• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

12 Best Braised DUCK RICE In Singapore, For Tender Duck And Flavourful Rice

duckrice

12 Best Braised DUCK RICE In Singapore, For Tender Duck And Flavourful Rice

Singaporeans.

You will mainly find two types of duck rice in Singapore, the Teochew style which has a simple prep with a light gravy, and the fancier Hokkien style, which has heavy sauce and may or may not have yam rice to add richness to the dish.

Similarly, the preparation of duck can also vary from roasted to braised, this guide will focus on the braised version.

Other worthy Duck Rice and Noodle hawker stalls to check out include Yu Kee Duck Rice (Newton Food Centre and many branches), Yu Kee House of Braised Duck (Joo Chiat Place and other outlets), Cheok Kee Duck Rice (Geylang Bahru Market), Delicious Duck Noodles (Tanglin Halt), Hup Seng Duck Rice (Sin Ming), Lee Xin Braised Duck (North Bridge Road Food Centre), Ban Chuan (Ang Mo Kio Ave 6), Hollywood Braised Duck Rice (Sims Vista Food Centre), Cheok Kee Duck Rice (East Coast), and New Market Teochew Duck Rice (Alexandra Village Food Centre).

Here are 12 more:

henggi6.jpg

henggi8.jpg

Heng Gi Goose and Duck Rice
Tekka Market and Food Centre #01-335, 665 Buffalo Road, Singapore 210665
Tel: +65 6396 0969
Opening Hours: 8am – 3pm (Tues – Sun), Closed Mon

One of the best-known stalls serving Teochew-style braised duck is Heng Gi Goose and Duck Rice, operating for more than 60 years.

It is one of the former Wayang Street hawkers which opened in Hill Street Food Centre before moving to Tekka Centre.

The stall sells traditional Teochew-style braised duck (meat, wings, feet) offal, pork belly, pig ears, pig head meat, tau kwa, and egg.

If you are dining solo, go for the Duck Rice for 1 person ($3.50), which comes with a plate of duck meat, a bowl of steamed white rice drizzled with the braising sauce, and a bowl of herbal-flavoured soup.

But what stands out is the fragrant herbal dark soy-based lor (braising sauce), thin in consistency but well-balanced in flavour. Heng Gi Goose and Duck Rice (Tekka Centre)

serangoongarden17.jpg

serangoongarden26.jpg

Ah Seng Braised Duck Rice
49A Serangoon Garden Way, #01-44 Serangoon Garden Food Centre, Singapore 555945
Tel: +65 9667 4860
Opening Hours: 11am – 8pm (Mon – Fri), 11am – 4pm (Sat), Closed Sun

Ah Seng is one of those stalls I did not have much ‘luck’ with – always closed when I visited (5 times at least), but I was 6th time lucky.

The fan favourite at Serangoon Garden is known for its tender and succulent Braised Duck Rice.

You can tell a stall is doing it right when the queues are snaking long throughout the day, and customers are willing to wait even in rush hours.

The regular portion of Duck Rice at $3.50 is quite quite its priced, while you can top up with other ingredients such as braised pork, pig head meat, pig tongue, pig ear, braised egg, tau pok and cabbage.

What people like would be the nostalgic Teochew flavours of tender duck pieces, paired well with the white rice drizzled with braising sauce.

The soup was tasty, light with herbal aroma.

ahheng3-1.jpg

ahheng5-1.jpg

Ah Heng Duck Rice 同济前阿兴鸭饭
531A Upper Cross Street, #02-64 Hong Lim Market & Food Centre, Singapore 051531
Tel: +65 9023 9420
Opening Hours: 6:30am – 4pm (Tues – Sun), Closed Mon

Word has it that the hawker behind Ah Heng used to be the owner of Heng Gi Goose & Duck Rice in Tekka Market, therefore there are quite similar-tasting.

You can order the duck as a whole or half ($40, $4) or with rice ($5.50).

