• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A recipe for national disaster ???

I WAS shocked and perturbed to learn that the majority of the 4,000 Singapore citizens who took part in an Our Singapore Conversation exercise in January were prepared to trade off economic growth for a slower pace of life ("Majority want slower pace of life"; last Monday).

This is a sure recipe for national disaster.

Singapore rose from a Third World nation to an enviable First World one through the people's sheer hard work in a fast-paced and competitive world.

This, in turn, attracted foreigners to invest their money and talents in Singapore.

Being a tiny island devoid of natural resources, and with a population of only 5.3 million, Singapore cannot afford to slow down for any reason, especially when other nations are shifting into faster gear to compete and overtake us.

Instead of slowing down and trading off economic growth to achieve work-life balance, we should seek other solutions.

For example, there could be better management of personal time. Employers could also adopt flexible working hours and improve staff welfare further, in exchange for staff loyalty and increased productivity.

Economic growth is a prerequisite to attaining a better family and social life.

If we slow down, all the hard work and sacrifices made by the people, mainly the older generation, and the Government would go down the drain.

The fast-paced life and competition in Singapore are inevitable. There might be a tendency for some of us to rest on our laurels now that we have attained success. Such a feeling is dangerous and we have to check ourselves.

Pavithran Vidyadharan

It's all Assad's fault!! If he did not use chemical weapons on his own people, there would not be a national disaster in Singapore.

Do you agree with the writer?

If we slow down, if we cut down on the number of people crowding our little island, if we slow down our developments,if we take our life a little bit easier and less stressful, do you think we will go down the path of a national disaster ?

Economic growth at the expense of our physical, social, emotional and family well-being is definitely not very good.

I met a friend of mine this morning. He looked horrible!!! I asked him what happened. He told me he had been retrenched from his job as a factory supervisor. Now he is driving a cab. He has just returned from an 18 hours driving marathon!!! He has a contract with a local hotel which pays him well. But he is physically and emotionally stressed out!

So do you think economic progress and success is better than your health?

Will we suffer national disaster???

Dun know to agree with the writer or not yet. It seems the writer had cross the red line but I'll have to check with Congress for the right course of action, then I know what to say.

Also from the 'wisdom' of this Ah Neh:

http://www.straitstimes.com/st/print/653110

Multi-foreigner mix a better practice

FOREIGN workers here appear to be deployed to the various industries according to their nationalities.
For instance, Bangladeshis tend to be cleaners in HDB estates, Indians tend to work at road and railway sites, and Myanmar nationals and Thais at construction sites.
This segregation is not ideal.
Why not have a more multi-foreigner mix? I suggest separating them into small groups and deploying them to industries all over Singapore where there is dire need, regardless of their nationality.
Pavithran Vidyadharan

:rolleyes:

It's all Assad's fault!! If he did not use chemical weapons on his own people, there would not be a national disaster in Singapore.

It is Sinkieland's fault, if you don't believe then ask Dr Mad Hatter.

I WAS shocked and perturbed to learn that the majority of the 4,000 Singapore citizens who took part in an Our Singapore Conversation exercise in January were prepared to trade off economic growth for a slower pace of life .
Pavithran Vidyadharan

how can?? if lower gdp, pinky and his loonies cannot survive with lower salaries......

hahahahhahaaaa.............................

Writer of the week

ST_20130805_05PROFILE_3765420e.jpg

Mr Pavithran Vidyadharan reads the Forum page because it reflects alternative views that the public has on various topics. -- ST PHOTO: MARK CHEONG

WHO: Pavithran Vidyadharan, 71, retired assistant superintendent of prisons. The core objective of my job was the rehabilitation of inmates in prisons and drug rehabilitation centres.

MY FAMILY: Married to Ms Leela Paramu, 61, who handles tax matters in an accounting firm. My sons - Sathish, 35, and Sunil, 31 - are pilots with Singapore Airlines.

MY HOME: An executive apartment in Elias Road.

