• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Bro Froggy

Just in case you miss my message. Hope to get your insight. Thank you.

I did missed your post here, sorry.

First of all this is the location https://www.google.co.th/maps/place...xb0384e6c594a405c!8m2!3d13.698902!4d100.60371

Peppe had started to open for lunch since the start of the year. Both food and wine are inexpensive compared tio Singapore. Please be reminded this is not those fine dining restaurant its more like family cooking style which I like it's warmth and friendly setting.

Enjoy.

I cannot say anything about Chiangmai cos I rarely go there. Someone here will help you.

Friend send link of Koh Laan (Koh Island) jio go stay one night there. Just say hood idea and OK first but jing jing in my heart really hate that place. Never been there, and wtf are we going to do there,beside fucking?! Its an island 30 mins ride from pattaya. Anyway just say yes first. Go or not go later than think of way out.

Remember my advice, whenever receive such links (shopping, holiday and food) from friend, just say ok first. Go or not go, eat or not eat, buy or not buy, worry later.

db4460132bef8ae29c1b4b9b109c84ec.jpeg

Thailand dart board ban goes NATIONWIDE - bars urged to get registered
Around Thailand March 12, 2018 16:35. By Thai Visa

Thailand’s ban on bars and entertainment venues allowing punters to play darts is now in affect nationwide.

In January, officials in Pattaya raided bars along Soi 6 to confiscate the ‘illegal’ dart boards.

Bar owners and staff were told that venues must now have a dart board license if they wanted to be able to allow customers to play the popular pastime on their premises.

Speaking to Thaivisa, one Soi 6 bar owner told Thaivisa of his bewilderment when a uniformed official demanded to see paperwork for his dart board.

When no paperwork could not be produced, the dart board was confiscated.

The new requirements for a ‘dartboard license’ resulted in the suspension of Pattaya’s popular darts league, which many expats in the town take part in.

Initially there was some confusion not only into the crackdown on the seemingly innocent game of darts but now bars could obtain the so called ‘dart board license’.

Now more details have emerged as to the reasons behind the darts ban.

According to a notice from the Thailand Darts Association [TDA], the requirement for bar owners to register dart boards is linked to Thailand’s strict laws on gambling.

Bar owners must now register their darts board if it is in a public space and must ensure that no gambling is taking place when darts are being played.

The Thailand Darts Association has shared information on its website on how bar owners can register their dartboards.

Once registered bar owners will receive an official certificate stamped and signed by the president of the TDA, which also includes a registered license number from Office of the National Culture Commission (ONCC).

Bar owners can then show the certificate to the authorities in the event they are required to show their dart board is registered.

Failure to register dart boards may result in a fine or the board being confiscated, the TDA warns on its website.

The TDA is providing the certificate free of charge and has warned bar owners about opportunists trying to charge for fake certificates.
Same old way of extorting money. Still remember the number of "licenses" have to apply when I opened my old kopitiam. Anyway, the most sia laan one is RS (big record company). They will raid your shop in big team along with mata to search for copyright infringement materials such as Thai songs. Bars restaurants and pubs have to pay RS if they want to play Thai songs.

yinyang

...timely guide to chiang mai. Is it safe to drive in Chiang Mai? Do we need to get international driving licence? Your riverside looks great to visit. But if not driving, is it easier to get a taxi home?
It's safe to drive in Chiang Mai, as it's nothing like the big and busy Bangkok metropolis. I've driven there, but needed some 'assist' on my bearings. The moat around the old city can be quite confusing to the uninitiated.

You don't need an international DL, yours truly is a living testimony in my regular forays to LOS. These days, I drive to/fro south west of Bkk to Hua Hin (230km) and vicinity.

Hiring a motorbike is a good practical commute option (there's a reliable Sinkie crony resident who can sort you out, minus any scams).

Else, you can do the local tuk2 taxis (for short distances circa thb80-100, haggle pls). You can also do the local red bus (aka songtiaows or pickups converted with long side benches). These ply standard routes with more affordable fares and you get off enroute. You can also 'charter' for specific route (eg airport).

