• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bea Johnson Chao Ang Mo Makes fun of Singlish

Who are the smarter people? Who can master what they are taught better?

In my view, the smartest people are those who change the world for the better by inventing ground braking technology, advancing medical science, pushing the frontiers of space exploration and so on.

You can check out what colour the majority are at :

http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/lists/all/all_laureates_c.html

http://inventors.about.com/od/famousinventions/tp/topteninvention.htm

http://inventors.about.com/od/sstartinventions/a/Inventions_S.htm

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
we're singaporeans so must be proud of our own language: singlish, singdarin, singalay n singamil.:biggrin:

Dreamer1

In my view, the smartest people are those who change the world for the better by inventing ground braking technology, advancing medical science, pushing the frontiers of space exploration and so on.

The prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, and Peace were first awarded in 1901.
1901 was the time of the decline of China,China was top of the world before.

China woul get back its rightful share pretty soon!

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/zbr-1ZieeuU?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zbr-1ZieeuU?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Royalblood

Did u not read about the days where technologically advance China has the highest GDP per capita in the world invented stuff such as paper, gun powder, compass, silk, etc, which all contribute immensely to humanity, while your fucking white trash ancestors were still dressed in animal hides having no elaborate social structure and feasting on a daily diet of raw untreated meat :rolleyes:

Had nobel prize existed then, most of the names would have been chinese's

Singlish is hardly a cultural icon. It's nothing more than fucked up English.

Its use has resulted in the vast majority of sinkies being unable to string a single grammatically correct sentence together to save their lives.

You need look no further than the contents of this forum. :rolleyes:

yes i concur a prime example of bad english usage heavily influenced by Singlish due to a poor education background is yourself as can be evidenced by your posts. :wink:

Had nobel prize existed then, most of the names would have been chinese's

As usual.. the good old paper and gunpowder retort. :rolleyes:

The Chinese used to be great inventors as were the Arabs, the Indians, the Mayans and the Neanderthals.

However, please tell me how China has contributed to the advancement of mankind (apart from exporting whores across all continents) since the middle ages.

There are now 1.3 billion Chinese on the face of this earth. They should be leading the world. Instead, all they do is cheat, lie and copy.

Looks somewhat horsy to me. Should be a magnet for some unsavoury Sinkees. But examine her background a bit more (if you can dig around for it), I'm sure she has chav ancestors, and is deeply aware of it, hence all that outpourings.

I mean, for all the horrid things people like to say about the Americans, at least they don't have this kind of hangups. Notice how many Brits have fled to the US and Australia? Notice the SOCIAL BACKGROUNDS these Brits are from?

Now if they don't care much about these things and they make it good in the US or Britian and don't mind going back to 'ol blighty (may be for just a visit), then of course it's ok. But you see, the Brit mentality is such that alot of them feel deeply ashamed that their social backgrounds are...how should I put it as a S'porean...well, peasant as in ah beng background. So even in they have made it good, alot still feel hurt when people back in Britian who may be less materially rich than them (now that they've made good, either in biz or professionally), still look down upon them, JUST SIMPLY BECAUSE OF THEIR SOCIAL BACKGROUND.

So they come here. To Asia. With a silly superior attitude, and whaddaya know...when they encounter an anomaly like Sg, they don't like it. Why? Asian on the surface - yellow, brown and black people - but actually speaking a pretty much good grade of English to get by. Come on, you all, don't let anyone fool you that S'poreans and Sg speak shit English. Written grammar may sometimes be a bit off, but I think on the whole it's one of the best countries to get by in the English-speaking world, no?

And so....chavs like freckled Beatrice (watch out for the sun, gal, or you'd be very chao lao very soon) has to find some faults. To make herself feel superior. Meanwhile, give her a little bit more time...and she'd probably get suckered up by some native guy who'd use her up and spit her out.

I dun know what u are talking about, u need to stop using clones. I have been to Britain, I don't discern any social backgrounds, or class system as u say. I know rich Indians in the UK, who have children marry white people, rich and poor whites doing business with rich and poor pakis, chinese, etc. Brit girls I find are some of the most open minded when dating men not of their own race, regardless of their social backgrounds.

In any case, what bea is saying is true. I have long maintain that sinkies don't speak english. They speak pidgin, even I have problems understanding them sometimes and I am borned here!. The whole point is the fucking PAP has told the whole world repeatedly that we are an english speaking country, and because the language of commerce is english, companies should come and invest here, and what not. When foreigners like Bea come, they get a nasty surprise. People don't fucking speak english at all. Our english is different from the english spoken by Irish, Scots, jamaicans, etc. This is because in order to truly understand our version of english, u also need to know some hokkien, malay, indian, and mandarin. This makes it impossible for a totally new person to make any sense. I have seen many sinkie office workers speak in singlish to their angmo counterparts without bothering to translate their sentence into proper english first. How is the poor chap supposed to get all the meaning? In the phrase "Wah lau, u tekan me until like that I damn terok". There is hokkien, english, and malay mixed in. Its not english at all, and impossible for any other english speaker in the world to decipher this.

This is simply an issue of the inability of sinkies to speak english, its not about British social class, and what not. So, get your head out of you buntak, ah?

Mandarin so what? In Singapore Chinese context, beside the newsreaders, reporters and a few better teachers, hardly anyone speaks standard Mandarin. There's nothing to proud of for Singaporeans that westerners are learning Mandarin. They won't be learning it from Singapore, except for idiots and con victims.

