• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sharing my vision of retirement and gem of knowledge

Asychee

What to do while waiting for your PR?

I Bring Foreign Worker and help PR to land in Edmonton. I always noticed i point - they did not do their research in enough.

Let me walk you thru the process. Let us imagine, the game of football.

goal to be a star player, now a newbie.

Form the start point as a newbie what are the things, i should know.

How many players are there in the game? the shape of the ball is round or oval? Who the jobs of the striker, goalie, refree (sori dont know how to spell).

Similarly, when you go to the a new country - do not bring with you what you think is doable in singapore and applied it as a template. For instance, I keep getting comments like can do this or not, half the time is the fear of the unknown - so the best form of combat is to read more about it. Knowledge will makes you look very daring. Uninformed makes you lose lots of opportunity.

Like they say - in the land of the blind, the one eye is the king.

Most people in singapore thinks taht Canada is "White". If you tried boarding the plane going to Canada from transit point like (taipei, seoul, HK). You will noticed that there are lots of asian - (my son even needs me to assure him that we are going to Canada not india on the way from Taipei to Vancouver). When i landed in Vancouver, I see more indian than whites. Edmonton is still pretty not totally asian yet, there are areas(SE edmonton) where you find a high concentration of Indian,and Chinese (SW Edmonton), North West and East (Whites).

When you go to a country, basically you start at a blank page - the ones that moves ahead fast are the ones that they did their research. Some just follow the SOP of the ones that are sucessful (downside - SWOT different). This is completely workable if yr SWOT is very similar. Not all are that similar but something you just have to fine tune for yourself.

I learn from nyar69(doctor), immigration is like a long swim in the ocean, before you reach the other side. Get as many floatation device as you move along. To me it means taht i start with the little float, as i move along,i find a log, move along, i find a rubber boat with oar keep changing until you find your power cruiser. In the process, you can pass the little float, log to others.

I learn from a very sucessful immigrant, he told me have courage but be careful. The worst case taht could happen is when you failed in business is become bankrupt. But if you are bankrupt in Canada (9 months), he does not mean taht he is bankrupt in his home country. I like talking to him as i gain so much insight from him.:biggrin:

Gem of knowledge: Getting your oversea PR your second shot of life, treasure it.

Lots of people are always thinking that Skilled Migration to Canada is a 5 to 6 years wait. But if you look closely, the system is build in such a way that you can leapfrog the whole process (think out of the box). For those, tat want to know - you can PM me.:wink:

Asychee

Budget

The purpose of this post is to highlight the steps involved from the time you received your PR Visa until you settle down. It is $$ all the way, I suggest that if you prepare your self mentally and financially, you will lessen you stress as you will not like to be caught off guard. I would suggest tat samster that has recently got their CA PR would be the best to advise on the actual cost to have a better picture.

Steps

After 3 -5 years of wait, the much anticipated love Letter from Canada High Commission (CHC) finally arrived , ask you to go for PR medical Get Police Clearance.

You might also be asked to take pictures for PR Card (Photo specification = diff spec from the one that you submit)

1 month later another CHC letter telling you to bring your Passport to stamp VISA all members of your family letter will also show that the amount of $$ you might have to show during Landing in Canada (my family was around $35K). Pay CHC for the fees.

Transfer ($$$ to Canada Acc)

Make a plan to fly to Canada (Airfare is very expensive on the Canada leg)

Before landing have to arranged for rental apt = 1 month Sercuity Deposit + 1 month advance payment.

Rental aprt here are normally not furnished. So have to set aside some $$ for furnishing TV, Sofa, Bed, Sheets, Pillow, etc.

Connection of the Utilities, Telephone, Cable TV, Power = $$$

Survive for 1st 3 months = edmonton 1500/month

If come during winter = clothing $500 per person (tunk, Ear muff, neck warmer, Winter Jacket, snow pants, gloves, Thermal under pants, Wollen socks, Snow Boots)

Driving Test = $600 (lesson only- 3 classrom + 10 hours practical) Test ($120 - Vech. rental + pay tester) if fail can retest the next day.

This is the general expenses. If you think thru it, you might be able to save here and there or move around the finances.

axe168

Asychee - I am glad that you did well and you are sharing your success with the fellow countrymen.. good job !

Trout

Asychee - it took me 1.5 yrs to get a Canadian PR, but I was first here as a student and went back for NS, then came back again. Have a job offer as a project design engineering manager from an environmental engineering company, so the min. sum was waived.