I'd advise you to use Grab or Uber, for commute within city. During my last year's CNX outing, I used it often with reasonable prices ranging thb60-100 (depending on distance). Then, only Grab was "legit" but Uber's prevalent too (some drivers moonlighting both). If you are going to the big Central Festival mall, Uber driver might ask you to drop off or pick you up away from regular taxi stand (no hardship).

If you venturing outside CNX city (like Mae Rim), hiring a car is a worthwhile option. For sights, there's MORE to the touristy night bazaar. Else, there's little for me to add to the many attractions on various websites. Enjoy the Lanna culture.

Bro YinYang

Thank you for your timely guide to chiang mai. Is it safe to drive in Chiang Mai? Do we need to get international driving licence? Your riverside looks great to visit. But if not driving, is it easier to get a taxi home?
Its not safe to drive anywhere in Thailand. You dont need a international license unless you are going to stay for over 90 days in your trip.
Use Uber instead. Cheap and good.

yinyang

For CNX, recommend this quaint, and very charming guest house 'Seven Senses'. Got 7 rooms with different Thai names eg Rattanoskin. Walking distance to Kad Suan Kaew, and opposite red bus 'station' (open car park). None of the glitzy 4-5 star, but with personalised service by the owner (who lives on top), Khun Munee. Fond memories of my stay (which I posted here long time back) :smile:

http://sevensensesguesthouse.com/

Top reviews by TripAdvisor
https://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Hote...iews-Seven_Senses_Guest_House-Chiang_Mai.html

at-the-seven-senses-guest.jpg

1 (2).jpg

The piano was family (dad's I think)

14233288_1765330483737468_1733093317_o.jpg

Last 2 weeks become slightly stupid due to accomany friend eat vegetarian for 1 month (half way mark).

Today friend return to BKK to settle some family matters so the first thing that come to my mind after sending her to Pattaya Bus terminal........taa daa.....Sukishi@tesco lotus pattaya south/thepprasit

Sukishi@Tesco Lotus Pattaya Tai
เลขที่ 408/2 หมู่ที่ 12 ถ.สุขุมวิท, ต.หนองปรือ อ.บางละมุง, Muang Pattaya, Amphoe Bang Lamung, Chang Wat Chon Buri 20260
038 300 655
https://goo.gl/maps/t5BJUinFJPr

Found out they increase the price from 359 to 399 pax for adults. But still cheaper than Sabushi. Actually I find the Sukishivsoup more tastier than Sabushi ones.
Anyway today meal at Sukishi definitely worth more than 399. Purely meat only! Must bring friend to eat Sukishi buffet once her vegetarian nonsense is over in 2 weeks time.

Btw, what is the best sinkie prepaid mobile/data packages for 5-6 days(will not keep the line)?

Only need data. Reasonable usage, mainly Line, messenger, whatsapp, FB and a little youtube or video stuff from FB links.

Anyway, anyone need advice for prepaid data packages in siam lor let me know.

Btw, what is the best sinkie prepaid mobile/data packages for 5-6 days(will not keep the line)?

Only need data. Reasonable usage, mainly Line, messenger, whatsapp, FB and a little youtube or video stuff from FB links.

Anyway, anyone need advice for prepaid data packages in siam lor let me know.
sgd30 on prepaid m1 sim for 100gb for 10 days. unlimited text and talk, data of 100gb. can use phone as mobile hotspot and tether as many as 10 devices to it while on the move. great as a mobile wi-fi anchor when you're traveling with friends in a small group. otherwise, on your own 100gb is more than enough for 10 days. can use it for video streaming.

Gamsiah mak mak ah sai gor. This is exactly what I am looking for. Since have 100 gb, can watch 6.9 porn movies during the 6.9 days stay in sinkie land.

you're velcum. not sure about stores in the streets or malls. offer is available at the mobile kiosks at terminal 4. must go to terminal 2 to take a shuttle to 4. no direct monorail connection. changi very cocked up.

Bonut

Last 2 weeks become slightly stupid due to accomany friend eat vegetarian for 1 month (half way mark).

