• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Broken Promises from 2006 election

Frankiestine

Why is the opposition doing about it? Nothing. Instead of using such useful ammunition to shoot those dogs back.Come every election they go round shooting themselves in the foot.

wahlaneh

Why is the opposition doing about it? Nothing. Instead of using such useful ammunition to shoot those dogs back.Come every election they go round shooting themselves in the foot.

wahlaneh...
what can u expect from oppositions when they are fighting among themselves?
unity is strength mah.:wink:

Brightkid

Maybe even earlier elections that I am still waiting for :

SM GOH promise of Swiss standard of living.

Also, I lost track of how many times below was recently spoken and by how many MIWs :

"Foreign Talents are here to create jobs for Singaporeans"

And the actual situation on the ground ?........I leave it to your findings.

SNAblog

Youtube, 11 May 2008

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/jCZJYPW3QXw&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/jCZJYPW3QXw&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

myo539

Using this thread to gather all the broken promises they made as a summary.

GRIPE, GRIPE and more GRIPES.
Some people just like to WHINE, WHINE and more WHINES. Yet others know how to KPKB.

"If you have a flood....who is more likely to get the drainage put right and have the flood alleviated as quickly as possible.......a PAP candidate or an MP, like in Potong Pasir or Hougang?"

True or False. There are no floods in Hougang and Potong Pasir because
a. God is very kind to Potong Pasir and Hougang.
b. No amount of engineering can prevent flooding - only Potong Pasir and Hougang have superb engineers who can prevent floods.
c. MPs in Potong Pasir and Hougang are able to alleviate flood more quickly than PAP MPs.
d. Potong Pasir and Hougang are built on highlands, above 50 years flood frequency.
e. Potong Pasir and Hougang were built by PAP gahment.
f. Potong Pasir and Hougang used to have very frequent floods but PAP alleviated them, so no more floods.

Answer : a : false. b: false c: false d: false e: true f: true

rodent2005

How about the part where LKY said opposition will lose billions? As it turned out, it was the PAP who lost billions in record time and they said it was long term investments when they realized the loss within around 2 years.

rodent2005

Weren't the PAP paid millions to build Potong Pasir and Hougang i.e. they are just doing their jobs. What's the big deal about what PAP has done? Who gives a damn what you do in the past?

If the PAP wants to continue working, then they must do everything to improve Singaporeans' future. If the PAP thinks they cannot make it, they should get the hell out. This is the reality of a globalised world.

saratogas

Sinkies are a bunch of forgiving and easily forget citizens... Another round of Growth Bonus into our pocket$$$. We are realistic and $$$ minded...

batman1

Sinkies are a bunch of forgiving and easily forget citizens... Another round of Growth Bonus into our pocket$$$. We are realistic and $$$ minded...

Some people have commented that sinkees are very greedy and selfish ba*tards and damned stupid ! Really,got no cure,give up,no eyes to see!

Baroko

Weren't the PAP paid millions to build Potong Pasir and Hougang i.e. they are just doing their jobs. What's the big deal about what PAP has done? Who gives a damn what you do in the past?

If the PAP wants to continue working, then they must do everything to improve Singaporeans' future. If the PAP thinks they cannot make it, they should get the hell out. This is the reality of a globalised world.

The PAP hypes on their past cos they have run out of ideas and has nothing to offer to the country any more.
We vote for a government to serve the country and its citizens. We do not vote for a government to serve themselves and put the citizens in misery.

VOTE against them if you want a better live. This is your only chance once in 5 year.

peterpan707

The PAP hypes on their past cos they have run out of ideas and has nothing to offer to the country any more.
We vote for a government to serve the country and its citizens. We do not vote for a government to serve themselves and put the citizens in misery.

VOTE against them if you want a better live. This is your only chance once in 5 year.

