• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to make PAP change, no matter how little

Perspective

PAP more consultative in post-GE 2011, say forum participants
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1189988/1/.html

Not mentioned in this news what is clear, to me at least, that the change in PAP, no matter now little, cannot be a result of the PAP itself, for the PAP has been around for 58 years and in power for 53. What I can conclude is:

1. The opposition wins causes PAP to change.
2. PAP changes most when it has low votes, ie "no mandate".

Do remind your PAP-voting friends.

The power of the voters. The MFA and SMOS FA and PMO 2nd FM were in defeat removed by WP on the strength of votes. Upon review of the voters' distaste and discontent, marginally winning ministers were also removed from Cabinet, including MM, SM, MND, MOT on top of some demotions disguised as reshuffling by PAP themselves.

Who gave the power to the voters? The opposition. Otherwise, no chance to vote, no power. Sit around to chit chat, analyze, critisize or even curse goverment forevermore or start a rebellion?

Are they changing the approach or policies? Easier to change approach to give Singaporeans a sense of hubris..butter us in front but shaft us in the back..beware.

Are they changing the approach or policies?

me think it seems like they're just changing the approach, was looking at ST front page on Bukit Brown and then the pages of exhumation notices... my way or the highway... now got fly over... :D:D:D

Only an idiot or a liar can make such a statement. Other than a change in personnel, the state is managed in an authoritarian manner. One man makes most of the decisions. Everyone else is there to fill in the numbers and to get paid for doing so. It is silly to think that policies can be affected by voters for as long as an authoritarian, fascist political party holds on to power.

Abolish GRCs or limit GRCs to 2 MPs. PAP will be forced to recruit excellent candidates. It is against LKY's desire because the new candidates will really make LKY look foolish or mediocre. That is a fact.

Are they changing the approach or policies? Easier to change approach to give Singaporeans a sense of hubris..butter us in front but shaft us in the back..beware.

That's because S'pore only voted 6 and they are pretending to change already. Give them another 3 GRC losses, they will go for real change.

Only an idiot or a liar can make such a statement. Other than a change in personnel, the state is managed in an authoritarian manner. One man makes most of the decisions. Everyone else is there to fill in the numbers and to get paid for doing so. It is silly to think that policies can be affected by voters for as long as an authoritarian, fascist political party holds on to power.

This is one of the wisest statement I've read on this forum. Sums up succintly what the real situation is.

PAP is only making cosmetic changes in the light of their poor showing in GE2011. Deep down inside they are still the same. And this is because one man is still running the show. The one man is pretty old but still wields the absolute power. No one dares to make any changes that challenge this old man's thinking. No one. To do so means that the old man has been wrong. As one who will never admits he is wrong, he wouldn't let any realchanges get passed him. And so things will pretty much stay the same till this one man passes on. And even then, changes will only come about slowly, but at least it will come.

The power of the voters. The MFA and SMOS FA and PMO 2nd FM were in defeat removed by WP on the strength of votes. Upon review of the voters' distaste and discontent, marginally winning ministers were also removed from Cabinet, including MM, SM, MND, MOT on top of some demotions disguised as reshuffling by PAP themselves.

Who gave the power to the voters? The opposition. Otherwise, no chance to vote, no power. Sit around to chit chat, analyze, critisize or even curse goverment forevermore or start a rebellion?

This was what happened for many years. No enough opposition, so many walkovers, but got Socratic Circle, The Roundtable, Tangent. Today, political opposition is more healthy but these talkshop political groups went the other way and vanished, which is good.

Stay-On-Path = You Are Not Always On The Wrong Side

nah beh...got change meh? I think the Geylang scene change more ...

ok lah...last time make decision --> tell you --> accept

now, make decision --> consultation, closed door meeting, public feedback --> MP debate in parliment ---> appear to consider ---> "compromise" giving leeway (which already factored in during decision making) --> everyone happy.

Bt Brown, Rochor are shining examples.

Reminds me of how I burst into laughter when I saw this pic:

50fime.jpg

That's because S'pore only voted 6 and they are pretending to change already. Give them another 3 GRC losses, they will go for real change.

U are right.Now only half-hearted change ,no impetus.If Opposition wins 20 seats for starters,PAP ministers will wake up their farking idea and there will be immediate full real changes in policies for the interests of All Singaporeans e.g.in healthcare,public housing,CPF withdrawal by CPF members,PAP ministers' high salaries & bonuses,influx of foreigner employees (white collar & blue collar),disrespecting and ridiculing Singaporean employees ,pretending to represent and speak on behalf of Singaporean employees,etc

Other than losing votes or parliamentary seats to opposition parties, there are 2 other factors in my opinion, which will make the pap change:

1. Global or worldwide condemnation or criticism (which has not happened yet). They have never been too bothered by local criticism with no vote changes.

2. Apprehension over bad karma could be coming into play for certain members.

The trouble with expectation of change is that many expect change instantly, perfectly according to their wish. Change cannot come instantly. Even by armed uprising, it'd take a process of civil war. Change cannot be perfectly according to your wish, unless you're the dictator in power.

The trouble with many Singaporean is that many tolerated how PAP changed Singapore step by step through the decades and one day they wake and demand counter change. They're against PAP for imposing on them what they don't want. They're also against Opposition for being powerless to give them what they want, instantly. Who's fault is it then? It's the people's fault for allowing things to carried too far before you realize and wake up.

We simply can't pull handbrake and roll the wheel as in a car swerving stunt in the running of a country. Even PAP themselves can't undo what they did instantly, even if they want to. It'll take another generation to undo the undesirables, whether by PAP or Opposition, or even sending PAP into Opposition.