• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Air-con technician blames 'misleading' signage for $272 parking fine at Farrer Road condo

Houri

Stupidman

Air-con technician blames 'misleading' signage for $272 parking fine at Farrer Road condo​

Air-con technician blames 'misleading' signage for $272 parking fine at Farrer Road condo

Lin had parked his vehicle to the right of the first purple pillar.
PHOTO: Supplied to Shin Min Daily News
Lim Kewei PUBLISHED ONJUNE 12, 2024 3:08 PMByLIM KEWEI

After completing a job at a condominium apartment, an air-con technician found that his van had been wheel-clamped at the car park.
It turned out that he had unwittingly parked in a lot meant for residents. The 50-year-old, surnamed Lin, had to fork out $272 to get his vehicle released, reported Shin Min Daily News.
But Lin said he genuinely thought he had parked at a visitor's lot and blamed his mistake on the "misleading" car park signage.

The incident occurred around noon last Friday (June 7) at D'Leedon condo along Farrer Road.
When he was at the car park, Lin said he noticed two pillars painted in purple with the word 'visitor'. He parked his van in the lot on the right side of one of the pillars.
But when he returned to the car park around 45 minutes later, the vehicle had been wheel-clamped. He was told that he had parked in the space reserved for residents.
Lin headed to the management office and was reportedly told that visitors can only use the parking lots marked out with purple grid lines.
"I think the parking signage at the condo is misleading. I parked there because I saw the purple pillars, and the whole row [of pillars] on the left were purple too," he said.

"But they told me I had to see if there were purple grid lines and said that the parking spaces with yellow lines on the right are for residents."
Lin stressed that he did not deliberately park in the resident's lot for the sake of convenience, adding that there were many other available lots at that time.
"I parked in the wrong spot as I was really misled. If the [security guards] saw that I had parked in the wrong place, they should have called to inform me first."
A security guard at the condo told Shin Min that Lin entered the estate at around 11.57am. After the security office received a complaint about his parking, they clamped his vehicle at about 12.38pm.
"I waited there for seven or eight minutes but didn't see the driver return, so I wheel-clamped the van."

The guard admitted that some visitors had previously provided feedback on not knowing where to park.
Visitors are reminded that they can only park between the purple pillars and will be given a parking slip as well, he added, though many pay little attention to it.
"For Lin's case, he can appeal to the condo management and they will decide whether to give him a refund."
AsiaOne has reached out to D'Leedon's management for more information.

searcher1

Start a culture, the Home Owner should come to main gate to meet & lead Vendor to proper parking.
If the Condo Management clamp vendor vehicle, the Home Owner have to pay instead
Same for food delivery, Home Owner come down to collect food, since they stay Condo & wanted the security

NanoSpeed

If condo management passed a resolution approved by majority of co-owners and the penalty affects only the co-owners, I can understand. All the co-owners are signatories to the resolution passed at a General Meeting.

But can the condo management pass a law to punish outsiders ? If the condo can do that, then I can also pass a law that dictates how contractors and their workers should behave when they are in my apartment, and if they contractors or their workers breach my house laws, then I make them pay a penalty of $2,000 every time.

KNN, this is better than fake wedding banquet.

A Singaporean

Poor fucking Sinkies please do not drive your vehicles into private condo. Please park in hdb carpark where you belong.

bobby

Very clear that visitors lot only between the 2 marked pillars….maybe that’s why he only lowly ses air-con technician

If he had study harder he could become air-con engineer

Houri

Stupidman
Very clear that visitors lot only between the 2 marked pillars….maybe that’s why he only lowly ses air-con technician

If he had study harder he could become air-con engineer
do u know that aircon installers and servicing has different pricing for hdb and private properties. the latter generally pays a premium over hdb people. i also don't know what's the reason

NanoSpeed

The aircon man should challenge the condo management in Court. Sure win one.

The condo management is not a law-making body. The bylaws are only effective against the owners as a matter of contract, not outsiders who are not privy to the contract.