• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Casino gambling fall in here!!!

Heart Break Kid

bro theblackhole,

Why don't you stop gambling for a while ? I suggest you can go to Books Kinokuniya in Ngee Ann City Orchard.
There is a section on casino gambling books. Grab a few books & go in to the coffee joint and read.

That will more or less help you to cope with your casino gambling anxiety.

rofthelper

So you have the intention to play Texas Holdem full time ? :biggrin:

Not full time lah, I just an amateur player. Still have alot to learn, like pot odds and different methods of playing a hand.

Hi bro, I have a new unopened poker set which a USA vendor brought it for me. I used to play poker with my ex NS frds for the past few years. Now most of us are preoccupied with daily work and family life. Got to pick up this "hobby" again liao.

Last time Long Jie has this game, but always not much ppl joining. MBS has texas? I know RWS has it, but was not opened at that time I last went.

rofthelper

Why this interruption????

Believe it! The casino can change ! And they can make you unlucky and lose big time!!!So learn to RUN - easy said than done!!!

Casinos damn "kiasu" one. When you keep winning, they will use little tricks to disturb your play.

Why you lose and hide one corner, they heck care you man. :biggrin:

rofthelper

Bro, you play poker? In your opinion, which is the better game to play in casino? Caribbean or Texas Holdem?

Bro LauMeng, I prefer to play Texas than Caribbean stud poker in casino. As playing Caribbean stud poker in RWS, we players pit against the dealer. I prefer to pit against other players by playing Texas. Bcos different texas players have different type of playing approach and styles. In this way, I can learn by observing their playing styles and facial expressions before making a call. This is very crucial.

If pit against dealer, not much fun as dealer just treat this game like a routine job.

GramStroker

Bro LauMeng, I prefer to play Texas than Caribbean stud poker in casino. As playing Caribbean stud poker in RWS, we players pit against the dealer. I prefer to pit against other players by playing Texas. Bcos different texas players have different type of playing approach and styles. In this way, I can learn by observing their playing styles and facial expressions before making a call. This is very crucial.

If pit against dealer, not much fun as dealer just treat this game like a routine job.

If you like Texas, take a trip to Crown, Melbourne. The Texas scene is quite interesting there. They have many fixed buy in mini tournaments ranging from 2 or 3 hundred bucks. A very humbling experience.

Heart Break Kid

Not full time lah, I just an amateur player. Still have alot to learn, like pot odds and different methods of playing a hand.

Hi bro, I have a new unopened poker set which a USA vendor brought it for me. I used to play poker with my ex NS frds for the past few years. Now most of us are preoccupied with daily work and family life. Got to pick up this "hobby" again liao.

Last time Long Jie has this game, but always not much ppl joining. MBS has texas? I know RWS has it, but was not opened at that time I last went.

Presently MBS do not have Texas Holdem or even 3-Card Poker. Guess Asian still prefer Baccarat as their main card games.

Have ever been to USA ? You should watch those ang mohs & some black professionals playing Texas Holdem for a living daily.

You can learn a lot things from them :biggrin:

B

BCR101

Quote:

Originally Posted by silverfox@
Based on your "assumptions", your "wikis, wizzies of odds", or just replying because its a posting made by me?

Please check out the following from wizard of odds.

[B said:
aurvandil[/B];538394]Please check out the following from wizard of odds.

http://wizardofodds.com/baccarat/baccaratapx2.html

But don't believe hor ... you are a grand master gambler with all sorts secret technqiue and kung fu taught to you by former junket operators and ah peks. You say can so can lor ...

Dear Aurvandil ,

allow me to say a few simple story ... assuming you r

Malaysian start playing

Baccarat at 25 year old and visit genting malaysia casino

for the next 40 years , approx , today you are called "

ah pek " .... If you tell me that you can "gut feel "

that "tie" is coming soon and or likely coming ..

i will believe you and i will even buy you a meal ...

simple , those "mat" , "ah pek" , "bros" whatever

they touch and feel and see the baccarat hands draw out

many more times over 40 years at those table more than

all the forumer here out put together ...

allow me to speak for bro silverfox , if i may , the

morale of the story is that in all vocations there will

emerged a "scholar" . the same apply in our IRs

if u go to the MBS /RWS everyday for the next 20, 30 ,40 years

and go to same table games and i called you "pek" 40 yrs later

you said "tie" coming i believe ...simple lah ...

B

BCR101

>
SINGAPORE - In what is said to be one of the biggest losses yet at a Singapore casino, a local businessman lost $26.3 million over three days of gambling in June. This included a staggering $18 million that he burned in one day alone, playing baccarat - a card game - at $400,000 a hand.