Significant chunk of the company's current business is in Alberta, am currently involved in the design of an environmental remediation system for cleaning up a tar-sands project. Currently living in Kingston, pretty nice scenic town by the St. Lawrence.

Hope to keep in touch I guess, might actually end up in Alberta soon (another friend's wife who is a recruiter for an oil-gas company is asking if I want to hop over to alberta to take a more lucrative position in that company for legal compliance.).

Cheers,
Trout

Asychee

Budget

The purpose of this post is to highlight the steps involved from the time you received your PR Visa until you settle down. It is $$ all the way, I suggest that if you prepare your self mentally and financially, you will lessen you stress as you will not like to be caught off guard. I would suggest tat samster that has recently got their CA PR would be the best to advise on the actual cost to have a better picture.

Steps

After 3 -5 years of wait, the much anticipated love Letter from Canada High Commission (CHC) finally arrived , ask you to go for PR medical Get Police Clearance.

You might also be asked to take pictures for PR Card (Photo specification = diff spec from the one that you submit)

1 month later another CHC letter telling you to bring your Passport to stamp VISA all members of your family letter will also show that the amount of $$ you might have to show during Landing in Canada (my family was around $35K). Pay CHC for the fees.

Transfer ($$$ to Canada Acc)

Make a plan to fly to Canada (Airfare is very expensive on the Canada leg)

Before landing have to arranged for rental apt = 1 month Sercuity Deposit + 1 month advance payment.

Rental aprt here are normally not furnished. So have to set aside some $$ for furnishing TV, Sofa, Bed, Sheets, Pillow, etc.

Connection of the Utilities, Telephone, Cable TV, Power = $$$

If come during winter = clothing $500 per person (tunk, Ear muff, neck warmer, Winter Jacket, snow pants, gloves, Thermal under pants, Wollen socks, Snow Boots)

Driving Test = $600 (lesson only- 3 classrom + 10 hours practical) Test ($120 - Vech. rental + pay tester) if fail can retest the next day.

This is the general expenses. If you think thru it, you might be able to save here and there or move around the finances.

Forgot to mention - before coming, pls do the following too:

a. Get copy of Credit Histroy report - Banks might request to see it before granting a credit card to you (credit cards is impt to build up credit history).

b. Get a spare copy of your singapore driver's license. In Alberta, you have to surrender your singapore driver's license. So you get spare one:wink:

C. Increase the Credit Card Limit - If you rent car, stay in hotel etc. you will need it.:eek: the Credit limit, they initially grant to you might be low too.

Asychee

Education

My experience in looking for a school. Bascially, there are 3 types of schools in Edmonton. I went to the website (lost the link) to check the school standing.

Private

This is the really expensive. I doubt there is any govt subisdy to it.

Government

This is very affordable. There is no school fees to pay except the $300 for stationary, books rental & misc cost. Thru out the year, the other expenses would be the trips that the kids take for excursion ($10), hiking, and school lunch($10/month). The school expect the student to have pack lunch until grade 6.

The school bus fees is around $27 per student. Kids in Kindergartern is free.

Saving over singapore - No school uniforms, no school text books,

My experience - I went to the regular neighbourhood school and the better neighbourhood school. My observation are quite a number of mothers looks more like the sister of the student, some fathers have longer hair than their mothers. Quite a number of Osama looking people around.

I was not very comfortable to put my kids in the Public school. So in the end, we opt for a Catholic School.

Catholic or Christian School - to enrolled (get a baptismal cert)

The way education is taught here is very different from Singapore. Kids are view as a visible person. Adults respect the kids and take their view into consideration - voting to go for excursion or snowboarding or skiing . The small class room (15 max - already considered too big) gives the teacher a chance to notice my kids and work with us to bring out the best in a child.

The approach is always to make sure that "no children get left behind". If the teacher notice that the kids needs help in Eg English, they would let the school knows to bring in specialist to give the help needed to the kids.

The kids are being taught the knowledge in a fun way, then the way to acquire the additional knowledge(library, google, nature walk or etc) and open the knowledge that the group has discovered to ideas on how to make use of this knowledge. In comparsion, i think it makes Canadian Student looks dumb vs the singapore student during exam time. It bring out the potential of what this knowledge could be used in rather than like a ware house of info that spit out during exams.:biggrin:

angry_one

Just wanna take this chance to thank you for sharing, and for offering me an opportunity via PM. Good luck in your own golden age!

ak168

Hi Asychee,

Glad I found this gem of knowledge from you. These info are useful and real life stuff and am still trying to do some research and digest base on them before I land by end of this year.

I do have quite alot of questions in mind which I may need your advice in the coming months.....

