• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Association of Muslim Professionals finally wake up and take their PAP partner.

hey m&d you mentioned u were going to whack students and former students from those schools so why aren't you doing it?

mats r going good at whacking their own wife or children, particularly infant/baby mats.

whack others? they can talk only.

I agree. Maybe to expand on what you are probably saying. I am also of the opinion that the disaffection affecting Malays has also got to do as much with outside world events as with the iniquities and miscalculations of the PAP. This disaffection has a built-up effect, and I believe was also caused in no small measure by the rise of militant Islam, developments in the Middle East, Al Qaeda, Arab wahabism etc. I noticed from a certain period onwards, a trend of more Malays going on the Haj, and those who came back had inspiring tales to bring, more Malays wearing the tudung, more withdrawing into their own community, mosques, and also a trend of Islam scholars finding it fashionable to teach and preach fundamentalism, purity to the religion in its outer form and manifestations e.g. insistence on halal practices in social functions, beside the tudung in the office. All these make them difficult to "mix" (I wont use the term "integrate"); because before one can integrate, one must be prepared to mix socially. Those who chose to be 'less strict' (sic), are probably reproached and criticised as less pure etc.

Don't get me wrong. If there was no rise in militant Islam, the Malay punching bag in Singapore will still be winded, but perhaps over a longer time. There is still the developments up north. With what is happening to Muslims everywhere, there is that awakening here and I am pretty sure Malays find in such forces strength, inspiration and courage, even a bravado, to fight back and buck the oppression they genuinely or imaginably felt or perceived here.

That is why during those old days, before this world entered into all its complexity, we were able to play marbles, hantam bola, soccer, rounders, fight spiders etc with our malay friends in their kampongs.

Just two more points. Firstly, I agree with the forummers who yearn for the good old days before the 80s when we had all this diversity in race and religion but yet lived together relatively well. But when the Govt( and LKY was the PM) started telling us that we were different and started treating us differently but forcing us to be one nation one people, it all began to unravel. This also coincided with the 1979 Islamic revolution in Iran.

hey m&d you mentioned u were going to whack students and former students from those schools so why aren't you doing it?

You don't read very well do you, slit-eyed Chink? That's the problem when you chang huayi through your whole pathetic life. You develop a poor understanding of English. Best that you crawl back to where you came from, that country up north call China where you can be as Chinese as you want and speak as much Mandarin as you want to.

Good for nothing and ungrateful chink. You have outlive your welcome in our land and its best that you taken the first flight back to your homeland in China.

sudah lah .. kotek...
sudah makan ke belum ?
dah sembahyang ke belum ?

I think Singaporeans of all races should do away with this us-and-them adversarial mentality. In my grandfather's days as a colony, racial and religious harmony truly prevailed over Singapore. It was LKY's policies for his own political gains to started to crack the faultlines in the 60s. First he went after the Chinese to destroy the support base for Barisan Socialis, then he isolated the Malays to hold them as soft house arrest political hostages. After creating an entire generation of majority English educated Chinese detached from Chinese culture, and PAP voters by default without much thought, he tried to set them apart again with mother-tongue policies and SAP schools. Chinese and non-Chinese alike, don't be fooled. Mandarin is not mother-tongue to most Chinese Singaporeans just as Tamil is not mother-tongue to many Indian Singaporeans. SAP schools are not Chinese schools. There were Chinese schools but has become English schools disguised as Chinese schools with an extra subject of "Higher" Chinese that in fact is just of common secondary standard in PRC or ROC. However, this conveniently excluded most non-Chinese from SAP schools and even prevented most Chinese from learning some real Chinese, giving SAP schools an elite aura, that only Chinese deemed to be intelligent enough can be allowed to learn it. At the rest of the non-SAP schools, CL2 standard is stuck at primary standard.

I think we should also do away with any notion of this my land or your land. We're in this all together. Don't play into policitians' traps to divide and perpetuate their rule.

Its a little too late for Ah Beng to wave the olive branch now. Particularly now that Ah Beng is getting the full taste of his own medicine - being edged out of educational and employment opportunities by foreigners. Where was all this bleeding heart indignation when the minority citizen was being squeezed out by the "silent majority"?

You go back to your grandfather's days yet are blithely unaware that Tamil used to be the mother tongue for most Indians in Singapore. Of course that used to be in the past before the massive influx of foreigners where Hindi is now the common language of the Indians. Its disingenious for you to now claim that SAP schools where the best resources were spent are nothing but English schools disgusined as Chinese schools when the schools themselvevs were designed primarily to produce Mandarin elites.

Disproportion has always existed with certain segments of the population needing help more than others, yet self help was and is divided here skewed along racial lines, Mendaki, CDAC, Sinda. Yet Ah Beng was and is prepared to label Malay as stupid and lazy.

Yet what did Ah Beng do in those hey days of his cultural awakening? In the end you reap what you sow.

http://ourstory.asia1.com.sg/independence/ref/zanthem.html

S. RAJARATNAM says:

QUESTIONS provocative and even intelligently "sensitive" are to me the life-blood of creative thinking.

