• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CDF : We will buy F35B....

TopSage

General Carlisle: I talked to their CDF [Chief of Defense Force], Chee Meng. I was just in Singapore. Singapore’s decided to buy the B model, the VSTOL variant to begin with. But I don’t know where they’re at in putting it into their budget. I know that’s a decision that’s been made and that’s why they’re part of the program, but I don’t know where they’re at in putting that in the budget.
http://www.airforcemag.com/DWG/Documents/2013/July 2013/072913Carlisle.pdf

US General Carlisle reveals to the Defense writers group. Japan and S. Korea are likely to give F35 a miss due to high cost.

As a Singaporean, it sickens me to hear this. Here we are struggling with inadequate transport and medical care and our CDF tells the Americans he wants to buy this controversial platform. All our elites should be sacked and removed for acting against the interests of the people for spending billions on something we don't need as Singaporeans struggle everyday hardly able to cope with the cost of living. This is so irresponsible.

My greatest disappointment is with Defense Minister Ng Eng Hen for not being able to stop these spendthrift hawks in his ministry. This is precisely the wrong decision to make as our country is at crossroads. How many schools and hospitals can this money build?

If they go ahead with this purchase, it is really time to throw every one of them ouT for their epic failure to realise the citizens have had enough of their lopsided thinking.

On the one hand they can debate for hours in parliament over paltry amounts of aid for the most needy Singaporeans ...and yet overspend on defense without a thought. This is simply irresponsible and Ng Eng Hen will be held accountable....this feller was a doctor, what excuse does he have not to understand the urgent need to spend on healthcare and relieve Singaporeans from very high burden of out of pocket spending when they are sick.

We cannot trust these elites to make the right tradeoffs in backrooms and in small circles to decide on these serious matters. Every billion they spend on these planes ...the same billion can be used to imrpove the lives of Singaporeans. How can we let out of touch elites decide on our lives? We cannot trust them to do what is right!!!

Hai zzz.... Sinkees are screwed again hahaha. Again and again poor things.

US General Carlisle reveals to the Defense writers group. Japan and S. Korea are likely to give F35 a miss due to high cost.

As a Singaporean, it sickens me to hear this. Here we are struggling with inadequate transport and medical care and our CDF tells the Americans he wants to buy this controversial platform. All our elites should be sacked and removed for acting against the interests of the people for spending billions on something we don't need as Singaporeans struggle everyday hardly able to cope with the cost of living. This is so irresponsible.

My greatest disappointment is with Defense Minister Ng Eng Hen for not being able to stop these spendthrift hawks in his ministry. This is precisely the wrong decision to make as our country is at crossroads. How many schools and hospitals can this money build?

If they go ahead with this purchase, it is really time to throw every one of them ouT for their epic failure to realise the citizens have had enough of their lopsided thinking.

On the one hand they can debate for hours in parliament over paltry amounts of aid for the most needy Singaporeans ...and yet overspend on defense without a thought. This is simply irresponsible and Ng Eng Hen will be held accountable....this feller was a doctor, what excuse does he have not to understand the urgent need to spend on healthcare and relieve Singaporeans from very high burden of out of pocket spending when they are sick.

We cannot trust these elites to make the right tradeoffs in backrooms and in small circles to decide on these serious matters. Every billion they spend on these planes ...the same billion can be used to imrpove the lives of Singaporeans. How can we let out of touch elites decide on our lives? We cannot trust them to do what is right!!!

Why the fuck should they be sacked?

WHO ARE THE FUCK HEADS WHO PUT THEM THERE!

WHO ARE THE IDIOTS WHO ELECTED THOSE FUCK HEADS WHO PUT THEM THERE?

IF SINKIES DO NOT KNOW HOW TO KICK OUT THOSE PAP WALKING BAGS OF EXCREMENT, WHY DO YOU BLAME THEM FOR LINING THEIR POCKETS?

THATS BEING DONE FOR FUCKING DECADES AND DECADES BY SMEAR OF SHIT ON SOLE OF SHOE LKY

WHO WENT ON TO BASTARDISE AND TRANSMOGRIFIED ALL ORGANS OF GOVERNMENT INTO LKY GARBERMENT TO LINE \HIS OWN FUCKING POCKETS TOGETHER WITH MILLIONS TO HIS CRONIES AND KANGAROOS

THEY WILL PLAY UNTIL THEY ARE ALL KICKED OUT

Let's trust PAP la, they are the ones who have insights that we mortals could not see and they could understand things that we mortals could not understand. All it takes is a simple trust from our side we just trust them can already. Also how much can a plane or tank or ship cost compare to our hundreds of billions in reserve, peanuts. And then maybe after spending on this latest in the world aircraft maybe we no need to buy anymore aircraft for the next 69 years so if you spread it cheep cheep la.

chee meng bye is only the messenger and pencil pusher, blame it on those that approved the budget in parlumpent for him to get more toys.

Let's trust PAP la, they are the ones who have insights that we mortals could not see and they could understand things that we mortals could not understand. All it takes is a simple trust from our side we just trust them can already. Also how much can a plane or tank or ship cost compare to our hundreds of billions in reserve, peanuts. And then maybe after spending on this latest in the world aircraft maybe we no need to buy anymore aircraft for the next 69 years so if you spread it cheep cheep la.

