• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

rectmobile

Thanks @rectmobile really appreciate your concern. I’ll guard this thread closely like a mother hen :p

Rest assured he ain’t no mod clone.

Anyway really happy to see @chonburifc back and this thread suddenly awaken with new colors.

There is nothing to worry about this user. I just revealed my discernment on him for all. I trust my own discernment. If you want to work BY him on getting info for him ( for the thread) by all means, go ahead.

This thread is about "Sinkies guide to Living in Thailand" and Johnny's question on insurance in Thailand is definitely a valid question.

Member forumers in this thread contribute their knowledge and experience living in Thailand for the benefit of other members without any motive or expecting anything in return. Must say that's the spirit of this thread which has been on-going for years.

It's up to individual forumers to respond or not to a particular question or post.

About meals and eating habit. Any visitors will notice the food serving size for most Thai food is quite small. Normally, there are 2 size, Thammada (Normal) and Piset(word means Special but means extra if refering to food serving size). Actually there is another less common used 'size' at some shops. Its call Jumbo ( same spelling in Thai), which means extra extra. Jumbo size sometimes also call "Yak" which means Giant.

For most Sinkies, think Thammada (Normal) serving is too little and unfulling even for Sinkie ladies. Problem is if order a second Thammada after finishing the first Thammada, will be too much.

Will continue on this topic after I come back from lunch. Finally decide what I want to eat for brunch after pondering the whole morning.

rectmobile

This thread is about "Sinkies guide to Living in Thailand" and Johnny's question on insurance in Thailand is definitely a valid question.

Member forumers in this thread contribute their knowledge and experience living in Thailand for the benefit of other members without any motive or expecting anything in return. Must say that's the spirit of this thread which has been on-going for years.

It's up to individual forumers to respond or not to a particular question or post.
Sir, I hope my revelation of my discernment on him doesn't put him on a bad light.

I do check on him on his previous posts on other threads as well, not only this. I just happen to post my revelation on this thread due to his latest post which happens to be on this thread.

That is how I come up to this conclusion.

Kuay Tiow Gai Mara is the "IN thing" now.

Piset

come with unlimited free veges machiam that shop recommend by P Froggy.

Have signboard showing various noodle types.

555 Here no Tua Liap Neh. Here is Ah Bang shop. Bang used to address a Thai male muslim (same as behasa).

Shop is at Thepprasit Road. Beside Rattanakorn Market (2 doors aways from Colossuem theatre Katoey show)

ip7+ prices of different memory size @bigc pattaya south. eyeing the 128 gb model but not now. now money no enough. Hopefully ip7+ price will drop further after new year when ip8 and ipx will be in higher demand.

Yes more relevant. I would like to know what Sporeans who are staying long term in LOS are paying for health insurance.
I've visited the Bumrungad hospital & they were expensive.

Got it for you @johnny333

https://www.bupa.co.th/en/individuals/health-insurance/individual/detail.aspx?iid=1#.WhrlamJGSaM

D58179A4-2AE0-4F82-B6AC-C039812C791D.jpeg

289CBD27-5135-4862-9625-E1FA4008E749.jpeg

There's plenty of info out there about living in LOS but it is from the perspective of the Angmo from Britain, Australia, ...etc

For a Sporean getting accurate info is difficult because our situations are different. Yes I have Thai friends but the same rules don't apply to them. Many Sporeans visit LOS but they are not Long term residents.

I'm a senior citizen & health care is important to me. On my last trip to Bangkok I was reminded of this when I received a lot of Wai greetings. This is usually given to the old:(

So it is useful to tap into the expertise of people like froggy because he lives there :smile:

Sir, are you a clone here to dig information from others so as to make the thread more informative.

I'm curious as to who you think I'm cloning?

I suspect that some people may be doing it, but it is usually those who have a political agenda & this thread is about LOS $ not about politics.

Maybe someone who has a lot of time on their hands? It is I think the school holidays :smile:

Johnny, I think you will love this:

"Tourism Authority of Thailand has cooperated with top non-life insurers ; Muang Thai Insurance, Chao Phaya Insurance, Siam City Insurance and Krungthai Panich Insurance gladly to offer “special travel insurance exclusively for foreign tourists” who will travel to Thailand in the form of online insurance which is convenient and provides instant coverage
screencapture-thailandtravelshield-tourismthailand-org-1511628627843.png

It seems cheaper than the accident insurance being offered in Spore, but coverage of only 60 days. May get this coverage for my visits to LOS in 2018.

Arun Sawats from Jomtien Beach. Sinkie style breakfast. Kai Luad (half boiled eggs) with 2 piece of wholewheat bread.
Lots of pepper and black soya sauce.

"Farmhouse" brand is the de facto leader of Thai breads. A small loaf of 10 piece is 20 baht@7-11. You can see them everywhere. Don't really like the taste but "Gin Puea Yu"aka "Eat to live. Actually me lazy to go and buy breakfast and lazy to cook myself.

In the past, Farmhouse delivery lorries very notorious for speeding and reckless driving. The lorries are red in color and best to keep a safe distance from these lorries.

There's plenty of info out there about living in LOS but it is from the perspective of the Angmo from Britain, Australia, ...etc

For a Sporean getting accurate info is difficult because our situations are different. Yes I have Thai friends but the same rules don't apply to them. Many Sporeans visit LOS but they are not Long term residents.

I'm a senior citizen & health care is important to me. On my last trip to Bangkok I was reminded of this when I received a lot of Wai greetings. This is usually given to the old:(

So it is useful to tap into the expertise of people like froggy because he lives there :smile:
Yup, understand where you are coming from.

Angmoh website like Thai visa dot com are mainly Brits and Yankee users. Some of the information pertaining to retirement, pension funds, medical benefits, travel and taxes ,etc. are very different from Sinkies.

Even for the fastest growing group in Pattaya, the PRCs, their visa requirements and other official immigration and government procedures are very different from other nationalities. They have their wechat group that specialise in PRC retirees in Pattaya. I got to know a 50 something Shenyang lady at the Land Transport Department. She was applying for license conversion and required much much more documents than the Europeans.

The same for Russkies/Ukranian which is the biggest group of long term residents. Their requirements are also different from Europeans but less stringent than PRCs. Sinkees residing in Thailand also very lucky as compared to other nationalities (only behind Malaysia passport). Malaysia passport by land also get 30 days visa waiver stay. Sinkie passport by land only get 14 day visa waiver stay.

yinyang

..Cadet died in military training school. ..DPM talk cock kenna hoot jialat jialat. ...Finally DPM Lan Lan apologise(in the beginning, talk very sia lan). DPM name is call Big Bomb.
Dr. Pornthip credential, status and reputation for her past works is very very high.
His nick shd be, Big Asshole :rolleyes:

37a9b87e7978595ef5e36240a57a4c9d.jpg

rectmobile

May I ask why is my replied post to Johnny deleted? I can't reply to him or am I not allow to reply to him? Is there a problem?

Semaj2357

i don't think we need any rectums to police this thread when it's all about sharing retirement life in los. froggy left and returned (thankful for that) for far less ominous reasons than this and he's discerning (and resourceful) enough not to cast aspersions on another forummer which has relevance in this thread. it says much about rectums that can't contribute in substance in a "mak mak' manner when only a "mak" is sufficient. my 2 satang's / batang's worth :rolleyes: