• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$10k salary but bank offers $100,000 limit !!! --- Eric Tan

• Thread starter Thread starter Summer
  • Start date Start date
Most people keep their mouth shut when they get such a higher credit limit. This guy choose to shoot his mouth off.

if someone else uses your card and you cannot proof it,you will be in deep shit.

I guess this fella main objective is to boast about his salary . Next time when he lose his 10k job, he will then write a genuine heart felt complain about bank rejecting his cc application.:D

the credit limit of $100,000 is shared between his two cards. he can easily call the bank to get the credit limit reduced. there are people who enjoy this convenience and "status symbol" so that they can brag about their limit.

if he is really so worried, he should not get a credit card to begin with!

that fucker writing in to show off his monthly pay is it? Tell the whole world that he is earning 10K a month?

Or he is writing to show his fear of overspending that 100K limit or that he is worried that he cannot manage his finances? Earn 10K a month & dun noe how to manage your finances? He think he is one of those EPL footballers?

KNN, the best way is to take away his 10K pay, let him earn 1K and he will learn the hardway, the way to manage his money.

this sinkie called eric tan really deserves to be screwed royally. pick up the damn phone, call the bank hotline and request for reduction of credit limit.

when he loses his 10k job, he will also write in to shitty times forum to complain!

//

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/STIStory_771810.html

Bank explains $100,000 credit card limit

WE THANK Mr Eric Tan for his feedback ('$10k salary but bank offers $100,000 limit'; last Saturday) and have since resolved the matter.

The bank complies with applicable regulations on the credit limits offered to credit cardholders. For example, cardholders with monthly incomes of less than $10,000 are given credit limits of up to four times their monthly incomes, in accordance with the regulatory requirements.

For cardholders with annual incomes exceeding $120,000, there is no regulatory requirement for a credit limit of a maximum of four times their monthly incomes.

After credit bureau records, internal credit history, usage patterns and overall relationship with the bank are assessed, a combined credit limit higher than four times the monthly income is selectively granted.

Dennis Khoo

Head of Consumer Banking, Singapore

Standard Chartered Bank