According to documents that Today has obtained, the businessman's tale of woe began in March, just weeks after Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) opened, when he was granted a credit line of $500,000 by the casino.

The Singaporean, who is consulting a top local law firm about possible legal action against the casino, claimed that the casino at no time performed any background checks on his credit-worthiness or his financial capacity. He had simply filled in an application form, deposited $100,000 and handed over a signed blank cheque, he claimed.

Subsequently, in April, the casino increased his credit line to $2 million, he told his lawyers. In his 50s, the businessman is a managing director of a multi-million-dollar company.

Over the weeks, he reportedly won or lost several hundred thousand dollars each time he visited the casino, with his losses running as high as $6 million in the course of a single session. To draw on his credit line, he said, he signed a form and was given the requisite amount of chips.

In early June, he made his biggest loss of $18 million yet in one session. Two days later, he went back to the casino and recouped some $3.7 million - but then two days after, he lost a further $11 million.

At one point during this third session when his losses crossed the $4-million mark, so the businessman claimed, his girlfriend started crying and pleaded with one of RWS' senior officers to stop providing him with more chips on credit.

The same officer, he claimed, had repeatedly assured him over the course of the gambling sessions that the casino was prepared to extend him further credit, even though his limit had long since been exceeded.

Of his $26.3 million loss, the businessman repaid $10 million almost immediately.

The businessman claims to have then met with RWS chief executive Tan Yee Teck, who offered him a "rolling figure" - which amounts to a discount - of $3.3 million.

According to the legal documents, dated July 22, the gambler owed RWS some $13 million at that point in time. It is unknown if the debt has since been settled.

When contacted, an RWS spokesperson said the group does not comment on its customers.

The businessman's lawyers have advised him to explore if an amicable resolution can be reached with the casino. But they also think he may have a case of negligence, breach of contract or breach of statutory duty against the casino.

Under the Casino Control (Credit) Regulations, an operator who enters into a credit agreement with a patron should, apart from specifying a credit limit, develop and implement criteria to assess the patron's creditworthiness. The operator must also have approval procedures for any increase in the credit limit.

In the lawyers' view, by substantially exceeding their client's earlier limits - by more than 60 times the original limit of $500,000, and 15 times the April limit of $2 million within a few hours to enable him to continue gambling "RWS had encouraged irresponsible gambling and had breached the duty of care owed to" the businessman.

RWS' conduct of continuing to pile on credit effectively rendered the concept of a credit limit meaningless, the lawyers argued. This was more so as the person in question was not in the proper frame of mind to decide on the increases, they said.

In other countries, there have been several instances of patrons suing casinos for their losses, cases which the courts have dismissed. Courts in other jurisdictions have noted among other things, that the casino was not bound to protect a gambler from his desire to wager his wealth.

Despite this, the Senior Counsel from the local law firm recommended writing to RWS. "In the letter, the issues concerning RWS' failure to promote responsible gambling ... can be raised. Hopefully, this may encourage RWS to offer a haircut that would be acceptable to you ..." he wrote.

Genting Singapore's turned in a sterling net profit of $397 million for the quarter ended June 30, compared to a loss of $50.7 million a year ago. Revenues rose to $979 million from $120 million a year ago.

According to DMG Research, at the current rate, Singapore is already the second largest casino market in Asia after Macau, and could overtake the Las Vegas strip as the second largest casino market in the world after Macau in the next two to three years. The firm estimates that the two casinos here rake in over $16 million a day..

rofthelper

Texas HoldEm, is mainly to play mind games. To be a good Texas Holdem player is to be able to control your facial emotions regardless of whether your cards are good or lousy. Then your opponents will never be able to read your cards. Some very skilful players judge opponents reactions based on the dilation of the eye pupil of the player. That is why playing computer Texas HoldEm is very different from playing real life.

Talking abt facial emotions, I viewed one game being played in last year World Series of Poker. There's this big sized guy who didn't even raise an eyelid when another white guy B intimate him with Ace full house on the turn and re-raise in two encounters. This big sized guy already has a diamond straight flush on the turn, he just follow the call without re-raise or all-in. On the river, he knows in mind he already won to trick B into thinking he does not have a stronger hand than B. In the end, B kana big time by the big sized guy, who has a diamond straight flush. Cool.

Another cool guy in Joe Hachem. Really admire his play style.