PAP been screwing you all the time.
Might as well let them continue to screw and fuck sinkies as sinkies all kept head low low and arseholes up high high for the pleasure of PAPs.

UNTIL SINKIES FIND THEIR BALLS, THEY SHOULD KEEP ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH AND MOUTH SHUT SHUT

We should spend more on Healthcare and Education.....

Damn the Generals for unneccessary spending on weapons........

Untitled555.png

See the shameful fall in hospital beds per capita?

We should spend more on Healthcare and Education.....

Damn the Generals for unneccessary spending on weapons........

Untitled555.png

See the shameful fall in hospital beds per capita?

They are a really incompetent....

WASHINGTON: Singapore is expected to announce sometime in the next 10 days that it plans to buy its first squadron –12 planes — of some 75 of Lockheed Martin’s F-35Bs, further bolstering what had been the flagging fortunes of the world’s most expensive conventional weapon system.

The fact that American allies in the Pacific are the ones committing to the controversial and over-budget aircraft is telling. If you want to understand the calculus driving these choices, first look at China, which to countries such as Singapore, Japan, Australia, and South Korea is the primary long-term threat.

The Singaporeans are extremely shy about declaring their intentions in public, eager to offer few chances for China and Malaysia to react, but two sources familiar with the program confirmed the likely announcement. Given Singapore’s tiny size, its choice of which of the three F-35 versions to buy is not surprising. A plane that can take off almost vertically and can land vertically is able to operate from a much smaller footprint than, say the F-35A (the Air Force version) or F-16 Block 60s. And, given Singapore’s geography, the F-35B makes great sense for its ability to operate closely with the US Marines — as well as with F-35Cs operating from our aircraft carriers.

The Singaporeans’ decision will eventually leave China — and Russia, still something of a Pacific power — facing 50 to 100 Australian F-35As, 42 F-35As in Japan, 75Bs in Singapore and however many of the three versions built and fielded by the Untied States are regularly in the Pacific. Then consider the F-35, which offers the first true integrated global supply chain for a major weapon system and offers highly classified capabilities which America had previously not made available to allies.

But the underlying reason for the choice of Singapore and the other Pacific countries may be found in the conclusion of these countries about the F-35′s effectiveness. One senior official from the region, who has access to the most sensitive classified information about the system, told me recently that the F-35 is “simply undefeatable.” And this official said the aircraft is expected to maintain its dominance for at least one quarter of a century.

If you link the F-35s from Singapore, Japan and Australia with the US planes that will be stationed throughout the Pacific at Air Force bases, on aircraft carriers and on the Gator Navy’s ships, then the US and allied presence will loom large in an arc from Alaska west and south to the bottom of the South China Sea and then back down to Australia and across to Hawaii. Strengthening this highly capable net will be the new F-35 plant Japan is expected to announce soon. Mistubishi Heavy Industries is expected to construct a plant to build Japan’s F-35s. It would eventually provide the US and its Pacific allies with a central repair and replacement plant in the region, one in addition to any repair centers the US builds in the region.

Add the regular port visits to Singapore by the Littoral Combat Ship fleet to the F-35 decision and you’ve got a pretty powerful national security statement by the tiny state.

http://breakingdefense.com/2013/03/25/singapore-poised-to-announce-purchase-of-12-f-35bs/

The F35 is nothing bu a failure. To be in the program is stupidity enough...to really commit to it when the Japs and Kim Chees have backed out is suicide..they should just buy the F15 Silent Eagle and be done with it...it will take our neighbours at least 15 years to catch up with our hardware,,but for our software,,,we are 10 years behind......

Seriously the title of this thread at first I misread "CPF : We will buy F35B...." anyway its kidda same

korea still undecided and now most likely buying F-35 because they drop F-15 recently. Japan delay buying because of rising cost. If japan dun buy the only 5th generation fighter, how is she going to deal with china?

Singapore should buy the normal A version. Buy not now. What's the rush to buy stealth ?

korea still undecided and now most likely buying F-35 because they drop F-15 recently. Japan delay buying because of rising cost. If japan dun buy the only 5th generation fighter, how is she going to deal with china?

Please don't anyhow politicise and say opposition supporter this and that. Latest on S. Korea procurement :f next generation fighter:

http://thediplomat.com/flashpoints-...-eliminated-from-s-koreas-fx-iii-competition/

Both euro fighter and f35 eliminated. The SAF is wrong to buy this without considering even a competitive tender.

Please don't anyhow politicise and say opposition supporter this and that. Latest on S. Korea procurement :f next generation fighter:

http://thediplomat.com/flashpoints-...-eliminated-from-s-koreas-fx-iii-competition/

Both euro fighter and f35 eliminated. The SAF is wrong to buy this without considering even a competitive tender.

yeah the case in south korea, they eliminated F-35 and EF from the list, leaving F-15. But later they deject F-15 too, now they are reconsidering F-35.

First your news is outdated, second the contract not yet signed.
Both korea and japan still might buy F-35. So basically your entire thread is about rubbish.