• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

back to the future ...80s

Rushwind

Ah... the 80s... sure bring back the memories... taking bus at Orchard Road going home from school, eyeing the SCGS girls... Mr X as a DJ on 90.5, other DJs then were Jeanette Joseph, Jenny Teo, Tay Soo Sin... jazz fusion music leading up to the news in brief at the hourly mark on radio.. and monotone Norman Lim reading the news. Hehe

happening places - warehouse disco, reading room, chinoiserie (shin-hwa), xanadu.

music - modern talking, duran duran, punk rock, new romantics.

fashion - long fake cartier wallets, alibaba pants, tie scarf/handerchief at the neck ala spandau ballet, permed hair ala George Michael.

pastimes - motor siao, far east/centerpoint kids, breakdancing.

bro is you can name warehouse disco, reading room, chinoiserie (shin-hwa), xanadu...all those places i been before :wink: confirm you born in the early 70s :wink: me too .

Not me. Was a teen during the seventies and when Saturday Night Fever hit thie crowds, limpei was totally out of it. Didn't fancy dancing nor disco. Stuck with the good ole' stuff - bikes, jeans, rock music, and weed.

you are a rocker back then ?

heheheeh...bro you also go octogan last time ? what about other tea dance ? whahahaha . what about roller skating ring ?

Marmota (later years became gay joint).
Roller skates started with paramount then goldhill square then everywhere like supreme house (ex metro), cuppage, orchard plaza, amara, serangoon (ex-cinema), even balestier plaza had a tiny one.

moolightaffairs

anyone of you go tea dance , for example rumours , bubbles , dreams , octogan and roller skating ring ? :wink:

knn! go roller skating dont know this song???

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/dpgaxMaFoz8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Bro. What about Solid Gold? I was in primary school then. So too young to chiong outside. I remember my father likes to watch Solid Gold on tv. Thats how i got my 80s music.

Ha..ha..Ha.. yes.. I remembered Solid Gold shows on TV.. Back then me shared the room with my elder bro.. Father bought us a small Sanyo TV set for our room.. Got to view the show each time my brother switched on the TV..:biggrin: Was born in the late 70s.. My elder bro was 6 years older than me.. Too young back then to go out late nights during the 80s.. Was influenced by my his taste of the 80s music back then.. Used to listen to his Depeche Mode, U2,Bros, Camouflage cassettes..

... and lovely Nicolette Rappa. :biggrin:

[video=youtube;I-fWoH1IJyA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-fWoH1IJyA[/video
ya remembered guys going gaga over her....her younger sis was my junior but looked like a typical indian girl not like the sister....tried to show her favour in the hope she intro her sis to me heh heh

Another famous one was Lynette Tye....married a rich man

Was influenced by my his taste of the 80s music back then.. Used to listen to his Depeche Mode, U2,Bros, Camouflage cassettes..

Hahaha! Depeche Mode 101.. it was the definitive soundtrack for sinkie 80s teenager!

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Z_rX2ewXpWQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen=""></iframe>

Marmota (later years became gay joint).
Roller skates started with paramount then goldhill square then everywhere like supreme house (ex metro), cuppage, orchard plaza, amara, serangoon (ex-cinema), even balestier plaza had a tiny one.

whats your rollerskate " logo " :wink: ? mine is " funny people " . i remember also got " western kid " logo :wink: . whahahaha...you also ah beng when young ...dont play play with me hor ....i know how to do " eagle " :wink:

[video=youtube;ik2YF05iX2w]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ik2YF05iX2w&ob=av3e[/video]

[video=youtube;dRHetRTOD1Q]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRHetRTOD1Q&feature=relmfu[/video]

[video=youtube;wDe60CbIagg]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDe60CbIagg&feature=relmfu[/video]

[video=youtube;x34icYC8zA0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x34icYC8zA0&feature=relmfu[/video]

[video=youtube;k95AD9vjAdo]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k95AD9vjAdo[/video]