Heart Break Kid

>
SINGAPORE - In what is said to be one of the biggest losses yet at a Singapore casino, a local businessman lost $26.3 million over three days of gambling in June. This included a staggering $18 million that he burned in one day alone, playing baccarat - a card game - at $400,000 a hand.

According to documents that Today has obtained, the businessman's tale of woe began in March, just weeks after Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) opened, when he was granted a credit line of $500,000 by the casino.

The Singaporean, who is consulting a top local law firm about possible legal action against the casino, claimed that the casino at no time performed any background checks on his credit-worthiness or his financial capacity. He had simply filled in an application form, deposited $100,000 and handed over a signed blank cheque, he claimed.

Subsequently, in April, the casino increased his credit line to $2 million, he told his lawyers. In his 50s, the businessman is a managing director of a multi-million-dollar company.

Over the weeks, he reportedly won or lost several hundred thousand dollars each time he visited the casino, with his losses running as high as $6 million in the course of a single session. To draw on his credit line, he said, he signed a form and was given the requisite amount of chips.

In early June, he made his biggest loss of $18 million yet in one session. Two days later, he went back to the casino and recouped some $3.7 million - but then two days after, he lost a further $11 million.

At one point during this third session when his losses crossed the $4-million mark, so the businessman claimed, his girlfriend started crying and pleaded with one of RWS' senior officers to stop providing him with more chips on credit.

The same officer, he claimed, had repeatedly assured him over the course of the gambling sessions that the casino was prepared to extend him further credit, even though his limit had long since been exceeded.

Of his $26.3 million loss, the businessman repaid $10 million almost immediately.

The businessman claims to have then met with RWS chief executive Tan Yee Teck, who offered him a "rolling figure" - which amounts to a discount - of $3.3 million.

According to the legal documents, dated July 22, the gambler owed RWS some $13 million at that point in time. It is unknown if the debt has since been settled.

When contacted, an RWS spokesperson said the group does not comment on its customers.

The businessman's lawyers have advised him to explore if an amicable resolution can be reached with the casino. But they also think he may have a case of negligence, breach of contract or breach of statutory duty against the casino.

Under the Casino Control (Credit) Regulations, an operator who enters into a credit agreement with a patron should, apart from specifying a credit limit, develop and implement criteria to assess the patron's creditworthiness. The operator must also have approval procedures for any increase in the credit limit.

In the lawyers' view, by substantially exceeding their client's earlier limits - by more than 60 times the original limit of $500,000, and 15 times the April limit of $2 million within a few hours to enable him to continue gambling "RWS had encouraged irresponsible gambling and had breached the duty of care owed to" the businessman.

RWS' conduct of continuing to pile on credit effectively rendered the concept of a credit limit meaningless, the lawyers argued. This was more so as the person in question was not in the proper frame of mind to decide on the increases, they said.

In other countries, there have been several instances of patrons suing casinos for their losses, cases which the courts have dismissed. Courts in other jurisdictions have noted among other things, that the casino was not bound to protect a gambler from his desire to wager his wealth.

Despite this, the Senior Counsel from the local law firm recommended writing to RWS. "In the letter, the issues concerning RWS' failure to promote responsible gambling ... can be raised. Hopefully, this may encourage RWS to offer a haircut that would be acceptable to you ..." he wrote.

Genting Singapore's turned in a sterling net profit of $397 million for the quarter ended June 30, compared to a loss of $50.7 million a year ago. Revenues rose to $979 million from $120 million a year ago.

According to DMG Research, at the current rate, Singapore is already the second largest casino market in Asia after Macau, and could overtake the Las Vegas strip as the second largest casino market in the world after Macau in the next two to three years. The firm estimates that the two casinos here rake in over $16 million a day..

Thumb up ... this is a very good piece of news for Singaporean casino lovers

Hope more local businessmen & elites go bankrupt because of casino gambling :biggrin:

LauMeng

Talking abt facial emotions, I viewed one game being played in last year World Series of Poker. There's this big sized guy who didn't even raise an eyelid when another white guy B intimate him with Ace full house on the turn and re-raise in two encounters. This big sized guy already has a diamond straight flush on the turn, he just follow the call without re-raise or all-in. On the river, he knows in mind he already won to trick B into thinking he does not have a stronger hand than B. In the end, B kana big time by the big sized guy, who has a diamond straight flush. Cool.

Another cool guy in Joe Hachem. Really admire his play style.

