• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A reader responds to Tharman's $1k-a-month-can-buy-flat speech

My father is 54 this year, and as a single parent, he is raising my older brother and I. He has no savings anymore. Our mother passed away some time ago. Both of us are in tertiary education, and we hope to graduate as soon as possible to alleviate the costs. He is earning approximately 800 per month, and works daily as a labourer. A large portion of his CPF savings have gone towards the cost of our very small flat (of which I am aware is not truly ours, much like those 99-year leases on condominiums).

I'd like to describe our living conditions as such: We live on one meal per day, and often this meal comprises of Maggi, or any other cheap substitutes that make up our kitchen cabinet. We have perhaps a bottle of coffee, a few tins of Campbell's, but we don't have proper meals. We haven't repaired anything substantially because it costs too much. As undergraduates, we are trying our best to keep up. Even with a student concession, it is expensive to travel (consider the cost of student concession for two individuals, especially on an income of approximately 800).

http://www.mrbrown.com/blog/2012/03...ium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+mrbrown+(mrbrown)

Poor sinkies like the labourer father should not have kids, only graduate parents should do the breeding.
Poor sinkies kids like him and his brother do not need to study much as well, just find a job and be productive....they can probably find a better paid job than the dad....
Blame the dad for not being proactive to find more money, he can always supplement his income picking cardboard and drink cans.

tongue in cheek no doubt...but some may misread you bro.

Poor sinkies like the labourer father should not have kids, only graduate parents should do the breeding.
Poor sinkies kids like him and his brother do not need to study much as well, just find a job and be productive....they can probably find a better paid job than the dad....
Blame the dad for not being proactive to find more money, he can always supplement his income picking cardboard and drink cans.

Undergrad cannot teach tuition part time? I find this article hard to believe!!!

Undergrad cannot teach tuition pat time? I find this article hard to believe!!!

Sam must be in sleeping in a different time zone = he has not corrected your powderful Engrish yet!

He would have advised you that your use of "advise" is incorrect that you it should be "advice".

the ' loose ' is also there. Both done on purpose to agitate boss? See the smiley that follows.

But the 'pat ' is incorrect lor :p . He must have meant ' part ' :)

Sam must be in sleeping in a different time zone = he has not corrected your powderful Engrish yet!

He would have advised you that your use of "advise" is incorrect that you it should be "advice".

You mean my signature, the last sentence in "red"?

Not just the "advice" and "advise". He will also correct me on the "loose", which is also erroreous. It should be "lose".

... Don't you get the point now?

:p

Undergrad cannot teach tuition part time? I find this article hard to believe!!!
Yes agreed!
Like our millionaire ministars always says....
There are no poor and homeless people in Sinkieland....only lazy bums who refused to work to improve their lot and only blame the govt. these sinkies should know their place in society.

Yes agreed!
Like our millionaire ministars always says....
There are no poor and homeless people in Sinkieland....only lazy bums who refused to work to improve their lot and only blame the govt. these sinkies should know their place in society.

I wouldn't want to put it that way. But surely as undergrad, it is not difficult for them to supplement their family income by teaching tuition, which is relatively good money and less intensive, comparing to working as waitress, McDonalds etc...

Also, not as if they need to spend a lot of time taking care of their sickly parents.

Come on, during my NS and NUS days, I also taugh O level students to supplment my allowance!

I think the artilce is bull shit!!

Not sure about now. One of my family member did manage to buy a 4 room flat with monthly income of $1300-1400 per month. I guess just 5 years ago this was still reasonably within reach, but i suspect not now. The ministers must be assuming Sinkies spend $5 a day on meals and $3 a day on transport. No savings, no insurance, no kids, no allowance for parents, no leisure, no condoms for sex... basically no life (Poor Sinkies not entitled to a life)

Before all else, first we have to find out which party had the father voted at the last GE. If he had voted for the FamiLEE, then he clearly deserves its present dire consequences. I know of many elderly who are die-hard "fans" of the FamiLEE.

Ever seen the tuition industry recently? There are tons of tuition centres springing up all over the island, staffed by retired MOE teachers. Grads are preferred for part-time tutors. On top of that, the Ah Tiong tutors are crowding out the market.

E69 is right on undergraduates earning decent money as private tutors, chao chao 1K per month no problem on teaching one session per day.

this one depends on course la, some course upper years esp towards the later part of the sem a lot of projects submission and reports. giving tuition everyday means u are asking for trouble. 100 percent your assignment anyhow do.

So which one is more believable?

Earn 1K a month can buy flat or earn 1K a month giving part-time tuition? :D

So which one is more believable?

Earn 1K a month can buy flat or earn 1K a month giving part-time tuition? :D

500 to 600 i believe, 1K.... your school work will surely be affected. Uni workload is not a walk in the park.

then again heard of a lady that did what you say and achieve a 2nd upper, now studying in Duke NUS medical school.

My father is 54 this year, and as a single parent, he is raising my older brother and I. He has no savings anymore. Our mother passed away some time ago. Both of us are in tertiary education, and we hope to graduate as soon as possible to alleviate the costs. He is earning approximately 800 per month, and works daily as a labourer. A large portion of his CPF savings have gone towards the cost of our very small flat (of which I am aware is not truly ours, much like those 99-year leases on condominiums).

I'd like to describe our living conditions as such: We live on one meal per day, and often this meal comprises of Maggi, or any other cheap substitutes that make up our kitchen cabinet. We have perhaps a bottle of coffee, a few tins of Campbell's, but we don't have proper meals. We haven't repaired anything substantially because it costs too much. As undergraduates, we are trying our best to keep up. Even with a student concession, it is expensive to travel (consider the cost of student concession for two individuals, especially on an income of approximately 800).

http://www.mrbrown.com/blog/2012/03...ium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+mrbrown+(mrbrown)

Gosh, when I was an undergrad I earned enough working part-time to buy a small car..... really some people have no fresh ideas.... teaching tuition is only one small way

Before all else, first we have to find out which party had the father voted at the last GE. If he had voted for the FamiLEE, then he clearly deserves its present dire consequences. I know of many elderly who are die-hard "fans" of the FamiLEE.

Wow, this forum got a lot of Dr Chee Bye's doggies hor!

:D

Gosh, when I was an undergrad I earned enough working part-time to buy a small car..... really some people have no fresh ideas.... teaching tuition is only one small way

people like you are those that i respect. salute, for i cannot do it.