A number of other accompaniments can also be added, such as braised egg, tau kua, tau pok, pig skin, pork belly, big intestines, and preserved vegetables ($0.50 to $4).

Served chopped and bone-in, the duck meat was leaner and dryer than what I had expected, but still moderately tender. It has a signature old-school taste, quite unlike the modern versions found in most hawker centres and food courts.

The lor is on the saltier side, so it works well by having it with plain rice.

The duck-rice combo is accompanied with a small serving of chilli sauce, a watery type with a strong vinegary taste that pairs well with the duck meat. Ah Heng Duck Rice (Hong Lim Food Centre)

yalor7.jpg

duckrice7.jpg

Sia Kee Duck Rice
659-661 Lor 35 Geylang, Singapore 389589
Tel: +65 9757 5255
Opening Hours: 11:30am – 6pm (Mon – Fri, Sun), Closed Sat

This stall with almost 40 years of history has two names, known as “Sia Kee Duck Rice” or “Sean Kee Duck Rice”.

The basic Braised Duck Rice contains a plate of duck rice with duck meat, bean sprouts, braised peanuts; though you can top-up with items such as bean sprouts, more peanuts, braised eggs, beancurd, and chilli fishcake.

If you like your rice with a lot of lor aka dark braised sauce, then you would probably enjoy this Sia Kee’s take which is slightly on the sweetish side and sufficiently coats up most of the grains.

The rice is cooked to the soggier side, which I really didn’t mind. Overall, more zhong kou wei or rich.

ghimmohfoodcentre11.jpg

ghimmohfoodcentre12.jpg

Chuan Kee Boneless Braised Duck
Ghim Moh Market and Food Centre #01-04, Block 20 Ghim Moh Road, Singapore 270020
Opening Hours: 10am – 8pm (Mon – Wed, Fri – Sun), Closed Thurs

Located at the Ghim Moh Market and Food Centre (and another branch at Chong Pang Food Centre), Chuan Kee Boneless Braised Duck is one of the most popular stalls there, and is also listed under the Michelin Bib Gourmand.

Chuan Kee sources its ducks from Malaysia. Compared to other braised ducks cooked using frozen meat, Chuan Kee’s are made from fresh duck which makes the meat sweeter.

Specialising in Teochew-style braised duck only i.e. there is no roast duck nor other roast meats in the menu, Chuan Kee serves all duck boneless but you can request it bone-in should you prefer.

Its signature dish Chuan Kee Duck Rice ($3, $4, $5) features braised duck coated in a dark and luscious sauce, topped over fluffy rice cooked in a Hokkien style of lor (sauce) thickened with a little starch.

My favourite component was the aromatic rice, despite being drenched in sauce, was neither sticky nor mushy. Chuan Kee Boneless Braised Duck (Ghim Moh)

sembawanghills8.jpg

sembawanghills13.jpg

Seng Huat Duck Rice
#01-07 Sembawang Hills Food Centre, 590 Upper Thomson Road, Singapore 574419
Opening Hours: 8:30am – 1pm (Wed, Thurs, Sat, Sun), Closed Mon, Tues, Fri

When you are good at something, it’s best to focus on that alone instead of adding needless variety. This hawker stall runs on the same motto and is best known for their delectable braised duck dish.

They have mastered the art of braised duck and served with rice or porridge – a comforting hot bowl that soothes and nourishes.

The Duck Porridge is sold at an affordable $2.80, while a Braised Duck Rice is at $3.50, with a set at $4.50).

Regulars would tell you to be at the stall by early hours of the morning as they run out of it quite fast.

The Braised Duck Rice Set ($4.50) surprisingly has quite a good portion, enough to be shared between two not-so-hungry people.

