• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

One of my fave snack (almost a meal itself), kao niao mamuang (mango with sticky rice). For a princely sum thb40 only (less than 50cents) in CNX mall. Once tried it at a fancy restaurant in Bkk, Ruen Mallika with a dollop vanilla ice cream (heavenly).

Bro 40 baht is S$1.30

thailand's currency may be lower than sg's but it is not that low. I always remember 1 sgd = 23 or 24 thb so 40thb cannot be less than 50 cents sg.

yinyang

Back to planet earth in under 2hrs. Sanambin (airport) in CNX is a leisurely place, for international departures. Even for any VAT refund, they don't even look at your stash.

Had a lovely lunch at this nice Angdoi Resort at Pongyang (Mae Rim). Lovely resort allegedly owned by a celeb Noon Waranoot. And only 45mins from CNX, away from civilization and yet accessible

Www.pongyangangdoi.com

Scenic views across waterfall, green foliage.

1F7E4A47-3343-4D6A-886E-33AE5A2BE3AF-393-0000004D0D8BD719_zps54c3d64f.jpg

21BC4887-F962-4B08-985D-63C9212DE9E5-393-0000004D1CA9F71F_zpsb57ec012.jpg

B2D397CA-7A40-46DD-9909-031ACE78DE3E-393-0000004D2A9F5C4B_zps39756118.jpg

D64AC59A-D895-4D94-9BC5-90026DBFB07C-393-0000004D253657CF_zps13d0e166.jpg

rotikosong

I had this meal on the plane on the way out from BKK. Anybody know if you're supposed to eat the small crab or is it just there for ornamental reasons?

IMG_1047_zps2d3e770f.jpg

IMG_1048_zpsbf1dd1d0.jpg

Too embarrassed to ask the flight attendants. The guy next to me had a different meal so no point asking him.

IMG_1058_zpsb4993c62.jpg

dietcoke

wah lau, u very bad la. at least take a pic of what u have la. not AFTER what u had...

i was thinking the crab can be eaten..

I had this meal on the plane on the way out from BKK. Anybody know if you're supposed to eat the small crab or is it just there for ornamental reasons?
IMG_1048_zpsbf1dd1d0.jpg
Bro, I am sure the crab is edible. Somtam phu is the same crab I guess, those little red crabs.

any of you guys knows of the thai badminton players fighting

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/C7Lct0CJu0A" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

rotikosong

any of you guys knows of the thai badminton players fighting

They are (or rather were) top 10 - part of the resurgence of Thai badminton(Ratchanon Inthanok being the pinnacle). Malaysians used to dominate easily in SEA, not any more with the Thais coming up. Top junior U-18 boys in Asia is also Thai (but he lost recently in Asian Juniors)http://www.google.com/search?biw=16...&sa=X&ei=8lztUYyKHZPo8QT5xoDQCA&ved=0CCgQBSgA.

This pair broke up this year. we now know why :biggrin:

OldFart

yinyang

On a u-turn work trip to Bkk last week, was invited to a colleague's restaurant (she has 4) in Asoke main road. With nostalgic pics on wall of Rama 5.

7708083F-9062-40A7-B7E5-172DE2183A09-223-00000049E042F7D8_zpsf6467508.jpg

Chon thinks beef kuay teow soup has old ingredient (opium)

26579895-F645-4D89-90C3-171F455CBA5B-403-0000004AD2474457_zps45cef3cf.jpg

E7752919-6AA8-48AD-A8F0-497FFDB2C90F-403-0000004AB0BD00E3_zps13d858a3.jpg

Crab dish
1D465105-D3F3-4006-8429-B40ABA2FD13A-403-0000004AD726CA71_zpscceba995.jpg

E836982E-4B4A-4A54-BC6D-DD4DE752B4E8-403-0000004ADCE5427E_zps96faab1e.jpg

ypres

I recently visited Chiangmai but found that some restaurants weren't so friendly. I guess they thought we were from China.
Anyone has this feeling. I just resigned from my job yesterday preparing for my thai study in Chiangmai U next year in Oct.
I will be studying Diploma in Chinese Teaching for the next nine months. Kinda scarce if my plan is crazy.:biggrin:
My HDB here is fully paid for and I have a saving.

I recently visited Chiangmai but found that some restaurants weren't so friendly. I guess they thought we were from China.
Anyone has this feeling. I just resigned from my job yesterday preparing for my thai study in Chiangmai U next year in Oct.
I will be studying Diploma in Chinese Teaching for the next nine months. Kinda scarce if my plan is crazy.:biggrin:
My HDB here is fully paid for and I have a saving.

You had been unsinkified, congratulations

yinyang

visited Chiangmai but found that some restaurants weren't so friendly. I guess they thought we were from China....just resigned from my job yesterday preparing for my thai study in Chiangmai U next year in Oct. Kinda scarce if my plan is crazy.:biggrin:.
Unsure if you hit wrong (unwelcoming) place in CNX, with many PRC tourists:biggrin:

You made the 1st step (on a long journey). Unlike others who have retirement plans, but opportunity costs (and constraints) holding back.

On my last week's break in CNX, I drove up 1st time to Chiangrai (180kms) and almost crossed over to Myanmar (from Mae Sot +60kms) but for failing to bring my passport. Quaint border town with obligatory markets, across Myanmar's Tachilek. Stayed at CHR's Le Meridien resort for a steal at thb2400 (low season)

2F374B18-791A-4D16-8600-E939195C9369-403-00000057E0E548E6_zps5ca028cb.jpg

03DAE133-B192-41A1-B4CD-86D0F0DF1B6F-468-0000005890385F82_zps3b99c1b8.jpg

2BA84E9F-7020-4C69-A76E-B48BE82C1C25-468-000000588B5E34B7_zpsf71c8309.jpg

Nice riverside restaurant in CHR

D2BB403E-0CD8-4776-9CD4-B2DE38D2DC23-468-000000589B1BC5E8_zps347e41ad.jpg

carcari

I was here for dinner.
It is a great place. Guess can hardly be found by most of the tourists unless brought by locals.

Back to planet earth in under 2hrs. Sanambin (airport) in CNX is a leisurely place, for international departures. Even for any VAT refund, they don't even look at your stash.

arjan go to Baan Beer Thai at golden miles tower, ground floor

Khun Somsak cook cum owner, good food, quiet setting, reasonable price

Somsak is a lao teeko. Always roving eye looking to score.
His son inherited his traits and wanted to sian my gf then.
The daughter May looks swee though