Bros, thanks for the replies from both of you.
I thou you don't play this game as you would a regular game of Texas Hold'em. Since you are only playing against the dealer in the casino, you can play almost any two cards, because you only have to beat the dealer's hand to win, not the other players at the table. And also there is no way for you to bluff when playing this game in casino. I presume at the end of the day, luck counts a lot in this game play at casino. Of course, if you are playing in the tournament, then it is different story altogether. Am I right?

rofthelper

Just went yesterday for 15mins, played about 8 hands, lost 6 draw 1 win 1. Have 20, dealer 21, Split double down, dealer card 6 get until 20. dealer keep getting 20,21. Not a good start, lost $1500 just walk out already.

Going to a casino, you either win or you lose. Just like a coin. Either head or tail. 50% of the time head, 50% of the time tail.

So 50% of the time we lose, we lose a certain percentage we must walk out. When 50% of the time we win, we must stay on and get as much as we can till the winning run stop only, we must walk out.

The problem why people lose is when they are on a winning run, the good start makes them think that by continuing can make them win more, which most of the time is not the case.

If a person makes 100 trips to a casino in a year. 50 trips win, 50 trips lose. The law of average. He tells himself lose 1K, stop. Win, must continue. In this way, 50 trips will only lose 50K, the other 50trips reward will be huge if there is a long run. Even if there is no long winning run, but it can be assured that playing this way will never make anyone into a habitual problem gambler.

You didn't go with your blackjack frd?

Bros, thanks for the replies from both of you.
I thou you don't play this game as you would a regular game of Texas Hold'em. Since you are only playing against the dealer in the casino, you can play almost any two cards, because you only have to beat the dealer's hand to win, not the other players at the table. And also there is no way for you to bluff when playing this game in casino. I presume at the end of the day, luck counts a lot in this game play at casino. Of course, if you are playing in the tournament, then it is different story altogether. Am I right?

That's why usually I play among my circle of poker frds.

rofthelper

If you like Texas, take a trip to Crown, Melbourne. The Texas scene is quite interesting there. They have many fixed buy in mini tournaments ranging from 2 or 3 hundred bucks. A very humbling experience.

Thanks GramStroker, I have went Crown once few years back. And another casino in darwin. I prefer limit texas or pot limit texas. 200-300 buy-in just nice for me.

I will be bringing my wife to Melbourne this coming dec. Thanks for the info. :wink:

Have ever been to USA ? You should watch those ang mohs & some black professionals playing Texas Holdem for a living daily.

You can learn a lot things from them :biggrin:

No bro. Will love to go Las Vegas if there's a chance.

Now can only watch them play online. Have saved quite a number of entertaining poker video tourney. I like Johnny Chan's! :biggrin:

GramStroker

Hope more local businessmen & elites go bankrupt because of casino gambling :biggrin:

Bro, though it cetainly is juicy, it's not good news. I pity his creditors and of course his employees who might be affected through no fault of theirs. Luckily he was not named, otherwise the creditors will be hounding him down and employees run road. Those of us who are employed, we look up the food chain, we see these people, businessmen and elites. If they fall, some of us might move up, but a lot more will suffer.

Only casino benefits in the end. Play wisely, rich or poor.

Heart Break Kid

Bro, though it cetainly is juicy, it's not good news. I pity his creditors and of course his employees who might be affected through no fault of theirs. Luckily he was not named, otherwise the creditors will be hounding him down and employees run road. Those of us who are employed, we look up the food chain, we see these people, businessmen and elites. If they fall, some of us might move up, but a lot more will suffer.

Only casino benefits in the end. Play wisely, rich or poor.

Well I would say that casinos did help narrow the gap between rich & poor.

Of course casinos will benefit long run but who asked these high rollers to go & gamble. Alternatively the RWS senior mgt & employee is waiting for a year-end fat bonus and RWS will have to pay hugh corporate tax to Inland Revenue :biggrin:

What our gahment said is right...IR created jobs & opportunties :biggrin:

silverfox@

You didn't go with your blackjack frd?

We went together and left together. His bet is higher so he lost more. But we share the same idea not to stay and fightback. Who knows maybe will lose even more. So just go back another time. If we have a good start, we will follow all the way through till we start losing a bit of winnings and then we end the night with profits. If start off with loss and percentage very high, we don't bother staying longer to fight back. Casino is always there 24 hours 7 days a week. If cannot exercise self restrain, sure lose like hell. Sometimes losing less is consider winning already.

Must learn how to let go. :o

silverfox@

I think the RWS will write off certain amount to settle this out of court as this is bad press.

To increase his credit limit many folds, RWS would have checked all his background already as they will make sure the amount he owe would not make him bankrupt.