The meat was delectably tender with braising sauce and scrumptious dark soya flavours working impeccably with the subtle kick from the herbs.

marineparadefood3.jpg

marineparadefood4.jpg

Kun Ji
#01-25 84 Marine Parade Central Market and Food Centre, Singapore 440084
Opening Hours: 10am – 6pm or earlier when sold out (Mon – Sun)

The stall that attracted the longest queue at Marine Parade Central Market and Food Centre during lunch time, Kun Ji is known for its Braised Duck, Roasted Duck and Char Siew Rice (each $3.50).

You can also add on other ingredients such as Braised Egg, Duck Wing, Tau Kua, Duck Liver, Tau Pok and Mui Choy for additional 50 cents.

With all that ingredients and portion, I must say this is quite generous.

The rice had a beautiful shade of brown, moist and flavourful; while the duck meat was relatively tender and not that gamey. I happened to like the char siew better, with beautiful caramelisation and tender-to-the-bite.

duckrice6.jpg

duckrice11.jpg

Ah Xiao Teochew Braised Duck
505 Beach Road, Golden Mile Food Centre #B1-43 Singapore 199583
Tel: +65 9109 8026
Opening Hours: 9:30am – 3:30pm (Mon – Fri), 9:30am – 1:30pm (Sat – Sun)

Traditional duck rice that will hit you with the perfect dose of nostalgia.

Amidst all the hustle and bustle at Golden Mile Food Centre, this particular stall shines like a star for selling the nostalgic braised duck rice.

Founded by Mr Peh Thiam Ting, Ah Xiao Teochew Braised Duck has been serving authentic Teochew-style braised duck since the 1990s. It is now helmed by 2nd generations owners.

The simple and homely preparation and flavours take you back in time and make you nostalgic for home. A quarter of Braised Duck goes at $10, 1/2 at $18, while a whole Braised Duck is priced at $36.

Their signature Braised Duck Rice ($3) is prepared with simple and traditional flavours that were warmly comforting and quite tender. Worthy of mention are the two types of chilli sauce given.

The lor (sauce) poured on the rice in particular, albeit light, was mostly on the sweet side and complemented the aromatic grains perfectly.

Delivery available via preorder form: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1...iYJXLvkbVrzWaeQ_9-y5kA/viewform?usp=send_form

duckrice8.jpg

duckrice9.jpg

Jin Ji Teochew Braised Duck
335 Smith St, #02-156, Singapore 050335
Tel: +65 9018 9052
Opening Hours: 10am – 7pm (Sat – Thurs), Closed Fri

Owner of Jin Ji Teochew Braised Duck & Kway Chap stall Melvin Chew, is known as one of the main people behind the Facebook Group Hawkers United – Dabao 2020.

Let’s not forget to show some love to his stall at Chinatown Complex Food Centre.

Having Braised Duck Rice with Japanese style runny yolk lava eggs is something that you don’t usually find on the menu card, but you can enjoy this ingenious concoction at this stall.

The Duck Rice Bento is priced at $8, and has a generous serving size.

Unlike the usual plates, this platter includes yam rice rolled in the shape of balls, braised duck cooked till tender, offals, bean curd, a variety of pickled vegetables and Japanese style lava eggs with runny yolk.

The succulent duck slices is the true winner of this dish, bursting with flavour in every mouthful. You can also get braised duck and pig’s organ porridge starting at $3.
Delivery available via: https://www.feastbump.com/menus/jin-ji-braised-duck-rice-and-kway-chap

liangzhaoji2.jpg

liangzhaoji4.jpg

Liang Zhao Ji 梁照记
Whampoa Drive Makan Place #01-07, Block 90 Whampoa Drive Singapore 320090
Opening Hours: 10.30am – 2pm (Wed – Sun), Closed Mon, Tues

The stall at Whampoa Makan Place specialises in braised soy duck rice and porridge. (Incidentally, the other famous stall Balestier Road Hoover Rojak is next door neighbour.)

It was reported by co-owner Mr Low Ah Leng would just sell about 20 ducks and go back, sometimes sold out by late noon or earlier.

