposition parties re-thinking about our strategic deployments.

Politically, I can understand where Uncle Chiam is coming from. I will do whatever within my ability to ensure that a three-Corner fight with SPP/ SDA is avoided in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC. However in politics, there must a form of give-&-take. Between the SPP/ SDA & WP leadership level, we must commence informal negotiations soon.

Perhaps a gentlemanly switch between SPP/ SDA’s last contested Pasir Ris - Ponggol GRC and Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC would be ideal? Perhaps, perhaps, perhaps…

News Link:
Chiam’s Still Standing (TODAY, 28th Feb 2009)

bruised feeling of grandmaster chiam

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Top News // Weekend, February 28, 2009

A politician who hates politics
FOR someone who describes himself as a “simple and straightforward” man, Mr Chiam See Tong revealed that politics has “changed me a lot ... for the worse”.
Said Mr Chiam: “Now, I can’t treat anyone I meet as a friend ... I step back and ask myself: ‘What are you up to?’”
But isn’t that the price of joining politics?
“I didn’t know before... now I’m learning,” he said.
Anyone who follows Mr Chiam’s political career would understand his disdain for the darker side of politics.
Fresh from leading the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) to three parliamentary seats in the 1991 General Election, Mr Chiam soon found himself ousted from the very party he had founded in 1980.
The long-drawn saga — set in motion after Mr Chiam brought his one-time protege Dr Chee Soon Juan into the party — had obviously scarred him. Said his wife Lina: “He would have nightmares and wake up suddenly ... he doesn’t talk about it but it’s hurting him inside.” LOH CHEE KONG
FOR someone who describes himself as a “simple and straightforward” man, Mr Chiam See Tong revealed that politics has “changed me a lot ... for the worse”.
Said Mr Chiam: “Now, I can’t treat anyone I meet as a friend ... I step back and ask myself: ‘What are you up to?’”
Anyone who follows Mr Chiam’s political career would understand his disdain for the darker side of politics.
Fresh from leading the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) to three parliamentary seats in the 1991 General Election, Mr Chiam soon found himself ousted from the very party he had founded in 1980.
The long-drawn saga — set in motion after Mr Chiam brought his one-time protege Dr Chee Soon Juan into the party — had obviously scarred him. Said his wife Lina: “He would have nightmares and wake up suddenly ... he doesn’t talk about it but it’s hurting him inside.” LOH CHEE KONG

http://www.todayonline.com/articles/304724.asp

Hakka Tiow

bruised feeling of grandmaster chiam

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Top News // Weekend, February 28, 2009

A politician who hates politics

http://www.todayonline.com/articles/304724.asp

ah hwee ah, hwee, time for your medication liow. Doctor saw your post , request that I convey his concerns to you!

Sideswipe

Only Hougang SMC is WP fiefdom and they have a right to complain if other opposition parties enter the ward. likewise for PP SMC.

The rest of the wards are all PAP turfs. All opposition parties and anybody are free to chose any of those constituencies.

fivestars

Pasir Ris GRC

1) Mr Lim Bak Chuan Desmond
Assistant Secretary-General
Consultant to Potong Pasir Town Council
Secretary of Potong Pasir Welfare Fund
Secretary-General of Singapore Democratic Alliance

2) Mr Lee Hock Huat
2nd Assistant Secretary-General cum Organising Secretary

3) Mr Thompson Chua Chee Hean
Vice-Chairman

4) Mr Yen Kim Khooi
Assistant Treasurer
Treasurer General of Singapore Democratic Alliance

5) Mr Ishak
SPP member

6) New Candidate

Serangoon GRC

1) Mr Chiam See Tong
Secretary-General
Chairman of Singapore Democratic Alliance
Chairman - Potong Pasir Town Council
Member of Parliament for Potong Pasir Constituency

2) Mdm Loh Woon Lee Lina
Committee Member
Vice Chairman of Potong Pasir Town Council
Chairperson of Potong Pasir Welfare Fund

3) Wilfred Leung,
Committee Member
Potong Pasir Town Councillor

4) David Chew
SPP Member

5) Kunalan
SPP member

6) New Cadidate

Perspective

Despite the diplomatic tone, Yaw's bitterness clearly shows. Seems like WP has already marked their territories, and Chiam's intention is not going to go down well with them. Previously when SDP decide to contest in Sembawang, WP members were up in arms as they see it as an invasion on their turf. It degenerated into some serious mudslinging in cyberspace, and even till today, many WP members are still sore over that incident. Will the same thing happen with SPP now?

I always think the WP is the least of the opposition's problems, although the latter's supporters never look at it that way. Some are especially more worried than the WP than the PAP when their favourite parties are going to go up against a PAP that will be in better shape than before.