When they run out of idea and has nothing to offer to the country any more. Gamble lor. Since already gamble, gamble big lor. the end result, not 1 but 2 casino.

theDoors

'Severe asset inflation'
By Melissa Tan
Aug 11, 2009

SINGAPORE risks 'severe asset inflation' during the economic recovery, a local economist has warned.

But this danger can be averted if the Government acts now to control the prices of HDB flats, said Mr Paul Yip, Nanyang Technological University (NTU) associate professor of economics.

Asset inflation - meaning a rise in price of assets such as stocks and property - is a possible consequence of the United States' current expansionary fiscal policy, Professor Yip said on Tuesday.

He was speaking at an NTU symposium - on exchange rate systems and Asian macroeconomic policies - which brought together 11 macroeconomists from institutions such as Stanford University and Delhi School of Economics.

'Many people say that the property market is rebounding, but I don't think so; we are still bottoming. Recovery will be slow ... and a few years later we might have severe asset inflation, much more than the rise today,' Prof Yip said.

'So if you are a stock investor or property investor, it's very easy. Just hold your stock and shares for another three or five years - the price will climb to be much higher. But if you lose money, don't blame me,' he quipped.

Prof Yip noted that the US government has lowered interest rates and expanded its money supply in a bid to avoid a repeat of the Great Depression.

But post-recession, the government may fail to shrink the money base back to pre-downturn levels, he said. In that case, excess US dollars would flood the market.

'For Singapore, there may be an inflow of money from the US, increasing the money base and therefore the money supply... When the recovery comes, there will be wage inflation and consumer price index inflation, and this will fuel asset inflation,' he told The Straits Times.

'Rents will rise and then people will be able to charge even higher rents, causing a vicious circle,' Prof Yip said.

Read the full report in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.
Copyright © 2007 Singapore Press Holdings

Jul 25, 2010
'Imbalance' in resale HDB
By Melissa Kok

THERE is an 'imbalance' in the HDB resale market and it may take around a year or so before prices of resale flats will stabilise.

These comments were made by National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan on Sunday, who was addressing concerns about the prices of HDB resale flats, which have been consistently rising since 2008.

Speaking on the sidelines of a community event in Tampines, Mr Mah attributed the surge to strong economic growth and increased demand from first-time buyers and those looking to upgrade to bigger flats.

'I think at this point in time, there's still an imbalance. I hope that with HDB pushing out a record number of flats this year, this imbalance will be redressed over the medium-term... I would expect in another year or so we should be able to stabilise everything,' Mr Mah said.

Resale prices for HDB flats rose for the eighth straight quarter, surging 4.1 per cent between April and June from the previous January to March period. The median cash over valuation (COV) - the cash amount paid upfront by a buyer over a flat's valuation - also hit a record $30,000 in the second quarter of this year.

To help relieve some of the pressure on the resale flat market, Mr Mah said HDB is building more flats, and assured that there was an ample supply for flats for first-time buyers. HDB has launched almost 9,000 new flats in the first half of the year, and it will launch another 7,200 in the second half to meet growing demand. Another 4,700 new flats under HDB's design, build and sell scheme (DBSS) and recently sold executive condo sites will also add to the supply. In the short-term, Mr Mah said it was hard to tell if prices would continue to rise.

[email protected]

One year later, our housing czar, Mr Mah does absolutely nothing about the situation, the professor has warned us about.

annexa

We will give you good 4th University.

Truth, SUTD degrees are not recognised by sinkie gahmen. Check out PEB under maboky MND. You need at least 2 batches of graduates to be CONSIDERED for recognise in Singapore. 1st 2 batch of SUTD students are fucked.

theDoors

Mr Mah pull the plug on the asset appreciation/inflation program.

Sep 1, 2010
Don't deny investors a choice

THE slew of measures announced to curb uncontrolled escalation of property prices are generally well thought-through and welcomed. However, the new requirement for existing private property owners to dispose of their private property within six months of purchasing an HDB flat in the resale market seems unreasonable.

