• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

yinyang

Thought this learning English (or Thai other way around?) vid series was fun and interesting. That farang chabor's fluent in Thai. Also takes a dig at Thai phonetics :p

On eyebrows and tattoos

What's taboo for farangs, but par for the course for Thais

Under performing thyroid gland is no measure of your manhood. :wink: Benign, but the hormone rules your general well being. Also called Hashimoto. So you on thyroxin daily?

Keep warm with a human (right gender) pahom :wink:
yup. everyday must eat thyroxin without fail.

No joke. Today beri cold.

Somewhere in Siam lor. either North or Northeast. Heard from friend in Ubon there is very very cold.

yinyang

What will happen if you don't take ?
Don't mind me stepping in for Chon. In short, it's a deficiency in hormones (by your pituitary gland) which regulates body's metabolism. Could be be due to auto-immunity (Hashimoto) or other medical reasons. On the opposite end is hyper thyroid, with over production as you see some patients with big looking goiter on necks.

Symptoms include fatigue, weight gain, depression etc.

https://www.endocrineweb.com/conditions/thyroid/hypothyroidism-too-little-thyroid-hormone

Don't mind me stepping in for Chon. In short, it's a deficiency in hormones (by your pituitary gland) which regulates body's metabolism. Could be be due to auto-immunity (Hashimoto) or other medical reasons. On the opposite end is hyper thyroid, with over production as you see some patients with big looking goiter on necks.

Symptoms include fatigue, weight gain, depression etc.

https://www.endocrineweb.com/conditions/thyroid/hypothyroidism-too-little-thyroid-hormone
Thanks YY. yup lots of consequences and if accumulated over long term can lead to heart problems. Weight gain and tiredness are quite immediate when medication stop.

Latest from weather man. This cool weather will last until 22 December. For those who like to experience nice cool weather in Siam Lor, hurry book a
air ticket! Mai Tool Liao!

But 23 december onwards, will be back to Sahara desert mode. 555

Your medication expensive in Thailand, if compared to Singapore ?
levothyroxine is quite a common and cheap medicine worldwide. Think Thailand also selling quite cheap as there are many hyphothyroidism patients here. Never bother to check the price in Thailand as my 1 year supplies from NUH which is just about twenty thirty dollars.

part 5 - fast and furious by thai csi team
mai ruu what to write liaoz. Think pui kia is more thick skin than 8 dollar cow.

Bangkok is now

Photo 20-12-17, 9 14 12 AM.png

Breakfast - Kai Luak (half boiled egg).

Looks uncooked. Usually 6 minutes quite half cooked but today never take into consideration to cold weather. Anyway, just eat lah.

rectmobile

Temperature this morning. This is the only time I want to be back in Sinkieland. Due to hypothyroidism , I cannot take cold very well.

For those who dont know what is hypothyroidism , it is a condition where the thyroid is unable to produce enough hormone for the body.

I did a check on the causes of hypothyroidism. When there's a cause, there will be an effect:

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/hypothyroidism/symptoms-causes/syc-20350284

Causes
When your thyroid doesn't produce enough hormones, the balance of chemical reactions in your body can be upset. There can be a number of causes, including autoimmune disease, treatment for hyperthyroidism, radiation therapy, thyroid surgery and certain medications.

Your thyroid is a small, butterfly-shaped gland situated at the base of the front of your neck, just below your Adam's apple. Hormones produced by the thyroid gland — triiodothyronine (T3) and thyroxine (T4) — have an enormous impact on your health, affecting all aspects of your metabolism. They maintain the rate at which your body uses fats and carbohydrates, help control your body temperature, influence your heart rate, and help regulate the production of proteins.