Would the opposition be able to capture one GRC from the PAP, whether it is a WP, SDP or SPP team?

WP so far is one of the opp party that manages to win a ward. they have the most supporters there. they are the BRAND NAME for opp party.

sdp on the other hand is the worst. why are there so many wanting to target at WP when they profess that they "support opp"? if we look closely, they claim they are SDP ardent supporters. then why is all this in-house discrediting activity?

the only thing we can deduce is either one or all of this:

1. sdp is envious about other opp party's winning any wards. (one also they cannot tahan) the reason could be that chee rate himself too highly. if he can't win, others shouldn't be winning. if other win, then he would not feel happy.

2. sdp wanna destroy all credibility of the other opps in order that all their opp supporters would eventually pledge support and loyalty to chee. hence, in the ultimate agenda, there would be only one opp left - SDP with chee being the superior leader.

3. chee is defintely a pap planted agent set out to destroy all opp parties - a way of acting "lawlessly" and headstrong against the paps.

4. if chee is neither from 1 to 3, then it would be quite weird that support for him doesn't seem to be improving and neither are his votes.

the clones from sdp would be attacking after this posting - as usual. what do u expect from chee self-righteous supporters?

it's funny that u do not support a more propective wards winning opp party but choose to support a dubious one which causes more public rife with much nothing ado.

why is that so?

char_jig_kar

it's funny that u do not support a more propective wards winning opp party but choose to support a dubious one which causes more public rife with much nothing ado.

why is that so?

You kidding me? YSL voted for PAP in 2006, and WP harbor him, let him carry on to stay in WP and WP CEC. Who has the right mind in Opposition would vote for WP? What do they need? 1 hour youtube clip to explain whats wrong for a Opposition to vote for the PAP? Not to talk about YSL is a Opposition candidate in 2006, and he's from WP CEC.

how would ysl fare in the next GE is still anybody's guesses? what if he heng heng wins a ward? what would be ur opinion about him then?

he's afterall a prospective opp party member with mp wannabe prospect. didn't u say u wanna support opp party?

char_jig_kar

how would ysl fare in the next GE is still anybody's guesses? what if he heng heng wins a ward? what would be ur opinion about him then?

he's afterall a prospective opp party member with mp wannabe prospect. didn't u say u wanna support opp party?

This incident shows YSL and WP are not Opposition: wat kind of Opposition party which has a GE candidate voting for the ruling party??

This incident shows YSL and WP is not Opposition: wat kind of Opposition party which has a GE candidate voting for the ruling party??

He posted in his blog that he regretted it and won't do it again.

However, the prerogative of forgiveness is still with the voters.

Hakka Tiow

WP so far is one of the opp party that manages to win a ward. they have the most supporters there. they are the BRAND NAME for opp party.

sdp on the other hand is the worst. why are there so many wanting to target at WP when they profess that they "support opp"? if we look closely, they claim they are SDP ardent supporters. then why is all this in-house discrediting activity?

the only thing we can deduce is either one or all of this:

1. sdp is envious about other opp party's winning any wards. (one also they cannot tahan) the reason could be that chee rate himself too highly. if he can't win, others shouldn't be winning. if other win, then he would not feel happy.

2. sdp wanna destroy all credibility of the other opps in order that all their opp supporters would eventually pledge support and loyalty to chee. hence, in the ultimate agenda, there would be only one opp left - SDP with chee being the superior leader.

3. chee is defintely a pap planted agent set out to destroy all opp parties - a way of acting "lawlessly" and headstrong against the paps.

4. if chee is neither from 1 to 3, then it would be quite weird that support for him doesn't seem to be improving and neither are his votes.

the clones from sdp would be attacking after this posting - as usual. what do u expect from chee self-righteous supporters?

Clone lai liow!

Ah Hwee ah, Ah Hweeeeeee................

What lan jiao are you talking now?

What 1 to 3? Only not not understand you, Pondan !

Never take your medication again issit? Jealous issit?

Leeporter talking to the people that matters in politics and not you?

As usual spewing cum from your dirty mouth!

char_jig_kar

He posted in his blog that he regretted it and won't do it again.

However, the prerogative of forgiveness is still with the voters.

Did he really 'regretted it'?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://wayangparty.com/?p=218

Forumer: Yaw Shin Leong’s double talk cuts no ice with me

YSL’s double talk cut no ice with me. Look at his two latest blog posts. Full of bloated self-confessions and grandoise prose, but zero substance.