While the Government should play a role in ensuring price stability in the property market, it should not introduce measures that deny individual investors and occupiers a fundamental choice.

A blanket "ban" on private property owners retaining their private property after buying a resale flat from the open market, without enjoying any form of government subsidy, seems unjustified. This is especially so if the private property is used as a long-term investment, in sharp contrast to speculative flipping of properties.

Most of the market-cooling measures, such as limiting the use of financial leverage in property purchases, still allow a degree of personal discretion in the context of a free-market economy. It is harsh to require existing private property owners to sell off their biggest asset investment upon purchasing a resale flat.

It should be highlighted that not all private property owners are really rich. Many were "forced" to buy their private property in their younger days because their household income exceeded the income ceiling set for HDB purchases, and when no other options like executive condos and Design, Build and Sell Scheme flats were available.

Over the years, this "sandwiched" class of private property owners worked hard to pay for their homes with the intention to move to an HDB flat during retirement. The private property could then be rented out to provide a stream of retirement income. The new requirement has effectively killed the hopes of many such people.

Chloe Loke (Mrs)
Copyright © 2007 Singapore Press Holdings

Three years enough
Letter from Maxie Tay
05:55 AM Sep 01, 2010

AS A property agent handling private and HDB resale transactions, I've observed that speculators are sub-letting HDB flats (some illegally) for the high rental yields while staying in their private properties, or vice versa.

At the same time, private resale volume is declining - the fear of a double-dip recession seems to be making an impact.

While I applaud the move to curb runaway HDB prices and soften private resale prices to help first-time buyers, I feel a three-year MOP with the condition of no subletting and no investing in private property would be sufficient.

Five years might put the private property market on ice, and send the entire market into a downward spiral.

Nest egg delayed
Letter from Chi Han-Hsuan
05:55 AM Sep 01, 2010

THE latest regulations came as a shock to my wife and me. Why can't HDB flat owners stay in their flats and invest in private property without a five-year MOP?

Private properties are a long-term investments, like blue chip stocks or precious commodities such as gold - they appreciate in value over time and are a good hedge against inflation.

I believe the Government's stance all along has been to curb the use of HDB flats for speculation, and those who want to invest should buy private property.

So, why discourage flat-owners from investing in private property?

A five-year MOP is too long and restrictive. My wife and I recently bought an HDB flat without a loan and plan to invest in a condominium for our retirement. But now we'll have to wait before we can do so.

The Government shouldn't be discouraging HDB owners with excess cash from buying private property as a safe, long-term investment in their nest egg. Rather, it should be imposing restrictions on foreigners buying private residential properties.

sgczar

Friday • April 28, 2006

THE Opposition should come up with its own slate of 84 candidates if it wants to be taken seriously, said Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew.

SO WHAT YOU OPPOSITION PEOPLE WAITING FOR? EVEN IF A ROAD SWEEPER OR TABLE-TOP CLEANER, I VOTE FOR THEM.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

Walao Eh, you think the more than 10k deposit PER candidate to stand for erection grow on trees ah? 84 x 10 = 840k leh!

It used to be I think $150 or $300 last time that's why got so many Tom, Dick and Harry join as candidates.

Think about the consequences of losing the more than 10k deposit if you don't get enough votes.

Better go back into the sinkhole dude and "Ren4 Ming4". I don;t see any changes happening unless the Old Fox kicks the bucket. :(

peterlth

Ng Eng Hen said he has the solution to bring down oil prices and stop factories from pulling out of Singapore and find you jobs ... he will also bring down the price of rice, bread and coffee ....

images

Dr Ng also called the Workers' Party a Wayang (or Theatre) Party - as it only wants to get Singaporeans riled up by focusing on criticisms and not solutions. He said, "This is a Wayang Party, WP, not Workers' Party...Do they have solutions? Can they bring the price of oil down? Can they stop factories from pulling out of Singapore and find you jobs? Can they bring down the price of rice, a loaf of bread, a cup of coffee?

