Alamak,A Ah Tiong Hairstylist Give Me A Bad Hair Day.

Talking Donkey

Alfrescian (S)
tis afternoon went haig rd hawker centre to makan,after tat walk around when i saw a hair saloon advertisement..
it says $6.90 for a haircut 'special promotion by highly professional hairstylist.'
since my hair is long and cny is comming..to beat the annual cny increase surcharge by these hair saloons,
i thought thats cheap for a hair cut for a highly train professional..
compare to the usual $45 armani haircut i had at geraldine in katong plaza
and the saloon in KL near my apt when i'm there...

beside its belt tightening time for me..so i decide to go for it..
went in and did not see a london or paris train cert hanging on the wall..i ask sure its $6.90..mei mei says yes confirm..
as she put the cloth round my neck..i told her i want a armani haircut in english..she reply in chinese she dun understand
i say in chinese,i want like something like david beckham..she look blur..i reply aiya just give me a nice trim tats all.
after snipping away my hair and cleaning me up..she took a mirror and how my back and ask me ok..i say ok..
and happily paid her $6.90..

when i reach my pigeonhole..my wife saw me and exclaim..aiyo dear who cut your hair for you,
you look like a sor hai(country bumpkin):eek:from rural china..so damn ugly:eek:...and damn malu to go out with you..
i went to look in the mirror and have a second look and omg..it is indeed a coconut bowl shape hair style:rolleyes:
i really look like liu tuck yew,ho ching and moe from the 3 stooges..
bloody hell the barbers in my camp during my army days can do a better job than these Ah tiongs hairstylists..
i know they're not paris train or from vidal sasson hair academy but at least give me decent haircut meh..
tomorrow have to go for a second haircut:)

guys another hair saloon you must not go are those mei mei that use their fingers to tickle your ears..
these're definitely not hairstylists..:eek:

I too had my haircut by a PRC barber yesterday, many of my friends asked who cut my hair for me, it suits me very well :)
I paid $10 for a haircut better than my usual supercut hairstylist, feel very satisfy and will go back to the PRC for hair cut

is this the one near the bread shop? If so ..only 1 of the 3 ladies speak english.

They are lousy in hairdo but good in other "housechore" if u know what I mean:D

Do not patronize all those unisex haircut salons offering super-cheap haircuts.

Too many Ah Tiongs who don't know how to cut hair.

It's not worth the queue, it's not worth the discount, and it's definitely not worth the annoyance.

Give your money to a REAL barber: Malay, Indian or Chinese, in your neighbourhood.

Do it while you still can... theirs is a dying trade. They have no young apprentices to take over the business.

Or at least go to QB House, where it's fast, hygienic and you can get a free comb.

Just DO NOT go to those cheap haircut joints. Vote with your wallet! Boycott!

In b4 Uncle Ram!

Bro ecc, I only trust my Malaysian chiobu hairstylists to do me hair. :D

I never go salon after one try. Cant make it. Dont know how to trim moustache and shave beard. Tradition barber still best. The only good Indians are Indian barbers LOL

Always got my haircut from the same guy at my regular shop. How much can you save from a $10.00 especially coming CNY always price increase another $2.00? Half-price at $6.90 won't get David Beckham's haircut, maybe David Backbacon one. j/k:D

" it says $6.90 for a haircut 'special promotion by highly professional hairstylist '

stupid customer gain pun ...what do you expect for $6.90 still want to kpkb .

is this the one near the bread shop? If so ..only 1 of the 3 ladies speak english.

there're a few there..i tink tat the one.

ur translation sucks! ...

iz foolish c*nt! ...

i just spoke to my wife she says sor hai or sor chye means stupid boy..not c**t..:rolleyes:

dun worry ... if cannot salvage, u stil got ah middaydog's haircut 2 emulate ... :o

i'm beginning to appreciate middaydog..no need to cut hair..save $..tats his advantage.:)

In b4 Uncle Ram!

Yes, credit to you for being into this topic before me. ;)

i'm beginning to appreciate middaydog..no need to cut hair..save $..tats his advantage.:)

I don't need a salon or barber haircut too. I haven't visited a barber shop for more than a year. I just trim the sideburns and hair ends myself every time I shampoo my hair. Not difficult. Then comb and tie my ponytail again. Recommended for every man who has no more reservist liability. ;)

I never go salon after one try. Cant make it. Dont know how to trim moustache and shave beard. Tradition barber still best. The only good Indians are Indian barbers LOL

knnccb will beg to differ

Sri Dewa, Sri Nada, and other local barber shops charge ten bucks, ok, maybe twelve. I would not advise anyone who is not really down and out to try and save five bucks and go to some Ah Tiong and have their heads messed up. I guess you learned from this one.

Also, it doesn't mean that an expensive hair salon will make your day. During the early nineties, I think it was a day when we had our bonuses announced, I felt I could afford a fifty dollar hair treatment and so treated myself to Reds at Parkway Parade. The hairdresser was some faggot who kept rubbing his crotch on my shoulder until I had to tell him to stop doing that or I'd speak to his boss. The bloody fag thought it was funny and did not stop until I raised my voice. It was only then that a lady hairdresser took over from him.

I'd go to Sri Dewa or Sri Nada anytime.