• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A reader responds to Tharman's $1k-a-month-can-buy-flat speech

Only you regard ITE as tertiary education.
If your household income is only $1000 per month I doubt you can afford MacD's set meals.

KNN can't believe that "tertiary education" students can't even fend for themselves - invertebrates! What type of tertiary education are they in - ITE? Where got hope for the future of Singapore with such thinking from tertiary educated citizens!

I find people with much lesser education are finding a niche for themselves in society. Survive on Maggi mee??? Even poorer kids are having set meals at MacDonald!

If you believe the writer, I think you will believe that you can't survive on a million dollar salary a month.

You might as well suggest let the Bangladeshis and Indon maids look after the country for you. Yes, forfeit your own Singapore salary and get paid with maids and Bangladeshi sweepers salary. Indeed talk is cheap! WTF!

Want to hold a national referendum and see how many Singaporeans vote in favor of the current salaries of MPs and not what MPs think they are worth? After all MPs and servant masters as claimed.

Last May we had the chance to kick them out or at least prevent them a 2/3 majority so they cannot do as they wish.
But alas your fellow sinkies the 60.1% fucked it all up.
Too late now, suffer and repent till 2016

But we already had a GE last year!! We can't be voting or having referendum over every damn thing!!

If we are not happy with PAP, just vote them out during the next election. In the meantime, we just have to respect the decision of the majority voters!!

I know those Dr Chee bye's doggie will cry foul over what I said above. But I am sorry, this what Democracy is all about!! Not happy, just f**k to Communist N Korea or Thailand (they suka suka overthrow a democratically elected government using tanks).

Oh BTW for chumps who think that I am a PAP doggie.. please read this post first!!
http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?92181-Is-4-p-m-now-I-ve-still-not-casted-my-vote&p=723319#post723319

Last May we had the chance to kick them out or at least prevent them a 2/3 majority so they cannot do as they wish.
But alas your fellow sinkies the 60.1% fucked it all up.
To late now, suffer and repent till 2016
What is interesting this time is with so much pigeonholing, they did not succeed at putting it down to 2 or zero seats in parliament. The swing vote analysis was totally inaccurate and there was a real chance that parliament saw 12 or more opposition seats in Parliament. If not careful, the next time may actually see 30 seats which has an impact on 2/3 majority passing of bills. The problem is simple - either the entire pool of PAP MPs are incompetent or a few assholes are holding back the PAP from making much better policies because of some grumpy old man. Nobody is asking for a crazy welfare state by doling out money. But it is clear so many things are wrong because the wrong people are employed for self serving reasons. Not to worry, systems scheduled to suffer systemic failure due to cheap material and poor QC checks are on the way. The lies will follow to explain them away but the solution will be expensive time consuming and affect the economy. That is a guarantee.

First of all..the gek leng 1000$ statement not political correct and insensitive...but the 2 butt head sons really knn....no $$ think of way to earn lah...part time tuition or prostitution also can...so old already still put their old man through such pain..... got cheek to reject "help that comes with strings attached"...no $$ do what u can to overcome lah...do what you like and follow your aspiration later in life when u better off..remember there's no free lunch...

Before all else, first we have to find out which party had the father voted at the last GE. If he had voted for the FamiLEE, then he clearly deserves its present dire consequences. I know of many elderly who are die-hard "fans" of the FamiLEE.

Though what u said sounds a little cruel, but that's the sad truth actually. Far too many S'poreans no matter how many times they had screwed by LKY and the PAP, continue to vote for them GE in GE out. So in a way, they have been asking for it. It sounds sinister, but that is what has been happening.

Yes the 60.1% of sinkies deserves it....kpkb but still vote the MIWs.....mind control experts must be keen to study sinkies mind

With $1000 per month you can buy a HDB flat. The underlying message is sharp and clear. These people have enough and nothing else need to be done for them.

Yes the 60.1% of sinkies deserves it....kpkb but still vote the MIWs.....mind control experts must be keen to study sinkies mind

The mind is empty, that is suck on a repeater, in an infinite loop! emptiness begets emptiness beget empties to infinite.:p

With $1000 per month you can buy a HDB flat. The underlying message is sharp and clear. These people have enough and nothing else need to be done for them.

hmm... if SGD$1000.00 can support a HDB flat, why the Ministers need millions huh? :confused::confused::confused:

Undergrad cannot teach tuition part time? I find this article hard to believe!!!

sinkies complain all day about their fucked up life in sinkieland, cannot emigrate? i find it hard to believe!!!!

Not sure about now. One of my family member did manage to buy a 4 room flat with monthly income of $1300-1400 per month. I guess just 5 years ago this was still reasonably within reach, but i suspect not now. The ministers must be assuming Sinkies spend $5 a day on meals and $3 a day on transport. No savings, no insurance, no kids, no allowance for parents, no leisure, no condoms for sex... basically no life (Poor Sinkies not entitled to a life)

correct...

Sinkies are not meant for having a life then

Singaporean must be very poor nowadays. Over here even a graduate can afford a $496K AUD condominium. Let alone a car.

http://smh.domain.com.au/real-estate-news/plans-for-the-future-20120224-1trbw.html

jacinta-lai_729-420x0.jpg

Apartment purchase adds up for accounting student

University student Jacinta Lai (pictured) was keen to live in a new apartment and, with a little help from her parents, was one of the first to snap up a unit off the plan in Macquarie Central.

''A lot of apartments around Macquarie Park aren't very modern,'' says Lai, 21, who's in her final year of a degree in accounting at The University of Sydney.

''So I saw this development as a great opportunity to buy something new.'' Lai decided on a one-bedroom unit on the seventh floor for $495,000, while a friend who came to the opening with her also put his name down to buy one in the second release.

''It's so light and bright and everything flows nicely on the plans,'' Lai says. ''I think I'll be more than happy there when it's been built and it's time to move in.''

Doesn't the fact that the guy's dad earning $800 a month and can pay for the flat = What Tharman said is true?

Poor sinkies like the labourer father should not have kids, only graduate parents should do the breeding.
Poor sinkies kids like him and his brother do not need to study much as well, just find a job and be productive....they can probably find a better paid job than the dad....
Blame the dad for not being proactive to find more money, he can always supplement his income picking cardboard and drink cans.

lianbeng wondered if both of them are using handphones and laptops? can afford meh?:rolleyes: