• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

一 只 or 一 立 egg ?

Whahahahaha ... Why all your Japanese words is copy and paste ? Whahahahah . If u want to know more about me .. Then come and meet me in Tokyo lor ;)

Not interested in Tokyo and am avoiding radioactive Tokyo and Chiba. Enjoy your stay there. Am spending more time Kansai and Kyushu. Also avoiding long stays there due to radioactive debris being burnt all around the country. Enjoy glowing there.

Knn si angmo still said that they are surprise that I can speak good English . Hypocrite . Or maybe they are comparing my English to the Japanese .

The fact of the matter is this. You look chinese/japanese east asian and to some of them as long as you don't look ang moh = you're automatically assumed to speak bad english. You cannot blame them since the majority of east asians and in fact non anglo whites more or less don't really speak good english or speak in the accent that they associate with those that speak good english so even if you have good english but don't speak in a typical ang moh anglo accent you're assumed to have a poorer command of english. That's it.

As for comparing you to the japs they won't think in that way la. To them you and the japs have equally bad english. It's like asking you or most sinkies do you think sri lankans or india ppl speak better english? I can safely say that to most of us we cannot even tell the difference between nor would we even care.

Not interested in Tokyo and am avoiding radioactive Tokyo and Chiba. Enjoy your stay there. Am spending more time Kansai and Kyushu. Also avoiding long stays there due to radioactive debris being burnt all around the country. Enjoy glowing there.

Whahahahaha now you are talking nonsense saying nuclear meltdown affecting central Tokyo Whahahahaha why not say it reach Okinawa ;) .anyway your goverment is more scary then nuclear meltdown ;)

The fact of the matter is this. You look chinese/japanese east asian and to some of them as long as you don't look ang moh = you're automatically assumed to speak bad english. You cannot blame them since the majority of east asians and in fact non anglo whites more or less don't really speak good english or speak in the accent that they associate with those that speak good english so even if you have good english but don't speak in a typical ang moh anglo accent you're assumed to have a poorer command of english. That's it.

As for comparing you to the japs they won't think in that way la. To them you and the japs have equally bad english. It's like asking you or most sinkies do you think sri lankans or india ppl speak better english? I can safely say that to most of us we cannot even tell the difference between nor would we even care.

So will the American laugh at British ppl English ? Or English ppl laugh at American English ? Because they speak different English .

Whahahahaha now you are talking nonsense saying nuclear meltdown affecting central Tokyo Whahahahaha why not say it reach Okinawa ;) .anyway your goverment is more scary then nuclear meltdown ;)

So now no more Singapore passport? wahahahhaaaa

Either you are from an older generation, or you have been mixing around a lot with the Taiwanese!:cool:
But back to 繁体,people who write in 繁体 tend to have better handwriting. Or maybe it is the training of that era, they place more emphasis on penmanship.

hanged around with hongkies and taiwanese. not too much with tiongs. hongkies are very good in chinese literature and taiwanese are very good with penmanship. both emphasize writing discipline and prose. even kids in sf chinatown are very educated in traditional writing. i know simplified back in sg when they switched from traditional to simplified mid stream. half assed here half assed there. bad move imo.

城实 vs 老实 ( honesty )

How to use ? Both got the same meaning .

城实 vs 老实 ( honesty )

How to use ? Both got the same meaning .

Bro, let me try.

诚实 vs 老实
Similar, but different in usage and nuance.
That is where translation software fails.

他很诚实 means he is very honest, he does not tell lies.
他的人很老实 means he is straightforward, follow rules, no tricks don't play pattern kind. May even have a negative connoctation of him being simple-minded/gullible/inflexible/boring.

Something like that:p

Bro, let me try.

诚实 vs 老实
Similar, but different in usage and nuance.
That is where translation software fails.

他很诚实 means he is very honest, he does not tell lies.
他的人很老实 means he is straightforward, follow rules, no tricks don't play pattern kind. May even have a negative connoctation of him being simple-minded/gullible/inflexible/boring.

Something like that:p

Can I use 他很老实 ?
Can I use 他的人很诚实?

Can I use 他很老实 ?
Can I use 他的人很诚实?

I am no teacher hor. But as a layperson:
#1 sounds OK, but #2 sounds odd.
老实is a description as well as a personality attribute.
But 诚实 is more of a description, less used as a personality attribute. So we don't usually see it used in a "他的人很~" situation.

Can I use 他很老实 ?
Can I use 他的人很诚实?

Should be 他的为人很老实。。 wah your Chinese sibe wudi jialat...

Actually both same meaning lah, maybe formal and informal? like Japanese language also

Like chotto and chottomatte kudasai. I remember formal always add o infront

Actually this topic brings me to a question -

Would you rather have
(1) one master language which you can write a paper or debate in, and maybe another 1 or 2 other languages/dialects which is just conversational or just the level to read newspapers, send emails, or
(2) 2 languages that is of average, working level proficieny, but none that you are really proud of.
Which would you prefer?

I am no teacher hor. But as a layperson:
#1 sounds OK, but #2 sounds odd.
老实is a description as well as a personality attribute.
But 诚实 is more of a description, less used as a personality attribute. So we don't usually see it used in a "他的人很~" situation.

#2 sound weird ? Really very confusing ...anyway thank you for trying to explain to me .

Actually this topic brings me to a question -

Would you rather have
(1) one master language which you can write a paper or debate in, and maybe another 1 or 2 other languages/dialects which is just conversational or just the level to read newspapers, send emails, or
(2) 2 languages that is of average, working level proficieny, but none that you are really proud of.
Which would you prefer?
Jack of all trades, master of none? No thanks...

Should be 他的为人很老实。。 wah your Chinese sibe wudi jialat...

Actually both same meaning lah, maybe formal and informal? like Japanese language also

Like chotto and chottomatte kudasai. I remember formal always add o infront

Yes my mandarin very jilat same like my English ... Because I'm ah neh so cannot blame me .

#2 sound weird ? Really very confusing ...anyway thank you for trying to explain to me .

No problem.
Sorry for confusing you.
I may not be correct, just a layperson :)

Drifter, I think you upz me, thanks bro:)