Sinkies allegedly speak mandarin, english, hokkien, etc. but is master of none.

I dun know what u are talking about, u need to stop using clones. I have been to Britain, I don't discern any social backgrounds, or class system as u say. I know rich Indians in the UK, who have children marry white people, rich and poor whites doing business with rich and poor pakis, chinese, etc. Brit girls I find are some of the most open minded when dating men not of their own race, regardless of their social backgrounds.

In any case, what bea is saying is true. I have long maintain that sinkies don't speak english. They speak pidgin, even I have problems understanding them sometimes and I am borned here!. The whole point is the fucking PAP has told the whole world repeatedly that we are an english speaking country, and because the language of commerce is english, companies should come and invest here, and what not. When foreigners like Bea come, they get a nasty surprise. People don't fucking speak english at all. Our english is different from the english spoken by Irish, Scots, jamaicans, etc. This is because in order to truly understand our version of english, u also need to know some hokkien, malay, indian, and mandarin. This makes it impossible for a totally new person to make any sense. I have seen many sinkie office workers speak in singlish to their angmo counterparts without bothering to translate their sentence into proper english first. How is the poor chap supposed to get all the meaning? In the phrase "Wah lau, u tekan me until like that I damn terok". There is hokkien, english, and malay mixed in. Its not english at all, and impossible for any other english speaker in the world to decipher this.

This is simply an issue of the inability of sinkies to speak english, its not about British social class, and what not. So, get your head out of you buntak, ah?

Suh yu see mi seh jamaicans a speak di english good suh dat mi fi seh. You understand bloodclaat battybwoy a suk out you madda.

Is justification needed? Anything wrong with using a language that is spoken by the majority in a country? If a foreigner decides to be here for the long run, should he not assimilate with our practices instead of the other way round?

Singlish can be said as one of the many creole languages spoken by people who were once colonized by the imperialism europeans.

I do not hear of people who speak creole in other countries complaining about their own unique language.

The difference is this, for eg: The PNG national who speak pidgins do not see the need to lower themselves to accomodate to the foreigners in their own soil. On the other hand, the typical sinkie will even drop their fucking surname just to please any visiting foreigners. Oh yea, we have less pride than the melanesians from a proverty stricken country, no wonder people from the world around see us as pushovers.......:rolleyes:

No u moron, Creoles speakers don't claim to speak anything other than creole. They are quite proud of their creole heritage and that includes their language. Sinkies on the other hand TELL EVERYONE IN THE WORLD THAT THEY SPEAK ENGLISH. get the difference? They are lying, and misrepresenting themselves. Creoles don't claim to be perfect english speaking

Dreamer1

The Chinese used to be great inventors as were the Arabs, the Indians, the Mayans and the Neanderthals.

However, please tell me how China has contributed to the advancement of mankind (apart from exporting whores across all continents) since the middle ages.

There are now 1.3 billion Chinese on the face of this earth. They should be leading the world. Instead, all they do is cheat, lie and copy.
We Chinese do have a very sad history!

Apart fr possibly Jews,I think it is very hard to find another race which suffered so much through out history.

Coomies do know this,they have been playing NATIONALISM card

But very fast they discovered Nationalism is a double edge sword.

水能载舟,亦能覆舟。 waters can carry a boat and may also overturn it

There is no solution so I do not buy all the fantastic predicitions on Communist China.

But as with suffereing,ther is little dispute that Chinese match the Jews with certain traits such as winning acedemic prizes and success in commercial world.

In my view, the smartest people are those who change the world for the better by inventing ground braking technology ...
walan eh! ...

their inventions muz b so gr8 dey have stopped ze earth from twurning ... :rolleyes:

R u kidding, look at your PC, laptop, handphone, etc. Where does it say its made in?

She looks OK to me.....not gorgeous but definitely not fat....:p

http://en.gravatar.com/beajohnson007#pic-1

fc43868c54cec7e7518c187825b18eca

yeah, i concur, nice eyes, i wonder if she is available for dinner and drinks

formerlyknownas_ew

The 'wah lan you tekan...' is what you'd be using with true-blue S'poreans. Obviously, people should have the ability to codeswitch as and when the situation calls for it.

You seem to be so angry at what I posted....is it because it hits too close to home? I'm not saying you're British, but perhaps the 'you can get the boy out of the ghetto, but you can't get the ghetto out of the boy' message is a little bit uncomfortable for you?

Then don't think that way. Think like the Americans. They don't care about social backgrounds, what (there, singlish for you). They fairly recognise people for their current achievements and abilities. So you should think that way too. Don't feel intimidated about your own background. You've done well in your life. :smile: Heck care (there, singlish again) those who 'kuay suay' you. (singlish, one more time).

In anycase, Singlish is a variety of English. Ever heard of that linguistic term? Samleong seems to have not allowed any of my posts on varieties of English. Why, huh, samleong?

R u kidding, look at your PC, laptop, handphone, etc. Where does it say its made in?

You seem to take pride in the fact that China is a source of slave labour for the Western world.

Apple is worth billions. In the meantime, the chinks at Foxxcon are literally worked to death making the stuff that Steve Jobs sells, at a huge profit, to the rest of the world.

Let me know when some Giant Chinese multinationals start assembling their inventions in the sweat shops of the USA. :biggrin: I'm not holding my breath.:rolleyes: