You are not kidding are you? Britain is the most socially stratified society and the class system is obvious even today.
Notice the clothes and keeping up with Jonese etc. Half their comedies allude to class and barriers between them
Scroobal, this papsemarer is just clueless. He says he's been to Britian, but doesn't notice all this? He probably went on a package holiday. And besides, methinks that he is very uncomfortable with class/social background discussions.
I've always notice how some people (sinkees, and also Brits) seem to be uncomfortable with it, even though AT PRESENT, they don't seem to be in material want - they are either fairly well-off, or quite comfortably so. But everytime social background is mentioned they seem to get their knickers in a twist. You know why? Well, such people are reminded that while they may have all the material wealth right now (and its visible), their parents may be like peasants and ah bengs. And they're ashamed of this background. Notice how the Americans and Australians don't seem to care. Well, my point is that people like Bea the cunt-with-a-chip-on-her-shoulder displays that. Somehow her article seem to be very angry at something.
I'll hazard a guess at what it is - and it is also a thing that alot of ang mo expat (not all though) seem to harbour - those with chips on their shoulders. I think deep down they can't tahan seeing an ASIAN country prosper. ANY Asian country, need not be Sg. So they have to find faults with it, try to be sarcastic with it.
Unfortunately for Sg, we get it worse. Just do tell me why do you think more people come here (quite aside from Sg gahmen incentives) -- isn't it because we function more readily and much more so in the English language? Admit it, even those who keep saying the language is falling.... the marjority in this country actually speak enough English to be very well understood. Even the Sg/Malaysian accent is quite discernable, isn't it? Of course, if we go into our own lingo and put in too much Hokkien/Malay/singlish type words, then newcomers would find it difficult. But come on, how many times does that happen at the workplace.
You guys should realise that there are alot of jealous people around. And alot of sick people who cannot face THEIR OWN inadequacies, so must latch onto something else that comforts them. And for these angmos, it is denigrating the country they are in, and especially if they fear a rising Asia. What more apt a place is Sg to denigrate....
Don't let these people get away with it because, unlike Alan Shadrake who is trying to point out certain real things that's happening here, this Bea cunty Johnson has her own huge baggage and is trying to be funny. Don't let her get away with it, that's all I'm saying. SEE HER FOR WHAT SHE IS.
You people here should criticise Sg where we deserve it, but at the same time, DISCERN FOR YOURSELVES where the criticism is UNWARRANTED, and where it is deserved.
btw, I think my points about social background really does hurt some people, right? papsmearer? Don't know why you are so sensitive about social backgrounds when others in Sg are not - just look at the upgraders - strutting around like some tua ki, not realising they are being laughed at. Be like them, papsmearer. Don't fluster at people like me who point it out. Be brave. Own your own heritage.