But what alarms me are not so much the questions as the hidden and dangerous implications which they often conceal. I refer to a recent proposal which a group of grassroots leaders and a lawyer described as "trivial" but "sensitive" (The Straits Times, July 22) and in which they suggested that "adjustments" should be made to our 32-year-old national anthem because, they claim, many Singaporeans cannot sing our anthem in Malay and therefore do not have "strong feelings" or "strong emotions when they sing the national anthem". In other words, they lack patriotic convictions.

Now in the matter of the use of language, I consider myself as something of a minor expert in the technique of "double think" and "double talk".

I think there is more to the proposed "trivial adjustment" than the surface meaning conveys.

The proposal put forward by these grassroots leaders and a lawyer was made publicly. It also caught the eye of the mass media. I also understand that prior to this, the matter was discussed at some length in a manner sufficient to attract the attention of the Prime Minister. So this matter was not intended to be trivial.

Since this statement was described by its authors as also "sensitive", it was no doubt also intended to rouse emotions about the adequacy or inadequacy of a national anthem which had been a source of inspiration and respect for millions of Singaporeans for some 32 years.

Our national anthem in its present form has been sung since 1959 not only in Singapore but also in a great many countries in the world where diplomatic formality required the playing of Majulah Singapura. As far as I know, our national anthem has so far not attracted domestic or international disrespect.

In fact, the Majulah Singapura was unofficially launched much earlier by the old City Council, even though the overwhelming majority of Singaporeans even then knew little or no Malay.

Its composer, Zubir Said, has been officially honoured for his gift of Majulah Singapura. His Malay lyrics were so simple that anyone over the age of five, unless mentally retarded, had no difficulty singing the anthem. All Singaporean children of kindergarten age have not only had no difficulty memorising the words but have for decades sung it every morning with "strong feelings and emotion".

The anthem has been translated into the four official languages for those who cannot understand Malay. I know of no one, until recently, who has said that singing Majulah Singapura in its present form made him feel unpatriotic.

That is why I am somewhat mystified why a group of grassroots leaders, including a lawyer, should now suddenly experience mental and emotional block over the national anthem. There must be other reasons why these grassroots leaders cannot work up positive emotions for our anthem, and I am sure many would be interested to know why.

Since national anthems are sung en masse on formal occasions, I am further interested to know what kind of Majulah Singapura would emerge the next National Day were it to be sung simultaneously in Malay, Mandarin, Cantonese, Hainanese, Tamil, Urdu, Javanese, English and Greek, among other languages.

That should really bring the house down.

Of course, there is nothing in the law prohibiting any citizen, should he feel the urge, to sing Majulah Singapura in the privacy of his home or along Orchard Road in any language that takes his fancy.

I also understand that some of these grassroots leaders have argued that since the Chinese constitute the majority, then the new dogma of the greatest good for the greatest majority should be applied.

So the time has come to re-emphasise the difference between hot-potato politics and statesmanship. Statesmanship is something different and I should like to give an example of it for the benefit of, in particular, lawyer Lee Bon Leong who raised what he admits is a "sensitive" issue.

The question of a national language also came up for debate during Indonesia's struggle for independence. Indonesia has a far larger population and a greater variety of languages and dialects than Singapore. The Indonesian majority speak Javanese, an ancient language with a very sophisticated culture.

The late President Sukarno, who was called upon to choose a national language from among the hundreds of competing languages, chose Malay, a minority language, on the grounds that this was the language best qualified to unify a country consisting of millions of people and hundreds of languages and islands.

He made Malay the national language and I would say that in the whole of Asia there is today no country more united and with a stronger sense of and genius of Mr Sukarno, whatever his faults. I do not know whether the Singapore grassroots leaders concerned understand how he achieved this, but it would be worth their while making the effort to do so.

Finally, I would also like to point out that changing our present national anthem must also mean a significant rewriting of Singapore history.

* The writer was formerly senior minister in the Prime Minister's Office.

First published in the Forum section of the Straits Times, March 9, 1990.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Copyright © 1998 Singapore Press Holdings. All Rights Reserved.

I think that SAP school system produced the one whom you refer to as "Ah Beng." :rolleyes:

The SAP schools do not produce "Ah Bengs". They produce Chinese extremists.

These schools are the breeding grounds of "Chang Huayi, Huaren Huayi" Chinese extremists who are being indoctrinated with the ideas that the Chinese are a superior breed of people, that Chinese culture and customs are superior to that of other cultures and that China is their motherland.

It is hypocritical of the Chinese to point out the "problems" of our madrasahs build in our own land when they build their own Chinese schools which are churning out Mandarin speaking Chinese extremists by the thousands each and every year.

It is hypocritical and disingenuous for the old fool to stop the Indians from building more Indian schools and to tell them to return to India if they refuse to integrate when he is the one who introduced this SAP Chinese extremists gutter schools which breed yellow supremacists and extremists who refuse to integrate and who should have instead, been told to return to China if they wanted to be Chinese.

ok lah, madrasahs are the best. they have helped singapore produced a generation of mat delivery workers and mat receptionists. like that say you happy:D

mat definition of racial harmony & racism :

when other races eat at same table with mats, they cannot eat pork. if they eat, they are deemed to be insenstive towards muslim/islam.

when mats eat beef on the same table as buddist and hindus, it is ok. if buddist or hindus object, they are just being petty or being too sensitive.