Today friend return to BKK to settle some family matters so the first thing that come to my mind after sending her to Pattaya Bus terminal........taa daa.....Sukishi@tesco lotus pattaya south/thepprasit

Sukishi@Tesco Lotus Pattaya Tai
เลขที่ 408/2 หมู่ที่ 12 ถ.สุขุมวิท, ต.หนองปรือ อ.บางละมุง, Muang Pattaya, Amphoe Bang Lamung, Chang Wat Chon Buri 20260
038 300 655
https://goo.gl/maps/t5BJUinFJPr

Found out they increase the price from 359 to 399 pax for adults. But still cheaper than Sabushi. Actually I find the Sukishivsoup more tastier than Sabushi ones.
Anyway today meal at Sukishi definitely worth more than 399. Purely meat only! Must bring friend to eat Sukishi buffet once her vegetarian nonsense is over in 2 weeks time.
jun boh ? I was on my way to Sukishi the last time, and my Thai friend @ the pharmacy tells me it's not worth the effort, and asked me to go Shabushi instead.

This time sure must go try Sukishi.

Bonut

For CNX, recommend this quaint, and very charming guest house 'Seven Senses'. Got 7 rooms with different Thai names eg Rattanoskin. Walking distance to Kad Suan Kaew, and opposite red bus 'station' (open car park). None of the glitzy 4-5 star, but with personalised service by the owner (who lives on top), Khun Munee. Fond memories of my stay (which I posted here long time back) :smile:

http://sevensensesguesthouse.com/

Top reviews by TripAdvisor
https://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Hote...iews-Seven_Senses_Guest_House-Chiang_Mai.html

View attachment 39566
View attachment 39569
The piano was family (dad's I think)

View attachment 39570
Is the piano in the lobby playable ?

Woke up 04.05 cannot sleep so 05.00 come Foodland supermarket. After buying stuff have breakfast

CB3144DC-85BA-4A3D-9156-F5921365269A.jpeg

D6A55741-C7FC-488A-ACAD-C58BED78CD85.jpeg

8A997A6E-1D02-44CF-A7C8-54E40E25A3E9.jpeg

$2.75
935B9687-04D4-41CF-8064-7AFDB2B0C689.jpeg

Pillow

I did missed your post here, sorry.

First of all this is the location https://www.google.co.th/maps/place/Gianmi+&+Peppe+Italian+Restaurant/@13.698902,100.601516,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x30e29fee6c46ca6d:0xb0384e6c594a405c!8m2!3d13.698902!4d100.60371

Peppe had started to open for lunch since the start of the year. Both food and wine are inexpensive compared tio Singapore. Please be reminded this is not those fine dining restaurant its more like family cooking style which I like it's warmth and friendly setting.

Enjoy.

I cannot say anything about Chiangmai cos I rarely go there. Someone here will help you.

Thank you Bro Froggy. Will go try out and hope to put some photos here. hehe

Pillow

It's safe to drive in Chiang Mai, as it's nothing like the big and busy Bangkok metropolis. I've driven there, but needed some 'assist' on my bearings. The moat around the old city can be quite confusing to the uninitiated.

You don't need an international DL, yours truly is a living testimony in my regular forays to LOS. These days, I drive to/fro south west of Bkk to Hua Hin (230km) and vicinity.

Hiring a motorbike is a good practical commute option (there's a reliable Sinkie crony resident who can sort you out, minus any scams).

Else, you can do the local tuk2 taxis (for short distances circa thb80-100, haggle pls). You can also do the local red bus (aka songtiaows or pickups converted with long side benches). These ply standard routes with more affordable fares and you get off enroute. You can also 'charter' for specific route (eg airport).

I'd advise you to use Grab or Uber, for commute within city. During my last year's CNX outing, I used it often with reasonable prices ranging thb60-100 (depending on distance). Then, only Grab was "legit" but Uber's prevalent too (some drivers moonlighting both). If you are going to the big Central Festival mall, Uber driver might ask you to drop off or pick you up away from regular taxi stand (no hardship).

If you venturing outside CNX city (like Mae Rim), hiring a car is a worthwhile option. For sights, there's MORE to the touristy night bazaar. Else, there's little for me to add to the many attractions on various websites. Enjoy the Lanna culture.
Dear Bro YinYang

Thanks for the info. true, i try not to go where tourists usually go and hope to venture out a little. Your info has been very helpful.