Hypothyroidism results when the thyroid gland fails to produce enough hormones. Hypothyroidism may be due to a number of factors, including:

• Autoimmune disease. People who develop a particular inflammatory disorder known as Hashimoto's thyroiditis have the most common cause of hypothyroidism. Autoimmune disorders occur when your immune system produces antibodies that attack your own tissues. Sometimes this process involves your thyroid gland. Scientists aren't sure why the body produces antibodies against itself. Some think a virus or bacterium might trigger the response, while others believe a genetic flaw may be involved. Most likely, autoimmune diseases result from more than one factor. But however it happens, these antibodies affect the thyroid's ability to produce hormones.
  • Treatment for hyperthyroidism. People who produce too much thyroid hormone (hyperthyroidism) are often treated with radioactive iodine or anti-thyroid medications to reduce and normalize their thyroid function. However, in some cases, treatment of hyperthyroidism can result in permanent hypothyroidism.
  • Thyroid surgery. Removing all or a large portion of your thyroid gland can diminish or halt hormone production. In that case, you'll need to take thyroid hormone for life.
  • Radiation therapy. Radiation used to treat cancers of the head and neck can affect your thyroid gland and may lead to hypothyroidism.
  • Medications. A number of medications can contribute to hypothyroidism. One such medication is lithium, which is used to treat certain psychiatric disorders. If you're taking medication, ask your doctor about its effect on your thyroid gland.
Less often, hypothyroidism may result from one of the following:

• Congenital disease. Some babies are born with a defective thyroid gland or no thyroid gland. In most cases, the thyroid gland didn't develop normally for unknown reasons, but some children have an inherited form of the disorder. Often, infants with congenital hypothyroidism appear normal at birth. That's one reason why most states now require newborn thyroid screening.
  • Pituitary disorder. A relatively rare cause of hypothyroidism is the failure of the pituitary gland to produce enough thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) — usually because of a benign tumor of the pituitary gland.
  • Pregnancy. Some women develop hypothyroidism during or after pregnancy (postpartum hypothyroidism), often because they produce antibodies to their own thyroid gland. Left untreated, hypothyroidism increases the risk of miscarriage, premature delivery and preeclampsia — a condition that causes a significant rise in a woman's blood pressure during the last three months of pregnancy. It can also seriously affect the developing fetus.
  • Iodine deficiency. The trace mineral iodine — found primarily in seafood, seaweed, plants grown in iodine-rich soil and iodized salt — is essential for the production of thyroid hormones. In some parts of the world, iodine deficiency is common, but the addition of iodine to table salt has virtually eliminated this problem in the United States. Conversely, taking in too much iodine can cause hypothyroidism.

Can you recognise one or more of the causes of your hypothyroidism? If you know the cause, then you know how to treat it. Most mainstream doctors are not very good in treatment. They only gives you drugs. drug is not a cure all remedy. If they are, most disease will be gone by now.

One of my favorite kopitiam at Thepprasit Road. Its at a Y junction at Theprasit Soi 8 aka Soi Ti Din.

ร้านเดินป่าพัทยา
62/3 หมู่12 ปากซอยเทพประสิทธิ์8 ถนนเทพประสิทธิ์ Muang Pattaya, Amphoe Bang Lamung, Chang Wat Chon Buri 20150
081 411 2272
https://goo.gl/maps/jP54bcVJiZN2

Baa mee lookchin pla

too early for lunch crowd

After makan, go Jontiem Beach jalan jalan blow blow wind lah.

Water very clear today
bang Saray Satrahip side

Ang moh Da Best

Dropped Pin
near Thanon Jomtiensaineung, Muang Pattaya, Amphoe Bang Lamung, Chang Wat Chon Buri 20150
https://goo.gl/maps/BStrEEqyWqz

Nice day to go beach today. Sunny yet not hot

yinyang

C7FF5C8A-6A21-4BBB-89DF-A3BF4C339828.jpeg
F38BE787-2CFB-496A-B8C7-560C40ED00EB.jpeg
F60AAD3A-3E8D-475C-9F04-4BA08DE73450.jpeg
Had Sukhotai bak mee hang in Thonburi. Diff includes some mini cut french beans. If not for wind, shiok cool weather