Cheers

Asychee

Budget

Steps

Transfer ($$$ to Canada Acc) - Use the letter that the bank send to your address in Canada as proof of resident when you are applying for the Driver's Theory - See below for Cars and Driver's license any amout will do.

Make a plan to fly to Canada (Airfare is very expensive on the Canada leg)You can fly SG-USA-Edm cheaper but 4 stops, or SG-taipei/Hk/japan -Vancouver (YVR)- Edm (Yeg) - 1 less stopover makes life easier for you

Before landing have to arranged for rental apt = 1 month Sercuity Deposit + 1 month advance payment.hear of Cases for someone new, the advance payment increase to 2-3 months

Rental aprt here are normally not furnished. So have to set aside some $$ for furnishing TV, Sofa, Bed, Sheets, Pillow, etc.Not bring over Electronics, i still have a TV that i brought in from Sg that looks like a display nia - see below

Connection of the Utilities, Telephone, Cable TV, Power = $$$Cell phone - Fido,Koodo - $40/mth 2000 mins

If come during winter = clothing $500 per person (tunk, Ear muff, neck warmer, Winter Jacket, snow pants, gloves, Thermal under pants, Wollen socks, Snow Boots)Buy in places like Zellers, Walmart, Canadian Superstore - last group of people ave less than $300/person - buy in Sg, stupid Salesgirls in Winter Time or World still selling stuff that are good for Edmonton's Fall

Driving license - you can need to get a "spare" copy of your driving license to surrender once you pass your Theory Exam. Around 10 days later, when they updated the system, you can start to take the pratical exam.

Settlement Funds - dont under estimate (better to have excess). In my case, i remembered i kena pay $200/day of port charges as the China shipper that i used was so fast that instead of the container arriving 1 day before my arrival, it show up 7 days in advance. As i was not there to clear, have to LL fox out the charges but lucky budget has some extra $$.

Asychee

Cars

Cars are essential in Canada, they are group into 2 category; Domestic and Imports

i personnally prefers Domestic (i drive a 5.7litres Chyrsler Hybdrid Aspen - $62,000 nia), they are more comfortable and more space lah (built for ang mo size in mind but driven by asian).

I did a little study, the Imports (toyata, mazda etc) are pricey than local (reasons: maybe taxes,). When you sell you get a better resale prices.

Domestics - are way cheaper. For instance, Nissan Armada cost $62K too but there is no hybrid (at least in Oct 09). I have a 1000Km/tank mileage whereas Nissan Armada - 550km oredi very happy liao. I think if there is a hybrid verson for Nissan Armada - it will definitely cost more.

For a regular 4 pax family, a Chevy equinox AWD will do well $27K with all the bell & whistle ($30K -DVD player, Built in GPS, etc). The equivalent in Imports around $35K and have not even add in anything yet.

I was driving the Dodge Grand Caravan (Rear Wheel Drive) when i landed, i kena stuck a couple of times in snow and ice. Especially Winter driving, AWD is a blessing.

By the way, if you take care of your car, you can drive as long as you like.

Of course, another samster who had a wife that is working for the local toyota dealership will tell you a different stoy.

Asychee

Factors to consider on where to land in Canada.

Having no friend nor relative, i adopt a strategy of Landing in the softest spot and make my way in land later (if i dont like it).

Housing Affordibility

http://www.rbc.com/economics/market/pdf/house.pdf

According to the report, If you land in

Vancouver - your percentage of income taken up by mortgage is above 70%.

Calgary - your percentage of income taken up by mortgage is below 40%.
Edmonton is even lower

Cost of living - the prices in Edmonton (GST 5%+ 0% PST) are cheaper than Vancouver which has recently had HST - 12%(GST+ PST). There is no GST on certain grocery items.

Jobs Availablity - i think the bestest indicator of Job Availability is the Net In-migration Data from Stat Canada. Regardless of what others says, if it is in the consistently positive territory - job prospect is good. If you are consistently negative territory -job prospect is bad. No point sweet talking, however if in B.C. where there is a Winter Olympic going on - it can be distort the true picture. Go for the figures that takes out the effect of the Winter Olympic.

The province city that you have shortlisted - growing or stable or shrinking in the long term.

This is important, as more Sgean tend to want to acquire their own houses rather than rent. Your house is the biggest investment.

