• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat 33-year-old Singaporean killed in South Africa traffic accident

bobby

koh.jpg

SINGAPORE - Another Singaporean has died in a traffic accident overseas, the third reported case this month.

Interior designer Koh Yuan Ling was travelling in South Africa with her sister when the accident happened on Dec 21. Ms Koh, 33, died while her sister is believed to have been injured.

The Straits Times understands that the Singapore High Commission in Pretoria is assisting family members who have flown to South Africa.

There were two other reported accidents this month involving Singaporeans overseas.

On Dec 22, a car crash in the United States killed three people - 22-year-old Singapore Armed Forces scholar Justin Yeo Jun Xi and his parents. His 19-year-old sister, Ms Justlyn Yeo Jing Hui, survived.

The family was travelling towards the Grand Canyon in Arizona state when their car crossed the painted median and collided head-on with a van.

On Dec 11, a Singaporean man died in a traffic accident in New Zealand on the west coast of the South Island. Shin Min Daily News identified him as Mr Seow Kai Yuan.

Travel agencies said that more Singaporeans are opting for self-drive holidays rather than guided tours.

Dynasty Travel's director of marketing communications, Ms Alicia Seah, said the number of bookings and inquiries for self-drive tours has grown by about 15 per cent every year.

Chan Brothers' marketing communications executive, Ms Justine Koh, said the demand for self-drive holidays to Australia, New Zealand, the US, Japan and South Korea has grown between 15 and 20 per cent each year.

Ms Koh said: "Before our self-drive tours, there will be a safety briefing that is conducted to ensure customers are aware of the road rules and regulations of the respective countries that they will be travelling to."

Ms Seah said travellers need to take note of things such as the correct side of the road to drive on, whether their wheels are suited to winter conditions, and if the road is lit at night. She also suggested taking a break every two hours or every 100 miles or 160km.

"The driver should be well rested before a long drive, or pull to a rest area if he gets too tired. It is also very important to mind the driving speed, especially on long drives with no traffic lights," she said.

This one happened a day before the US accident but reported 1 day later.

Ms Koh said: "Before our self-drive tours, there will be a safety briefing that is conducted to ensure customers are aware of the road rules and regulations of the respective countries that they will be travelling to."

Ms Seah said travellers need to take note of things such as the correct side of the road to drive on, whether their wheels are suited to winter conditions, and if the road is lit at night. She also suggested taking a break every two hours or every 100 miles or 160km.

"The driver should be well rested before a long drive, or pull to a rest area if he gets too tired. It is also very important to mind the driving speed, especially on long drives with no traffic lights," she said.

my uncle say ms seah should just say drive at your own risk. he say she say until like the driver is a child toddler or new born baby.

Dont you think Sinkies are really lucky? Suka suka can go holiday machiam no need money one.

So good life yet so short. RIP

Sinkies are not used to driving on long stretches of open roads, exposed to the elements with varying road conditions. With more self drive holidays, more will get killed. I hope they are not oppie supporters.

Less sinkies in the world the better. Less exploiters of slave labor.

It is all karma

Sinkies are not used to driving on long stretches of open roads, exposed to the elements with varying road conditions. With more self drive holidays, more will get killed. I hope they are not oppie supporters.

Got 70% chance is pappy supporter.
Sinkies are lousy drivers.
One can ace the driving test like scholars ace their exams. But driving you need good aptitude and experience. Sinkies like to show off, Yaya and think they know it all...kiasu and kiasi by nature. Like this sure mati and danger to other road users

Oppie are co-drivers, they survive, usually the driver died; for they are PAP DNA people, boastful, always think they know a lot & they are the best.

yeap. you just need to go to malaysia NS highways and you see all their idiotic driving even with single direction 3 lane dual carriageways. you see their farkup idiotic driving style on local roads everyday. they would refused to give way, drive slowly or hog in fast lane, turn suddenly without signalling, jam break, high beam everyone etc. I myself knows of at least 5-6 sinkies idiots who died or were paralysed while driving overseas.consider how small singapore is, 3 major accidents in 3 countries with good roads means one thing. the common denominator is that they all hold sinkie driving licence.

When you are in Malaysia you can spot a Singapore drivers, right a way; like you have mentioned especially on the highway.

But you missed my point on oppie co-drivers... ha ha ha ha

That's the problem with all Singaporean drivers who never had experiences of driving for more than 100km at a stretch non stop on a straight boring country road.

Be frank, sinkie drivers sibeh angel liaoz as compared to some siam kia drivers.

You too long never come back Sg hehe.
Angel dun equate to safe.

Loser traits of sinkie drivers

1) Many fucktard sinkie drivers like to drive slow and hog right lane....in their own sweet world oblivious to other road users and road conditions. They think as long as within speed limit they are right.
2) Yet another loser trait is they think as long as they put indicator lights then they got right. Indicators are for signalling intentions NOT give you first right.
3) Many also overly ‘considerate’ like to give way even though it’s their right of way. This adds to confusion and causes accident instead of preventing them.

And many more feel free to add

You too long never come back Sg hehe.
Angel dun equate to safe.

Loser traits of sinkie drivers

1) Many fucktard sinkie drivers like to drive slow and hog right lane....in their own sweet world oblivious to other road users and road conditions. They think as long as within speed limit they are right.
2) Yet another loser trait is they think as long as they put indicator lights then they got right. Indicators are for signalling intentions NOT give you first right.
3) Many also overly ‘considerate’ like to give way even though it’s their right of way. This adds to confusion and causes accident instead of preventing them.

And many more feel free to add
Yup. Number 1) seen very often, not just slower cars, motorcycles and commerical vehicles also like to hog right lane.

Same problem in siam lor also but not as bad. Following clip happened few days ago and was hotly debated on social media. Some said owner never show earlier part of video, only show the middle and end part. Mercs sibeh tulan being hogged and overtake and jam brake, causing the lorry to kiss the owner car. Jump to 0:50 seconds. This road is kanchanaphiset motorway. Our BKK resident, P Froggy, should be very familiar with this road.

Forget about the poor driving skills of sinkies when overseas. It seems they don't have a clue how to drive at home either!

Accident at Junction To Tanah Merah ferry Terminal. Car & lorry. Car overturned. Police car n TP on site
photo_2017-12-30_14-51-03.jpg

More evidence that sinkie drivers suck!

Wide asphalt roads, controlled traffic junctions, no snow, black ice or foggy conditions to contend with and yet they just can't stop crashing into each other.

photo_2017-12-30_21-33-59.jpg