• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

O6XeY7B.jpg

8RlHNIm.jpg

dKP3E4f.jpg

pfCaT7M.jpg

94mghIz.jpg

4jz6sGX.jpg

fSqL56r.jpg

4MgQDUV.jpg

njQqUz4.jpg

Desserts
UeDtqxu.jpg
P Froggy still in Rayong? Looks good sia.

rectmobile

Not paiseh to admit. Actually I also earn roughly this amount of income and much much unstable. Some months, I might get 15,000 - 18,000 baht. Some months, I get 3000 or 4000 baht, not enough even to pay rent. most month live hand to mouth, around 10,000-12,000.

Luckily got friends and neighbours help each other. Be frank, no matter how bad it gets, never miss my nightly Changs or Leos or 285s or Hong Thongs or Lao Khao (Most jialat time).

Used to such lifestyle already. Sabai sabai. Dont worry too much. One thing for sure, such lifestyle not possible in SG.

Sir, there is nothing to be paisei or not paisei about. The most important thing is you are happy at where you are. To rough it out monthly for keeps, regardless of amount, for your true happiness, is worth it.

Amount can be increased by trying out some creative attempts if you wish to, but happiness is priceless.

Those of you living in Thailand, do you purchase any local insurance to cover your medical bills, just in case ?

I’m covered by company’s comprehensive medical insurance but I do buy for my wife, “friends” and maids

Today super windy. Even indoors also feel cold.

Jok Muu for breakfast at Theprasit Road. On weekend (fri to sun) late afternoon/evenings, this place is the famous Thepprasit Night Market.

Jok Muu Took Yang Sai Kai (means Porridge put everything add egg). They also sell tom Luad moo.

Side car stall attached to a Honda Super Cub. Still using charcoal to cook for the porridgr. Thats why aroi.

Theprasit Soi 3

In Thailand, chicken eggs are usually sell by cupboard trays of 30 eggs. The tray is call Tad Kai ถาดไข่ or Paeng Kai แผงไค่

Eggs are categorise according to numbers from Size 0 to Size 3 with Size 0 being the biggest and Size 3 the smallest Most Common is Size 1 and Size 2 which is used by most food outlet.

Bought a tray of 30 eggs Size 0 (Ber Soon) for 105 baht. Requested to have them put insidd plastic bag as quite troublesome to transport eggs in tray on motorcycle.

Just had breakfast with family Tanglin Halt market, met a fellow SBF member Chon knows him too

IMG_20171125_074921.jpg

IMG_20171125_075006.jpg

IMG_20171125_075038.jpg

IMG_20171125_074929.jpg

IMG_20171125_074933.jpg

IMG_20171125_074942.jpg

Bonut

I am researching on the subject of insurance for expats.

In your case, you have a work permit, so I'm pretty sure you are covered. I am looking more at the case of retirees or people who just decide to spend more time in Thailand treating it as a second home.

Apparently, there is a difference between Health Insurance and Travel Insurance. I just want to make sure that when I need medical attention in Thailand, the insurance will cover my hospital stay.

My French neighbour recently had an operation in stomach @ Pattaya and paid more than a million baht. Apparently it's too expensive even for retiree expats, and he had to go back to France to continue treatment. Another British guy had an issue with his rectum and he flew back immediately to London for treatment as he said he could not afford treatment in Thailand.

Remember the traffic mata "hero" who disclosed about junior mata income and why need special income? Mata go plain clothes. Very plain clothes, really look like civilian and hide at roadside stall to catch over speed drivers using speed camera.

Blend in with roadside stall.

Why would any roadside fruit seller use these expensive specialised equipments?
Very unsuspecting. 10 over years stay here. Only kenna 2 times for over speed. As years goes by, you develop the instinct to tell where got traps. But these type of traps sibeh sneaky and even veterans will also kenna.

Another slang for such traffic mata who give surprise is "Ja Ae" which means "Surpriiiiissssse!"

yinyang

Gosh.. Serious.. Is it enough for him? Or is that the typical salary of a typical job in Thailand
Normal wage level 10-12k bht, recall minimum daily wage 300bht. Wage levels relative to cost / standard of living. Has to do with parity of income across countries.

For foreign firms, skilled staff and lower to mid management level gets paid way above ‘local’ scales.

I am researching on the subject of insurance for expats.

In your case, you have a work permit, so I'm pretty sure you are covered. I am looking more at the case of retirees or people who just decide to spend more time in Thailand treating it as a second home.

Apparently, there is a difference between Health Insurance and Travel Insurance. I just want to make sure that when I need medical attention in Thailand, the insurance will cover my hospital stay.

My French neighbour recently had an operation in stomach @ Pattaya and paid more than a million baht. Apparently it's too expensive even for retiree expats, and he had to go back to France to continue treatment. Another British guy had an issue with his rectum and he flew back immediately to London for treatment as he said he could not afford treatment in Thailand.
I believe your French neighbour went to Bangkok Pattaya Hospital. That place is very very very expensive even for simple treatments.

Just get basic coverage for minor accidents and emergencies. For more serious issues, go back to SG to seek treatment. Trust me, Other than the few private top hospitals in BKK, the rest of hospitals countrywide all cannot make it. Dont believe, pay a visit to Banglamung hospital when you are free. Its at Naklua.

I’m covered by company’s comprehensive medical insurance but I do buy for my wife, “friends” and maids

If you don't mind me asking, how much are the premiums per year for comprehensive healthcare?

Is the insurance company local or foreign? I.e. How reliable are they when it comes to paying the bills.

I believe your French neighbour went to Bangkok Pattaya Hospital. That place is very very very expensive even for simple treatments.

Just get basic coverage for minor accidents and emergencies. For more serious issues, go back to SG to seek treatment. Trust me, Other than the few private top hospitals in BKK, the rest of hospitals countrywide all cannot make it. Dont believe, pay a visit to Banglamung hospital when you are free. Its at Naklua.

I’ll get back to you when I’m back in Bangkok

One of the best place to enjoy nice sunset view is Jomtien Beach Road. The other nice place is Baan Amphere, Bang Saray and Naklua.

A friend just came back from Sweden so "liang" (treat) us seafood at Orb Aroi Seafood restuarant@Jomtien Beach.

Pu Orb Woon Sen (Baked Crab Tang Hoon)
Hoi Chell gratiam (scallop garlic)

Tom Yam Talay Nam Khon (Seafood Tom Yam Creamy ). I prefer clear soup version. But 2 vs 1.

Pla Grapong Tord Nampla (Deep fries sea bass in fish sauce)

Pic look nice but actually very glaring and very hot.