Please read the following with a pitch of salt (esp on the real estate investment part), i do not know this guy but the figures on the presentation of alberta saves me a ton of 2 finger typing.

http://www.prosperityinvestments.ca/pdf/EdmontonSpecialInvestorReport.pdf

So Dont Flame me.

axe168

You have a kind soul, bro.. beware some sinkies may follow advice blindly ~ without assessing their personal circumstances.. when it fails, you will simply be blamed.. so its better to put a disclaimer clause :smile:

So hows your properties doing lately ? Hey, I manage to engage cheap indian students do some DIY renov.. I have heaps of contact numbers now.. by pressing a few buttons on my iPhone, these students will report for work the next day. heehee. Properties here have increased 20% in last 6mths, I hope to achieve 50% growth when the renov is completed :smile:

Hopefully, we can enjoy our retirement together .. travel to SG/M'sia for 3-6mths during winter :smile: & yum seng together.. heehee..

Aussie Prick

You have a kind soul, bro.. beware some sinkies may follow advice blindly ~ without assessing their personal circumstances.. when it fails, you will simply be blamed.. so its better to put a disclaimer clause :smile:

So hows your properties doing lately ? Hey, I manage to engage cheap indian students do some DIY renov.. I have heaps of contact numbers now.. by pressing a few buttons on my iPhone, these students will report for work the next day. heehee. Properties here have increased 20% in last 6mths, I hope to achieve 50% growth when the renov is completed :smile:

Hopefully, we can enjoy our retirement together .. travel to SG/M'sia for 3-6mths during winter :smile: & yum seng together.. heehee..

You stupid moron. People who go to Canada SUCCEED but morons like you fail. you chose Australia and you only have yourself to blame. Only the most stupid like you fail to realize Australia has the most UNAFFORDABLE property where it takes 9X THE AVERAGE INCOME TO BUY A PROPERTY. WITH MORONS LIKE YOU THE BANKS WOULD REQUIRE 15X THE AVERAGE INCOME TO BUY A PROPERTY

VERY SUSTAINABLE YOU HORSE'S ASS!!!!!!

Thank you very much for sharing such wonderful insight and experience. I am sure the bros here will learn much from you. :-)
this chap looks like Cina Malaysian convert to Sinkie PR and no do NS. Another chow kao no NS Sinkie.

axe168

You stupid moron. People who go to Canada SUCCEED but morons like you fail. you chose Australia and you only have yourself to blame. Only the most stupid like you fail to realize Australia has the most UNAFFORDABLE property where it takes 9X THE AVERAGE INCOME TO BUY A PROPERTY. WITH MORONS LIKE YOU THE BANKS WOULD REQUIRE 15X THE AVERAGE INCOME TO BUY A PROPERTY

VERY SUSTAINABLE YOU HORSE'S ASS!!!!!!

I dunno the actual number.. 15X? where did you get the figure ? My banker agreed to lend me x,xxx,xxx.. and I spent all 7mths ago !!

Yes, property can never be affordable for a layman (like you?).. As for me, it remains affordable lah, mainly bcoz they take into consideration of my chicken factory and they like the chicken breast I produce in Brisbane :P

I will lease the "chicken" for ppl's enjoyment after I have inserted new silicon breast.. You are invited to enjoy at a special rate of $300 per night.. shower provided.. heehee..

Aussie Prick

I dunno the actual number.. 15X? where did you get the figure ? My banker agreed to lend me x,xxx,xxx.. and I spent all 7mths ago !!

Yes, property can never be affordable for a layman (like you?).. As for me, it remains affordable lah, mainly bcoz they take into consideration of my chicken factory and they like the chicken breast I produce in Brisbane :P

I will lease the "chicken" for ppl's enjoyment after I have inserted new silicon breast.. You are invited to enjoy at a special rate of $300 per night.. shower provided.. heehee..

You horse's ass add it up. You expect Australian property to become more unaffordable than Hong Kong Waterfront land! Worse than downtown Tokyo!!

LOL!!!

neddy

You horse's ass add it up. You expect Australian property to become more unaffordable than Hong Kong Waterfront land! Worse than downtown Tokyo!!

LOL!!!

You must be sour grapes to distort facts and statistics.
You do not even know Hong Kong property market.

Aussie Prick

You must be sour grapes to distort facts and statistics.
You do not even know Hong Kong property market.

Just ask Andy Xie what he thinks about the Hong Kong and Chine property market. We do study these things........

A bubble about to burst?

We shall see. As for Australia - just fasten your seatbelts cause inflation is back and the RBA will be raising so fast you'll get a nosebleed. Look at those retail numbers. My goodness I wonder if your mortgage rates might hit 15% this rate cycle.

Meanwhile yesterday the FOMC minutes were telling: inflation is not an issue......and they might even keep the multi-trillion stimulus in the system for some time......