MY PASSIONS: I read quite a lot, especially books, newspapers and periodicals on politics, economics, law and human resource management. I also watch the TV news daily, practise martial arts, exercise with weights and walk regularly.

I STARTED WRITING TO THE FORUM PAGE IN...: 2004.

WHAT I WRITE ABOUT: On any topic I am knowledgable about and that is of importance to Singapore.

WHY I WRITE: To provide discerning and differing views to stimulate "out of the box" thinking. Hopefully, such thinking will bring about changes towards the improvement of Singapore. I write also to keep my mind active and, hopefully, prevent mental disorders like dementia and Alzheimer's disease, which are common when one ages.

I READ THE FORUM PAGE BECAUSE...: It is interesting and thought-provoking. It reflects the public's independent views on various topics. The views may not always align with the news that appears in the paper. So it is an alternative outlet for the public to let their views be heard.

MY WISH FOR SINGAPORE: That Singapore will continue to be led by dedicated, competent and incorruptible leaders, who always have the survival of the country uppermost in their hearts and minds; that our multiracial society will continue to strengthen year after year; and that the people of Singapore live like one big family regardless of the colour of their skin, religion, language, and financial and social status, and Singapore emerges as the epitome of what a multiracial society is about.

One can be sure that anything written in the fucking ST will be lies meant to stupify the minds of sinkies so as to
keep sinkies head down down and arseholes up high high to be screwed and fucked by PAP walking bags of excrement

Double underlined when posted here by PAP doggies trying to spread the shit in the ST when nobody bother to read it there.

TIME IS ON OUR SIDE
SMEAR OF SHIT ON SOLE OF SHOE LKY WILL BE GOING TO THE LOVING CARE OF GHOULS AND DEMONS WHO MIGHT NOT EVEN GIVE HIM TIME
OFF TO EAT JOSS STICKS AND CANDLE WAX

ZZZZZZ ZZZZ ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ZZZZ ZZZZZ
CAN YOU HEAR THE SHARPENING OF KNIVES IN THE PAP CAMP?
ALL WAITING WAITING FOR THEIR CHANCE AT THOSE BILLIONS
ALL WAITING TO HOOT HOOOT HOOOOT
HOOT KANGAROOS , ARSEHOLE WRITERS IN ST NOT GOING TO BE SPARED

WHILE WE ALL GO YUM YUM YUM SENG

kopiuncle................

aiyah, you of all people should know better what..........

the unfolding Armageddon at Fukushima will render all things moot.......................

how can?? if lower gdp, pinky and his loonies cannot survive with lower salaries......

hahahahhahaaaa.............................
They will then change their bonus KPI to ability to maintain population at constant level. sure win.

kopiuncle................

aiyah, you of all people should know better what..........

the unfolding Armageddon at Fukushima will render all things moot.......................

you are right, Fuku is still fuming mad
denial, denial, denial,......creating more and more damage
and radiating the globe....catastrophe of enormous proportions
if people still stick to smear of shit instead of doing something more constructive
that will be more destructive and more tragic...majulah singapura!!!

if we don't institute changes fast enough
we will be doomed sooner than we think
we have been off the beaten path for quite some time
we have the luck to soldier on and survive
but luck cannot last forever

Multi-foreigner mix a better practice

FOREIGN workers here appear to be deployed to the various industries according to their nationalities.
For instance, Bangladeshis tend to be cleaners in HDB estates, Indians tend to work at road and railway sites, and Myanmar nationals and Thais at construction sites.
This segregation is not ideal.
Why not have a more multi-foreigner mix? I suggest separating them into small groups and deploying them to industries all over Singapore where there is dire need, regardless of their nationality.
Pavithran Vidyadharan

Maybe this local Mama wants to see more of his cousins from India working in the retail industry..

BO stinking Ah Nehs from India working as sales personnel at leading shopping Malls in S'pore???? :confused: :eek::rolleyes::confused:

Now that is a sure recipe for Disaster..

if people still stick to smear of shit instead of doing something more constructive
who ah?????? hahahhahahhaaaa............................

see below for the answer