• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another blow for suicide NS man’s family

xingguy

Source: The Independent

May 9th, 2014 | by Trinity Chua

IMG_0470-650x250.jpg

There will be no insurance payout for Ganesh Pillay, the national serviceman who committed suicide last year after his officers didn’t pay enough attention to the young’s mental illness.

This is because the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Group Term Life insurance, which must be bought by all NS men, does not cover suicide.

Magindren Reganathan said: “My son suffered from a mind injury. He had a relapse. The officers pushed him and they punished him. They also made him write pages and pages of instructions in his notebook. And that was why he went berserk and jumped.”

Ganesh was diagnosed with schizophrenia when he was 18. His father said his son’s mental state had stabilised, but took a turn for the worse last year while in Katib Camp. Ganesh was found dead at the foot of his family’s home in Sengkang on July 5.

Magindren added: “I did not know till now how he was treated in the camp, the days before he died. I want to know how he was treated. Did Captain Jessie Goh [Ganesh’s manpower officer] shout at him?

“He did not have a girlfriend problem. He did not have personal debt. My point is he was pushed mentally. This is an injury done to my son in his camp.”

An Aviva spokesperson said, “We extend our condolences to Mr Pillay’s family for the loss of their son. Suicide is not covered within the first year of coverage for our SAF Group Term Life plan. This is common practice in the industry for life insurance plans.”

Magindren intends to appeal to Aviva’s chairperson to reverse the decision.

Litigation lawyer Choo Zheng Xi from Peter Low LLC said: “The fact is, especially in the Coroner’s report, it points towards suicide. It is unlikely you can challenge the term suicide.”

Another litigation lawyer who does not want to be named said: “If someone murders someone under the influence of a mental condition, they may not be liable for the crime.

“But if you kill yourself, the fact remains you took your own life, regardless of underlying reasons, unless you challenge if the person has the prerequisite intention to take his own life? That would be very difficult.”

It's not the SAF's fault his son went stark raving cuckoo. He was already a nut job before he was enlisted.

If he was too sick to do NS, he should have been exempted for medical reasons.

It's not the SAF's fault his son went stark raving cuckoo. He was already a nut job before he was enlisted.

"Another litigation lawyer who does not want to be named said: “If someone murders someone under the influence of a mental condition, they may not be liable for the crime."

The cuckoo should have killed the officer that place him in that misery & "is not liable for the crime"....& get himself killed in the process....& will the insurance pay?? this is not suicide!!..

living in singapore is hard,for both the mentally sound and unsound and those on the way to the nuthouse.

Let me say it...

NS is killing sinkies

NS saves more people than it kills. It ensures a minimum level of fitness for all male citizens all the way through middle age.

If it wasn't for the exercise regime that annual fitness tests impose, there'd be far more heart attacks and strokes in the general male population and a higher level of diabetes amongst the middle aged.

he dead within the year he sign on the insurance policy. standard no payout when suicide within the year. 366 days will payout. industry norms, no reason insurance company had to pay.

instead of the insurance, the farking saf shd pay in the first place and the siao woman officer should pay also.:oIo:

For compassionate, insurance co. will pay back the premium to the soldier as a token. the end.

he dead within the year he sign on the insurance policy. standard no payout when suicide within the year. 366 days will payout. industry norms, no reason insurance company had to pay.

instead of the insurance, the farking saf shd pay in the first place and the siao woman officer should pay also.:oIo:

It was the SAF's fault for not exempting him.

"
Source: The Independent

May 9th, 2014 | by Trinity Chua

IMG_0470-650x250.jpg

There will be no insurance payout for Ganesh Pillay, the national serviceman who committed suicide last year after his officers didn’t pay enough attention to the young’s mental illness.

This is because the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Group Term Life insurance, which must be bought by all NS men, does not cover suicide.

Magindren Reganathan said: “My son suffered from a mind injury. He had a relapse. The officers pushed him and they punished him. They also made him write pages and pages of instructions in his notebook. And that was why he went berserk and jumped.”

Ganesh was diagnosed with schizophrenia when he was 18. His father said his son’s mental state had stabilised, but took a turn for the worse last year while in Katib Camp. Ganesh was found dead at the foot of his family’s home in Sengkang on July 5.

Magindren added: “I did not know till now how he was treated in the camp, the days before he died. I want to know how he was treated. Did Captain Jessie Goh [Ganesh’s manpower officer] shout at him?

“He did not have a girlfriend problem. He did not have personal debt. My point is he was pushed mentally. This is an injury done to my son in his camp.”

An Aviva spokesperson said, “We extend our condolences to Mr Pillay’s family for the loss of their son. Suicide is not covered within the first year of coverage for our SAF Group Term Life plan. This is common practice in the industry for life insurance plans.”

Magindren intends to appeal to Aviva’s chairperson to reverse the decision.

Litigation lawyer Choo Zheng Xi from Peter Low LLC said: “The fact is, especially in the Coroner’s report, it points towards suicide. It is unlikely you can challenge the term suicide.”

Another litigation lawyer who does not want to be named said: “If someone murders someone under the influence of a mental condition, they may not be liable for the crime.

“But if you kill yourself, the fact remains you took your own life, regardless of underlying reasons, unless you challenge if the person has the prerequisite intention to take his own life? That would be very difficult.”

Why the one year moratorium ? It is not as if NSmen have a choice whether or not to buy insurance. It's not like they want to end it all to benefit their parents ? How much is the payout anyway? Enough to cover the funeral maybe. This is a sick situation.

........If he was too sick to do NS, he should have been exempted for medical reasons.

It was the SAF's fault for not exempting him.

Agree, its the SAF fault (or rather its medical board) for not grading the enlistee as PES F.

However the main fault lies with the PAP-as they are the policy makers. Make them pay a heavy political price.
Another Singapore son is dead (take note BG Lee, Tan and Chan and R Adm Teo and Lui) while the foreigners are dancing and living it up- eg the coming pinoy party on 8 June

if u take out a policy one year before u enlist in ns will it still cover suicide?

The one year no-suicide is effective upon the taking up of insurance. However the Group Term Insurance does not cover suicide no matter how long one had bought it.

if u take out a policy one year before u enlist in ns will it still cover suicide?

PAPPIES, SAF and FT PEE AND SHITS, The BESTEST in Stinking Land! Stinkees Song Boh?

The one year no-suicide is effective upon the taking up of insurance. However the Group Term Insurance does not cover suicide no matter how long one had bought it.

Read the article again, the aviva spokesperson said suicide not cover in the FIRST year of coverage.

It's crazy that ppl are making a deal out of this when the terms of insurance don't cover it.

And the NS fellas have their premiums deducted from their monthly pay?

If it wasn't for the exercise regime that annual fitness tests impose, there'd be far more heart attacks and strokes in the general male population and a higher level of diabetes amongst the middle aged.

That's not true at all. The real cause of heart attacks and strokes and diabetes and even cancer is eating way too much sugar on a daily basis.

If you drink one can of 100plus or another sugar-laced drink after exercise, you will get a higher chance of a heart attack than if you did not exercise and did not drink that can of 100plus.

Eggs Don't Cause Heart Attacks -- Sugar Does
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/dr-mark-hyman/sugar-heart-attack_b_4746440.html