I did think that the best parts of the plate was NOT the duck, but perhaps everything else that came together.

The savouriness of the flavoured rice (didn’t taste any yam though), the texture of the tau kwa (beancurd) and the tangy-spiciness of the chilli sauce.

The duck would have been a notch tenderer to steal my heart. Liang Zhao Ji (Whampoa)

duckrice4.jpg

duckrice3.jpg

Boon Tong Kee Kway Chap Braised Duck 文通记粿汁卤鸭
70 Zion Road #01-24 Zion Riverside Food Centre, Singapore 247792
Tel: +65 9184 9881
Opening Hours: 11am – 10pm (Thurs – Tue), Closed Wed

Do not confuse this with the Hainanese chicken restaurant Boon Tong Kee.

This is a popular Braised Duck stall 文通记粿汁卤鸭 also serving Kway Chap, located at Zion Riverside Food Centre.

As for the Braised Duck Rice ($3.50, $4.50 for set), the braised duck would be soaked in the salty braising sauce, moderately-tender and flavourful.

I would recommend ordering the Braised Duck Rice set ($4.50) which comes with tau kwa, braised hard boil egg, and preserved vegetables.

The thing was that the duck was not as soft as some of the top stalls elsewhere in Singapore, and had a slight gamey taste.

But matched with the flavourful rice and soup with strong herbal aroma, I thought that the overall combination was quite decent. Boon Tong Kee Kway Chap Braised Duck (Zion Road Food Centre)

duckrice5.jpg

duckrice10.jpg

Double Spring Teochew Lor Duck
41A Cambridge Rd, #01-48, Singapore 211041
Opening Hours: 8am – 3pm (Tues – Sun), Closed Mon

This hawker stall is a prized gem of the Pek Kio Food centre, serving delicious Teochew Lor Duck Kway Chap.

The testament of their taste and quality is the long queues of loyal customers that form as soon as the stall opens. With the amount and quantity of ingredients in their dish, pricing is a total steal.

You can go for the Lor Duck Porridge ($2.50), Lor Duck Rice ($3, $4, $5), Lor Duck ($5, $8. $10), or Duck Kway Chap ($3.50, $5.50).

I think a draw is its rather yam-my rice.

The signature Teochew Lor Duck Kway Chap ($3.50) comes loaded with ingredients. Along with the tender and well-seasoned duck, you get that light herbal taste with every spoonful.

Duck or prawn is just to get your attention as there must be some pork and lard inside somehwere. Chinese food put them so malays will fall into a trap.poison them.

Where did ex Pasir Panjang one moved to?
Geylang Lor 35 is the only one on list I know

Braised duck have Teochew and Hokkien versions. I prefer the Hokkien one with thicker gravy.

And no dark yam rice no talk.
Those selling Kway Chap also no talk.

knnccb

yu kee is the worst shit, salty like fuck, rice dont have that fragrant, keep opening everywhere but kanasai bo standard

Hup Seng at Sin Ming. Their kiam chye duck soup is still the best. Business sold years ago but old man still around.
U talking about the stall in the coffeeshop with the bak kut teh? I agree it rather good. Lunch time super crowded. Best go before 11am.
Despite not being a Teochew, most of the stalls in the list I ate before. To me, an authentic braised duck rice stall must also sell, 豬頭肉,豬耳朵,etc etc...
The 阿笑 at kampung glam also not bad, very good business.

U talking about the stall in the coffeeshop with the bak kut teh? I agree it rather good. Lunch time super crowded. Best go before 11am.
Despite not being a Teochew, most of the stalls in the list I ate before. To me, an authentic braised duck rice stall must also sell, 豬頭肉,豬耳朵,etc etc...
The 阿笑 at kampung glam also not bad, very good business.
Spot on. Ah Orh (branch) used to be there too. The previous char siew stall was out of this world!