You don't read very well do you, slit-eyed Chink? That's the problem when you chang huayi through your whole pathetic life. You develop a poor understanding of English. Best that you crawl back to where you came from, that country up north call China where you can be as Chinese as you want and speak as much Mandarin as you want to.

m&d why are you now twisting and turning like a snake? Don't try it you're not a keling, makes you look like you're eating your words. :oIo:

mat definition of racial harmony & racism :

when other races eat at same table with mats, they cannot eat pork. if they eat, they are deemed to be insenstive towards muslim/islam.

when mats eat beef on the same table as buddist and hindus, it is ok. if buddist or hindus object, they are just being petty or being too sensitive.

According to a racist like screwball it's okay for mats to behave like this and you're a racist for pointing this out.

conformity.jpg

Some Translation Wld be Appreciated

hi there,

for some of us who do not understand jawi like yrs truly...wld appreciate if u cld translate yr jawi text into english pls...terima kasih bro...

btw when did the republic of singapore become 'tanah melayu' all of a sudden?...am i missing something here?...

PS...i do appreciate n empathise wif u over the apparent sinicization of this nation over the last 30 yrs or so...perhaps the correlation wif the rise of the dragon does not help either...

SAS
(Saya Anak Singapura)

This Chinaman who does not belong to this part of the world said this of the China Chinese:

"The more successful they are, the less they will think of you and the more they will treat you with condescension".

What he said applies to the Chinese in Singapore and what he says reflects the characteristic and culture of the Chinese in China and those of the Chinese diaspora.

It has taken decades for our community but we have finally woken up to the fact that the Chinese led by this unwanted Chinaman are trying to take over and usurp our Tanah Melayu.

Where Is MY Country Dude?!

what Ngiam opined recently came to mind when i read yr post bro...it went something like this...

...to practise social engineering is fraught with risk...to practise political engineering is positively dangerous...

My sense is that this Govt laid the policies that clearly marginalised the minorities. Should more creativity be involved in getting them into SAF. It seems that the policies has actually created a fifth column.

This old man has had control of this govt for 51 years. Seems to me an ample opportunity to get the equation right. He is now leaving this world with a divided nation. The irony is that both his wife and him are fluent Malay speakers and it was the spoken language at home when they grew up.

The Singapore Chinese did not realise how the minorities felt until the FTs began arriving in numbers. The Indian FT had masters and lot cheaper than an NUS chap. The Indian chap at Sentosa Cove with his own berth and high end car has now touched the soft belly of a Singaporean who voted for the PAP and now wondering if his job will last as he reaches 40. Now the Ah Tiongs have come and situation is more dire. They are on scholarship. The smarter ones skip the bonds and less smart ones compete ruthlessly.

I can go on and on. But it does sound like a fractured society governed and assessed by the quarterly GDP figures.

Here are some HARD FACTS of life:

1) The Muslim colleagues of my son went to his home birthday party armed with not only their plates and cutlery, they actually brought along their own detergent too!
2) The gahmen should not have pandered to the opening of BANQUET food courts which serve only halal food. How to integrate, like that?
3) Decades ago, my best drinking buddy was a Muslim. On Friday nights after office, he became a MUST LIM. We used to drink openly at ANYWHERE down in Tanglin. Then, he resorted to sitting with his back "facing" the entrance, to make it less obvious. Then his wife became a religious teacher and now he is Muslim full time. BUT he still sends the best decadent pics via the internet.
4) A friend told me that his office colleagues are getting sick of attending office functions at halal restaurants and without liquor - notwithstanding the fact that Muslim staff account for less than 5% of the total staff strength. So the Chinese go for Part Two of program drinking themselves silly. The bosses are just being politically correct.

And so on and so forth. But the real issue is: what are we going to do for the next fifty years, when the last 50 years have actually made us more race conscious.

This is one of the very rare occasions that I share LKY's recent views - but unfortunately, the current "leaders" are more keen to win votes than to take the bull by the horn.

Re: Some Translation Wld be Appreciated

hi there,

for some of us who do not understand jawi like yrs truly...wld appreciate if u cld translate yr jawi text into english pls...terima kasih bro...

It's their exclusive secret language lah! Too close to the language of their God for us "Infidels" to understand. But lanjiao lah! Fuck Bill Gates who put IT within the grasp of "Infidels" and "Terrorists" alike to use it when necessary or see fit. You want the translation which in a nutshell is all about bigotry?

Remember insults to our people and our heritage and our culture and our religion, our mothers and our fathers and our brothers and our children.

Remember Jobs deny us and continue to deny us.

Now they believe that they have raped our land, they can continue to insult our people, and our heritage and our culture and our religion, our mothers and our fathers and our brothers and our children with impunity.

How to longer want to bear these insults and curses against our people and our heritage and our culture and our religion, our mothers, our fathers, our brothers and our children?

Arise my brothers and sisters! Arise!