----------

Dec 29, 2009
Electricity prices up again
By Grace Chua

ELECTRICITY prices are back on the rise for the fourth consecutive quarter.

The electricity tariff is set to rise 5.4 per cent to 22.87 cents per kilowatt-hour (kWh) in the first quarter of the new year (2010), electricity service provider SP Services announced on Tuesday.

That means the electricity bill for an average 4-room flat will go up by about $4.70 - from $87.20 to $91.90.

SP Services said the rate was based on the average fuel oil price for the last three months, which has gone up about 8 per cent to $99.38 per barrel.

Last year, fuel oil prices skyrocketed to about $155 per barrel, pushing electricity prices to 30.45 cents per kWh last October. During the global downturn, oil prices dropped and electricity rates followed.

But as economies recover, oil prices are going up again.

--------------

Seagate closes Singapore Hard Disk Plant

Aug 4, 2009

2,000 Seagate jobs to go
It will relocate manufacturing operations out of Singapore and lay off workers.

By Chan Hian Hou

Seagate Technology announced that it will 'relocate its hard disk manufacturing operations from the Ang Mo Kio facility in Singapore to other existing Seagate sites'. -- PHOTO: SEAGATE TECHNOLOGY

SINGAPORE'S already hard-hit electronics manufacturing sector was dealt another blow on Tuesday when hard disk maker Seagate announced that it will close down its Ang Mo Kio hard disk plant by the end of next year and lay off 2,000 workers.

-----------------

Singapore inflation climbs to 14-month high

Thu, Jun 24, 2010
my paper

SINGAPORE'S inflation rate last month exceeded most analysts' expectations and hit a 14-month high, climbing 3.2 per cent from a year ago.

This figure is higher than the initial estimates of local economists, which were within a range of 2.7-3 per cent. Bloomberg News' survey of 11 economists predicted a 3 per cent median estimate previously.

On a seasonally adjusted basis, inflation last month rose by 0.6 per cent compared to April.

The usual suspects in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) basket remained the main drivers of inflation, data released by Singapore's Department of Statistics showed yesterday.

Transport costs soared by 15 per cent from the same period last year, or 3.4 per cent on a month-on-month basis, owing to a spike in car prices and petrol costs.

"The increase in car prices was likely due to a shortage of Certificates of Entitlement (COE) and worsened by the lower number of cars being deregistered in recent months, which resulted in higher car prices despite weaker sales," said Standard Chartered Bank economist Alvin Liew.

Housing costs, meanwhile, saw a 1.6 per cent rise as a result of higher electricity and gas tariffs.

Food prices also increased by 1.3 per cent, reflecting more expensive prepared meals, vegetables, chilled meat, rice and other cereals, as well as fresh seafood.

The CPI in the first five months of this year was an average of 1.8 per cent higher than that for the same period last year.

-------------------

Long-term unemployment rising in Singapore

Singapore is no country for old men and women. Although Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew continues to hold office at 86 and his former deputies Tony Tan and S Dhanabalan are corporate bigwigs in their 70s, age can be a disadvantage lower down the job market.

Older laid-off workers are likely to remain unemployed longer than younger workers, no matter what their education level.

They may have the same problem in other countries, but now we know how acute the problem is in Singapore.

A Ministry of Manpower (MOM) report shows nearly half of those in their 30s and more than 50 per cent of those in their 40s and 50s remained unemployed six months after losing their jobs. Younger workers were luckier, with 68 per cent of the under-30s re-employed within that time.

Long-term unemployment is on the rise, with almost a quarter of the jobseekers looking for work at least for 25 weeks, according to the ministry report. It says, "The number and share of unemployed residents who had been looking for work for at least 25 weeks (i.e. long-term unemployed) rose from 12,900 or 18% of job seekers in December 2008 to 13,900 or 23% in December 2009."

Singapore residents aged 40 and over made up 47 per cent of the jobless workers in December 2009, up from 43 per cent in December 2008.