Let me tear his two latest posts apart piece by piece. First, Yaw Shin Leong’s latest blog post: Opposition (WP) – Key To Fortify Singapore’s Future … …

YSL says, “it is the responsibility of every voter to ensure that a constitutional state must have healthy ‘check and balance’ mechanisms to wade off the dangers of absolute power corruption. Voting in more opposition members into Parliament is definitely one key mechanism …. …. …. Singapore must have a robust ‘check and balance’ system to ensure that our system on which our extraordinary performance is based, make ‘best decisions’. These decisions must be thoroughly debated upon, not undermined by any hegemonic political party that may choose to selfishly safeguard its partisan’s interests, possibly via its party whip over its members of parliament.”

Ah … so YSL finally regrets voting for PAP MP Teo Ho Pin, and realizes that voting more opposition is needed for check and balance? Yet, he still acknowledges that our system is based on “extraordinary performance” (see the bold underline part above). Read his words carefully. He still thinks that PAP is doing a fine job. Even so, let us for a moment give him he benefit of the doubt that he has realized more opposition is needed in parliament.

YSL also says, “For the record, it is not the intention of Singapore’s opposition, specifically the Workers’ Party to become Singapore’s government in the near or mid-future. As such, Singaporean voters can definitely vote in more opposition members without fears, contrary to MM Lee’s warnings …. …. Therefore Singaporeans must contemplate scenarios of excessiveness due to absolute power in a hegemonic one-party state. To prevent this, we must build up credible check and balances mechanisms in the highest decision making body in this land …. …. What is the solution? The Workers’ Party is an established political party, with the immediate political agenda of smashing PAP’s political hegemony by achieving one or two GRC breakthroughs. Specifically Singaporean voters must deny the PAP by voting in the Opposition (WP), as a key to fortify Singapore’s future.”

So YSL wants check and balance, but not for WP to be govt. In other words, WP is not confident it can take the lead. When govt pass policies, why should it listen to WP’s wayang? If WP only wants to win a few seats, but nothing more, then what impact can WP have on parliament?

How can a wayang party that only aims to win one or two GRC possibly pose a threat to PAP or make PAP listen? YSL is talking nonsense. Any oppo party worth its salt must believe it is capable enough of taking the lead, of winning more and more seat over time so that one day it may even have the chance to be the government.

Why should PAP feel threaten by a wayang oppo like WP who only wish to win just 1 or 2 GRC and be a mere watchdog? An oppo cannot be just watchdog. It must be a contender for govt, in order to be a real threat to PAP.

By only wishing to win 1 or 2 GRC, in fact YSL is AGAIN falling into the trap of govt. Because then the govt can CLAIM THAT WE ARE A DEMOCRACY, by the mere presence of a wayang opposition in parliament that DOES NOT POSE ANY THREAT!

YSL’s other blog post Introspection of Perspectives is an even greater wayang … …

He says, “All along, my logic which I deployed on voting for PAP’s Teo Ho Pin were mainly ‘putting nation before cause’, ‘voting for the better candidate’ and ‘not opposing for the sake of opposing’. Contextually these are certainly valid principles which do hold merits in their own right.”

Everyone note. YSL is not apologetic. No sorry. No apology. No outright retraction or remorse. He says HIS POINTS HOLD MERITS IN THEIR OWN RIGHT.

He also says to TNP interview: “I was blind but now I see … I woke up from a matrix-like slumber … I have undergone a metamorphosis…

And then he conclude in the same interview that the new understanding of politics he now has is one that has brought him to “a new plane, not higher or lower, just different … … My conscience is clear.”

CAN ANY OF YOU COME UP WITH DOUBLE TALK THAT IS MORE CONVOLUTED THAN THIS? If YSL thinks he is now on a different plane, not higher or lower than the previous, ISN’T HE JUST SAYING THAT ACTUALLY HE DOES NOT THINK HIS PREVIOUS ACTION WAS WRONG?

And in ST interview, he again repeated his old line that “I encourage Singaporeans to vote with their conscience. If they really feel that the opposition candidates are not deserving, don’t support them.

So for YSL, it is NO sorry, NO apology, and back to square one.
No wonder WP is just a lame wayang party to this day.

Source: Sammyboy Forum

This incident shows YSL and WP are not Opposition: wat kind of Opposition party which has a GE candidate voting for the ruling party??

opp pussy and pap pussy - what's the different if either pussy can rid the rat? by the way, is chee the rat here?

char_jig_kar

read again. does the rat catch any pussy? NO. the rat brings more rats into the longkang. who is the bigger sinner?

i don't know what the mind boggling fuck u talking about.

its YAW SHIN LEONG VOTED FOR THE PAP IN GE 2006. ITS WP WHO OKAYED WITH IT, 'CAUSE WP STILL HARBOR YAW SHIN LEONG.

SO ANY OPPOSITION WITH THE RIGHT MIND, SHOULDN'T BE VOTING FOR THOSE RATS WHO BETRAYED THE OPPOSITION CAMP. SIMPLE AS THAT.