Are the oppositions stupid?

myo539

After reading the relentless firing at the oppositions such as GMS, Gomez and CSJ, one question immediately pops up : Are the oppositions stupid?

Why are the oppositions so stupid to propose "solutions" when they are not the cause of the "problems" and not in the best position to come up with solutions?

The PAP's strategy naturally is to challenge oppositions to propose viable alternatives - so that government can implement them? Crazy! The oppositions are not paid to solve the problems, neither do they have the expertise nor experience as well. How many top brains or successful CEOs are there in the oppositions? Singapore is not like USA, Japan, Britain or Australia where the oppositions are capable of forming a shadow government. Look at the mess the oppositions are creating for Malaysia.

The people who cause or are in charge of the "problems" should be asked to solve the problems and to measure their effectiveness. If it is housing, then it is the HDB and the National Development minister or government. They are voted in and to serve the people. If their service is not up to standard and does not serve the needs of the people and the country at large, then they are no longer qualified to be the MP. MM Lee recently made this very clear and openly : if MBT is not able to explain to the people, then he shouldn't be the MP or Minister.

So the opposition must know their roles and limitations - what they can do or cannot do. They are NOT going to form the next government, that's for sure. Singaporeans should have their head examined if they think the opposition can do better and wave the magic wand and solve all the problems in ONE term what the mighty PAP can't do it in so many years with all the external pressures and challenges Singapore had to face. The people feel that there should be more differring voices to be heard in Parliament.

Oppositions are there to ask questions for ministers to answer, reflect the views and concerns of the people. They should ignore the challenges to come up with solutions when they, and any other everybody, know they can't. One lone oppositon JBJ asked so many questions that it gave the PAP a big headache; he didn't have to come up with solutions or proposals!

Ronald Reagan when running for President in 1980 just asked the Voters simple questions : Ask yourself : Are you better off than you were four years ago? " ["Is your HDB asset worth more than it was four years ago? hehe - this is my question lah]

"Next Tuesday is Election Day. Next Tuesday all of you will go to the polls, will stand there in the polling place and make a decision. I think when you make that decision, it might be well if you would ask yourself, are you better off than you were four years ago? Is it easier for you to go and buy things in the stores than it was four years ago? Is there more or less unemployment in the country than there was four years ago? Is America as respected throughout the world as it was? Do you feel that our security is as safe, that we're as strong as we were four years ago? And if you answer all of those questions yes, why then, I think your choice is very obvious as to whom you will vote for. If you don't agree, if you don't think that this course that we've been on for the last four years is what you would like to see us follow for the next four, then I could suggest another choice that you have." Ronald Reagan

He became the 40th President of the United States.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=loBe0WXtts8

i can't stand pple who call others stupid, as if they sibeh clever.:rolleyes:

The better word to use is "uneducated"

So, Benjamin, which UK university did you graduate from?

Manchester?

your english is atrocious. it should be "is the opposition stupid?"

I'm votong opposition next time.

Been screwed too often. Now for revenge.
:oIo:

What has educational qualifications got to do with running the country? What matters, is whether this man is dedicated to serving the country. He can gain knowledge as a matter of time.

Haha fucking losers like you will get screwed even if Angels are in charge of the government

:oIo::oIo::oIo:

Depend on yourself. Stop begging for welfare!

:oIo::oIo::oIo:

If the Opposition suggest solutions, PAP says "wake up your fxxking idea, you are not forming the govt tomorrow, just ask questions"!

If the Opposition ask questions, PAP says "these guys have no solutions! they are only capable of asking questions, any idiot can ask questions"!

Opposition should just do what they think fit and ignore whatever PAP says.

If the Opposition suggest solutions, PAP says "wake up your fxxking idea, you are not forming the govt tomorrow, just ask questions"!

If the Opposition ask questions, PAP says "these guys have no solutions! they are only capable of asking questions, any idiot can ask questions"!
hahaha...come to think of it, the Papee behaves like my boss..which i am sure is quite simialr to all the typical bosses.

After reading the relentless firing at the oppositions such as GMS, Gomez and CSJ, one question immediately pops up : Are the oppositions stupid?

Why are the oppositions so stupid to propose "solutions" when they are not the cause of the "problems" and not in the best position to come up with solutions?

I wouldn't say its stupid but I would say its a bit naive that the problems can be solved with superficial solutions. They need to experience and understand how the industry works, before they can understand where the root lies and not just nip the bud.

Think about this

Could they be hired to mess up so they can make the opposition look bad?

Possible too :D

Opposition should just do what they think fit and ignore whatever PAP says.

If Singaporeean peasaant has got guts and brain, vote the opposite side, be like Malaysia, American, Korean and the Japanese, their PM don't even last 1 yr, KO by the ppl and Parleement.

SG only good in talking only, when comes voting quitely vote Papaya..coward lots of peasants...kiasu and kiasi!!!!

Bo lam bar!

If Singaporeean peasaant has got guts and brain, vote the opposite side, be like Malaysia, American, Korean and the Japanese, their PM don't even last 1 yr, KO by the ppl and Parleement.

Japan changed their PM regularly because of party politics factional infighting. The former ruling LDP ruled Japan for nearly 60 years before their GE defeat in 2009. The democratic mature Japanese voted for LDP as their ruling govt for 60 years without change. Any observer on Japan politics can explain that?

LDP's first defeat and loss of power was in 1992/93, not 2009. The fall was due to the discontent over Japanese stock and property bubble burst, and the arrest of billionnaire Kanemaru Shin who was exposed for buying and sponsoring LDP MPs and ministers up to the PM, to pass legislation and policies favouring his business empire, that contributed to the bubble too.

The late Shin Kanemaru was not a billionnaire businessman but a LDP politician who was so powerful in the late 80s to early 90s that he was essentially the kingmaker of Japanese politics deciding who should or should not be the PM of Japan. The Japanese press nicknamed him 'Don' after the godfather movies. He just needed to share backroom drinks with opposition members and help LDP push through difficult bills in parliament.The current strongman Ichiro Ozawa is his protege.

There will be some who can never change. Show them a photo of PRC meimei and they think it is good to vote her into Parliament.