• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Actually if no degree possible to survive or not?

A degree gives you mobility. With a recognised degree you can apply to jobs with larger MNCs in & outside of Spore. It is also easier to emigrate with one especially if it is from the same country where you got the degree from.

Yeah I used to think that way too and when I wanted to emigrate I started on the journey by collating all my work experience and qualifications for my PR application.

However when I explored the immigration booklet that I picked up from the embassy (no downloadable versions in those days), I suddenly realised that it was far easier to simply gain PR as a business migrant. I transferred the required sum and the rest is history.

Money gives you far more mobility than a degree ever will.

If you wanna join the civil service, you need a degree badly. Better if you are a scholar.

Not sure about the private sector.

When it comes to running a biz, I suppose other factors overtake having a degree. Biz acumen and connections for example.

I have relatives, who made it without any degrees, quick with their minds & hands, good marketer, think out of the box & risk taker & very hard working..." 8 days a week, 25 hours day" type...etc..

I have worked with people who have degrees & professional qualifications that could almost fill a book...very knowledgable, knows the "book" by heart...but dimwit in the ways, slow to react, cannot market themselves...will always remain, working for somebody!...:rolleyes:

In my office, there's one poly holder and all the rest are degree or masters holders. I think without a degree nowadays, one will not be able to get a job in my company. And the poly holder has the lowest pay.

Sounds like a fucked up company to me. :rolleyes:

The one with the lowest pay does all the work...while those with the higher pay, just sign for what is being prepared or completed work & pass down instructions from management. I have a friend, who had spent many years ( now stopped working to relax), his job was to vet the correspondences , emails etc...of the DEGREE HOLDERS, before they are to be sent out.....wahh!..you should read those correspondence, SINGLISH at its best!.

You get it?....more pay...but not doing any intelligent work & contributing not much to the company's worth, just doing the job, toeing the line & making sure management policies are being adhered to, plus international standards etc...( sound familiar ??...your 'friendly pxp'...).

We have many, with degrees & various degrees of paper qualifications....driving taxis..or Uber driver or....so, what the heck!...go through all the toil, sweat, tears & pain...just pass PSLE or even better...PCF certificate will do!...

I have relatives, who made it without any degrees, quick with their minds & hands, good marketer, think out of the box & risk taker & very hard working..." 8 days a week, 25 hours day" type...etc..

I have worked with people who have degrees & professional qualifications that could almost fill a book...very knowledgable, knows the "book" by heart...but dimwit in the ways, slow to react, cannot market themselves...will always remain, working for somebody!...:rolleyes:

if u read dilbert comics and books and watched the tv series,u will know that marketers and marketing department are imbeciles and morons who have no idea how anything works in the real world or is made,have no concept of the laws of physics or law of anything,and expect everything in the world to work according to whatever goes on in their looneytunes bird brains.also are at good at the art of b.s. and making themselves look cool and swag and being absolutely proud of the fact they know nothing.

Yes, I know...

Yeah I used to think that way too and when I wanted to emigrate I started on the journey by collating all my work experience and qualifications for my PR application.

However when I explored the immigration booklet that I picked up from the embassy (no downloadable versions in those days), I suddenly realised that it was far easier to simply gain PR as a business migrant. I transferred the required sum and the rest is history.

Money gives you far more mobility than a degree ever will.

Many asking this question are probably fresh out of NS & have no money or experience. Can imagine how difficult it is now because there is so much propaganda being put out by the media on the value of a degree.

As they say, the hardest part is making your first .....million..$$$ :)

All these PAP ministers have degrees, but they tell Sinkies peasants not to get degrees.

dumb_zpsab8ba54e.jpg

Former sinkie president S R Nathan doesn't have a degree. He started off in the civil service as a social worker and climbed his way to the top by his wits and good work performance.

Agree. You need the X-factor to succeed in the real world. On the other hand, the civil service is the best and only place for people who follow SOPs, PGOs, IMs etc.

Sounds like a fucked up company to me. :rolleyes:

I can't blame the boss who's the founder of the company, degree holders are plentiful.

What many of the degree holders in the company are working on is a technical job that's not easy to do, that's why we've some masters holders.

Former sinkie president S R Nathan doesn't have a degree. He started off in the civil service as a social worker and climbed his way to the top by his wits and good work performance.

During Nathan's time, degree holders are rare. Now degree holders are plentiful, it's impossible to climb to the top of the civil service without a degree.

Agree. You need the X-factor to succeed in the real world. On the other hand, the civil service is the best and only place for people who follow SOPs, PGOs, IMs etc.

ah nehs and shitskins are the best at having the Xfactor.u want substance go for everything else besides

As they say, the hardest part is making your first .....million..$$$ :)

If people put the same amount of effort into making money as they do to secure a degree, the first million will easily be made before the age of 30.

time is of essence,the earlier u build up ur base or infrastructure the faster your wealth compounds,the easier it is to get rich.

The civil service is the best place to hide if you have no marketable talent. Half the desk jobs can be eliminated IMO.

aiyah go buy a MBA all f trashes do it............... & start earning 7-8k monthly courtesy of LHL; some more no need do NS for self or offspring!!

Buy no fun lah. Singaporeans are hardworking kwai students should enjoy the studies and learn something lah.

Get a degree peacock. Don't be like me reduced to having to leave the country and family and becoming a salesman selling what, bloody simple screws and nothing sophisticated. Chey!

getting a degree and going thru the course teaches you how to think, for engineering courses, it teaches you how to handle problem on a scale of top down approach for instance. if you dun do this course, it is unlikely that you can think as deep as those who have one.

Get a degree peacock. Don't be like me reduced to having to leave the country and family and becoming a salesman selling what, bloody simple screws and nothing sophisticated. Chey!

Alamak! Froggie why you so humber todae? Hehehe. You are growing a sense of humour lah. :D