• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

And the price of bak kwa this year is...

I have been toying with the idea about setting up my bak kwa shop in Edmonton. Maybe it is time I take a serious look into it.

Have you ever eaten at a restaurant named "Happy Gardens" on the south of Edmonton:confused:

It's supposed to be a Chinese restaurant & although the food is not that great, it seems to be doing ok :) You don't have to be a great chinese cook to be a success in Edmonton :D

Curious as to how the bak kwa from that famous store in chinatown compares to the one sold at Bee Cheng Hiang :confused:

With so many Bee Cheng Hiang outlets in Spore, why are people going to Chinatown:confused:

Do you eat the duck neck and duck tongue as well?
There are now quite a number of stalls selling these in SG.

There is this stall at People's Park Complex run by Ah Tion'gs, used to be in the atrium, but now outside, sell very good duck neck, tongue, pigs parts, chicken feet etc. I enjoyed their see chuan pepper pig's ear..yummy!..should go & try...come out of Chinatown MRT station, People's Park Exit, turn left!

Curious as to how the bak kwa from that famous store in chinatown compares to the one sold at Bee Cheng Hiang :confused:

With so many Bee Cheng Hiang outlets in Spore, why are people going to Chinatown:confused:

Bee Cheng Hiang Bak Kwa lousy in taste this year, was given a packet just yesterday, ate some.

I don't go all the all to Chinatown just to queue for bak kwa, but if you want to give me...I don't mind:D

Anyway, I grew up where the stalls are in Chinatown, when Lim Chin Guan ( correct?) was in that row of shop houses where a coffee shop was at one end, Tai Sun Medical Hall the other, in between a confectionery shop, etc..

Honestly, the bak kwas taste almost the same to me, but this year the BCH ones are really poor in quality & taste.:p

Bee Cheng Hiang is salty and hard.

Lim Chee Guan is more tender, sweeter and has a shiny sheen to it.

My 3 year old son (he last 2 years old last year when I made the bak kwa) is the litmus test.

When you give him bak kwa from BCH he won't eat it. Just doesn't like it. He would eat Lim Chee Guan though. He would also eat the one I make.:) My biggest fan.

Hi johnny333, I have not heard of Happy Gardens in South Edmonton. I live southside. I have heard of Good Buddy but don't find the food that great either. The Golden Rice Bowl was good. I went there once with a couple of older doctors. I think they ordered all the good stuff! But I don't think I will be able to afford to eat there with my family by ourselves.

Planning to take the food safety course level 1 & 2 in Feb or March. See if I can find a place to set up shop.

If bak kwa so expensive might as well eat luncheon meat... Cut them thin thin then barbacue on my own...

I bought 2kg for some Canadian friends, but had to throw it away at San Francisco, where I transited on the way to Canada. Alot of foods are not permitted into the US & Canada because of the fear of parasites.

It was really a waste. I wish I had thought of eaten it, instead of throwing it away :)

Most of time if you check them in your luggage, there will be no problem.

like that how the bak kwa guys here get their pork?

dun they still get some from Malaysia also?

Ah boy ah... Of course there is a difference when you bring in and when companies bring theirs in lah... They have to abide by strict controls and regulations on an industrial scale.

How does the customs tell the difference between the pork and chicken version? Is it ok to bring the chicken verison in?

both are not allowed.
All kinds of meat are not allowed.
my fren bought few pieces in.
kena detected. go office jotted down name.
follow officer to bin. trashed out...
:o

both are not allowed.
my fren bought few pieces.
kena detected. go office jotted down name.
follow officer to bin. trashed out...
:o

seriously... even if i drive to JB and buy also cannot?

If I'm not wrong, both pork and chicken are no, nos.

If you check out the Customs website, these are listed as controlled goods.

http://www.customs.gov.sg/leftNav/trav/dut/Controlled+Goods.htm

They are not supposed to "confiscate" it. Rather it is supposed to be sent to AVA for clearance.

If you follow the list closely, this would make groacery shopping impossible in JB. However thousands of Singaporeans do it every weekend. The cardinal rule of thumb is that as long as it is obviously for personal consumption, they will usually let it through rather than go through the procedure of submission to AVA.

Of course if you are doing something bizzare like bringing in 50kg of bak kwa, then there is a high chance they will treat you as importing the bak kwa for sale and send your bak kwa to AVA for clearance.

LCG better than BCH.

BCH is so hard, just chew on 1 small pc already tired from chewing.

Some people like it hard and chewy. Like those beef jerky that you get from North America?

I found out when I was doing product testing with friends and family.

But in general in Singapore softer more tender bak kwa is considered a premium.

Bakkwa is dried first, then roasted. In olden days when people weren't that affluent, minced pork was commonly used. Nowadays, mostly are full piece sliced pork. The difference is like between luncheon meat and ham.

More likely sliced dog meat from China.

These days in Southern China they kill about 20,000 dogs a day for their meats ~ source CNN & Fox News.

Some people like it hard and chewy. Like those beef jerky that you get from North America?

I found out when I was doing product testing with friends and family.

But in general in Singapore softer more tender bak kwa is considered a premium.

You're wise to make your own bak-kwa.

I wouldn't eat those sold by vendors cos they unknowingly could be serving dogs' meat from China.

Anyway I have seen the preparation of bak-kwa commercially and it is terribly unhygienic.